for me, gen-2 is a fairly good car. FC is okay.....engine is kinda smooth.
for me the bonus is the handling....nice. price = no comments!
-cheers-
Campro Engine Good or Not?
Jun 9 2006, 03:35 AM
1,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -Kopend @ Anfield- |
wah, really all want their opinon here to stand out aa...
for me, gen-2 is a fairly good car. FC is okay.....engine is kinda smooth. for me the bonus is the handling....nice. price = no comments! -cheers- |
Jun 9 2006, 08:46 AM
10,340 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Wah.... i saw a few page back someone tune the car to achieve 130bhp with such a nice torque curve flat all the way at 130hp for quite a wide area of rpm. Serious ar it can achieve that? Any mod? Thts test is measure on the wheel rite? If thts true then the engine not bad wor.... compare to the original one which achieve 110 bhp only at the end of the rpm range.
Jun 9 2006, 08:51 AM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
Jun 9 2006, 08:56 AM
Cool down bro... later kena warning by mod
Jun 9 2006, 09:19 AM
17,566 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: FFK Division - Klang |
or we all go pay him a visit in setapak....
how about that ? |
Jun 9 2006, 10:26 AM
148 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Sorry guys, cant help but notice all the pro is here so i MUST have your opinion.
Point 1: Campro (Gen2, WAJA) is BAD ... but still better than WIRA Point 2: Campro is SLOW to respond, BAD for jams. Point 3: Once speed reach 80km+, Campro is smooth. k. Reason is i sort of decided to get a WAJA ... but seeing proton STILL sell WAJA with OLD ENGINE at SAME price w CAMPRO. I cannot make up my mind which to take. Help? My main usage is driving to work, so JAM is a norm. Also, i will need to pass roller coaster road like Genting every day. (luckily short distance) When i drive, i like to feel POWER and i hate kena CUT QUEUE. (so if slow to pickup in jam.. u know lah.. always kena slot in one) I dont care about TOP SPEED, i usually drive around 80-100km only. Thanks. |
Jun 9 2006, 11:20 AM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
You need a 2nd hand Honda City iDSI
This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jun 9 2006, 11:22 AM |
Jun 9 2006, 11:38 AM
1,642 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
campro not good.... go for bmw lah bro....the best!
Jun 9 2006, 11:49 AM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
looking for quieter cabin, less engine sound. go for honda or toyota or hyundai.
Jun 9 2006, 01:00 PM
19,321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
QUOTE(coltrain @ Jun 9 2006, 03:27 AM) hmm....i'm also a Gen2 owner. Wah 4G91 DOHC also lose?? Like that consider not bad ler at least,,,XDwell,if u ask me wat i like about the car and dislike I like, the design of the car and the interior. dislike, the quality of the chasis,parts and the interior too plastic. my Gen2 is the 1st batch(2004) one, starting that time,i fix alot on this car,like dics rotars(fix 2 times damn),power windows bracket,plug core,exhaust and some other minor parts... the most headache place the is dics rotars,the quality really like shit. The surface easy to get unsmooth(hope u know wat i mean). for the engine?so so for me,i try race before with my friend Satria 4G91 1.5 DOHC.pickup i lose,long run i win. if my car are manual,i got confident to win pick up and long run on him.oh yah,that time my car still stock and my friend change straight pipe already. compare with Wira 1.5 ?i think Gen2 no problem with it. if compare with VTEC or MIVEC ?? no need say anything,they can "bungkus" me anytime. take my car for tuning ?for better performance ? might as well just go for Mivec or GSR ?!!since u want performance... if after tune,FC lower than before.I might will consider about it. |
Jun 9 2006, 01:15 PM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
1.5L vs 1.6L but 1.6L win the 1.5L?
Jun 9 2006, 01:32 PM
19,321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
if compare spec to spec both engines should be nearly the same stock
Why don't you try it against a 4G92 SOHC 1.6 and see? |
Jun 9 2006, 02:12 PM
3,872 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10001011010101 |
QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 8 2006, 11:21 PM) that was funny, why a lot of ppl told me that the black steel pipe is for VIM? ok, i'm totally confused. navigator, i hope you actually know how does a VIM device looks like, because as far as my eyes can see, there's no such thing on the Gen2. I hope you're the kind of person that believes in cold hard facts more than hearsay. Proton has already said that there is no VIM in their engine. Who would you choose to believe? Proton, or the mechanics? Even if you choose to believe in yourself, go find the VIM in the engine, ask several mechanics to help you out. If you can find it, then I'd gladly admit my mistake. If not, I believe its common courtesy to apologize for your misinformation regarding that. |
Jun 9 2006, 02:26 PM
3,872 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10001011010101 |
QUOTE(navigator @ Jun 8 2006, 11:20 PM) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=108939<--- please click this to see the torque chart. lower one is before tuning anf upper one is after tuning. after tuned campro comes with a torque range without even need the VVT or CPS thingie. this is not my car's chart yet, wanna contact the owner and buy his engine at million?????? navigator, that doesn't answers my question. all the while you are maintaining that campro engine is good because it can be tuned for a flatter torque curve, and that it has VIM in it. You even went as far as claiming the name of Campro is because it has a different profile, when it is just a more aggressive profile and nothing special about it. And its not named Campro because of that, Campro refers to the mechanism, and has nothing to do with cam profiles.dude, is this justify all your thought? and as I said, FOR THIS PARTICULAR MOMEMT I CANNOT UPLOAD ANY ATTACHMENT YET. and unless you pay me to go cafe, I won't do it. All these misinformation you did not even try to explain, or proof your words. To people who really know the Campro engine, we're actually very amused to see somebody creating such gross misinformation and mislead all the ignorant people in FnF. Now that your points are proven wrong again and again, I can only wonder when will you finally have the guts to admit your mistakes and indulge everybody in the real fact - Campro is just a plain vanilla DOHC 1.6 engine, with no extra technology in it. And to say you need a tune-up to get a flat torque curve still doesn't make it a good engine because any car with such a tune-up can get much better performance from it. An easy way is to run the engine leaner, and its basically a free DIY process to gain 10-15% power. |
Jun 9 2006, 02:51 PM
4,010 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: soviet sarawak, borneo. |
CamPro is nothing but just name. No Cam Profile Switching and Variable Intake Manifold technology inside the current 1.3L and 1.6L campro engine. Maybe in the next one or two years time they will have that technology in the so called campro engine.. or maybe never..
it is a stupid action by proton by not using the Petronas E01 engine years ago and develop their own CamPro engine. and now they want to collaborate with Petronas to build E01 range engine for them. E01e: Originally rated for Euro-2 specifications, the engine was up to Euro 3 early last year. |
Jun 9 2006, 03:01 PM
Damn ... wonder what kind of performance we will be getting from EO1... haihz...
Jun 9 2006, 03:05 PM
4,010 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: soviet sarawak, borneo. |
E01? as good as Honda's K20A or even better..
and from wikipedia : Proton Campro - Still under development, said to be based on Lotus technology which developed Porsche's VarioCam |
Jun 9 2006, 03:15 PM
2,479 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mars |
QUOTE(limsy @ Jun 9 2006, 10:26 AM) Sorry guys, cant help but notice all the pro is here so i MUST have your opinion. If u really wants a WAJA .. no other choice.. i would says the waja with mitsubishi engine (4G18) ..it has a peak torque at 2750 rpm .. since u says always JAM .. sure it suits more.. CAMPRO has a peak torque at 4000 rpm (u need to reverb more to get the power out of it).Point 1: Campro (Gen2, WAJA) is BAD ... but still better than WIRA Point 2: Campro is SLOW to respond, BAD for jams. Point 3: Once speed reach 80km+, Campro is smooth. k. Reason is i sort of decided to get a WAJA ... but seeing proton STILL sell WAJA with OLD ENGINE at SAME price w CAMPRO. I cannot make up my mind which to take. Help? My main usage is driving to work, so JAM is a norm. Also, i will need to pass roller coaster road like Genting every day. (luckily short distance) When i drive, i like to feel POWER and i hate kena CUT QUEUE. (so if slow to pickup in jam.. u know lah.. always kena slot in one) I dont care about TOP SPEED, i usually drive around 80-100km only. Thanks. Something to Clarify, your first point!.. u said Campro (Gen2,WAja) is better than Wira... that is way wrong ... try compare with a Wira LE (1.8 DOHC) .. |
Jun 9 2006, 04:03 PM
oo.. there's a WIRA LE??? dont see it in their website leh...
i just check w a proton outlet.. say they dont have stock for old engine liao.. *sob* Guess i will have to be a good citizen and support Waja Campro lor.. sigh... i hope i dont regret this. I dont wanna 2nd hand car.. i scared i got cheated and ended up with something i need to fix all the time. Anyways... its NOT that BAD ya? NO.. dont answer me. Somehow i feel its BEST to NOT know. |
Jun 9 2006, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jun 9 2006, 03:15 PM) CAMPRO has a peak torque at 4000 rpm (u need to reverb more to get the power out of it). Hrmm.. pardon my noobness.... but whats reverb? some kindof tuning? this mean IF i do something to my Waja Campro, it can improve its performance?approx how much r these fixings ah? Thanks. |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:21 PM |