131 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

dellshioo
post Aug 22 2013, 02:28 PM

22 posts

Hi guys,

I need advice on a new ultrabook.

Brand: Any except apple
Processor: 4th gen i5/i7
Usage: Daily usage and travel
Screen size: 13.3/14'.
Budget: no limit (if possible would like to know all options)
millenius
post Aug 22 2013, 02:34 PM

160 posts

Brand: Any, but not acer.
Processor: i5/i7
Usage: Games and programming.
Screen size: 14 - 15.
Budget: maximum is 3k.

Would like to know what is the current best bang for buck notebooks. And how does 4th gen i5/i7 fare against a 3rd gen i5/i7, as I heard 4th gen is more on energy savings.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dellshioo @ Aug 22 2013, 02:28 PM)
Hi guys,

We don't really have a lot of Haswell-powered, higher end ultrabooks at the moment hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 22 2013, 02:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Aug 22 2013, 02:34 PM)
Brand: Any, but not acer.
Processor: i5/i7
Usage: Games and programming.
Screen size: 14 - 15.
Budget: maximum is 3k.

Would like to know what is the current best bang for buck notebooks. And how does 4th gen i5/i7 fare against a 3rd gen i5/i7, as I heard 4th gen is more on energy savings.
Best bang for buck
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768;touch)@RM2999[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL , 6 cell

Lenovo Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

* prices in RRP, negotiable

You don't really get that much a performance gain or battery savings for the Haswell processors (when compared to the 3rd), not for these power hungry i7 processors laugh.gif

millenius
post Aug 22 2013, 03:01 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 22 2013, 02:53 PM)
Best bang for buck
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768;touch)@RM2999[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL , 6 cell

Lenovo Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

* prices in RRP, negotiable

You don't really get that much a performance gain or battery savings for the Haswell processors (when compared to the 3rd), not for these power hungry i7 processors laugh.gif
Lenovo seems tempting. Does that means there is no difference in performance of say, Y510p vs Y500p on games like BF3. Also, is it possible to downgrade to Windows 7 ? and swap the hdd with a higher speed (7200) ?

This post has been edited by millenius: Aug 22 2013, 03:02 PM
xproc
post Aug 22 2013, 04:02 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(dellshioo @ Aug 22 2013, 02:28 PM)
Hi guys,

lol... 4th gen ultrabook does not yet have in any brands except apple... and yet it is still one of the best quality mac / windows (if you bootcamp) ultrabook laptop
ianosfera
post Aug 22 2013, 04:11 PM

13 posts

Hello!

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: RM4500.00
3. Usage: Gaming/Screening/Travel
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15.6/17

Need the advice before randomly going to any store and buy because it's for a friend and he is going oversea this coming Saturday...
BeruangKelabu
post Aug 22 2013, 04:13 PM

47 posts

I've decided my choice! smile.gif Thanks everyone especially nexus2238. notworthy.gif

I'm buying the one with GT740M with a 3 yrs warranty. Got almost RM100 discount from a Dell's agent brows.gif Not so much, but a discount is a discount smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 04:20 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(muss90 @ Aug 22 2013, 12:24 PM)
Hi, need suggestion for friend laptop

1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - MYR 2000
3. Usage - gaming, movies, assignment
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" and above

Thanks!
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Pavilion 14-e018/019/020TX, i5-3230M + AMD HD8670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 22 2013, 04:21 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Aug 22 2013, 03:01 PM)
Lenovo seems tempting. Does that means there is no difference in performance of say, Y510p vs Y500p on games like BF3. Also, is it possible to downgrade to Windows 7 ? and swap the hdd with a higher speed (7200) ?
Yeah, gaming performance depends much on the graphic card anyway, so gaming performance would be more or less similar. However, do take note that Y510p comes with Nvidia Optimus, so you will get slightly more battery life, if tis important to you nod.gif
You can always downgrade, but its not really advisable as you might have problems finding drivers now, especially for newer laptop models.
And yes, you can swap the HDD with another faster HDD, or even SSD brows.gif

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 22 2013, 04:02 PM)
lol... 4th gen ultrabook does not yet have in any brands except apple... and yet it is still one of the best quality mac / windows (if you bootcamp) ultrabook laptop
He did mentioned he doesn't want Apple la bro laugh.gif
Newer generation ultrabooks will come eventually, although current ones are actually quite very capable of handling normal, everyday tasks ~
ttz
post Aug 22 2013, 04:28 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:00 AM)
Inspiron 14 - most basic entry level model. Plain look.
Inspiron 14R - basic model, could (but not necessary) has spec that are slightly more powerful than Inspiron 14, try to look nicer than Inspiron 14, but lots of potential buyers still think it look plain laugh.gif
Inspiron 14z - skinnier and lighter than 14 & 14R. Usually (but not necessary) don't have ODD to achieve lighter weight.
That means can safely say 14 and 14R looks exactly the same? Because from Dell website it looks exactly the same in terms of exterior design. So I'm guessing only color difference?
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 05:04 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(ttz @ Aug 22 2013, 04:28 PM)
That means can safely say 14 and 14R looks exactly the same? Because from Dell website it looks exactly the same in terms of exterior design. So I'm guessing only color difference?
no lah, I can see difference tongue.gif
They are just plain according to lots of people. For this class of laptops, generally people say Asus or Sony or Samsung "look" nicer laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 05:08 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(ianosfera @ Aug 22 2013, 04:11 PM)
Hello!

Need the advice before randomly going to any store and buy because it's for a friend and he is going oversea this coming Saturday...
Travel? Overseas?
Staying at one place for a long time, or just going all over the world? Where to? (need to consider warranty support service)
Are you absolutely sure he want to lug a 15"/17" all over the place? hmm.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ianosfera
post Aug 22 2013, 05:31 PM

13 posts

He mostly staying at one place for 2-3 months before going to other country..so he said he don't mind the extra weight...it's just like a portable desktop that he can carry around when he needed to...
xproc
post Aug 22 2013, 05:32 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 22 2013, 04:21 PM)
Yeah, gaming performance depends much on the graphic card anyway, so gaming performance would be more or less similar. However, do take note that Y510p comes with Nvidia Optimus, so you will get slightly more battery life, if tis important to you nod.gif
You can always downgrade, but its not really advisable as you might have problems finding drivers now, especially for newer laptop models.
And yes, you can swap the HDD with another faster HDD, or even SSD  brows.gif
He did mentioned he doesn't want Apple la bro laugh.gif
Newer generation ultrabooks will come eventually, although current ones are actually quite very capable of handling normal, everyday tasks ~
even same performance but new 4th gen can almost give you 50% more battery life.... i wondering if they can wait why they still get 3rd gen.... i guess the laptop slow intro 4th gen because still many 3rd gen laptop not yet sell..
ttz
post Aug 22 2013, 05:45 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 22 2013, 05:04 PM)
no lah, I can see difference tongue.gif
They are just plain according to lots of people. For this class of laptops, generally people say Asus or Sony or Samsung "look" nicer laugh.gif
Haha but ASUS and Sony price higher specs lousier leh.
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 05:54 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 22 2013, 05:32 PM)
i guess the laptop slow intro 4th gen because still many 3rd gen laptop not yet sell..
waiting for W8.1 (which is mid Oct13), in the case of ultrabook (Haswell ultrabook must have touchscreen according to Intel definition)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 22 2013, 05:57 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 06:10 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(ianosfera @ Aug 22 2013, 04:11 PM)
Hello!

QUOTE(ianosfera @ Aug 22 2013, 05:31 PM)
He mostly staying at one place for 2-3 months before going to other country..so he said he don't mind the extra weight...it's just like a portable desktop that he can carry around when he needed to...
Need ready stock by this Saturday hmm.gif

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399, 8GB, W8 (nice screen, not too heavy for a 15")

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard (nice screen, matte screen good for outdoor use, not too heavy for a 15")

MSI (matte screen good for outdoor use)
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GE70-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4499,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

Dell
Alienware 14, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 64GB mSATA + 750GB(7200rpm)@RM4999[2.77kg], 8GB, W8SL, 802.11ac (only 14")

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Can't comment on warranty support (not sure where your friend is going), so just list brands that have international presence (just hope that they has SC at the countries that he is going)
Make sure to upgrade warranty to international warranty tongue.gif
SUSnoos
post Aug 22 2013, 06:10 PM

577 posts

Any idea when will Samsung release the Ativ Q in Malaysia?
daisuke
post Aug 22 2013, 06:24 PM

455 posts

hi guys, looking for a laptop for my gf, she dosent need anything too crazy, but she needs to connect the laptop to the projector for her job.

2. Budget: RM2000.00
3. Usage: leisure and work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14++

better if with pre installed with microsoft office and w8.

light weight would b an added plus

thanks guys...in advance

131 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:21 AM