This post has been edited by Rei7: Sep 27 2018, 03:45 AM |
Sep 27 2018, 08:02 AM
2,631 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
looks great, without cable, without sensors, really promising.
However its not mention does it fully support PC games (since it says its a standalone like Oculus Go which doesn't require PC), it only mention PC VR games will be ported over, but how many and is the quality the same? Assuming latency isn't a problem, my number one question is, is it a wireless oculus rift or is just something in between Oculus Go and Oculus Rift. And at the same price point as oculus rift, maybe the rift will get price cut. This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Sep 27 2018, 08:10 AM |
Sep 27 2018, 08:09 AM
339 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 08:02 AM) looks great, without cable, without sensors, really promising. Only question is battery life assuming latency is not an issue. It does look impressive. But judging how th wmr perform, i hope tracking is acceptable. Also i do hope they support external battery, though unlikely... I personally dun like having the battery so close to my face....And at the same price point as oculus rift, predict the rift will get price cut. |
Sep 27 2018, 08:12 AM
just realise they say it's a standalone unit like Oculus Go.
So is this an upgraded Oculus Go with positioning tracking function. (catered mainly fot mobile gaming) Or is this a wireless Oculus Rift. (catered mainly for PC gaming) I quoted "Zuckerberg also promised that many PC-based VR games and apps will be ported to the Quest". So for me, its still unclear can Oculus Quest support all VR compatible (can be played with or without VR, like sim racing) PC games or will it only port over VR exclusive PC games (eg. Beat Saber). My guess is, Oculus Quest won't work with a PC. Games will be ported over but it can't be used to play games installed on your PC. Reason being, I don't see how to wirelessly pair it with a PC without a transmitter (like TPcast). Plus, they mentioned 64GB, meaning games need to be loaded into the device to run, not run from PC and transmitted to the VR. Curious... This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Sep 27 2018, 08:38 AM |
Sep 27 2018, 08:38 AM
188 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bangi - Proton COE |
it still run android..spec almost identical with Samsung Galaxy S8:
-Snapdragon 835 -4GB RAM -3200x1440p -4 camera sensor for inside-out tracking -64GB storage so there will be some less demanding graphic Rift games will be easily port to Quest like example the Lucky's Tale or even Beat Saber. btw the oculus rift now can support the oculus mobile apps at least my Rift still can last another year or two till the next Rift This post has been edited by Mr.PeeNutt: Sep 27 2018, 08:50 AM |
Sep 27 2018, 08:51 AM
Sep 27 2018, 09:14 AM
Mr.PeeNutt FluffyTee what's ur username in Oculus?
Sep 27 2018, 09:16 AM
Sep 27 2018, 09:23 AM
Sep 27 2018, 10:13 AM
Sep 27 2018, 10:16 AM
1,392 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Sungai Petani |
Is Oculus Quest the official name for Santa Cruz? Interested in getting this. I'm currently using Mirage Solo.
Sep 27 2018, 10:27 AM
Sep 27 2018, 11:12 AM
1,669 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
At first I thought it works on PC .. would instabuy because new, now i'll just wait again
Sep 27 2018, 11:28 AM
Since Samsung Odyssey has higher resolution than standard Vive and Oculus Rift, does it need more juice from GPU to run at the same FPS?
This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Sep 27 2018, 11:28 AM |
Sep 27 2018, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 11:28 AM) Since Samsung Odyssey has higher resolution than standard Vive and Oculus Rift, does it need more juice from GPU to run at the same FPS? Unfortunately, yes. But of ur gc is able to handle it with at least 1.0 ss, it would anytime be more resource effective than using a rift/vive with higher SS.Also wmr dev has been trying to improve their motion temporal reprojection. Its quite choppy, and i personally prefer using async and interleave reprojections. |
Sep 27 2018, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 27 2018, 11:41 AM) Unfortunately, yes. But of ur gc is able to handle it with at least 1.0 ss, it would anytime be more resource effective than using a rift/vive with higher SS. is VR games will automatically resize resolution base on the headset? since most VR only games doesnt have setting for resolution.. only have supersamplingAlso wmr dev has been trying to improve their motion temporal reprojection. Its quite choppy, and i personally prefer using async and interleave reprojections. if you use gtx 1080 than should be no problem..but my i5 6600 and gtx 970 will be no no laa on 4k headset |
Sep 27 2018, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Sep 27 2018, 12:37 PM) is VR games will automatically resize resolution base on the headset? since most VR only games doesnt have setting for resolution.. only have supersampling Just to clarify terminology to avoid confusion. Resolution is fixed regardless of app. Steamvr will try to guess super sampling and adjust accordingly during play( im not sure bout oculus).if you use gtx 1080 than should be no problem..but my i5 6600 and gtx 970 will be no no laa on 4k headset Wmr claim it can support 1050ti gc. But not sure to what extend. Fyi even a gtx 1080ti with i7 cannot maintain full frames during rec room rec royale. |
Sep 27 2018, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 27 2018, 12:43 PM) Just to clarify terminology to avoid confusion. Resolution is fixed regardless of app. Steamvr will try to guess super sampling and adjust accordingly during play( im not sure bout oculus). is that ur pc spec? but ..but Rec Room is so simple shader..low poly..low res texture Wmr claim it can support 1050ti gc. But not sure to what extend. Fyi even a gtx 1080ti with i7 cannot maintain full frames during rec room rec royale. the only game tht quite struggle on my humble rig is Lone Echo, Doom VFR and those racing game with VR support like Dirt Rally and Project Cars. Its still playable with lower setting but it will still always turn on ASW spaceWarp 45fps |
Sep 27 2018, 01:27 PM
SteamVR will try to guess SS and apply accordingly, SeamVR also allows you to manual override by forcing all games to run at specific SS or even set specific games to run at specific SS.
When I run RaceRoom (a VR compatible racing sim), the auto SS that SteamVR runs is awfully low, had to manually set games specific SS for it. Also, noticed that SteamVR SS overide Oculus Debug SS. So regardless of what SS amount used in Oculus Debug, if steamVR SS not manually increased, the SS would still follow auto SS set by SteamVR. |
Sep 27 2018, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Sep 27 2018, 01:07 PM) is that ur pc spec? but ..but Rec Room is so simple shader..low poly..low res texture Actually... Rec royale is quite resource intensive. The dev are pushing their luck due to demand for a battle royale game. Players can lower in gamr graphic quality but at the cost of lower draw distance.. Which handicaps the player..the only game tht quite struggle on my humble rig is Lone Echo, Doom VFR and those racing game with VR support like Dirt Rally and Project Cars. Its still playable with lower setting but it will still always turn on ASW spaceWarp 45fps Also the texture for pc rec room has increase in quality. In contast to the psvr rec room version (ppl have made comparison). The current rec room can see some hair strands/groove on the head of the players. |
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:51 PM |