Working in Singapore V14

megadisc
post Jun 28 2013, 12:32 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 28 2013, 12:22 AM)
To paraphrase Fatt Kor (Chow Yun Fatt) in A Better Tomorrow when relating his experience of having a gun pointed at his head...

"I once lived with a stranger for a roommate. More than one roommate. It was such a bad experience that I almost shit my pants. Ever since... I told myself... I WILL NEVER LET A STRANGER SHARE MY ROOM AGAIN."

Cue white doves and diving across the room shooting 30+ shots out of a gun with a 12 bullet magazine and 1 in the chamber.
i wonder if there wa a youtube link for that ..
Go_up
post Jun 28 2013, 02:23 AM

Hallucinogen
917 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jun 27 2013, 02:03 AM)
i stayed in teban before......nice place but if u got no transport, u got to take bus to the Jurong East MRT.
Fortunately i do not need back to Jurong East Mrt. I direct sit 79 bus to working area. 8 stops only 15mins.

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Jun 27 2013, 09:15 AM)
Err, if I had not mistaken teban hv limited public facilities nearby.. Nearest is j.east
around 15mins / bus daytime.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 27 2013, 12:40 PM)
doesn't it feels odd, sharing a room with a complete stranger ?
its okay for me ya. the room is nice and new.
yhoong12
post Jun 28 2013, 08:51 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Jun 28 2013, 02:23 AM)
Fortunately i do not need back to Jurong East Mrt. I direct sit 79 bus to working area. 8 stops only 15mins.
around 15mins / bus daytime.
its okay for me ya. the room is nice and new.
Ya, is ok for you, but seen you are looking for roommate, it might be not so ok for you due to limited public transportation.maybe find some one working in same company with you? hmm.gif
Victor1991
post Jun 28 2013, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jun 27 2013, 11:56 PM)
May be the 2 casinos need statistician.....
really.. shocking.gif Thank you for replying smile.gif

shiyau
post Jun 28 2013, 10:24 AM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

Anyone mind to enlighten me.. Taking which bus and which bus from Woodlands Int to Pasir Ris will be the fastest? MRT takes very long time sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Jun 28 2013, 10:47 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 28 2013, 10:24 AM)
Anyone mind to enlighten me.. Taking which bus and which bus from Woodlands Int to Pasir Ris will be the fastest? MRT takes very long time sweat.gif
bus 168 to Ikea...walk across the road (overhead bridge)...bus 5258 if not mistaken (not 168 and 27 this i can confirm)

http://gothere.sg/maps#q:woodlands%20to%20pasir%20ris
seems like u can change bus at jln kayu using 168 so no need to walk the bridge and use bus 39

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jun 28 2013, 10:50 AM
Deathscythe@@
post Jun 28 2013, 11:08 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 27 2013, 05:20 PM)
No, IMO it is too much of a downgrade. With 4.8k rm you can own your own condo plus car. With 3k sgd you can only rent a room. I don't subscribe to the rationale of coming over, spending like a pauper, converting the left over to RM and proclaiming woo hoo look how much more money I'm saving now that I'm in SG.
M&E engineer. Currently working in MNC, got a offer in construction M&E (local sg company)

QUOTE(HenDa @ Jun 27 2013, 05:34 PM)
depends on opportunity of career enhancement too
M&E engineer. Currently working in MNC, got a offer in construction M&E (local sg company). Do you think construction company good career prospects?
They offer 3k and not yet talk about benefit.. My current job more like M&E support through email, not much hands on and that is the reason i still considering the sg job.. Need more advise. sad.gif
HenDa
post Jun 28 2013, 11:15 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 11:08 AM)
M&E engineer. Currently working in MNC, got a offer in construction M&E (local sg company)
M&E engineer. Currently working in MNC, got a offer in construction M&E (local sg company). Do you think construction company good career prospects?
They offer 3k and not yet talk about benefit.. My current job more like M&E support through email, not much hands on and that is the reason i still considering the sg job.. Need more advise.  sad.gif
maybe you will want to tell us what you are looking for by working in SGP.

I was high paid in MYS with RM5k+ as contractor
Now a perm job in SGP with SGD3k+ and I am quite satisfied smile.gif

In MYS, no I don't think I can live easily with a condo with that salary, contract job doesn't last long too.
I am not sure too that I can withdraw my EPF when I am retired.

This post has been edited by HenDa: Jun 28 2013, 11:20 AM
paranoid
post Jun 28 2013, 11:37 AM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 28 2013, 10:24 AM)
from woodlands bus station, take bus 168. alight the moment you exit from the highway at tampines (ikea). the bus will make a stop in the middle of the highway (seletar) dont get off the wrong stop smile.gif

1) from that bus station u need to walk over to the opposite side (IBM & Jabil Circuit)
that bus stop, take bus 58, it will go straight to pasir ris station (last stop)

2) if you do not want to cross over to take bus 58. you can continue your ride on 168 until it reaches tampines station (take note the bus does not go into the interchange, you need to alight and walk across to tampines station and take the train -1stop to pasir ris)

This post has been edited by paranoid: Jun 28 2013, 11:42 AM
Deathscythe@@
post Jun 28 2013, 11:53 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(HenDa @ Jun 28 2013, 11:15 AM)
maybe you will want to tell us what you are looking for by working in SGP.

I was high paid in MYS with RM5k+ as contractor
Now a perm job in SGP with SGD3k+ and I am quite satisfied  smile.gif

In MYS, no I don't think I can live easily with a condo with that salary, contract job doesn't last long too.
I am not sure too that I can withdraw my EPF when I am retired.
I just wish to know. M&E engineer in local sg company (general building projects) are doing what? will work like bangla everyday or not? lol

RM5k++ only able to save 2-3k per month provided you kiamsiap a lot.. in SG, u can save more right?

Btw, one room how much? where to rent the room from internet source?
HenDa
post Jun 28 2013, 12:05 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 11:53 AM)
I just wish to know. M&E engineer in local sg company (general building projects) are doing what? will work like bangla everyday or not? lol

RM5k++ only able to save 2-3k per month provided you kiamsiap a lot.. in SG, u can save more right?

Personally I think you should really ask yourself what you want to get from SG.

I am not in construction industry so I can't answer ur question.

the saving in SG is merely the same after converted.

renting room info is available at first page
Go_up
post Jun 28 2013, 12:36 PM

Hallucinogen
917 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 28 2013, 08:51 AM)
Ya, is ok for you, but seen you are looking for roommate, it might be not so ok for you due to limited public transportation.maybe find some one working in same company with you? hmm.gif
oh roommate i got already. 15mins/ bus, 15mins go to my place, so 30mins +/-
keelim
post Jun 28 2013, 12:38 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 11:08 AM)
They offer 3k and not yet talk about benefit.. My current job more like M&E support through email, not much hands on and that is the reason i still considering the sg job.. Need more advise.  sad.gif
I struggle to come to my senses when someone tries to marry a significantly lower pay (i.e: more than 30% deduction vis-à-vis the currency) with a long-term view in SG. I am not quite sure if someone really understands the amount of “luck” required to take you to equilibrium; not to where you were in Msia, but where you were plus inflation (at least).

A medium-term outlook would require you to ponder on setting up your love nest. It’s a subjective matter, but I am sure singles would love to have their own accommodation. Capital appreciation and dividend yield aside, at best you’re financing your own mortgage. Before biting the bullet, please take your medium-term goals seriously.

jitshiong
post Jun 28 2013, 01:10 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

i'm doing M&E as well, doing MRT construction
but from 5k, to 3k plus...that's a significant reduction leh...
what's ur experience level? Consultant or contractor?
Deathscythe@@
post Jun 28 2013, 01:36 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 28 2013, 01:10 PM)
i'm doing M&E as well, doing MRT construction
but from 5k, to 3k plus...that's a significant reduction leh...
what's ur experience level? Consultant or contractor?
M&E engineering at general building, SGD only offer 3k instead of RM 4.8k after include both groass + benefit.. Realised that MYR getting weaker and weaker now and safety issue is another concern. That is the reason I need to seriously consider about it. That's because after conversion, almost same as current saving. Is it a bet or wise choice. Besides, my hometown is in johore. ohmy.gif
Shawnzz
post Jun 28 2013, 01:50 PM

1,911 posts

guys, im graduating with a bachelor of finance and econs next year. Advisable to start my working life in singapore ? And are they really kiasu about the CGPA? i dont have a 4 pointer, i currently only have 3.2 cgpa.. but still got 2 sem to go
JohnJon82
post Jun 28 2013, 01:53 PM

716 posts

Lol you did not ask about your job scope during interview? Later they hire you as worker then you really work like bangla.

SG savings depend on your life style lo. Refer to first page for general expenditures ba.
jitshiong
post Jun 28 2013, 02:15 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 01:36 PM)
M&E engineering at general building, SGD only offer 3k instead of RM 4.8k after include both groass + benefit.. Realised that MYR getting weaker and weaker now and safety issue is another concern. That is the reason I need to seriously consider about it. That's because after conversion, almost same as current saving. Is it a bet or wise choice. Besides, my hometown is in johore.  ohmy.gif
If u r gonna stay in Johor n work in SG, then u can save a lot.
But generally if u can command a 4.8k salary in malaysia, i'm assuming KL, u should be able to get pretty much close to that amount in SGD.
but that depends on how you negotiate with ur employer
Deathscythe@@
post Jun 28 2013, 03:52 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jun 28 2013, 01:50 PM)
guys, im graduating with a bachelor of finance and econs next year. Advisable to start my working life in singapore ? And are they really kiasu about the CGPA? i dont have a 4 pointer, i currently only have 3.2 cgpa.. but still got 2 sem to go
They dont really look at the result. They prefers to look at your achievements..

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 28 2013, 02:15 PM)
If u r gonna stay in Johor n work in SG, then u can save a lot.
But generally if u can command a 4.8k salary in malaysia, i'm assuming KL, u should be able to get pretty much close to that amount in SGD.
but that depends on how you negotiate with ur employer
You meant if 4.8k in Malaysia, can try to negotiate to 4k++ SGD? erm.. any recommended ways? LOL.

"I prefer to get 4k and above as what I currently being offer in Malaysia. Dont talk to me about currency of the rate of conversion as the living expenses here (sg) are much higher than in KL. ".. lol..
jitshiong
post Jun 28 2013, 04:06 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 03:52 PM)
They dont really look at the result. They prefers to look at your achievements..
You meant if 4.8k in Malaysia, can try to negotiate to 4k++ SGD? erm.. any recommended ways? LOL.

"I prefer to get 4k and above as what I currently being offer in Malaysia. Dont talk to me about currency of the rate of conversion as the living expenses here (sg) are much higher than in KL. ".. lol..
Hahaha, how you negotiate is up to u
go find out the market rate for your type of experience
then state your argument, the one u state above....tak boleh pakai la....

126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:26 PM