QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 30 2013, 06:48 PM)
yup eyeing tis tab, still deciding coz of the size Android Tablet Recommendation, List of sellers too!
Android Tablet Recommendation, List of sellers too!
Jul 30 2013, 10:19 PM
319 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 31 2013, 12:11 AM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
hello fellow LYN ers:)
this is a very good thread:D geting real tired seeing mainstream brands everywhere i go...would like to try some non mainstream brands for a change... decided that i should try one and see how it goes... 1. Non-mainstream brand. 2. Budget. (RM300-RM600) 3. (gaming specs, good ram, good processor, all the required sensors)(Camera's MP:2 and/or above)(anything goes, no larger than 10") doesnt need to be super powerful. 4. Casual browsing, note taking, gaming 3d/hd, movie, if got 3g capab would be a nice addition one question tho, these non mainstream tablets... how good are they?? do they last long? are they durable? is it a hassle to manage them? thank you:) |
Jul 31 2013, 12:24 AM
4,503 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(UserU @ Jul 30 2013, 10:12 PM) Most of the tablets are made in China, including Motorola, Samsung and ASUS. RM499 is indeed a good price.From this link, price starts at RM499. Was wondering hows the new nexus 7 and how much would it be? Would it be wiser to spend the extra bucks on the nexus 7? |
Jul 31 2013, 12:53 AM
5,093 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Land of make believe |
QUOTE(Tainted @ Jul 31 2013, 12:24 AM) RM499 is indeed a good price. As there are two Nexus 7 models; first gen(2012) and second gen(2013), you'll have to shell out around twice the price.Was wondering hows the new nexus 7 and how much would it be? Would it be wiser to spend the extra bucks on the nexus 7? IMHO, many choose the branded over the less prominent ones. As a result, there are more ROMs and supports for the former. If you are planning to customize your ROM occasionally for optimum performance, buy the Nexus 7. Else, if you're only focused on productivity and entertainment without the need to change ROMs often, choose the RM499 option. This post has been edited by UserU: Jul 31 2013, 12:59 AM |
Jul 31 2013, 12:59 AM
2,154 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
I'm actually planning on selling my used 16gb wifi model nexus 7(running android 4.3)..PM me if interested =)
Jul 31 2013, 01:01 AM
5,093 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Land of make believe |
QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 31 2013, 12:59 AM) I'm actually planning on selling my used 16gb wifi model nexus 7(running android 4.3)..PM me if interested =) You can post it in the Notebook & tablets subforum. This thread is solely for discussion purposes. |
Jul 31 2013, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(UserU @ Jul 31 2013, 01:53 AM) As there are two Nexus 7 models; first gen(2012) and second gen(2013), you'll have to shell out around twice the price. I only use it to multitask and to read documents while I'm out.IMHO, many choose the branded over the less prominent ones. As a result, there are more ROMs and supports for the former. If you are planning to customize your ROM occasionally for optimum performance, buy the Nexus 7. Else, if you're only focused on productivity and entertainment without the need to change ROMs often, choose the RM499 option. Prefer something that does not lag. Generally a smooth tablet. GPU does not matter much to me as I don't play games on it, at most Candy Crush. Thats about it. |
Jul 31 2013, 01:18 AM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Tainted @ Jul 31 2013, 01:05 AM) I only use it to multitask and to read documents while I'm out. From video reviews I have seen, the Cube U30GT2 with Rockchip 3188 isn't smooth at all. Transitions between app drawers is not butter smooth and loading times are not fast. Web browsing smoothness like scrolling and pinch to zoom isn't as good as the branded tablets, even the Memopad HD7Prefer something that does not lag. Generally a smooth tablet. GPU does not matter much to me as I don't play games on it, at most Candy Crush. Thats about it. |
Jul 31 2013, 01:36 AM
So the memopad hd7 is still a better choice?
Jul 31 2013, 01:45 AM
Jul 31 2013, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(Tainted @ Jul 31 2013, 01:36 AM) Going for branded tablet has a lot of good points. Mainly are:1) Warranty support. Your tablet is insured and a good peace of mind. 2) Software updates from manufacturer. You should be getting regular updates from the manufacturer, even better if you get a Nexus device as you will receive the latest updates FIRST and not having to wait for gazillion months like the other brands 3) Good optimized hardware and software- Like you can easily see in the video comparison. This is my opinion lah. Oh not to forget, I don't really like the grey screen colour when the display is off, doesn't look nice at all. Look at Nexus 7 |
Jul 31 2013, 02:43 AM
Well, looks like the memopad is quite snappy.
Will think about it. Yeap think I prefer going with branded tabs. |
Jul 31 2013, 07:05 AM
1,790 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL |
QUOTE(Tainted @ Jul 31 2013, 01:36 AM) here's a detailed review of the memopad hd7 and comparison with the older nexus 7http://www.anandtech.com/show/7160/asus-memo-pad-hd7-review |
Jul 31 2013, 08:46 AM
7,951 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(yuuhi @ Jul 31 2013, 12:11 AM) hello fellow LYN ers:) non mainstream brand usually only have gravity sensor only. this is a very good thread:D geting real tired seeing mainstream brands everywhere i go...would like to try some non mainstream brands for a change... decided that i should try one and see how it goes... 1. Non-mainstream brand. 2. Budget. (RM300-RM600) 3. (gaming specs, good ram, good processor, all the required sensors)(Camera's MP:2 and/or above)(anything goes, no larger than 10") doesnt need to be super powerful. 4. Casual browsing, note taking, gaming 3d/hd, movie, if got 3g capab would be a nice addition one question tho, these non mainstream tablets... how good are they?? do they last long? are they durable? is it a hassle to manage them? thank you:) no magnetic field sensor, no compass, no gyroscope, no proximity, no light sensor, no temperature sensor, no gravity sensor, no orientation sensor etc |
Jul 31 2013, 09:45 AM
17,467 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Lazada |
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 31 2013, 08:46 AM) non mainstream brand usually only have gravity sensor only. Now I only know. no magnetic field sensor, no compass, no gyroscope, no proximity, no light sensor, no temperature sensor, no gravity sensor, no orientation sensor etc |
Jul 31 2013, 10:07 AM
Jul 31 2013, 10:27 AM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Jul 31 2013, 10:30 AM
Jul 31 2013, 11:06 AM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 31 2013, 10:30 AM) I think China tablet is harder to sell now compare to like before Nexus 7. You can get New 2013 version Nexus 7 for RM700 (direct conversion). (better processor + better screen + its a freakin Nexus). Pretty bad scene for Malaysia China Tablet unless they are selling way below it. RM570 for Mini One will not sell if Nexus 7 is here with direct conversion price. I think China tablet will need to price their tablet at RM450 with RK3188 tablet pretty much soon. And all other tablet with AllWinner/MTK/etc will need to price it at RM2xx. I think that will crash their earning. Blame it on Google. We get better quality branded tablet at bottom price. |
Jul 31 2013, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 31 2013, 11:06 AM) I think China tablet is harder to sell now compare to like before Nexus 7. You can get New 2013 version Nexus 7 for RM700 (direct conversion). (better processor + better screen + its a freakin Nexus). You really think that Asus Malaysia will sell the new Nexus 7 @ RM700? Direct conversion is one thing, but local RRP is another. Remember, the first gen Nexus 7 was $199, meaning RM643 or so after conversion. And how much was it sold in Malaysia when it was first launched?Pretty bad scene for Malaysia China Tablet unless they are selling way below it. RM570 for Mini One will not sell if Nexus 7 is here with direct conversion price. I think China tablet will need to price their tablet at RM450 with RK3188 tablet pretty much soon. And all other tablet with AllWinner/MTK/etc will need to price it at RM2xx. I think that will crash their earning. Blame it on Google. We get better quality branded tablet at bottom price. To me, cheap China tablets are disposable. Rosak? Throw away, because frankly, it just isn't worth repairing it. If the local distri can fix it, good. If they need to send back to China, be prepared to wait a few months without a tablet. I just dropped my Vido, and that destroyed my power button. I'm contemplating to sell it right now. Mind you, my Vido is in a case, and it dropped on a carpeted floor. The power button sorts of works, but needs to be pressed hard. Warranty? I'd rather not be bothered. I know Google launched the Nexus7 as a budget yet powerful tablet, but that happens overseas. Google has no control of the price Asus sets locally. So because of that, the Nexus 7 isn't a budget tablet like what the Americans perceive it to be. For our local market, budget tablets are cheap, like those Allwinner A13 tablets. |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:42 AM |