131 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

News Y510p FHD 4700MQ GT755m@3399; i7 GT755X2 W8.1@3999, Y510p/Y410p add on gpu GT755M5/GT755M4 ^

garfieldcrazy
post Jun 19 2013, 11:40 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(arielravenfall @ Jun 19 2013, 11:19 PM)
according to forum from US user of y510, optimus function only when SLI is disabled... means that if no external GC in ultrabay slot, then only optimus can function.. if external gc insert, then optimus disable, SLI enabled..  rolleyes.gif
Actually the whole point of having the y500 is to have SLI, having OPTIMUS in it is just a gimmik, or to me a total joke, I mean look at the big picture, A gaming laptop with good battery life? aww c'mon cool2.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 20 2013, 12:31 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(shadow_calamity @ Jun 19 2013, 11:33 PM)
need to take out ultrabay for optimus to function..? cannot just disable sli in nvidia control panel..  hmm.gif
Well, maybe can also.. I'm not sure... u try search the forums.. i forgot oredy the name of the forum.. sorry icon_rolleyes.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 20 2013, 12:40 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(garfieldcrazy @ Jun 19 2013, 11:40 PM)
Actually the whole point of having the y500 is to have SLI, having OPTIMUS in it is just a gimmik, or to me a total joke, I mean look at the big picture, A gaming laptop with good battery life? aww c'mon cool2.gif
yup! Agree with u 100000000% thumbup.gif .... Why bother buying a gaming laptop if u want to use it on battery? Heck, even on batteries the laptop's gaming performance decrease by 70%.. to me, gaming laptops are laptops that we often use at home or working place without having to move or carry it around, and only rely on it's mobility when needed (for presentation, for business, etc)...

If u guys really want a gaming laptop with mobility, then go for y410.. the optimus extends the battery life by 2-3 hours for that laptop, whereas for y510, it increase battery time by 1-2 hours only doh.gif
SUSErgoProxi
post Jun 20 2013, 04:41 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

QUOTE(garfieldcrazy @ Jun 19 2013, 11:11 PM)
Went to lowyat today, ordered my GT750m[y500] Removable graphics for RM669, got a deal of RM650, will arrive in about 2 weeks time
how much for psu & y400 version?

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Jun 20 2013, 04:43 AM
SUSErgoProxi
post Jun 20 2013, 04:49 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

QUOTE(arielravenfall @ Jun 19 2013, 08:56 PM)
Well, the new gt750m variant has new graphic card, so there's no new driver for it yet... performance is quite noob for some games, but for recently released Metro: Last Light, can run on high settings with no problem..

Also, the new variant of y500 (with geforce gt750m) has no wireless connection problem or the touchpad problem whatsoever (this problem occured on y500 with gt650m graphic card)

I think that's about it~ btw, the speaker ROARS!!!  thumbup.gif  (To be honest, i kept mine at 38 only... Lower it a bit at night as at 38 it's quite loud already.. above 60 already like personal theather, 100 is (I never reached that volume... Afraid speaker might get spoiled)

Been owning this babe for almost a month now. If u need the Nvidia Optimus function (Improve battery life), then get y510... if not, y500 is your best bang for the bucks! Once I bought it, I never looked back again~  notworthy.gif

Btw, the keyboard red-backlit lights become dimmer faster if u leave it on highest brightness (set using Fn + Space Bar) while playing games until laptop overheat like mine.. >.<
really? blink.gif
need to buy external speaker?
&
turn off blacklit?

This post has been edited by ErgoProxi: Jun 20 2013, 04:54 AM
mfitri77
post Jun 20 2013, 09:07 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(arielravenfall @ Jun 20 2013, 12:40 AM)
yup! Agree with u 100000000% thumbup.gif  .... Why bother buying a gaming laptop if u want to use it on battery? Heck, even on batteries the laptop's gaming performance decrease by 70%..  to me, gaming laptops are laptops that we often use at home or working place without having to move or carry it around, and only rely on it's mobility when needed (for presentation, for business, etc)...

If u guys really want a gaming laptop with mobility, then go for y410.. the optimus extends the battery life by 2-3 hours for that laptop, whereas for y510, it increase battery time by 1-2 hours only  doh.gif
The other side benefits of having Optimus is it also allows you to use functions like Quick Sync. May not be of much help in gaming, but useful if you deal with a lot of media files/encoding works and such.

t5unami@work
post Jun 20 2013, 09:20 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(arielravenfall @ Jun 19 2013, 02:43 PM)
Time for me to shine on this V2 thread! Hi all! Lenovo y500 Gt750M SLI Variant (7 weeks) Owner here!  rclxms.gif

Wanna ask to all  those who owned y400/y410/y500/y510 with GT750M, have u guys found any new drivers for this graphic card? I'm stuck on using 311.27 driver (provided in lenovo website).... I googled and saw that there's already a 319.17 driver for gefore gt750M, but it's only for Linux and FreeBSD  cry.gif

Someone suggested me on V1 Thread to try out 320.14 beta driver for gt740m for my lappy... is it ok? Anyone tried this and confirmed it's stable?  icon_question.gif
t5unami@work
post Jun 20 2013, 09:21 AM

132 posts

im using y400 gt750m & driver 311.27 driver stable
AiSheep
post Jun 20 2013, 09:52 AM

109 posts

Looks like Lenovo have ditch away anti glare panel on their y510p and replace with glossy panel.
http://forum.notebookreview.com/ideapad-es...d-y510p-87.html
garfieldcrazy
post Jun 20 2013, 10:23 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Jun 20 2013, 04:41 AM)
how much for psu & y400 version?
PSU Rm 260 ask for better price, y400 you have to go ask yourself
arielravenfall
post Jun 20 2013, 10:35 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Jun 20 2013, 04:49 AM)
really? blink.gif
need to buy external speaker?
&
turn off blacklit?
No no no no! I dunnoe what u mean, but this laptop's speaker is powerful as it is... i just dont want to put it at 100 as most speakers will break because of too high volume... Well, if u want, u can try it.. but buying an external speaker is not advisable... the JBL speaker is loud lol~ sweat.gif

Urm backlit u can turn off during morning as it the red lights cant be seen well during morning. I did this too to prevent the LED from being overused. However if u using ur lappy in a dark environment, u can turn ur backlit to medium birghtness or full brightness.. thumbup.gif

Btw, ADVICE TO ALL NEW OWNER OF LENOVO Y400/410/500/510 , make sure not to put ur red-backlit keyboard on brightest setting and go for gaming.. The heat from excessive gaming and too much brightness on LED will overstress the LED, causing it to go dimmer.. Trust me, mine is now a bit dimmer (well, on some keys only... not all keys become dimmer sweat.gif )
arielravenfall
post Jun 20 2013, 10:40 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:07 AM)
The other side benefits of having Optimus is it also allows you to use functions like Quick Sync. May not be of much help in gaming, but useful if you deal with a lot of media files/encoding works and such.
Owh i see.. well, i'm not sure about Quick Sync function as i'm using my laptop for gaming and doing some studying projects on it (well, i'm a student icon_rolleyes.gif ).... well, it's still up to people who wanna buy this laptop.. it's their money, their decision lol... We are here just to advice them icon_idea.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 20 2013, 10:43 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(t5unami@work @ Jun 20 2013, 09:21 AM)
im using y400 gt750m & driver 311.27 driver stable
ya bro.. i am also using 311.27 driver, and yes.. it is stable.. but what i'm asking is: are there any new drivers for geforce gt750m graphic card? There is already driver version 319.17, but IT'S ONLY FOR LINUX AND FREEBSD OS cry.gif cry.gif

Someone from V1 thread suggested using the 320.14 driver under gt740m... Has anyone tried this? hmm.gif
Mr_47
post Jun 20 2013, 03:06 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

im using my laptop primarily to work, others music and gaming so optimus is a must when im in a work mode so that we can maximize the battery
garfieldcrazy
post Jun 20 2013, 03:21 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:06 PM)
im using my laptop primarily to work, others music and gaming so optimus is a must when im in a work mode so that we  can maximize the battery
Using a y500 primarily to work?? Isn't that a bit overkill?
Mr_47
post Jun 20 2013, 03:22 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(garfieldcrazy @ Jun 20 2013, 03:21 PM)
Using a y500 primarily to work?? Isn't that a bit overkill?
lol yup , also a heavy gamer. i do gaming onsite or when travelling for work tongue.gif
garfieldcrazy
post Jun 20 2013, 03:25 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 20 2013, 03:22 PM)
lol yup , also a heavy gamer. i do gaming onsite or when travelling for work tongue.gif
Lol if me I cannot do that lo I'd feel that my money is wasted...
16gb RAm, 128gb Crucial mSata, GT750 sli
Mr_47
post Jun 20 2013, 04:05 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(garfieldcrazy @ Jun 20 2013, 03:25 PM)
Lol if me I cannot do that lo I'd feel that my money is wasted...
16gb RAm, 128gb Crucial mSata, GT750 sli
wasted what? gaming you can, balik kampung also can gaming, working also can , Im an it engineer with lots of VM work. i7 + 8gb ram huge full hd screen really helps, what else can you get with the price og y500? mac book bs lor..
raymondtong94
post Jun 20 2013, 04:16 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 20 2013, 04:05 PM)
wasted what? gaming you can, balik kampung also can gaming, working also can , Im an it engineer with lots of VM work. i7 + 8gb ram huge full hd screen really helps, what else can you get with the price og y500? mac book bs lor..
im also a heavy gamer. biggrin.gif
but im looking something more massive, a 17.3" laptop.

next 4 years plan to travel to japan while bringing the lappy and i can play games at a cafe during lunch hours and perhaps, joining some high school girls if can. drool.gif
Mr_47
post Jun 20 2013, 04:28 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 20 2013, 04:16 PM)
im also a heavy gamer. biggrin.gif
but im looking something more massive, a 17.3" laptop.

next 4 years plan to travel to japan while bringing the lappy and i can play games at a cafe during lunch hours and perhaps, joining some high school girls if can. drool.gif
lol 17' omg... 15' y500 sli enuff bro

anyway pm me the japan high school girls hehe drool.gif whistling.gif ( must be pinky)

131 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:53 AM