131 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

lemonish
post Aug 2 2013, 02:52 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Aug 1 2013, 09:01 AM)
you wanted to try GTX765M? Illegear RE-15 with GTX765M is priced at RM3599. laugh.gif
GT750M is sufficient but native resolution is not recommended (for FHD screens) if you intend to play very high settings.
Wao thats quite a difference in price tongue.gif
yeah I was wondering for games like GTA IV (in full detail)

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 1 2013, 10:18 AM)
GT750M basically is the sweet spot right now for RM2-3k laptop.

GT750M, spec with GDDR5, running in HD (1366x768), can push most (not all) games in ultra setting to playable fps (for me lah tongue.gif ).
At FHD, you probably need GTX780M to utter the same sentence tongue.gif
Yeah because I've read (somewhere) that even some modern games are not playable in full detail for GT750M.

Just wondering,
for a desktop GC,
which has the same performance with this GT750M?
hmm.gif

nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 04:14 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Aug 2 2013, 02:52 AM)
Wao thats quite a difference in price tongue.gif
yeah I was wondering for games like GTA IV (in full detail)
Yeah because I've read (somewhere) that even some modern games are not playable in full detail for GT750M.

Just wondering,
for a desktop GC,
which has the same performance with this GT750M? 
hmm.gif
GTAIV is notorious for being CPU capped.

GTX550Ti or GTX650 will outperform GTX750M by ~ 10-30% (sad isn't it tongue.gif )
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 08:48 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

Guys, is touch screen laptop really benefit you all? Thinking of getting Inspiron 14R, same spec except the touch screen. Price different is RM300 but seems like touch screen is interesting. But just afraid it will be more of a gimmick than features. And the screen should be more pricey aite?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 2 2013, 10:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 08:48 AM)
Guys, is touch screen laptop really benefit you all? Thinking of getting Inspiron 14R, same spec except the touch screen. Price different is RM300 but seems like touch screen is interesting. But just afraid it will be more of a gimmick than features. And the screen should be more pricey aite?
Yeah, they are marketing gimmick haha, at least on notebooks that cannot be converted to tablet modes laugh.gif
Save the money for something more important instead icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 10:20 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lulusantos @ Aug 1 2013, 05:42 PM)
I recently found a laptop Inspiron 14r with

-4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4500U processor (4M Cache, 1.8 GHz, GT750M 2GB)
RM2699 - 1 year warranty.

Adding up three year warranty , the price might shoot up to Y410p price.

Between the dell and lenovo , which tn screen is consider better?

Dell Inspiron 14r with

-4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4500U processor (4M Cache, 1.8 GHz, GT750M 2GB)

One more question, how's the battery life for this? I can't find any info from the web. tq.

Are you sure this is local set? Don't see it on Dell Malaysia website hmm.gif

You can't compare screen panel brand to brand, has to compare model to model (and even that may not be right as even for same model brand may change panel used during production run tongue.gif )

Current TN panel in Y500 Malaysia local set is pretty lousy. Hopefully the panel on the Y510P will be better rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 2 2013, 10:25 AM
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 10:33 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aREfIXed @ Aug 2 2013, 01:18 AM)
if u could pick one...which is the best?..
All serve your usage requirement.
Y510p is cheapest (RSP RM3099)
N550JV has the best screen (standard spec), but RE-15 can be customised with an amazing screen. In fact, RE-15 can be customised, period smile.gif

If I really has to choose, I will go for RE-15 (I really like that NTSC 95% gamut screen tongue.gif ).
But I think if you go with Y510p, you will have the most budget left to go for a 256G SSD (~ RM600) (swap out the HDD). SSD really make a huge difference in responsiveness.
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 10:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(adam20 @ Aug 1 2013, 06:16 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : RM 1.3k or less
3. Usage : home usage ( skype, surfnet and casual gaming(plant vs zombies))
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 or 15 will be fine.
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b010TU, B987 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Samsung
NP370R4E, B997 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable a bit.
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 11:31 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(hasif63 @ Aug 1 2013, 11:51 PM)
Hi there guys.. Need some recommendations here.

1. Preferred Brand : Dell
2. Budget: 2k-2.4k
3. Usage: Assignments (Estate Management), Watch Movies, Casual Photoshopping, Light gaming (RA2, maybe?)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14inch / 15inch

I've narrowed down two of my most probable choices, which are the Dell Inspiron 14R(5437) and 15R (5537).

Both are
-powered by intel i3-4010u haswell
-has Intel 4400HD graphics
-has 6 cell (65Whr) batteries
-has same resolution, 1366x768

But 14R has
-touchscreen
-OS media kit

I've specced both at the dell website and the 15R actually came cheaper at RM2088 compared to 14R which costs RM2477.

Which of the two will be a better buy?
Which of the two will have better battery life?
Is the touchscreen on the 14R really worth it?
The OS media kit, is it a necessity?

Lastly, can i configure my laptop at the Dell Concept store at lowyat plaza? I don't have the confidence of ordering my lappies online

Sorry for the looong post  sweat.gif. Your feedback is much appreciated guys, thanks  thumbup.gif
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1988 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1

Inspiron 15R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1599 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

How do you get to the prices you mentioned?

If you only want 14", 14R also has a no-touch screen option (but only 4 cell battery): (if the customisation option is not there for 6 cell, chat with Dell Sale and see if they can help to upgrade it to 6 cell)
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400 + @RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell

If you don't need touchscreen, go for the cheaper option of course smile.gif
if both 15R and 14R has the same capacity battery, 14R will have slightly better battery running time (smaller screen)
W8 is perfectly usable without touchscreen. If you want to try touchscreen, make sure you are perfectly comfortable with the strength of the hinge. Wobbly screen is very annoying.
OS media kit - If you intend to re-install OS later, you absolutely need it. It is free from Dell, take it. For 15R, you can actually ask for it, they will give it to you for free as well.

Dell Concept Store in LYP? masih ada ke? hmm.gif

Just wipe out your credit card, no worries laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif Dell Online is safe.
Customise, negotiate (online chat, must do otherwise you miss out discount / goodies), pay by credit card. Dell will update you on expected delivery time (you can track it yourself online), and deliver to your doorstep.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 2 2013, 11:56 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 11:44 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 2 2013, 10:16 AM)
Yeah, they are marketing gimmick haha, at least on notebooks that cannot be converted to tablet modes laugh.gif
Save the money for something more important instead  icon_rolleyes.gif
Is there any other brand that provide 0% interest for installment? But warranty wise, I think more to Inspiron 14R. Other spec are not that necessary. BTW, touch screen and non touch screen use different type of screen right? Hmmm...

BTW, is there any forumer here that can help us to get lower price for Dell product? Hehe...
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 11:55 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

Will Raya affect Dell business hour?
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 11:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 11:55 AM)
Will Raya affect Dell business hour?
Dell online will be open for taking orders. Online chat will be there as per usual hours. Delivery time may get impact due to non-biz day.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 2 2013, 11:59 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 12:00 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 2 2013, 11:58 AM)
Dell online will be open for taking orders. Online chat will be there as per usual hours. Delivery time may get impact due to non-biz day.
Yeah, I mean delivery. Well, Poslaju closed since 3 to 11 August while Raya suppose be around 8 or 9 August, I just wonder if Dell apply the same too. Hmmm...
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 12:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:00 PM)
Yeah, I mean delivery. Well, Poslaju closed since 3 to 11 August while Raya suppose be around 8 or 9 August, I just wonder if Dell apply the same too. Hmmm...
Dell don't use Poslaju lah tongue.gif
Anyway, when you order, Dell will provide an estimate delivery time.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 2 2013, 12:04 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 12:08 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 11:44 AM)
Is there any other brand that provide 0% interest for installment? But warranty wise, I think more to Inspiron 14R. Other spec are not that necessary. BTW, touch screen and non touch screen use different type of screen right? Hmmm...

BTW, is there any forumer here that can help us to get lower price for Dell product? Hehe...
HP, by ordering online or phone order.

Yes, different screen panel.

Viper88. Look for his thread at garage sales. But unless your order is of big RM, saving is not much.
Order online and negotiate yourself lah smile.gif
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 12:09 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:03 PM)
Dell don't use Poslaju lah tongue.gif
Anyway, when you order, Dell will provide an estimate delivery time.
No choice. Pospelanpelan my only choice. tongue.gif I guess will give a call to Dell to confirm again. Based on the estimated, likely 1 week. I hope other can share how long Dell took to send the laptop.
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 12:17 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:09 PM)
No choice. Pospelanpelan my only choice. tongue.gif I guess will give a call to Dell to confirm again. Based on the estimated, likely 1 week. I hope other can share how long Dell took to send the laptop.
depends on model (some models are faster, some are slower).
Btw, whatever days that the call centre people tell you is pretty much "useless" tongue.gif They can't do much to make it faster or slower laugh.gif What you see on order status screen is what you get.
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 12:32 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:17 PM)
depends on model (some models are faster, some are slower).
Btw, whatever days that the call centre people tell you is pretty much "useless" tongue.gif They can't do much to make it faster or slower laugh.gif What you see on order status screen is what you get.
Just contacted Dell and this women sound promising. Deliver by next week or full refund because that particular model available locally. But only one model and one color available. The rest need to wait 7-10 working days. Can be trust since you said "useless". hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 2 2013, 12:38 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:32 PM)
Just contacted Dell and this women sound promising. Deliver by next week or full refund because that particular model available locally. But only one model and one color available. The rest need to wait 7-10 working days. Can be trust since you said "useless".  hmm.gif
That kind of statement is ok. Just don't buy into "I will try to make it faster ... " laugh.gif
diaBoliQu3
post Aug 2 2013, 12:43 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:38 PM)
That kind of statement is ok. Just don't buy into "I will try to make it faster ... " laugh.gif
Faster in??? laugh.gif I guess will put some order then. Quite surprised when Dell sell notebook and laptop bag separately.
lulusantos
post Aug 2 2013, 02:23 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 2 2013, 10:20 AM)
Are you sure this is local set? Don't see it on Dell Malaysia website  hmm.gif

You can't compare screen panel brand to brand, has to compare model to model (and even that may not be right as even for same model brand may change panel used during production run tongue.gif )

Current TN panel in Y500 Malaysia local set is pretty lousy. Hopefully the panel on the Y510P will be better  rclxms.gif
I'm sure it's the local set. I found it at the dell malaysia site. It's their new haswell refresh.

This is the e-value code : W510706MY14MW8

But I'm worry dual-core might not serve me that well for years to come.

Maybe Y410/510p might be a better investment.

131 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:35 PM