140 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android Tablet Recommendation, List of sellers too!

TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 07:45 AM, updated 8y ago

-
7,948 posts

Copypasta over from the Android Phone Recommendation tered, but with a few alterations

To request recommendation, what u need to post:

CODE
1. Brand. Mainstream brand? (Asus, MSI, Samsung). Non-mainstream brand (Ainol, Pipo, Vido, Onda, Momo etc)
2. Budget. (RM150-RM2000)
3. Specs. (Ram/Proc/Camera's MP/Screen size)
4. What you need in the tablet (Casual browsing/eBook reading/Gaming/Note taking/etc)

For most part, it's very much like recommending a phone, but there are more brands that comes into play, and not forgetting Samsung's favorite trend of saturating the market with whatever models they can come up with. laugh.gif Depending on what you want, you may decide between a mainstream brand, or a non-mainstream brand. For example, assuming a budget of RM500,one can either get a Asus Memo Pad ME172V, Acer Iconia B1 or if you want a non-mainstream brand, there are options from Ainol (Novo7 Venus, Novo7 Crystal), Vido (N12 Champion, N70S) etc. Most of the time, non-mainstream brands may be able to provide a better specification over a branded one at the same price or cheaper (On the assumption of 7" tablets)

As of June 2013, there are several mainstream quad-core CPUs that powers these tablets, among them are the nVidia Tegra3, Samsung Exynos 4412, Actions ATM7029, Allwinner A31, Rockchip RK3188.

Do ask away biggrin.gif

Sellers
- abubin
- ccs221
- macpro2
- androidworld

* If you know of any good sellers, do let me know.

How to select your Android Tablet

What Android Tablet should you select? Is the most expensive always the best to meet your need? This guide will provide some simple ways to compare different models and make sure that your Tablet match your need and budget. As the tablet market is moving fast we will try to keep this page updated.

Screen

The size of the screen is a compromise between mobility and convenience. A big screen is nice but not very handy if you want to carry you Tablet with your everywhere. You can get Tablets with screens from 5" to 10" but 7" and 10" is most popular.Choices.jpg

There are two main types of screens Resistive Touch and Capacitive. Resistive Touch is more common on less expensive devices and requires some pressure from your finger to operate. It does not support multi-touch. Capacitive has a shiny glass surface and supports multi-touch gestures. This is the most common type on higher priced devices. This type of display requires skin contact

Processor

In general the faster the processor the faster the Tablet. The speed is measure in GHz and for most usage between 0.8GHz and 1GHz is sufficient. Some newer model are now supplied with Dual Core and Quad Core Processors but a single core processor is sufficient for most users and is more gentle to your battery life.

Memory

There are two forms of memories. RAM and Storage. But again the more the better.

RAM

RAM is used when the processor is working on executing your orders. It is normally measured in MB. 512MB is sufficient for most purposes.

Storage

This is also called Hard Disk or NAND Flash. It is measured in GB and this is where you save all your programs and data. You know the general rule: The more is better. But Android Tablets use storage very efficient and if you just use your Tablet for email, simple games and some browsing you might find that 4 GB is more than sufficient. If you however want to have all your music and films on your Tablet you need space. 16GB is a good choice and if that is not enough you can SD Micro card to store additional data. SD Micro Cards are rather Cheap and have the advantage that you can have several with different data and just change them as you need.

External Connectors

At least one USB port is a must. 2 is better and 3 is fantastic. You also need a TF card slot for you SD Micro Card and then of course a plug for your earphones. Many Tablets are now also coming with a HDMI port. This is essential if you want to transfer High Definition movies etc. to your TV or music to your HiFi.

*Take from here. All credits for the quote above goes back to the original poster

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Jul 10 2013, 09:56 AM
mudkipryan94
post Jun 11 2013, 07:47 AM

Not today, dirtbag
11,982 posts

Nexus 7 is the best moment of the tablet on flashing rom smile.gif
RRP-899 yo!
homi
post Jun 11 2013, 07:47 AM

Knights of the Holy Grail
2,105 posts

Whats the highest spec i can get for the budget RM500 ?

Raw Power + Screen Quality is my major concern.

Suggest me please smile.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 07:56 AM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jun 11 2013, 07:47 AM)
Nexus 7 is the best moment of the tablet on flashing rom smile.gif
RRP-899 yo!
I dont deny that the Nexus7 is a superior tablet, but the price may be a put off for some, me including.

QUOTE(homi @ Jun 11 2013, 07:47 AM)
Whats the highest spec i can get for the budget RM500 ?

Raw Power + Screen Quality is my major concern.

Suggest me please smile.gif
What screen size are you looking at? 8" ?

If you want an 8" model, get a tablet that has a Rockchip processor. Avoid the Actions ATM7029 or the Allwinnder A31.

Here's an earlier comparison I made

Ainol Novo 8 Dream Vido N80 RK Onda V813 Ramos W13PRO
8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x600
Actions ATM7029 Quad Core Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Allwinner A31 Quad Core AMlogic ARM Cortex-A9, Dual Core
Vivante GC1000 GPU Mali 400 GPU PowerVR SGX544 MP2 GPU Mali 400 GPU
1GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 1GB DDR3
6200mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery
RM439 RM459 RM509 RM350
joytest
post Jun 11 2013, 09:39 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 07:56 AM)
I dont deny that the Nexus7 is a superior tablet, but the price may be a put off for some, me including.
What screen size are you looking at? 8" ?

If you want an 8" model, get a tablet that has a Rockchip processor. Avoid the Actions ATM7029 or the Allwinnder A31.

Here's an earlier comparison I made

Ainol Novo 8 Dream Vido N80 RK Onda V813 Ramos W13PRO
8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x600
Actions ATM7029 Quad Core Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Allwinner A31 Quad Core AMlogic ARM Cortex-A9, Dual Core
Vivante GC1000 GPU Mali 400 GPU PowerVR SGX544 MP2 GPU Mali 400 GPU
1GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 1GB DDR3
6200mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery
RM439 RM459 RM509 RM350
Good thread idea. Pinnable? brows.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 09:44 AM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 11 2013, 09:39 AM)
Good thread idea. Pinnable? brows.gif
Gotta maintain lo brows.gif

Wait I summon prasys
joytest
post Jun 11 2013, 09:52 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 09:44 AM)
Gotta maintain lo brows.gif

Wait I summon prasys
Ini tered high maintenance.....
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 11:17 AM

-
7,948 posts

OP updated biggrin.gif
Bujal.x
post Jun 11 2013, 11:31 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

the full hd android tablet :

1.galaxy nexus 10 = rm16XX (ap set)
2.acer iconia a701 =rm 12XX
3.huawei mediapad 10FHD=rm14XX
4.onda v972/973 = rm8xx
5.xperia tablet z 16gb wifi =rm14XX

any other model to add?
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 11:32 AM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 11 2013, 11:31 AM)
the full hd android tablet :

1.galaxy nexus 10 = rm16XX (ap set)
2.acer iconia a701 =rm 12XX
3.huawei mediapad 10FHD=rm14XX
4.onda v972/973 = rm8xx
5.xperia tablet z 16gb wifi =rm14XX

any other model to add?
Iconia kinda cheap for a full HD tablet tongue.gif
Bujal.x
post Jun 11 2013, 11:36 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 11:32 AM)
Iconia kinda cheap for a full HD tablet tongue.gif
quadcore some more~used set price around rm1k~i owned onda v972 twice..a good tablet..the hdmi port is added bonus~
NightFelix
post Jun 11 2013, 11:37 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,435 posts

Any recommendation for 10" tablet + cheap (sorry no want branded over price ads samsung)

Currently got 1 model on my list, Onda 9.7” series (V973) - recommended by macpro2

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Jun 11 2013, 11:38 AM
Bujal.x
post Jun 11 2013, 11:41 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 11 2013, 11:37 AM)
Any recommendation for 10" tablet + cheap (sorry no want branded over price ads samsung)

Currently got 1 model on my list, Onda 9.7” series (V973) - recommended by macpro2
buy it.best bang for your buck~ biggrin.gif same screen resolution with ipad retina display.the downside of it is the rom it self..lag and buggy for a quadcore.but there's a numbers of custom rom available so dont worry~~
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 11:46 AM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 11 2013, 11:41 AM)
buy it.best bang for your buck~ biggrin.gif same screen resolution with ipad retina display.the downside of it is the rom it self..lag and buggy for a quadcore.but there's a numbers of custom rom available so dont worry~~
Interesting biggrin.gif

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 11 2013, 11:37 AM)

You can consider the Asus Memo Pad Smart 10. RM1099.

Operating System: Android 4.1
Display: 10.1" LED Backlight WXGA (1280x800) Screen, IPS Panel, 10 finger multi-touch support
CPU: NVIDIA® Tegra3™ Quad-Core, 1.2 GHz
Memory: 1GB
Storage: 16GB eMMC, 5GB Life Time ASUS Webstorage Space *1
Wireless Data Network : WLAN802.11 a/b/g/n
Bluetooth V3.0+EDR +A2DP
Camera: 1.2 MP Front Camera, 5 MP Rear Camera
Audio: High Quality Speaker, Supreme SRS Sound, High Quality Mic
Interface: 1 x Micro USB, 1 x Micro HDMI, 1 Head phone / Mic-in, 1 x Micro SD (support MicroSDHC and MicroSDXC)
Sensor: G-Sensor, Gyroscope, E-compass, Ambient Light Sensor, GPS
Battery: 8.5 hours ; 19Wh Li-polymer Battery*3

Reading around, did show that in China, the return rate for the Onda with the Allwinner chipset has a return rate of >50% shocking.gif
SUSAmeiN
post Jun 11 2013, 11:51 AM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

ericmaxman datang lagi dengan terednya... brows.gif

kasi pinn la...

btw, still searching for suitable 7" tablet to diy gagacar entertainment.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AmeiN: Jun 11 2013, 11:55 AM
Bujal.x
post Jun 11 2013, 11:53 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 11:46 AM)
Interesting biggrin.gif
You can consider the Asus Memo Pad Smart 10. RM1099.

Operating System: Android 4.1
Display: 10.1" LED Backlight WXGA (1280x800) Screen, IPS Panel, 10 finger multi-touch support
CPU: NVIDIA® Tegra3™ Quad-Core, 1.2 GHz
Memory: 1GB
Storage: 16GB eMMC, 5GB Life Time ASUS Webstorage Space *1
Wireless Data Network : WLAN802.11 a/b/g/n
Bluetooth V3.0+EDR +A2DP
Camera: 1.2 MP Front Camera, 5 MP Rear Camera
Audio: High Quality Speaker, Supreme SRS Sound, High Quality Mic
Interface: 1 x Micro USB, 1 x Micro HDMI, 1 Head phone / Mic-in, 1 x Micro SD (support MicroSDHC and MicroSDXC)
Sensor: G-Sensor, Gyroscope, E-compass, Ambient Light Sensor, GPS
Battery: 8.5 hours ; 19Wh Li-polymer Battery*3

Reading around, did show that in China, the return rate for the Onda with the Allwinner chipset has a return rate of >50% shocking.gif
wow shocking.gif shocking.gif looks like im the lucky 50%~didnt know got issue with the tablet sweat.gif sweat.gif
NightFelix
post Jun 11 2013, 11:56 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,435 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 11:46 AM)
QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 11 2013, 11:53 AM)
wow shocking.gif  shocking.gif looks like im the lucky 50%~didnt know got issue with the tablet sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I was thinking the Asus MeMoPad 10: too at first time, but after compare with Onda v973, decided to choose Onda because of price and spec.
Seriously, I dont want be the one bad luck. icon_question.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 11:57 AM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jun 11 2013, 11:51 AM)
ericmaxman datang lagi dengan terednya... brows.gif

kasi pinn la...

btw, still searching for suitable 7" tablet to diy gagacar entertainment.. whistling.gif
Tgk nama pun dah tau laugh.gif

What requirements?

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 11 2013, 11:53 AM)
wow shocking.gif  shocking.gif looks like im the lucky 50%~didnt know got issue with the tablet sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Then I guess its ur luck biggrin.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jun 11 2013, 12:01 PM

-
7,948 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 11 2013, 11:56 AM)
I was thinking the Asus MeMoPad 10: too at first time, but after compare with Onda v973, decided to choose Onda because of price and spec.
Seriously, I dont want be the one bad luck. icon_question.gif
How about the Ramos W30? Samsung exynos chip set.. or the Cube U30GT?
SUSAmeiN
post Jun 11 2013, 01:00 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 11 2013, 11:57 AM)
Tgk nama pun dah tau laugh.gif

What requirements?
Then I guess its ur luck biggrin.gif
port 3.5 and mini usb must be same side and have gps.. tongue.gif

140 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:01 PM