Credit Cards RHB Credit Card, Open discussion/frustration with RHB CC
contestchris
Mar 4 2022, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 4 2022, 02:45 PM) The Fave-Shell voucher. Show the Barcode to the cashier, he/she will scan it. P/S: Fave-Shell vouchers can be bought at Fave App and Presto Mall. (With discount from Grabpay / Boost) But are those better than paying using RHB Shell Visa, which gives 12% direct cashback?
contestchris
Mar 4 2022, 11:10 PM
Just curious, for those using Shell Visa or other cards but pump at Shell, worth getting Bonuslink as well? I see that effectively RM100 spent gives RM1 returns, so effective cashback of 1%, with additional bonuses during campaigns. Wondering if it is worth it.
contestchris
Mar 5 2022, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 5 2022, 07:15 AM) Buy during promo, eg last month... Boost gave RM8 Favepay voucher, so I bought RM30 Fave-Shell voucher at RM22 (Boost credit). https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4698581/+30320Grabpay gave 30% discount (capped at RM15) for online payment ("30GRABPAYDEALS"), so I bought RM50 Shell voucher at Prestomall at RM35 (Grabpay credit) https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4704498/+9400Also, the shell vouchers (RM30/RM50) are offered at Shopee App - Digital goods section (Airpay), some people collect too many Shopee Coins, pay 75% only with 25% contra by Shopee Coins. Please note: if you use credit card to pay, it will go to Airpay...MY (not Shopee) so HLB Wise etc won't give you 8% CB. You are almost 25 years late! You can collect Bonuslink points not only at Shell stations, but also at a lot of places eg Parkson. https://www.bonuslink.com.my/MY/Partners.aspxIn the past (which may happen in the future again), I could get 30%/50% rebate for redemption at Shell on special days, eg I redeemed 3000 Bonuslink points for RM30 fuel at Shell pump, I got 1500 Bonuslink points back (technically 50% savings). Also, every birthday month, I will receive an email from Bonuslink, I can use this email to claim a special birthday voucher and additional Bonuslink points at Parkson (Spending in birthday month only). Thank you kind sir, incredibly informative. I usually pump full tank at the station (which is usually around rm70 to rm85). Can these vouchers (e.g. from Presto Mall or Fave or Shopee) be used directly at the pump WITH the RHB Shell Visa card? How about Bonuslink redeemed Shell vouchers, can be redeemed at the pump directly? Just trying to figure out how to minimize hassle. Cause I’ve got thousands of Shopee coins collected but maybe have difficulty using these soon, so using them to buy Shell vouchers sounds decent enough since can’t use them for Time, Maxis or TNB bill payment on Shopee yet. By the way, signed up for Bonuslink and got RM4 voucher. Slightly off topic, but can use Bonuslink app for payment (to get Bonuslink points) at petrol pump directly, or need to go inside?
contestchris
Mar 14 2022, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 14 2022, 08:58 PM) I sent a secured message over RHB online, asking about SST rebate. They replied me this: Thank you for your message to RHB Bank Further to your concern, we have raise recommendation for RM25 cashback to be given to your credit card account. Kindly take note the fulfillment period is within 2 statement cycle. Should you require further assistance about other RHB banking products & services, you may send another message and we would be glad to assist you. Thank you for using www.rhbgroup.com --- What are the chances to get it?  2 statement cycles means 2 months later?  Should be guaranteed right? Just that like normal, only credited after 60 days
contestchris
Mar 23 2022, 12:28 PM
Is paying LHDN for YA 2021 considered as "government" spend?
contestchris
Mar 23 2022, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 23 2022, 12:50 PM) Yes. Don't use any credit/debit/prepaid Visa/Mastercard /Amex because of +0.8% surcharge, not worth it. FOC if you use your savings account to pay. Oh, is that so? At what point do they charge the sur-charge? Is it during payment, or post payment? And, is this something new?
contestchris
Mar 23 2022, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 23 2022, 02:35 PM) https://byrhasil.hasil.gov.my/creditcard/index.phpSince Day 1 LHDN accepted Visa/MasterCard, already +0.8% for many years. Last time Maybank, Public Bank still gave 5% weekend CB, 6% online CB respectively. Now no more CB for Government-related transactions due to Payment Card Reform Framework initialled by BNM. Thank you for the information!
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 09:53 AM
For my most recent statement, total spend > RM2,500.
I received 12% CB for Shell, which is fine. But my "Bonus" CB is only 1%, instead of 5%. Anyone experience this before? How come like that?
Also, just wondering, if pay university fees for government university online, is it considered:
1) Online spend 2) "other spend" 3) No cashback, but counted towards monthly total spend 4) No cashback and not counted towards monthly total spend
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(helloguyssss123 @ Mar 25 2022, 10:27 AM) I have same problem before, just send them email. Email or the secured mail (through their website)?
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(helloguyssss123 @ Mar 25 2022, 10:37 AM) I sent to customer services email, remember to keep follow up. Base on their previous reply, system unable to trace some transaction, so CB fall on different tier. Monthly RM2500 retail spending are include whatever transaction, so when your Petrol get tier 3 CB, your other category CB also will fall on tier 3. How come like that one? Why should we as customer have to chase them for their shortcoming? I'm really at my wits end sometimes lah dealing with our local FIs.
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(helloguyssss123 @ Mar 25 2022, 12:11 PM) You can refer back my previous post. For me, RHB CS really troublesome. Mine is 2 months like this already. I have reported them to BNM for the Feb statement issues, and I contacted them on 1st March 2022 and I've yet to hear back from them, much less have the issue resolved. Now I have emailed them about the March statement issue. See how long they take to settle both. It seems to be an issue with the government transactions, as in both Feb and March 2022, I have government transactions (DBKL and government university fees). Very unfair this has been going on so long and they've not resolved it. Will lodge a formal complaint to BNM, because who knows how many other people unknowingly losing money to the bank!!!
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 01:16 PM
Actually I am looking back in the T&C, it says the following: The following transactions are expressly excluded and no Cash Back will be granted for suchusing the Card: 3.4.6 Any government related payments under designated MCC as below:-https://www.rhbgroup.com/shellcard/files/RH...-Card_Terms.pdfMeaning the transactions are actually not computed for the total monthly spend, correct? Just want to get my facts right before I report to BNM. This post has been edited by contestchris: Mar 25 2022, 01:16 PM
contestchris
Mar 25 2022, 01:38 PM
Alright, I have reported to RHB Customer Service and RHB Customer Advocacy via email, cc BNM Telelink.
Complaint as follows:
Dear RHB,
For the past two months (Feb 2022 and March 2022 statements), I am having an issue whereby the cashback awarded for my RHB Shell Visa Card is lower than I actually should be getting based on the card's T&Cs.
I came across other people facing this same issue (from previous years) in online forums, and according to them, it was due to RHB's system incorrectly capturing the "excluded" transactions, for example, government-related transactions. Basically, government-related transactions are not entitled to cashback, but they form a part of the "Monthly Total Spend", which determines the cashback tiers. It is here that RHB's system has issues, and customers have had to manually contact RHB to reinstate the missing cashback.
As a customer, it is unacceptable that I have to manually write-in to RHB. If it is a one-off thing, it is understandable. But from my research, this issue has been going on for years and has yet to be fixed. I wonder, how many other customers have had to forego cashbacks they're actually entitled to, as not everyone checks their statements to ensure the cashbacks are computed correctly. This is something we as customers ought to trust the bank to do right.
I want to hear an action plan from RHB to address this issue once and for all. I have copied BNM Telelink with this email, as evidence that I have brought this matter to RHB's attention.
If I do not hear back from RHB within the next 7 days addressing this issue, I will write in an official complaint to Bank Negara Malaysia highlighting this issue. I will also be seeking compensation for the missing cashback due to this issue for ALL customers that have been affected in the past by this.
I hope this complaint is taken seriously.
contestchris
Apr 5 2022, 12:52 AM
Hi guys, I've hit 1 year anniversary, so have SST. I'm a frequent user, how to request for SST rebate? How likely is it to be granted?
contestchris
Apr 5 2022, 10:29 AM
Sent a secure mail last night, got a reply this morning. Mind you, this has been my primary card for the past year. Total transactions amounting to >RM20k.
----------
Thank you for your message to RHB Bank
With regard to your concern, we regret to inform that the Card Service Tax (CST) is not waivable as this is a service tax payable to the Government.
Hence, you need to remit the necessary payment within the payment dateline as to avoid additional financial charges.
However, the Bank would absorb the CST if you agree to maintain the credit card and to perform either one of the following,
i) Spend / swipe 3x using your credit card within 2 weeks or, ii) Sign up for RHB Balance Transfer/CashXcess/Dial-An-Instalment (for Principal cardholder only) or, iii) Sign up with 1 auto billing (Smart pay).
Each card need to perform either one on above transaction.
We kindly advice you to revert your consent and preferred option to us for our further action.
Should you require further assistance about other RHB banking products & services, you may send another message and we would be glad to assist you.
contestchris
Apr 5 2022, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Apr 5 2022, 03:44 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
if you are aware, there's no way for the bank to waive the sst, valid for all the banks. the rebate offer is very good already, since your are spending 20k a year, shouldn't have a problem with swipe 3x of rm1 or rm10 ewallet reloads in 2 weeks right? Yea, definitely easy. Wasn't complaining, just posting what RHB sent me
contestchris
Apr 6 2022, 11:34 PM
In January 2022, I made a Guardian Online Malaysia transaction worth RM110. This was done on 20th of Jan 2022, and posted on the next day. However, this Guardian Online Malaysia transaction was rejected by Guardian, due to some issue with the app. So I placed another order on the following day, ordering the same products at roughly the same cost RM110.
Both transactions appeared in my Jan 2022 credit card statement. Total statement spend amount was around RM2,750.
The refund for the RM110 however was only posted 3 weeks later, on 18th February 2022. As such, the refund was part of my February 2022 statement. Mind you, the "transaction date" of the reversal transaction still showed as 20 Jan 2022 on the February 2022 statement, just that the "posting date" showed 18 Feb 2022. My actual spend in February 2022 was RM2,504, but RHB only gave me the cashback for Tier 2, When I raised this with RHB, they responded by claiming that my "total spend" in February 2022 was RM2,394 (RM2,504 minus the RM110 refund).
My argument: Based on Clause 3.8, the adjustment has to occur in the statement month of the original transaction.
"3.8 The awarded Cash Back will be deducted from the Cardmember’s account if the good(s) or service(s) that the Card was used to pay for is returned, cancelled or the transaction is not authorised by the Cardmember."
RHB's argument (their actual reply via email): Any reversal, disputed transactions or billing will not be accredited with Cash Back and this is as per our Terms & Conditions under clause 4.1.
"4.1 Adjustments will be made to the Cash Back earned in the Cardmember’s account if there are any credit(s) or debit(s) posted to a Cardmember’s account, including those arising from returned goods or service, or from billing disputes. Any disputed transactions/ billing will not be accredited with Cash Back."
Who is in the right here? At the end of the day, the cashback I miss out on is roughly around RM40, which is not much. But it's more about the principle. I believe the adjustment should be made to the January 2022 statement, rather than the February 2022 statement as they have done. I'd like to take this matter further to the authorities, since RHB has been unhelpful and repeating the same thing, but I want to know first if my case has legs.
Thanks!
RHB's full email reply:
We have thoroughly checking on your request for cash back for month of February 2022, however we are sorry to inform you that we are unable to accede to it.
For your kind information, your total spending in February is only RM2,394.43 (under clause 3.2 which is under category Tier 2).
Please note the reversal retails spend below in month of February.
1802 GUARDIAN-E COMM SHAH ALAM 109.92-
Any reversal, disputed transactions or billing will not be accredited with Cash Back and this is as per our Terms & Conditions under clause 4.1 .
Follow up email reply:
As per our previous email, we have informed that your total spending in February is only RM2,394.43 instead of RM2,504.35 (under clause 3.2 which is under category Tier 2).
This post has been edited by contestchris: Apr 6 2022, 11:47 PM
contestchris
Apr 17 2022, 02:41 PM
Received RM25 CST within 1week of fulfilling T&C
contestchris
Apr 24 2022, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Apr 20 2022, 10:06 AM) I didn't get, thankfully.
contestchris
May 3 2022, 10:08 AM
How did you guys get the points? Heavy user of RHB Shell Visa card here (monthly avg around RM3k), never got any points whatsoever.