63 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

TS881118
post May 14 2013, 05:51 PM, updated 6y ago

912 posts

I didn't see any Oculus Rift or HMD thread here, so I create 1.

Oculus Reddit
Vive Reddit

Oculus Rift https://www.oculus.com/en-us/
HTC Vive https://www.htcvive.com/uk/
PlayStation VR https://www.playstation.com/en-us/explore/playstation-vr/
MS HoloLens https://www.microsoft.com/microsoft-hololens/en-us
OSVR http://www.osvr.org/

---OLD---

Official Website: http://www.oculusvr.com/
MTBS Forum: (Where the project goes from concept to reality)http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpbb/viewforum.php?f=140
Oculus Developer Forum: https://developer.oculusvr.com/forums/
Oculus Kickstarter Project (Ended, but you can find some information there): http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/152337...p-into-the-game

Links to list of Oculus Rift Demo:
http://www.riftenabled.com/
http://www.theriftlist.com/

This post has been edited by 881118: Feb 15 2020, 03:39 PM
stringfellow
post May 14 2013, 05:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Reason why I held off getting the Oculus Rift despite its cheap price. Screen door effect is a no-go for me. I'll stick with my T2 until they fix the Rift for its proper commercial release.
TS881118
post May 14 2013, 06:01 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 14 2013, 05:54 PM)
Reason why I held off getting the Oculus Rift despite its cheap price. Screen door effect is a no-go for me. I'll stick with my T2 until they fix the Rift for its proper commercial release.
commercial release would be atleast 6months - 1 year away, long time to wait~
my original intention was for some research purpose
but I still cant overcome the motion sickness LOL rclxub.gif
stringfellow
post May 14 2013, 06:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 14 2013, 06:01 PM)
commercial release would be atleast 6months -  1 year away, long time to wait~
my original intention was for some research purpose
but I still cant overcome the motion sickness LOL rclxub.gif
I can take it off your hands cheap if you wanna drop it. tongue.gif I'm thankfully immune to motion sickness.
TS881118
post May 14 2013, 06:24 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 14 2013, 06:20 PM)
I can take it off your hands cheap if you wanna drop it. tongue.gif I'm thankfully immune to motion sickness.
you will not want to get it from me
mine was bugged since yesterday
it became black n white only, I was like WTF sweat.gif
somemore it happened during a presentation

will do some trouble shooting tonight

anyway, do you use ur Hmz-T2 mostly for movie or gaming?
do you use external media player or PC as source?
stringfellow
post May 14 2013, 06:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 14 2013, 06:24 PM)
you will not want to get it from me
mine was bugged since yesterday
it became black n white only, I was like WTF  sweat.gif
somemore it happened during a presentation

will do some trouble shooting tonight

anyway, do you use ur Hmz-T2 mostly for movie or gaming?
do you use external media player or PC as source?
Gaming on PS3. Which I hardly do these days since I've bumped up my rig specs. Movies are on my VT50.
TS881118
post May 14 2013, 06:36 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 14 2013, 06:26 PM)
Gaming on PS3. Which I hardly do these days since I've bumped up my rig specs. Movies are on my VT50.
Wow, just read ur signature.
You have alot of $$$

Anyway, recently there are many cheap 4K TV from china such as Seiki and Skyworth
you might interested to get it?
about 1,300 USD, compared to those 20,000 USD from LG/Samsung
stringfellow
post May 14 2013, 06:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 14 2013, 06:36 PM)
Wow, just read ur signature.
You have alot of $$$

Anyway, recently there are many cheap 4K TV from china such as Seiki and Skyworth
you might interested to get it?
about 1,300 USD, compared to those 20,000 USD from LG/Samsung
this is going OT from HMD, but here goes:

The Seiki is ......okay for its price. Lots of shimmer and all but can be toned down with some tinkering. But 4k at 30Hz refresh rate = lots of screen tearing. V-Sync ON = input lag. Until the Sharp 4K monitor is available and I can confirm it's AT LEAST 60Hz refresh rate, I'm holding off 4K displays.

84" 4K UHDTV? I'll break my neck swiveling my head left to right looking at the everything on that screen. No deal. tongue.gif I figure I'm 4k-ready specs-wise (Or I can just add another Titan), just that there are no usable/reasonable 4K displays available yet.
TS881118
post May 15 2013, 03:38 PM

912 posts

30Hz is good enough for movie~ normally 24fps only

I see you have U2711, so you should know what it feels when there are alot of pixels infront of you

Did you try some 4K samples on ur U2711? Like timescapes, LG demo and HDclub demo.

Even when I tried on my ayambrand 2560x1440 monitor, it is really stunning.
So I can looking forward for 4k TV, especially for video.
Not really into gaming anyway.
TS881118
post May 17 2013, 05:38 PM

912 posts

Navigating latest google earth (just announce in Google I/O 2013) using both leapmotion and oculus rift
Imagine you can fly through the earth, like a superman, just with your hand, while you immerse in the atmosphere.

http://www.roadtovr.com/2013/05/15/google-...eap-motion-5919

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJtmZ4Q9ZgI
http://youtu.be/S5jnWuiCflA

This post has been edited by 881118: May 17 2013, 10:31 PM
blindbox
post May 17 2013, 08:03 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

@881118 you have a Rift? Are you willing to demo it?

I'm pre-ordering mine right about now. I can't stand waiting anymore, lol. It's been killing my work productivity visiting all the reddit links.

This post has been edited by blindbox: May 17 2013, 09:50 PM
TS881118
post May 17 2013, 10:29 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ May 17 2013, 08:03 PM)
@881118 you have a Rift? Are you willing to demo it?

I'm pre-ordering mine right about now. I can't stand waiting anymore, lol. It's been killing my work productivity visiting all the reddit links.
yup I have a rift, but I am not in Malaysia.
So sorry cant let u demo tongue.gif
btw I am order no xx, received 2+ weeks ago.
what is ur order no? should be receiving soon.

I got a leap motion too XD
waiting to try navigating through new google earth with leap+rift, as shown in Google I/O 2013 in previous post.

This post has been edited by 881118: Jan 7 2016, 12:13 PM
blindbox
post May 18 2013, 07:49 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 17 2013, 10:29 PM)
yup I have a rift, but I am not in Malaysia.
So sorry cant let u demo  tongue.gif
btw I am order no 35xx, received 2+ weeks ago.
what is ur order no? should be receiving soon.

I got a leap motion too XD
waiting to try navigating through new google earth with leap+rift, as shown in Google I/O 2013 in previous post.
No order number, as I haven't bought it yet, was about to. Maybank and oculus seems to be F'ing things up. Oculus doesn't allow for like a 1 minute to let the transaction happen and just tells me maybank declined it, although there's some pre-auth crap happening in my bank account.

For now, I'm waiting for my Paypal account to complete verification, then I'll buy it.

All for the greater good, at this rate I'd stop working without a Rift in my hands!

EDIT: All right, got my paypal and just bought it! You'll hear about it from me in 2~3 months.

This post has been edited by blindbox: May 18 2013, 01:51 PM
TS881118
post May 18 2013, 10:03 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ May 18 2013, 07:49 AM)
No order number, as I haven't bought it yet, was about to. Maybank and oculus seems to be F'ing things up. Oculus doesn't allow for like a 1 minute to let the transaction happen and just tells me maybank declined it, although there's some pre-auth crap happening in my bank account.

For now, I'm waiting for my Paypal account to complete verification, then I'll buy it.

All for the greater good, at this rate I'd stop working without a Rift in my hands!

EDIT: All right, got my paypal and just bought it! You'll hear about it from me in 2~3 months.
Good job on ur purchasing.
But one thing that you must be aware is, this is just a developer kit.
It is meant for developers or early adopters.
It means that there are not much games that are currently officially supported. (Although you can user 3rd party driver like Vireo)
And the resolution is not very good too.

If you are just typical gamer, you may want to wait for the consumer version. (but it is atleast 1 year more to wait tongue.gif )
blindbox
post May 19 2013, 08:05 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 18 2013, 10:03 PM)
Good job on ur purchasing.
But one thing that you must be aware is, this is just a developer kit.
It is meant for developers or early adopters.
It means that there are not much games that are currently officially supported. (Although you can user 3rd party driver like Vireo)
And the resolution is not very good too.

If you are just typical gamer, you may want to wait for the consumer version. (but it is atleast 1 year more to wait  tongue.gif )
Actually, I believe the high FOV will make my competitive gaming better but really, all I want to do is play Garry's Mod with it. Rollercoasters baby. Oh and, MINECRAFT!

1 year wait is a long time. I figured that I should just buy it and then buy the consumer version a year later.

This post has been edited by blindbox: May 19 2013, 08:05 AM
blindbox
post Jun 7 2013, 02:46 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Hope mods don't mind me bumping this up.

To add to my VR experience when I receive the Rift, I'm also backing this kickstarter up. Omni-directional treadmill baby!

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/194462...r-favorite-game

EDIT: This thread lacks Rift videos. Here's some.

Rift coaster

Grandma tries rift.

By the way, to embed youtube to lowyat, try this.

CODE
[YOUTUBE]pAC5SeNH8jw[/YOUTUBE]

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jun 7 2013, 02:53 PM
Acid_RuleZz
post Jun 7 2013, 05:27 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

Oculus Rift + Virtuix Omni first hand by Linus & Slick.

Not sure if you guys aware, but Oculus Rift co-founder Andrew Scott Reisse was killed around a week ago. sad.gif Hopefully this tragedy won't slow down the development of this awesome device.

It’s one of those freak occurrences that spawns unfathomable tragedy. Andrew Scott Reisse was a VR computer graphics engineer working on the Oculus Rift, a project which he helped to co-found. He was struck and killed in a crosswalk four miles away from his office at the end of a police chase in Santa Ana on Thursday. Three suspects tried to flee on foot from their Dodge Charger after Reisse was hit, but all were captured by police.

“Andrew was a brilliant computer graphics engineer, an avid photographer and hiker who loved nature, a true loyal friend, and a founding member of our close-knit Oculus family. Andrew’s contributions span far and wide in the video game industry. His code is embedded in thousands of games played by millions of people around the world. Words can not express how sorely he will be missed or how deeply our sympathy runs for his family.”

Sauce: Oculus Rift Co-Founder Killed As Bystander In Police Chase
XJC
post Jun 8 2013, 03:55 PM

54 posts

A playable but not public available demo that were made in their spare time by my favourite MMO developer, CCP Games, that was showcased in their recent fanfest.

I downloaded this to my smartphone and held it similar to how you would with a stereoscopic illusion images.
Too bad I'm not the one controlling the headgear, my mind would be blown clean...

And a great loss to humanity, RIP Andrew Scott Reisse sad.gif
blindbox
post Jun 9 2013, 11:51 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(XJC @ Jun 8 2013, 03:55 PM)
A playable but not public available demo that were made in their spare time by my favourite MMO developer, CCP Games, that was showcased in their recent fanfest.
I downloaded this to my smartphone and held it similar to how you would with a stereoscopic illusion images.
Too bad I'm not the one controlling the headgear, my mind would be blown clean...

And a great loss to humanity, RIP Andrew Scott Reisse sad.gif
Yea, his death made me feel down a bit.

Once I get my Rift, I can do some demos with fellow LYNers, but hopefully one of you guys have a good rig and good home for me to bring the Rift to. I don't feel like demo-ing it at my own house (I still live with family, lol).

EDIT: I live in KL.

EDIT2: My Rift order is now in Processing. Not worth a new post to bump up this thread. I expect to receive it next week. Will bump this thread once I received it.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jun 11 2013, 02:24 PM
TS881118
post Jun 15 2013, 08:30 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jun 9 2013, 11:51 AM)
Yea, his death made me feel down a bit.

Once I get my Rift, I can do some demos with fellow LYNers, but hopefully one of you guys have a good rig and good home for me to bring the Rift to. I don't feel like demo-ing it at my own house (I still live with family, lol).

EDIT: I live in KL.

EDIT2: My Rift order is now in Processing. Not worth a new post to bump up this thread. I expect to receive it next week. Will bump this thread once I received it.
wow so fast already in processing?
I tot you just ordered few weeks ago.
That was kinda fast.

My rift is collecting dust now LOL. (busy w work + cannot get rid of motion sickness)

about Omni, didn't backed it becoz I initially tot the shipping cost will be very expensive. (but not that expensive actually)

63 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:35 PM