Nexus 7 (2013) Official Thread v1, Launched - FullHD 7" Tablet from US$229
kimmo88
Oct 11 2013, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(exkaizen @ Oct 11 2013, 01:34 PM) You can get another sim to share your plan...umobile and maxis (if not mistaken) can request for another sim for same number to share your data plan. For Maxis: http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...are-n-surf.htmlBut got to pay $15/month/device!!!  I rather share using WIFI hotspot on my phone. Do I really need LTE version of nexus 7 then? This post has been edited by kimmo88: Oct 11 2013, 01:46 PM
exkaizen
Oct 11 2013, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:42 PM) For Maxis: http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...are-n-surf.htmlBut got to pay $15/month/device!!!  I rather share using WIFI hotspot on my phone. Do I really need LTE version of nexus 7 then? Ahhh.... Umobile charge only for the extra 3rd sim.. If not mistaken... http://www.u.com.my/postpaid-packages/internet-share-plan
kimmo88
Oct 11 2013, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(exkaizen @ Oct 11 2013, 01:49 PM) Ahhh.... Umobile charge only for the extra 3rd sim.. If not mistaken... http://www.u.com.my/postpaid-packages/internet-share-planThe reason I'm considering LTE is of course the latest greatest 4G mobile tech now. Fully utilizing my data plan with 4G connection with maxis and my area is covered. However, getting the Nexus 7 with LTE will give me a new issue with sim cards needed for phone n tablet. Would be great if I already have a 4G phone and just get a WIFI only tablet.
hightechgadgets8
Oct 11 2013, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:58 PM) The reason I'm considering LTE is of course the latest greatest 4G mobile tech now. Fully utilizing my data plan with 4G connection with maxis and my area is covered. However, getting the Nexus 7 with LTE will give me a new issue with sim cards needed for phone n tablet. Would be great if I already have a 4G phone and just get a WIFI only tablet. Err not really, tethering really sucks battery, better you get 2 gadgets This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: Oct 11 2013, 02:01 PM
Cynox
Oct 11 2013, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:42 PM) For Maxis: http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...are-n-surf.htmlBut got to pay $15/month/device!!!  I rather share using WIFI hotspot on my phone. Do I really need LTE version of nexus 7 then? yes, i subscribe to the Share & Surf for RM15 per month. My wife hardly use her 3GB quota every month, so i get a second sim for my Nexus 7 LTE to fully utilise it. There are pro and cons of using WiFi hotspot. Advantage is you do not need the extra cost of a second sim but your phone's will heat up and battery will drain faster when using it as hotspot. I do use my Note II as hotspot for the past 1 year coz its battery life is amazing and i always have an extra fully charged battery as spare with me. But the new Note 3 is kinda hotter when used as hotspot, so decided to get the Nexus 7 LTE version and a second sim instead. This post has been edited by Cynox: Oct 11 2013, 02:05 PM
kimmo88
Oct 11 2013, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 11 2013, 02:01 PM) yes, i subscribe to the Share & Surf for RM15 per month. My wife hardly use her 3GB quota every month, so i get a second sim for my Nexus 7 LTE to fully utilise it. There are pro and cons of using WiFi hotspot. Advantage is you do not need the extra cost of a second sim but your phone's will heat up and battery will drain faster when using it as hotspot. I do use my Note II as hotspot for the past 1 year coz its battery life is amazing and i always have an extra fully charged battery as spare with me. But the new Note 3 is kinda hotter when used as hotspot, so decided to get the Nexus 7 LTE version and a second sim instead. thanks Cynox for your feed-back. You seem to have both samsung tab 7.7 and nexus 7. Comparing both, which one you prefer in terms of build quality and form factor? I'm thinking of getting tab 3 8.0 instead of nexus 7 2. I like the slimness, lightness and the design of the tab 3 and of course the larger screen. It feels good to hold it. On the other, nexus seems to pack with higher spec i.e. memory, cpu/gpu, etc and of course pure android experience and getting the fastest release of the latest android from Google. Got to wait ages for Samsung to get updates for their ever growing product list.
t3n
Oct 11 2013, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 11 2013, 11:17 AM) I never have such issues with my WinXP desktop, ex Asus Win7 netbook and current Win *8 Vaio Pro. I need not even to have to set this MTP, PTP stuffs - the N7 is auto detect and I can manage its files from the computer. And my USB Degugging is by default always ON. I suggest you reinstall your USB drivers - I did it using the PDANet option in Nexus toolkit I did found a thread in XDA regarding this matters.. But it only have fix for stock ROM... I tried to uninstall and reinstall the ADB Interface under Device Manager but doesn't help... By the way I install the driver through "mskip" toolkit... Or do i need to download and install the PDANet manually?
benny888
Oct 11 2013, 02:23 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(t3n @ Oct 11 2013, 02:22 PM) I did found a thread in XDA regarding this matters.. But it only have fix for stock ROM... I tried to uninstall and reinstall the ADB Interface under Device Manager but doesn't help... By the way I install the driver through "mskip" toolkit... Or do i need to download and install the PDANet manually? I install the drivers via the toolkit
t3n
Oct 11 2013, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:23 PM) I install the drivers via the toolkit Hmm... ok then I will try to figure it out again... By the way, is there any problem if I keep USB debugging off for normal usage? Because I receive alert from Titanium Backup to enable usb debugging....
kimmo88
Oct 11 2013, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(pandorum @ Oct 10 2013, 11:11 PM) Finally got my first tablet from SenQ. Still in the midst of molesting it. Which SenQ you bought your unit? I went to the one in Hartamas and IOI this week. No stock
benny888
Oct 11 2013, 02:32 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(t3n @ Oct 11 2013, 02:27 PM) Hmm... ok then I will try to figure it out again... By the way, is there any problem if I keep USB debugging off for normal usage? Because I receive alert from Titanium Backup to enable usb debugging.... I always leave it on by default for all my androids . Lazy to turn it on when I need it. There is nothing wrong to leave it on.
Cynox
Oct 11 2013, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:21 PM) thanks Cynox for your feed-back. You seem to have both samsung tab 7.7 and nexus 7. Comparing both, which one you prefer in terms of build quality and form factor? I'm thinking of getting tab 3 8.0 instead of nexus 7 2. I like the slimness, lightness and the design of the tab 3 and of course the larger screen. It feels good to hold it. On the other, nexus seems to pack with higher spec i.e. memory, cpu/gpu, etc and of course pure android experience and getting the fastest release of the latest android from Google. Got to wait ages for Samsung to get updates for their ever growing product list. yes, it depends very much on what is your priority. I have Tab 7.7 and Nexus 7 2012 and 2013 but not all is used by myself. The Tab 7.7 is my wife's little TV drama machine, shared with my younger son as kids game machine. Nexus 7 wifi is used by my 7-year old elder son as his little learning and game machine with some dictionaries/story books apps installed. LTE is my own one for reading/surfing and very lightly game machine. Normally just playing games to test the machine's smoothness.  Need for Speed:most wanted still cannot be installed in it. Having JB 4.1.2 on the Tab 7.7 is already good enough as previously there is report that Samsung will not have a JB ROM for it. I dun think having 4.3 on the Tab 7.7 will have any difference in the daily use of the machine, so dun bother about the update. Tab 7.7 is sleeker than the N7 2012 but the updated Nexus 7 2013 is definitely much sexier than both of it - much lighter and easier to hold for long period of time. The only gripe will be the lack of microSD card. When the Note 8.0 is updated with the Note 10.1 2014 specs next year, I might replace the N7 LTE with it. Actually I would have bought the Note 8.0 if its specs is not as mediocre. Love the android ecosystem - for all the paid apps i bought, can shared in all the 5 devices. This post has been edited by Cynox: Oct 11 2013, 03:10 PM
jpaq
Oct 11 2013, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Oct 10 2013, 05:36 PM) delay root=more data loss. unlock bootloader= wipe whole phone. are u ready for tat?  Actually if you use mskip's Toolkit, can backup prior to unlocking bootloader. Can back up apps plus associated data and back up internal storage. Backing up user system settings can use Google's back up (Google's back up can also back up apps). So, it's ok laaa... This post has been edited by jpaq: Oct 11 2013, 05:04 PM
bingozero
Oct 11 2013, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 12:55 PM) I'm deciding between Nexus 7 2 LTE or the Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 LTE. I like the voice function on Tab 3 and also the larger screen. But I like the pure android, latest updates and higher spec on Nexus 7. How? I do not like tab 3 just because the home button, nexus 7 button-less at front pad
xchaosdragon
Oct 11 2013, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 11 2013, 08:47 PM) I do not like tab 3 just because the home button, nexus 7 button-less at front pad  I find the tab 3 terrible on landscape due to the button
bingozero
Oct 11 2013, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Oct 11 2013, 09:53 PM) I find the tab 3 terrible on landscape due to the button  Yup, that why i still prefer tab2 over tab3
andyjyneo
Oct 11 2013, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Oct 11 2013, 09:53 PM) I find the tab 3 terrible on landscape due to the button  Looks more like iPad, but funny.
icelight7
Oct 11 2013, 10:20 PM

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:42 PM) For Maxis: http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...are-n-surf.htmlBut got to pay $15/month/device!!!  I rather share using WIFI hotspot on my phone. Do I really need LTE version of nexus 7 then? That isnt just for adding quota only? So we need maxis plan 1st right?
fruitie
Oct 11 2013, 10:23 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:42 PM) For Maxis: http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...are-n-surf.htmlBut got to pay $15/month/device!!!  I rather share using WIFI hotspot on my phone. Do I really need LTE version of nexus 7 then? RM 15 is affordable, rather than signing up a new data plan.  QUOTE(icelight7 @ Oct 11 2013, 10:20 PM) That isnt just for adding quota only? So we need maxis plan 1st right? Yes, need Maxis plan first before adding SIM card.
icelight7
Oct 11 2013, 10:27 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 11 2013, 10:23 PM) RM 15 is affordable, rather than signing up a new data plan.  Yes, need Maxis plan first before adding SIM card. I have family package plan (postpaid). Is that counted? Btw family package got free data? I cannot find in the net.