126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

mightycooler
post Oct 18 2013, 07:28 PM

24 posts

Hi all beloved forumers, I will be working in Singapore on 1st November. Planning to stay in Gelang Patah and travel to work. Sadly, the working place is so far away nearby Eunos. Hope can negotiate for transport allowance.
mightycooler
post Oct 18 2013, 07:48 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(iloveteddybear @ Oct 18 2013, 02:42 PM)
I only have a few months of working experience (7 months to be precise). Quite despo tongue.gif
So is the avg salary 2k or am I being underpaid? Do they give lower salaries to Malaysian?
Yea Malaysian always get lower salary than Singaporean.(i guess). 7 months experience for 2k hmm.gif
seantang
post Oct 18 2013, 08:05 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(iloveteddybear @ Oct 18 2013, 02:42 PM)
I only have a few months of working experience (7 months to be precise). Quite despo tongue.gif
So is the avg salary 2k or am I being underpaid? Do they give lower salaries to Malaysian?
Nobody is ever underpaid. Everybody is always paid exactly the value they can put on the table and what kind of value they manage to take away from the other guy... like a poker game. Like a negotiation.

You're not being paid less than others because you are Malaysian. You are being paid less because you have less stuff to negotiate with. You are a foreigner, they have to get a work permit for you, you have no Singapore experience, in fact you have no experience at all, it's harder to interview you because you're not in the country, if they give you a job, you have to deal with living in a new country, living away from home, finding a place to live, making new friends, learning to take care of yourself... on top of performing satisfactorily in a new job. They hire a local... they have no such issues.

And you are still surprised why they won't offer you the same as a local?

NB... in my experience, Malaysians are paid not one cent less if they can bring the same chips to the poker table as Singaporeans.
mightycooler
post Oct 18 2013, 08:06 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Oct 17 2013, 09:57 PM)
yes ,Jan 1st 2014. Everyone job must offered to Singaporean on the job for 14 days first on MOM job board before offered to foreigner.
Finish my contract job in Malaysia, looking forward to work in Singapore before stricter rules and expensive levy.
SUSrobertchoo
post Oct 18 2013, 09:24 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 18 2013, 08:05 PM)
Nobody is ever underpaid. Everybody is always paid exactly the value they can put on the table and what kind of value they manage to take away from the other guy... like a poker game. Like a negotiation.

You're not being paid less than others because you are Malaysian. You are being paid less because you have less stuff to negotiate with. You are a foreigner, they have to get a work permit for you, you have no Singapore experience, in fact you have no experience at all, it's harder to interview you because you're not in the country, if they give you a job, you have to deal with living in a new country, living away from home, finding a place to live, making new friends, learning to take care of yourself... on top of performing satisfactorily in a new job. They hire a local... they have no such issues.

And you are still surprised why they won't offer you the same as a local?

NB... in my experience, Malaysians are paid not one cent less if they can bring the same chips to the poker table as Singaporeans.
Fully agree. At the end of the day its about what benefit you can bring to the co. If you can, they are willing to pay

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Oct 18 2013, 09:25 PM
mightycooler
post Oct 18 2013, 09:45 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Oct 18 2013, 09:24 PM)
Fully agree. At the end of the day its about what benefit you can bring to the co. If you can, they are willing to pay
My brother only gets $1800 for fresh grads but of course not in related field and levy is deducted from salary.
7 For All Mankind
post Oct 18 2013, 10:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(mightycooler @ Oct 18 2013, 11:28 AM)
Hi all beloved forumers, I will be working in Singapore on 1st November. Planning to stay in Gelang Patah and travel to work. Sadly, the working place is so far away nearby Eunos. Hope can negotiate for transport allowance.
not much grounds for you to negotiate. In fact I known quite a few cases that those who stay in jb will get 2nd priority for promotion and career move compares with those stay locally.
7 For All Mankind
post Oct 18 2013, 10:18 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(mightycooler @ Oct 18 2013, 11:48 AM)
Yea Malaysian always get lower salary than Singaporean.(i guess). 7 months experience for 2k  hmm.gif
'always' ? why would you settle for anything lower ? what stop you from getting a higher pay job ?
mightycooler
post Oct 18 2013, 10:19 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Oct 18 2013, 09:24 PM)
The most important thing is what you have learned in the past 7 months and move on.
JohnJon82
post Oct 18 2013, 10:23 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(7 For All Mankind @ Oct 18 2013, 10:09 PM)
not much grounds for you to negotiate. In fact I known quite a few cases that those who stay in jb will get 2nd priority for promotion and career move compares with those stay locally.
Never know promotion now can be based on where you stay.
paintballtao
post Oct 18 2013, 10:50 PM

89 posts

hi everyone i need help/advice.

i got maybank account in malaysia. banks dont allow me to open an account as yet before i get my EP card. and i didnt change enough RM in msia to bring over to sg. is it possible for me to go maybank SG and ask them for my money? thanks! i need them to put down deposit and to pay for my rent before my first pay..
seantang
post Oct 18 2013, 10:52 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Oct 18 2013, 10:23 PM)
Where you stay is not strictly the criteria. It's what happens to your bosses' perception of your performance (rightly or wrongly) due to where you stay.

For example, if you happen to work in an environment where management perception of high performance = more time spent in office, staying in JB might be detrimental to your promotion prospects. However if you are able to be... say, first to arrive and last to leave - despite staying in JB, then the fact that you stay in JB won't matter. But if you arrive no earlier than anybody else and routinely leave on the dot to avoid the jam at CIQ or something... then you have to expect that you won't be as promotable as someone who can stay longer in office.

deodorant
post Oct 19 2013, 12:11 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Oct 18 2013, 10:50 PM)
i got maybank account in malaysia. banks dont allow me to open an account as yet before i get my EP card. and i didnt change enough RM in msia to bring over to sg. is it possible for me to go maybank SG and ask them for my money? thanks! i need them to put down deposit and to pay for my rent before my first pay..

just go to any maybank SG atm and use your maybank malaysia atm card to withdraw sgd.
z21j
post Oct 19 2013, 12:44 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(mightycooler @ Oct 18 2013, 07:28 PM)
Suggest you to find a place near Aljunied/Lavender/Simei/Pasir Ris. Cheaper rent and near to Eunos.
breakingpoint
post Oct 19 2013, 03:06 AM

24 posts

ok..sort of a noob question.I have an old modded Xbox 360 sitting at home collecting dust..just wondering is it safe to bring it over to Sg?Will they check?:|
7 For All Mankind
post Oct 19 2013, 09:27 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:23 PM)
one good example is your work response time. If your boss beep you on Sunday noon for an emergency meeting, would you be able to reach the office in an hour time, compares to your colleague?
7 For All Mankind
post Oct 19 2013, 09:30 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(breakingpoint @ Oct 18 2013, 07:06 PM)
ok..sort of a noob question.I have an old modded Xbox 360 sitting at home collecting dust..just wondering is it safe to bring it over to Sg?Will they check?:|
modded = illegal modification ?
I guess they won't check but it's illegal to bring in a modded set.

This post has been edited by 7 For All Mankind: Oct 19 2013, 09:31 AM
the100308
post Oct 19 2013, 10:22 AM

1,849 posts

First weekend in Singapore... yay!!! Happy weekend guys smile.gif
eXTaTine
post Oct 19 2013, 11:34 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Hello...this probably my first post here despite being in SG for 5 years already. All the while trolling in /k/ only, never posted here. Nice to meet you all! Perhaps will join in gaythering next week, will you guys welcome me?

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Oct 19 2013, 11:34 AM
7 For All Mankind
post Oct 19 2013, 11:56 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 19 2013, 03:34 AM)
Hello...this probably my first post here despite being in SG for 5 years already. All the while trolling in /k/ only, never posted here. Nice to meet you all! Perhaps will join in gaythering next week, will you guys welcome me?
only if you don't bring straw. pm deodorant or elvenchou1987 for info on the gathering

This post has been edited by 7 For All Mankind: Oct 19 2013, 11:59 AM

126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:30 AM