Working in Singapore V14
Go_up
Jun 26 2013, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 26 2013, 08:36 PM) where do you plan to rent? i found a room, and share with another ppl. was arrange by houseowner , taiwanese, not yet see my room mate due to his at johor currently. tomorrow will go see the room if ok will stay in. @360 at Teban Garden Block 22, anyone near me?
keii-kun
Jun 26 2013, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(zyrl @ Jun 26 2013, 10:56 AM) keii-kun, sure? MBJB won't tow motorbikes later? wont kena police saman? the area bright or not? i dont mind the walking. the parking beside JB Sentral is RM3 per entry which is kinda high in motorcycle standards.  Mbjb shud tow all the cars away. They are affecting traffic around jalan trus. If u wanna be sure, just go n take a look there..covered summore.
inferno89
Jun 27 2013, 12:00 AM
Hi guys, does anyone work at Sony- SETS? can share some information on working environments and benefits there?
Tigerr
Jun 27 2013, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(Go_up @ Jun 26 2013, 08:46 PM) i found a room, and share with another ppl. was arrange by houseowner , taiwanese, not yet see my room mate due to his at johor currently. tomorrow will go see the room if ok will stay in. @360 at Teban Garden Block 22, anyone near me? i stayed in teban before......nice place but if u got no transport, u got to take bus to the Jurong East MRT.
RabbitS
Jun 27 2013, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jun 27 2013, 02:03 AM) i stayed in teban before......nice place but if u got no transport, u got to take bus to the Jurong East MRT. Err, if I had not mistaken teban hv limited public facilities nearby.. Nearest is j.east
Mackiddo
Jun 27 2013, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(Go_up @ Jun 26 2013, 08:46 PM) i found a room, and share with another ppl. was arrange by houseowner , taiwanese, not yet see my room mate due to his at johor currently. tomorrow will go see the room if ok will stay in. @360 at Teban Garden Block 22, anyone near me? doesn't it feels odd, sharing a room with a complete stranger ?
seantang
Jun 27 2013, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 27 2013, 12:40 PM) doesn't it feels odd, sharing a room with a complete stranger ? Ya, like going back to school/uni dormitory. I'd feel uncomfortable sharing an entire flat or house with a stranger.
Deathscythe@@
Jun 27 2013, 05:03 PM
hey, if current offer + benefit about 4.8k, got an offer in sg at only 3k sgd, is it a good offer? thanks
deodorant
Jun 27 2013, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 27 2013, 05:03 PM) hey, if current offer + benefit about 4.8k, got an offer in sg at only 3k sgd, is it a good offer? thanks No, IMO it is too much of a downgrade. With 4.8k rm you can own your own condo plus car. With 3k sgd you can only rent a room. I don't subscribe to the rationale of coming over, spending like a pauper, converting the left over to RM and proclaiming woo hoo look how much more money I'm saving now that I'm in SG.
HenDa
Jun 27 2013, 05:34 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 27 2013, 05:20 PM) No, IMO it is too much of a downgrade. With 4.8k rm you can own your own condo plus car. With 3k sgd you can only rent a room. I don't subscribe to the rationale of coming over, spending like a pauper, converting the left over to RM and proclaiming woo hoo look how much more money I'm saving now that I'm in SG. depends on opportunity of career enhancement too
davidcch07
Jun 27 2013, 06:00 PM
Looking for room at... bedok... anyone can introduce?
ky_khor
Jun 27 2013, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 27 2013, 05:03 PM) hey, if current offer + benefit about 4.8k, got an offer in sg at only 3k sgd, is it a good offer? thanks No. way. Am I the only one getting increment (before conversion) coming to Sg?
seantang
Jun 27 2013, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jun 27 2013, 08:20 PM) No. way. Am I the only one getting increment (before conversion) coming to Sg? It really depends on whether you're doing the same kind of job, in the same kind of company, with the same kind of expectations. That's why it's important to negotiate a fair salary for the job that you will be doing. Rather than peg vs your last drawn in MY and deciding if that's a "FAIR" or "GOOD" deal. But if you happen to find the same kind of job, in the same kind of company, with the same kind of expectations - I'd expect no less than 0.9X S$ to RM to represent a 'fair' minimum.
Victor1991
Jun 27 2013, 09:52 PM
My Chinese(PRC) girlfriend is currently a statistic postgraduate of Nanjing University in China ( Top 5 in China) and she is expected to graduate in 2014. As i planned to work in Singapore later, so i persuaded she to join me and work in Singapore.
But i have no information about what kind of job she could get if she wants to work in Singapore. Could anyone tell me about her job prospect or provide any information that will help in this case. By the way, she has a year experience as a U.S stock trader in Shanghai.
Xander86
Jun 27 2013, 10:25 PM
Hey guys, I have been sending resumes for the past three weeks but so far no responses at all. Any ideas usually how long does it take to get a job in SG?
megadisc
Jun 27 2013, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(Xander86 @ Jun 27 2013, 10:25 PM) Hey guys, I have been sending resumes for the past three weeks but so far no responses at all. Any ideas usually how long does it take to get a job in SG? my fren jobless coming to 3 months ...lagi teruk ...
Tigerr
Jun 27 2013, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 27 2013, 02:12 PM) Ya, like going back to school/uni dormitory. I'd feel uncomfortable sharing an entire flat or house with a stranger. Not everyone have the fortunate high salary to live more independently n comfortably.
Tigerr
Jun 27 2013, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(RabbitS @ Jun 27 2013, 09:15 AM) Err, if I had not mistaken teban hv limited public facilities nearby.. Nearest is j.east Got a reservoir next to the hdb n a seng siong opposite the hdb. I miss the duck rice there.....
Tigerr
Jun 27 2013, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Victor1991 @ Jun 27 2013, 09:52 PM) My Chinese(PRC) girlfriend is currently a statistic postgraduate of Nanjing University in China ( Top 5 in China) and she is expected to graduate in 2014. As i planned to work in Singapore later, so i persuaded she to join me and work in Singapore. But i have no information about what kind of job she could get if she wants to work in Singapore. Could anyone tell me about her job prospect or provide any information that will help in this case. By the way, she has a year experience as a U.S stock trader in Shanghai. May be the 2 casinos need statistician.....
seantang
Jun 28 2013, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jun 27 2013, 11:53 PM) Not everyone have the fortunate high salary to live more independently n comfortably. To paraphrase Fatt Kor (Chow Yun Fatt) in A Better Tomorrow when relating his experience of having a gun pointed at his head... "I once lived with a stranger for a roommate. More than one roommate. It was such a bad experience that I almost shit my pants. Ever since... I told myself... I WILL NEVER LET A STRANGER SHARE MY ROOM AGAIN." Cue white doves and diving across the room shooting 30+ shots out of a gun with a 12 bullet magazine and 1 in the chamber.