Working in Singapore V14

deodorant
post Jun 5 2013, 03:36 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jun 5 2013, 11:48 AM)
What I mean here is I cant figure out why they are willing to spend 90 mins instead of going to the next door to have Western?
I seldom see this kind of scenario is KL. I wont waste this kind of time.

Because the people who queue are more picky about their food than you are, or at that moment in time they have a hankering for that particular food/cuisine/restaurant.
MsiaqweR
post Jun 5 2013, 03:45 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2013, 03:22 PM)
Happens everywhere lah... in cities where the density is high and demand > supply.

Just look at Din Tai Fung... from their native Taiwan to SG and HK... always a big long queue during makan time.

My observation... this type of queuing happens in a public transport dependent city. Let's say you organise all your pakcik makcik, take an hour's walking, bus & MRT to get to the restaurant... and it happens to be crowded. What do you do? Walk away and come back another day? And eat at some other makan place that nobody wanted to go to in the first place? If you look for another desirable place to eat... it probably involves another hour of walking, bus & MRT? And no guarantees that there's no queue...

So once you're there... you feel committed already from all the time & public transport discomfort it took you to reach there.

Whereas in KL, if this shop got a lot of people, just get back into your car and drive to another nice shop to eat. And your car is just parked (illegally) in the street nearby. Singapore must park in HDB car park, or shopping center basement - and it probably took you a long time to find parking... so you really don't want to give it up after you park. Committed again.
Agreed with you.

This is one point I hate SG.

Imagine you wanted to buy today's papers at a 7-Eleven. You go round and round the car-park in a HDB for 15 mins to search for a parking lot (perhaps in the 5th floor in the car-park if you are really unfortunate that day).

Thereafter, you walk down and buy your papers which only takes you 10 secs and you walk-back to collect your car. Does it make sense to you?

In KL, no one really cares whether you park your car legally or illegally. Take your own sweet time to have a pack of nasi lemak while buy your favourite magazines at the 7-11.

Now, this is call human rights freedom.
jitshiong
post Jun 5 2013, 03:52 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jun 5 2013, 03:45 PM)
Agreed with you.

Imagine you wanted to buy today's papers at a 7-Eleven. You go round and round the car-park in a HDB for 15 mins to search for a parking lot (perhaps in the 5th floor in the car-park if you are really unfortunate that day).

Thereafter, you walk down and buy your papers which only takes you 10 secs and you walk-back to collect your car. Does it make sense to you?

In KL, no one really cares whether you park your car legally or illegally. Take your own sweet time to have a pack of nasi lemak while buy your favourite magazines at the 7-11.

I disagree with your statement.
I hate it when ppl block my car. I know it's not totally the driver's fault (the municipal council didn't provide enuff parking sometimes), but most of the time it's for the convenience of the driver.
imagine the trouble one have to go through when there's an emergency n there's another car blocking.
that's just being inconsiderate
LiangZhuge
post Jun 5 2013, 03:59 PM

451 posts

Agreed with you.

You tak suka SG, baliklah MY tongue.gif
r1v3r
post Jun 5 2013, 04:07 PM

1,305 posts

Agreed with you.

No

Buy from Petrol Station, most if not all petrol station here have convenient shop.

However, I do understand some people here will still do that and spend more time to post (complain) in forum or Stomp for self inflick inconvenient, Welcome to Singapore biggrin.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jun 5 2013, 04:25 PM

1,172 posts

Agreed with you.

No people will find a parking and go 7-11... Put signal at the road side, go down and buy and come back before the officer come. SG cars always stop at the road side even its a main road with just a signal to wait for people, post a mail or buy something really fast.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 5 2013, 03:52 PM)
I disagree with your statement.
I hate it when ppl block my car. I know it's not totally the driver's fault (the municipal council didn't provide enuff parking sometimes), but most of the time it's for the convenience of the driver.
imagine the trouble one have to go through when there's an emergency n there's another car blocking.
that's just being inconsiderate
If double park then inconsiderate already, that one call selfish not human rights freedom. SG many many patterns have, got one time park at my gate, horn half an hour only come out from the house vmad.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 5 2013, 04:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2013, 03:22 PM)
Happens everywhere lah... in cities where the density is high and demand > supply.

Just look at Din Tai Fung... from their native Taiwan to SG and HK... always a big long queue during makan time.

My observation... this type of queuing happens in a public transport dependent city. Let's say you organise all your pakcik makcik, take an hour's walking, bus & MRT to get to the restaurant... and it happens to be crowded. What do you do? Walk away and come back another day? And eat at some other makan place that nobody wanted to go to in the first place? If you look for another desirable place to eat... it probably involves another hour of walking, bus & MRT? And no guarantees that there's no queue...

So once you're there... you feel committed already from all the time & public transport discomfort it took you to reach there.

Whereas in KL, if this shop got a lot of people, just get back into your car and drive to another nice shop to eat. And your car is just parked (illegally) in the street nearby. Singapore must park in HDB car park, or shopping center basement - and it probably took you a long time to find parking... so you really don't want to give it up after you park. Committed again.
Strange how this observation implies that in cities with higher public transport dependency, the range of competition shrinks. (in a sense)
You don't have to be the best in town, you just have to be the best in the vicinity.
seantang
post Jun 5 2013, 04:39 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 5 2013, 04:26 PM)
Strange how this observation implies that in cities with higher public transport dependency, the range of competition shrinks. (in a sense)
You don't have to be the best in town, you just have to be the best in the vicinity.
Of course. That's the whole premise behind the neighbourhood mom&pop store, 7-11, milkbar, Ramli Burger, coffeeshop, kedai runcit etc.

What they offer are convenience and proximity.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 5 2013, 04:47 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2013, 04:39 PM)
Of course. That's the whole premise behind the neighbourhood mom&pop store, 7-11, milkbar, Ramli Burger, coffeeshop, kedai runcit etc.

What they offer are convenience and proximity.
Hahaha. The car sorta ruined 7-11's business model in M'sia XD
Tigerr
post Jun 5 2013, 09:07 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jun 5 2013, 11:38 AM)
Anyone know why Singaporeans damn like to queue-up?

I noted mostly willing to queue-up for a seat in the restaurant for 90 mins just for a bowl of Japanese Ramen for instance. My Goodness...

Need to so kiasu?
Yesterday I also waited about 30 minutes at din tai fung tampines......if don't wait, don't know go eat what except food court
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 5 2013, 10:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Jun 5 2013, 11:29 AM)
Hi guys, need your help.

I'm trying to reach an old colleague of mine - Rufin M. He should be working in the banking sector in Sg.

I saw his photo taken together with a bunch of LYNers in Sg. (photo taken late 2012 for a LYNers in Sg BBQ) hence this question posted here.

Thanks in advance.
QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Jun 5 2013, 12:47 PM)
Could you direct me to him please? I'll PM you. Thanks brah.

I worked with him under the same boss for about a year. He then left for Spore. Happened to saw the group pic and I went "Hey, I KNOW that guy"!

Be great to catch up with him after all these years.  rclxm9.gif
yea... the infamous muffin doh.gif , heard wanted by SPF few times.. dunno whether he's the suspect or to help investigation hmm.gif .. anyway.. he has an account here too... aloong brows.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=250791

his photo is all over the net.. laugh.gif
megadisc
post Jun 5 2013, 11:58 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 5 2013, 03:36 PM)
Because the people who queue are more picky about their food than you are, or at that moment in time they have a hankering for that particular food/cuisine/restaurant.
i tot got queue means good ...
keelim
post Jun 6 2013, 07:02 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jun 5 2013, 09:07 PM)
Yesterday I also waited about 30 minutes at din tai fung tampines......if don't wait, don't know go eat what except food court
I tried DTF once but can't comprehend the craze for it. The food is not fantastic; the xiao long pao is a mere OK. Definitely not worth my 30 mins. Any dim sum in Ipoh could easily taste better than DTF.
ch_teo
post Jun 6 2013, 08:05 AM

809 posts

Just released by MOM. For anyone looking for jobs in Sg as a reference.
This report examines employers’ adoption of a flexible wage system and changes in their employees’ wages in 2012. Topics covered include total and basic wage changes, bonuses and wage flexibility.
jitshiong
post Jun 6 2013, 08:40 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jun 6 2013, 08:05 AM)
dun really know how to digest this kind of information....
errm, any summary for layman to understand?
Quasi-Suave
post Jun 6 2013, 09:49 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 5 2013, 10:26 PM)
yea... the infamous muffin  doh.gif , heard wanted by SPF few times.. dunno whether he's the suspect or to help investigation  hmm.gif .. anyway.. he has an account here too... aloong  brows.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=250791

his photo is all over the net..  laugh.gif
A wanted man? Wah, what has he been up to the past few years? laugh.gif

Thanks for the heads-up. nod.gif
megadisc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:21 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jun 6 2013, 08:05 AM)

aprpreciate this .
Fiona Chin
post Jun 6 2013, 11:34 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 6 2013, 07:02 AM)
I tried DTF once but can't comprehend the craze for it. The food is not fantastic; the xiao long pao is a mere OK. Definitely not worth my 30 mins. Any dim sum in Ipoh could easily taste better than DTF.
Fame from overseas. The DTF xiao long in Taiwan is worth to queue for and saw Japanese tourists tapao boxes to bring back to Japan. SG DTF xiao long is like Penang Kuey Teow sold here, original taste all gone.
Pop The Bubbles
post Jun 6 2013, 12:18 PM

219 posts

Hey guys, I am fresh grauate and I had been looking for a job in mechanical/aerospace engineering sectors from Jobstreet.com for about a month but no luck yet. Just wondering is it higher chance for getting an interview by moving to singapore for a couple of days/weeks for job application or it is sufficient just to staying at home and clicking some buttons?

This post has been edited by Pop The Bubbles: Jun 6 2013, 12:18 PM
Aries86
post Jun 6 2013, 04:50 PM

14 posts

Hello all

This post has been edited by Aries86: Jun 6 2013, 05:30 PM

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:58 PM