Nexus 7 (2013) Official Thread v1, Launched - FullHD 7" Tablet from US$229

jpaq
post Aug 1 2013, 08:59 PM

411 posts

Just wanted to chip in on whether the US LTE version would work in Msia. Our Malaysian LTE is on both 1800 MHz (Band 3) and 2600 MHz (Band 7). The US LTE N7 supports 1800 MHz (Band 3), much like the current iPhone 5, iPad and iPad mini. So the US LTE N7 should work here.

Thing is, the Euro version supports both 1800 MHz (Band 3) and 2600 MHz (Band 7). So for Msia, if the 1800 MHz band gets overcrowded with all the iDevices out there (which can only use the 1800 MHz Band 3 alone in Msia), then we still have the 2600 MHz Band 7 to serve us!
jpaq
post Aug 2 2013, 05:36 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Aug 2 2013, 01:20 PM)
AFAIK Band 3 has not been reprovisioned in Malaysia for LTE yet.
I'm afraid you are wrong there. It has been for some time now. That is the only reason current iPhones and iPads can connect via LTE in Malaysia. As far as Malaysia is concerned, iDevices only support 1800 Mhz (Band 3) LTE here. I have friends and relatives using their iPhones on LTE (where there is coverage, of course). Go do a Google search and you can verify easily.
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 02:29 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Sep 10 2013, 10:53 AM)
just got the asus official premium case.

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

the same as this http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-7-2013...l-premium-cover
Hi there... mind sharing where you got it from?
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 02:46 PM

411 posts

Looks like N7 2013 is up on the Asus Malaysia website. I wonder how much they'll be selling the LTE model for. Hopefully, I won't need to sell an arm and a leg to get one. And hoping they'll be bringing in the Euro LTE spec model.

http://www.asus.com/my/Tablets_Mobile/Nexus_7_2013/
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 04:20 PM

411 posts

Just decided to "tembak" and enquire with Asus Malaysia via their FB. Messaged them. Asked about RRP of the LTE model, official availability in Malaysia and whether it supports both 1800 and 2600 LTE.

They only answered one question: RRP for LTE model is RM1299. They also mentioned RRP of another model for RM999. However, they did not specify 16GB or 32GB for that RM999 quote. In any event, kudos to them for fast response (within 2 hours).

Thanked them and repeated my questions again for my other two queries. See whether any reply or not...
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 04:53 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 04:21 PM)
LTE for RM1299 is abit on the high side.  hmm.gif
Rather relative, IMHO. Depends how you look at it.

It is (I believe) about the same price or just slightly higher (+/- RM50) than what some forumers are selling here, but most of them are only selling the US model (which I am not looking for at the moment - more on why below). Those that are selling the Euro model are way more expensive due to the exchange rates (I am betting they are getting it from the UK and the UK is selling it for GBP320 - pengsan!). It is about the same price or just slightly cheaper (+/-RM30) than Australia where stores are selling it at AUD439.

It is about +/- RM160 more expensive than the US Google Play Store price, BUT:

*If you buy direct from US Google Play Store, they only ship to a US address, I believe. And depending what state that address is in, you may or may not be hit with a sales tax as well as shipping charges. Last time, when I bought the old N7 direct from the US Play Store, I had them ship to an address in New York. I was whacked with a USD14 shipping charge and a USD28 sales tax. Adoi! On top of that, there will be the shipping charges from US to Malaysia, unless you have someone bring it back for you (which I had, luckily). And not forgetting the possibility of "kena" Malaysian custom and excise duty or SIRIM charges when the package arrives.

*US models only support 1800 MHz (Band 3) LTE whilst Malaysia has both 1800 and 2600 MHz (Band 7) LTE. I am hoping the Malaysian model, when Asus Malaysia brings it in, will support both LTE bands, like the Euro and Aussie models.

*If you are gonna buy the US LTE model, you are then better off just buying from the various foumers here.

I am looking at the model which supports both bands of LTE which Malaysia has. IMHO, if I can have more bandwith to "play" with, why not? I may avoid future congestion (due to all the LTE enabled iDevices out there which only support the 1800 MHz band - why fight with them?) or enjoy wider coverage or possibly future proof myself. BUT, this is just me laaaa... I may be too damn kiasu! Hahaha!

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 10 2013, 06:44 PM
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 05:04 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Sep 10 2013, 04:57 PM)
most US forwarding services will have warehouse in tax free states.
Correct. But you could still be hit with inland shipping charges. I dunno about this round. But I was hit last time.
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 05:56 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Sep 10 2013, 05:36 PM)
Highly doubt it, I believe they are quoting you the price of 16/32gb variant without LTE.
Would expect the lte version to arrive at around 1600-1700.
only 2 cents worth
There is no mistake in their words at least, whether they got their info or facts wrong, is another matter. Here is a screen shot of my FB messages with them - clearly no doubt in the way they said it:

jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 06:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 10 2013, 05:44 PM)
Why??  if the LTE is from Europe that price is reasonable
IMHO, even if the models are from Europe, they may not necessarily sell it at RM1600. That would be as if Asus MY bought it from Google UK/Europe at retail price and then directly converted the price to RM and sold it here, wouldn't it?

Another point to ponder: Electronics stores in Australia are selling the LTE model for AUD439. Australian LTE models support the same bands as the Euro LTE models, if I'm not mistaken. AUD439 is about RM1330. Now, that is pretty darn close to RM1299.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 10 2013, 06:23 PM
jpaq
post Sep 10 2013, 06:46 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Sep 10 2013, 06:38 PM)
RM1,299 for LTE not too bad. Post here if they reply abt launch date
Sure will...

jpaq
post Sep 11 2013, 11:28 AM

411 posts

Latest update from Asus MY via FB Messaging:

jpaq
post Sep 13 2013, 07:47 AM

411 posts

So I guess no more doubters on the LTE RM1299 price, huh? Definitely not RM1600! smile.gif
jpaq
post Sep 18 2013, 02:00 PM

411 posts

Latest update from my FB messaging with Asus MY:

jpaq
post Sep 18 2013, 04:37 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Sep 18 2013, 04:00 PM)
very well said, well done  doh.gif  doh.gif
Cool, bro... take it easy...

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 18 2013, 04:37 PM
jpaq
post Sep 18 2013, 04:47 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Sep 18 2013, 03:23 PM)
to be more specific i am not sure if s4 pro can withstand upgrade
just like nexus 7 with tegra 3. i ran smoothly on 4.1
subsquent update is just  doh.gif  doh.gif
The performance issue you had may be the one as highlighted in the link below (possibly due to 4.2 itself), but 4.3 should solve it?

http://www.theverge.com/2013/7/29/4569764/...save-my-nexus-7

Sorry guys, off tangent a bit, talking about the N7 2012 here. But I wouldn't worry about the S4 Pro in the new N7 2013. Although it is officially called "S4 Pro", Anandtech (I think, if I am not mistaken) reckons it may actually be a slightly cut down version of a S600. Further, I don't think Google will release the N7 2013 if it won't be able to handle an upgrade to Kit Kat. It should even handle another upgrade after Kit Kat, or more. I think Google just screwed up a little with 4.2.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 18 2013, 04:55 PM
jpaq
post Sep 18 2013, 04:49 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Sep 18 2013, 04:37 PM)
it's due to memory problem, read Anandtech.com's review of Nexus 7 to understand what changed in android 4.3

also, my galaxy s running paranoid andoid 3.99 (android 4.3) smile.gif

in short, you don't have to worry
To be more accurate, it may be due to how that particular version of OS handles or manages the memory.
jpaq
post Sep 27 2013, 11:39 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Sep 26 2013, 11:11 AM)
anyone knows which shop has demo set ar?

I really want to go and touch touch and swipe swipe before i buy
Go to this store called "Hotspot" on the ground floor of Low Yat Plaza. They have a demo unit there.
jpaq
post Sep 27 2013, 04:33 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Sep 27 2013, 02:51 PM)
Thx. I guess best one is MAXIS now but how about the price ?
Use it for normal FB, watsapp, surfing only
In terms of LTE, Maxis is the best now. But go to their website and check out their coverage areas first. Make sure their areas cover those areas that you need/want. Areas are still limited, but better than the rest.

As for Maxis plans, there are so many different prices and variations, best is you go to their website and check them out too.
jpaq
post Oct 7 2013, 02:44 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(et_kt @ Oct 5 2013, 04:13 PM)
I am using this app to enable smart wake via light sensor. Recommend by forummers from note3 tread. Quite responsive throughout my 1st day usage.
automaton
Thanks for the tip. I am using it for my slip-in pouch. Seems to be working fine so far. Slip tablet it, screen off/lock. Take tablet out, screen on (I kept the manual unlock for now).

Update: Ooopss.. as I set my actual screen brightness to be on auto as well, it seems that every time the light sensor does its work by auto adjusting the brightness, it will trigger Automaton and the screen will switch off and immediately switch on again. And if I was too fast in unlocking the screen, it will be become locked again. Initial observation. Gotta test further and see.

Update 2: OK, looks like this app is unusable if you wanna use the light sensor for the app and yet wanna use the tablet on auto brightness as well.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Oct 7 2013, 06:39 PM
jpaq
post Oct 8 2013, 12:22 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Oct 8 2013, 11:09 AM)
so next week RMA good chance to get back fast?
How long have you bought it?

0.0479sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:19 PM