63 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

FluffyTee
post Aug 16 2018, 03:08 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(WingZero @ Aug 15 2018, 07:49 PM)
Wow didnt realized WMR dropped so much as previously its not 250 USD. Now even I am tempted to try lol.

So far I only manage to play with PSVR, Gear VR, Oculus Go and Oculus Rift.

Out of these my choice will be Rift as it's a complete VR set to me especially on the software end.
Unfortunately cant get Vive to be delivered to Malaysia directly.

Btw I tried 1050ti with rift previously in 2017. There's lag. Dont recommend it.
Yeah all the wmr sets (except samsung) are threwing their price down. Their aim is to increase population of users. Their now at 6% population on steamvr survey.
Oculus, vive and wmr are still spending time optimizing their software, particularly using reprojection techniques. Rift for an example, have periodically lower their minimum requirement from 2016 to today. Unfortunately they also halt support for win 8 and 7.
I personally prefer vive. after sales service is horrible.
But vive is an open system, and cannot be remotely lockdown, unlike the rift.
Wmr is now really cheap. Especialy with no gst. (Amazon will initially charge gst on purchase but later refund it)
FluffyTee
post Aug 17 2018, 06:10 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Aug 17 2018, 05:34 PM)

should ah upgrade gpu & buy Rift?

should ah upgrade cpu & buy WMR?

which one is better?
Microsoft is known to stop wmr from running on "unsupported" hardware. Ur g4560 should have been able to run. Im not sure if there is a way to overide this.

Otherwise a rift may cost less as u can hold off changing the processor.
I would suggest rift if u dont have issue with setting up cameras and have 3-4 good usb 3.0 slots
FluffyTee
post Aug 17 2018, 08:00 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Aug 17 2018, 07:29 PM)
just did some rough calculation. both path cost roughly the same.

btw, how 'bout PsVR? :confused:
Psvr is a gud choice considering the popularity. Its the only VR headset (with proper positional head and hand tracking) thats officially sold in malaysia. Its probably the cheapest vr set to get if u dont even have the pc rig yet for vr.
But.. The games is gonna cost users more in the long run. (PC Vr can get "alternative"downloads of the games.)
Just my opinion... I feel its not worth for now as many vr games had to reduce their graphic quality to work on psvr, thus showing signs that the ps4 is reaching is limit.
I would still pick wmr or another pc vr over psvr, Even if i had to buy a new pc rig, bcoz the rig can still be used for other stuff.

Dun take too long to decide. Now no gst if order from amazon.

nyunyu
post Aug 17 2018, 08:11 PM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

No love for standalone VR such as Oculus Go and Lenovo Mirage Solo?
Mr.PeeNutt
post Aug 21 2018, 09:13 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Aug 18 2018, 09:07 PM)
have anyone tried hook 'em up with PC?
to play vr pc games? you can use ALVR..the free version can only play i think 10 minute.
good for games that doesnt require 6dof that much like racing/flight sim or 3rd person view and use xbox controller
WingZero
post Aug 21 2018, 09:30 AM

383 posts

Used 1060 6GB should be around 1K or below now since mining no longer profitable but at the same time your 1050ti also will drop resale price.

Rift disadvantage is only the camera need to be tethered to PC. Other than that Rift is good.

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Aug 17 2018, 05:34 PM)
[attachmentid=9977985]

should ah upgrade gpu & buy Rift? or

[attachmentid=9977986]

should ah upgrade cpu & buy WMR?

which one is better?
Mr.PeeNutt
post Aug 21 2018, 10:00 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(WingZero @ Aug 21 2018, 09:30 AM)
Used 1060 6GB should be around 1K or below now since mining no longer profitable but at the same time your 1050ti also will drop resale price.

Rift disadvantage is only the camera need to be tethered to PC. Other than that Rift is good.
i'm using 970 on the rift..the 1060 maybe around 10% quicker than 970. If youre in budget for me ok la 1060 but otherwise wait till the new nvidia RTX come out and buy used 1070ti at least laugh.gif
some games like Lone Echo or even the new Oculus Home 2.0 menu is getting too slow frame rate and getting too much stutter.
WingZero
post Aug 21 2018, 10:21 AM

383 posts

Aiming to try out RTX2070 when Rift2 is out. Tired of waiting without any news.

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Aug 21 2018, 10:00 AM)
i'm using 970 on the rift..the 1060 maybe around 10% quicker than 970. If youre in budget for me ok la 1060 but otherwise wait till the new nvidia RTX come out and buy used 1070ti at least  laugh.gif
some games like Lone Echo or even the new Oculus Home 2.0 menu is getting too slow frame rate and getting too much stutter.
Mr.PeeNutt
post Aug 21 2018, 10:32 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(WingZero @ Aug 21 2018, 10:21 AM)
Aiming to try out RTX2070 when Rift2 is out. Tired of waiting without any news.
i dont think Rift 2 will be come soon..most probably after 2020
next year might be the Santra Cruz..which is premium Oculus Go with better gpu and 6dof tracking headset/controller
by the time the Rift 2 come out with 6k or 8k resolution that 2070 might be too slow already sweat.gif
WingZero
post Aug 21 2018, 11:40 AM

383 posts

Then at least rift revision with virtual link and hopefully no longer require tethered camera as sensor.

Wireless vr = should be expensive with latency limitation

standalone vr like go very limited in performance but works for social vr and media
Rei7
post Aug 21 2018, 11:47 AM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

I'd drop a 2080ti, but I think I'll wait for Vive 2 or Oculus Rift 2 announcement first.

New HMD is pretty immenent with the USB Type C/VirtualLink availability in the new gpu.
Mr.PeeNutt
post Aug 21 2018, 12:04 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(WingZero @ Aug 21 2018, 11:40 AM)
Then at least rift revision with virtual link and hopefully no longer require tethered camera as sensor.

Wireless vr = should be expensive with latency limitation

standalone vr like go very limited in performance but works for social vr and media
the oculus santa cruz will use 4 headset tracking sensor..so there is possibility the Rift 2 will use it also

they aim the quality graphic on par with the Rift with 75hz refresh rate

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Aug 21 2018, 11:47 AM)
I'd drop a 2080ti, but I think I'll wait for Vive 2 or Oculus Rift 2 announcement first.

New HMD is pretty immenent with the USB Type C/VirtualLink availability in the new gpu.
bangsawan spotted notworthy.gif
only can afford 2070..that one pun need to eat nasi kukus or even worse maggi everyday..haihh
Mr.PeeNutt
post Sep 4 2018, 10:32 AM

188 posts

Untungla Vive user got official wireless adapter for $299 same price as tpcast thumbup.gif
shirley_andy
post Sep 5 2018, 09:40 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

Finally gave HTC Vive a proper run at The Pantheon One City.

The hand controllers are much heavier than Oculus Touch, can really feel fatigue after playing few rounds of Beat Saber. Good for working out the hands I guess.

Headset sponge is softer than Oculus Rift and have full coverage, this means there's no gap at the nose part, which improves immersion. Oculus Rift assumes everyone are ang moh with big nose thus the gap. However for me I prefer the gap, atleast I can still use keyboard, look at my phone, check my monitor for error message without taking off the Rift.

Vive have more than 1 cable running to the headset compared to Oculus of only 1 cable. Don't know is it due to the extra cable or purely the weight of the goggle but Vive is noticeably heavier than Oculus.

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Sep 5 2018, 09:41 AM
WingZero
post Sep 5 2018, 10:31 AM

383 posts

Hopefully Oculus Santa Cruz able to support virtual link connection that enable it to be both a standalone and tethered HMD. Cant wait end of Sept!
FluffyTee
post Sep 5 2018, 04:46 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 5 2018, 09:40 AM)
Finally gave HTC Vive a proper run at The Pantheon One City.

The hand controllers are much heavier than Oculus Touch, can really feel fatigue after playing few rounds of Beat Saber. Good for working out the hands I guess.

Headset sponge is softer than Oculus Rift and have full coverage, this means there's no gap at the nose part, which improves immersion. Oculus Rift assumes everyone are ang moh with big nose thus the gap. However for me I prefer the gap, atleast I can still use keyboard, look at my phone, check my monitor for error message without taking off the Rift.

Vive have more than 1 cable running to the headset compared to Oculus of only 1 cable. Don't know is it due to the extra cable or purely the weight of the goggle but Vive is noticeably heavier than Oculus.
Hey! Although vive does not reveal it. There are multiple version of cv1. The latest one is lighter, and comes with a single cable. The light house has also reduced to 9 LED.
I do like the adjustable lens to eye distance.(not ipd)

I cant say the weight of the control is comfortable for all, but i found it more realistic holding ingame weapon/items with some weight.

I do dislike the god rays and default weight distribution (without the DAS) and rechargable controllers.

Btw how much are the rental charges and service?
shirley_andy
post Sep 5 2018, 08:01 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 5 2018, 04:46 PM)
Hey! Although vive does not reveal it. There are multiple version of cv1. The latest one is lighter, and comes with a single cable. The light house has also reduced to 9 LED.
I do like the adjustable lens to eye distance.(not ipd)

I cant say the weight of the control is comfortable for all, but i found it more realistic holding ingame weapon/items with some weight.

I do dislike the god rays and default weight distribution (without the DAS) and rechargable controllers.

Btw how much are the rental charges and service?
Didn't check the rates, I went during an event where they open free to play to all visitors.

Played a few rounds of beat saber and felt like I done a wrist workout. Oddly satisfying though. laugh.gif

Playing beat saber in an Omni Platform feels weird though.
FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 12:45 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Sep 8 2018, 12:17 PM)
today. I tried Vridge 2(via wifi) + moonlight(nvidia tech) + cardboard + xiaomi 4a + superlux hd681 evo. Hellblade Senua' sacrifice running at 720p and 60fps.
Gonna go throw up now.
Wa.. Play like dat sure motion sickness la.. Whats slowing u from getting a proper VR system?
FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 03:09 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Sep 8 2018, 02:50 PM)
Money
Whats ur approximate budget range and what do u havr at the moment? (And expectation)
FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 03:19 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(HaHeHo @ Sep 8 2018, 03:13 PM)
Currently? 0.
Rig: i5-6500,zotac 4gb gtx 1050ti oc,16gb ram.

P/s: bought wmr of ebay for 99.99usd. in transit. Pretty sure got scammed.
ok does ur WMR comes with the pair of controllers?

63 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:52 AM