143 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V3, Hardware Q&A RRG™

Puteih
post Oct 11 2013, 10:05 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 11 2013, 07:15 PM)
Actually, I'd avoid this board.
http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-moth...m-info-database
The VRMs would overheat (due to insufficient VRM cooling) and may cause instability when loaded.
MSI boards have a bad reputation of having flawed VRM designs.
The ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 (RM275) would be a much better choice...

What do you mean by taken carefully?  Most probability the CPU pins... (quite prone to damage if not installed properly)... tongue.gif
Would the performance varies in any way? I'm looking to one that have at least one usb 3.0 compatible tongue.gif

Meaning, AMD processors gets hot very easily, instead of Intel's
Puteih
post Oct 11 2013, 10:07 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 11 2013, 07:30 PM)
Personally, I'd just get the Zotac GTX760... 
The R9 270X is nothing more like a fancy HD7870XT... tongue.gif
Zotac is under which build? AMD? I thought the toxic is a good version? Just read a review on it, published yesterday biggrin.gif
AaronFPS
post Oct 11 2013, 10:58 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 11 2013, 05:19 PM)
Hi good day

Graphic card only
Budget: RM800 + -
Zotac GTX 760 RM799
Gainward GTX 760 Phantom RM880

TSchocobo7779
post Oct 11 2013, 10:59 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Oct 11 2013, 10:05 PM)
Would the performance varies in any way? I'm looking to one that have at least one usb 3.0 compatible tongue.gif

Meaning, AMD processors gets hot very easily, instead of Intel's
No performance difference, really.
Nah, that's a myth.... If you still remember several years ago, the Pentium 4s (especially Prescott series CPUs, aka Presshot) are much more thermally inefficient compared to the Athlons...

The only thing I hate the most is the noisy stock AMD cooler, it sounds like a small vacuum cleaner if you crank the fan speed all the way...
rav3n82
post Oct 11 2013, 11:01 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Oct 11 2013, 10:07 PM)
Zotac is under which build? AMD? I thought the toxic is a good version? Just read a review on it, published yesterday biggrin.gif
Zotac is a manufacturer for Nvidia cards. The Toxic R9 270X is a very highly clocked HD 7870, and it can nearly match a stock GTX 760 (which is cheaper RM799). So the choice is really yours. Either one is a good card.

Puteih
post Oct 11 2013, 11:54 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 11 2013, 10:59 PM)
No performance difference, really.
Nah, that's a myth.... If you still remember several years ago, the Pentium 4s (especially Prescott series CPUs, aka Presshot) are much more thermally inefficient compared to the Athlons... 

The only thing I hate the most is the noisy stock AMD cooler, it sounds like a small vacuum cleaner if you crank the fan speed all the way...
Erm, you're talking about which cooler? unsure.gif the graphic cards?
TSchocobo7779
post Oct 12 2013, 06:39 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Oct 11 2013, 11:54 PM)
Erm, you're talking about which cooler? unsure.gif the graphic cards?
CPUs lo... whistling.gif
Lordz`
post Oct 12 2013, 01:00 PM

295 posts

Is 8G of ram over killing? Maximum performance of ram needed is 6G is that correct?
TSchocobo7779
post Oct 12 2013, 01:22 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Oct 12 2013, 01:00 PM)
Is 8G of ram over killing? Maximum performance of ram needed is 6G is that correct?
It's fine... Just you don't need so much such that you have extra budget for GPU and the CPU.... tongue.gif
Belphegor
post Oct 12 2013, 01:50 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

[Budget] RM1.5k

[Purpose] Replace my old rig. basic gaming, photo and video edit.

[Hardware that will be reuse from old rig] Casing (Mid-tower), 1x 4gb ram, HDD, CD-rom, PSU w700

[Monitor resolution] 19x10

[Game or software that use frequently] HoN and Diablo 3

[Personal Preference Brand] Nvidia, prefer not to get OC as my room tends to get abit warm during late-afternoon

[Location] PJ

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Oct 12 2013, 01:56 PM
alfiejr
post Oct 12 2013, 02:34 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 12 2013, 01:50 PM)
[Budget] RM1.5k

[Purpose] Replace my old rig. basic gaming, photo and video edit.

[Hardware that will be reuse from old rig] Casing (Mid-tower), 1x 4gb ram, HDD, CD-rom, PSU w700

[Monitor resolution] 19x10

[Game or software that use frequently]  HoN and Diablo 3

[Personal Preference Brand] Nvidia, prefer not to get OC as my room tends to get abit warm during late-afternoon

[Location] PJ
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3- RM815
Mobo-Asrock B85M-HDS-RM249
GPU-Leadtek 650Ti Boost-2GB-RM589

Belphegor
post Oct 12 2013, 03:51 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Oct 12 2013, 02:34 PM)
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3- RM815
Mobo-Asrock B85M-HDS-RM249
GPU-Leadtek 650Ti Boost-2GB-RM589
Any substitution for the highlighted? Preferably Intel i5/i3.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Oct 12 2013, 03:53 PM
Cable707
post Oct 12 2013, 04:01 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 12 2013, 03:51 PM)
Any substitution for the highlighted? Preferably Intel i5/i3.. tongue.gif
Why?E3-1230v3 is much better than i5.It has i7's performance and would be helpful in photo/video editing..
Belphegor
post Oct 12 2013, 04:05 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Oct 12 2013, 04:01 PM)
Why?E3-1230v3 is much better than i5.It has i7's performance and would be helpful in photo/video editing..
Really? I thought the sequence was i7 / i5 / i3 / Xeon® / Pentium® / Celeron® tongue.gif
wuwah
post Oct 12 2013, 07:29 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 12 2013, 04:05 PM)
Really? I thought the sequence was i7 / i5 / i3 / Xeon® / Pentium® / Celeron® tongue.gif
xeon is i7 without integrated graphics. i7 haswell have intel hd4000. correct me if I'm wrong sweat.gif
rav3n82
post Oct 12 2013, 09:35 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Oct 12 2013, 07:29 PM)
xeon is i7 without integrated graphics. i7 haswell have intel hd4000. correct me if I'm wrong sweat.gif
That is correct. Xeon E3 1230 v3 is actually very similar to Core i7 4770. The only thing it lacks is only the integrated graphics (IGP) and 0.1 GHz slower only. smile.gif

http://ark.intel.com/compare/75054,75122
Belphegor
post Oct 13 2013, 01:34 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Oct 12 2013, 07:29 PM)
QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Oct 12 2013, 09:35 PM)
That is correct. Xeon E3 1230 v3 is actually very similar to Core i7 4770. The only thing it lacks is only the integrated graphics (IGP) and 0.1 GHz slower only. smile.gif

That helped alot. Thanks guys! notworthy.gif
Belphegor
post Oct 13 2013, 09:03 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Oct 12 2013, 09:35 PM)

One last question, if my GC suddenly die, means I can't use my PC at all since there's no backup GC available, right?
trollzor300
post Oct 14 2013, 07:33 AM

Budget: RM 6.5K

Purpose: Gaming and editing .. something I don't have have to upgrade for 3 years

sophan
post Oct 14 2013, 07:39 AM

251 posts

hi guys,

need some recommendation here, thanks:

[Budget] RM3500

[Purpose] Office work (MS Office etc), Web browsing, no gaming, hopefully smile.gif

[Hardware that will be reuse from old rig] None, Fresh start, will need to include wireless keyboard and mouse in the budget.

[Monitor] Dual monitor, i prefer Asus VS239NR 23" LED Monitor X 2, or do you have better recommendation?

[Software] Need to include windows 8 and Ms Office Student

Thank you again.

143 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:12 AM