5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

Rei7
post May 2 2018, 10:43 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ May 2 2018, 09:10 PM)
I was looking at oculus rift new set, which people is selling at around rm2300 now, however it seem Vive has more content, popularity and bigger fun experience, just the price is really turn off.
Price now should be around 2k only.. since it's like 500usd now instead of 600usd. Doubt a lot of seller selling at that price tho, but I do agree, just get the Vive, it's worth it.
Rei7
post May 3 2018, 02:48 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ May 3 2018, 02:19 PM)
Do you know roughly how much tax for device like this?
QUOTE(FluffyTee @ May 3 2018, 02:29 PM)
I was told amazon now quotes the complete price at the end including the neccesary malaysian tax. It will be displayed before finalizing payment.

Which hmd r u intending to get?
Yes if you buy from sites like Amazon, it includes everything even the tax part of things. You'll get quotes of it and you pay it before hand. After it arrives no additional charges will apply.

This post has been edited by Rei7: May 3 2018, 02:49 PM
Rei7
post May 26 2018, 03:03 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ May 26 2018, 12:03 PM)
i think steamvr hardware survey shows oculus the majority now in Steam.
That is base on who participate the survey. Sale numbers should be the one you should look at.
Rei7
post May 26 2018, 06:46 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ May 26 2018, 06:29 PM)
Obviously its just a reference.. But the numbers was not as such previously. Also real numbers of rift may be higher as not all oculus rift users use steam.
The rise in rift users after its drop in price and not to far apart in performance from vive.
Htc vive poor customer service may also affect this.

So which hmd r u using?
Vive also has their own ecosystem as well just like Rift. But i'm pretty sure most uses Steam ecosystem rather than Rift or Viveport.
I'm not using either of them personally. But I've used both for an extended amount of time by just borrowing someone's for a few months.
Either Vive or Oculus is a fine pick anyway.
Rei7
post May 31 2018, 12:38 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ May 31 2018, 12:19 AM)
unfortunately no...

price of entry too high. not profitable.. even psvr, the only 1(apart from Gear VR) in malaysia isnt making much sales.
PSVR selling really well btw here. Stock seems to be sold out and restocked every time. Looking at a few shops like Impulse for example, even Sony store in KLCC.
Rei7
post Jun 7 2018, 11:32 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ Jun 7 2018, 06:16 AM)
Oculus Go only 159 at Ebay
No SteamVR, and the main focus is kinda mobile vr.
No 6dof tracking, only 3dof, so you can't play a bunch of games properly even if it supports SteamVR at some point.
Rei7
post Jul 11 2018, 04:57 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jul 11 2018, 04:42 PM)
I'm bringing in TPCast Oculus Rift wireless adapter for corporate use. Hopefully the latency is not noticeable. Anyone have/tried it before?
Not really noticeable. 5-7ms mostly the latency. The claim that it is just 1ms is pretty bs tho lol.
Rei7
post Jul 20 2018, 03:48 AM

1,669 posts

Itchy to get my own Vive... Only around 2.5k now, but kinda scared if they release a new one. Not talking about Vive Pro but maybe they will release something better, Pro isn't good enough for an upgrade if you had a Vive. Not even worth the buy either it seems.

Maybe Oculus will release a new one soon? Sounds good to wait. I'll just be satisfied with PSVR for now.
Rei7
post Jul 20 2018, 09:44 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(hpares @ Jul 20 2018, 08:27 AM)
2.5k from which website? I also dilemma between rift and samsung oddysey. I thought vive still 3k so not taking it in haha. But most probably go with rift if i should choose between vive and rift because not so much space in my room
Find at Shopee, pretty cheap Vive and Oculus there, and has good reviews. Legit like conversion rate of our ringgit and no extra cost like other sellers. 2k for Oculus, 2.5k for Vive. I wouldn't go with mixed reality hmd btw, there seems to be some issues with it regarding games, for hassle free get a Vive or Oculus, works without any issues.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 20 2018, 09:37 AM)
Considering that the HTC Vive is out of stock at the htc website in the US, there's some likelihood there'll be a new one eventually. Or the Vive Pro prices will drop to the old US$799 (including accessories) from the current > US$1k price...  biggrin.gif

I've had the HTC Vive for almost 2 years already, still enjoying it a lot. Highly recommended if you don't mind spending the money and already have a GTX1070 or faster.
Yeah the best thing to do is probably wait a little longer. Vive Pro isn't really for consumers.. shit cost 800usd, and does not even include the controllers or base stations which should be at 1.1k usd in total.

Mine is a 980ti, should be good. Maybe there is even a cheaper deal for vive, than I might pounce. Will see if I can last till a never one comes out, or Oculus v2.
Rei7
post Jul 20 2018, 01:54 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(hpares @ Jul 20 2018, 01:18 PM)
I tried vive before. Kinda able to see pixel and no too clear for me. Maybe is because using  gtx 1060. I heard rift have better resolution while oddysey have the highest resolution for now.
It's actually same resolution for both vive and oculus. I think Oculus is just better software side making it nicer. I tried both, i just care more about tracking than resolution. Better tracking just means better gameplay experience. I play on PSVR which doesn't look as good but still enjoy it so no issues for me.

Might just wait for a newer hmd to be out, seems more worth it for the long run.
Rei7
post Jul 20 2018, 06:04 PM

1,669 posts

Main reason is still the price point. No one wants to dump like 2k-3k for a vr hmd. That doesn't even include the rig yet. So yeah until it gets very affordable then a lot more will jump in.
Rei7
post Aug 15 2018, 09:36 AM

1,669 posts

If getting a new graphics card wait till end of this month. New Nvidia cards on the way, since they announced Turing already for non-consumers. Next is consumer a week or two from now
Rei7
post Aug 21 2018, 11:47 AM

1,669 posts

I'd drop a 2080ti, but I think I'll wait for Vive 2 or Oculus Rift 2 announcement first.

New HMD is pretty immenent with the USB Type C/VirtualLink availability in the new gpu.
Rei7
post Sep 8 2018, 03:22 PM

1,669 posts

Missed a chance to get a Vive at 1.4k... rip
I'm just waiting for a cheap Oculus or Vive to get one atm..
Sticking with PSVR for now xD
Rei7
post Sep 8 2018, 03:35 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 8 2018, 03:24 PM)
don worry. not a complete loss?
PSVR should still be good. any specific reason to jump to a PC VR?
Hmm I wanted a PC VR headset for almost a year now actually. Just waiting for a better deal.
Well PSVR is fine yes, just wanted a PC VR.. Well reason to want a PC version is simple, can just check my pc spec on sig, it's pretty much VR ready.

I'm not sure with WMR headset to get tho for cheap if there is any. 1.5k and below would be a nice range for me.
Also no Idea how good WMR is tracking wise compared to Vive and Oculus.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Sep 8 2018, 03:36 PM
Rei7
post Sep 8 2018, 06:12 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 8 2018, 04:43 PM)
WMR cost about RM 1.5- 1.8k. I got mine from amazon for 1.2k during no gst period. compare to vive/rift, it does help alot with space management and reoccurring setup (assuming ur the type that always keep ur VR set after each use).
resolution bump is definitely noticeable (assuming ur inter pupillary distance matches the WMR headset and ur spec can keep up with the higher resolution.)

hand tracking is definitely weaker that rift and vive.. it does affect competitive gaming. it also frequently glitch out of tracking maybe once every 5 mins?
i do not recommend WMR unless ur the type who needs to bring VR headset to several places (eg for business use) or must have that extra resolution boost.
Which WMR did you get? I only heard good things about Samsung Odyssey, but the rest, not so much for WMR
Rei7
post Sep 8 2018, 09:11 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 8 2018, 09:05 PM)
Lenovo explorer. But the Dell visor and Acer WMR are also good picks.
Samsung odyssey is obviously the best of the WMR atm. but if cost is the issue, u can have a look at the others
I only knew today Samsung Odyssey didn't have any sensor needed which is really nice. But yeah the price is close or same as Oculus and near to Vive, so yeah tongue.gif

Maybe I just wait for v2 of Oculus or Vive 2 instead of Pro.. then maybe feel more worth it. Or get the old version still with reduced price
Rei7
post Sep 8 2018, 09:36 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Sep 8 2018, 09:29 PM)
if u wanna know..
oculus rift was  USD780 for 180 tracking only [USD649(hmd + 1 camera + 1 xbox controller) + USD131(controller sold separately+ 1 camera)]
HTC vive was usd799.
Well atm Oculus fullset is just around 2k while Vive is at 2.5k. It's not bad at all, but yeah if a V2 comes out it's going to be soo pricy, the only logical budget one would be the old version. Still if it's next year I think i'll get the newer HMD at some point, unless I found a good deal in a month or two
Rei7
post Sep 12 2018, 09:46 PM

1,669 posts

Lenovo Explorer 99usd https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1364...ty_headset.html
Rei7
post Sep 27 2018, 03:43 AM

1,669 posts

This post has been edited by Rei7: Sep 27 2018, 03:45 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0558sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:45 PM