Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v3, y510p, where are you?
Lil Kiasu
May 24 2013, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(efariz @ May 24 2013, 06:02 PM) i'm using MSI AfterBurner..mind show me how to OC?  MSI AB has the slider thingy right..?  Just slide a lil bit... Let's say, 10MHz more on intervals until you're happy with how it performs... Don't go all the way up otherwise you'll suffer from throttling (Have not experienced this yet on the Y500, but the old M15x throttles like mad). QUOTE(Beatmasta @ May 24 2013, 05:48 PM) ahhhh just as simple like that only? dang i thought those works on Desktop GPU ohhh its the same principle OC on Laptop GPU oso ya..i see.. Yeap, just install and play...
efariz
May 24 2013, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ May 24 2013, 06:05 PM) MSI AB has the slider thingy right..? Just slide a lil bit... Let's say, 10MHz more on intervals until you're happy with how it performs... Don't go all the way up otherwise you'll suffer from throttling (Have not experienced this yet on the Y500, but the old M15x throttles like mad).Yeap, just install and play...  LOL, only like that ah?? which one can change? core clock or memory clock or both.?
Beatmasta
May 24 2013, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(efariz @ May 24 2013, 06:07 PM) LOL, only like that ah?? which one can change? core clock or memory clock or both.?  i give u help on that one, we use google for help  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Overclock-Your-Laptops-Graphics-Card/
Lil Kiasu
May 24 2013, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(efariz @ May 24 2013, 06:07 PM) LOL, only like that ah?? which one can change? core clock or memory clock or both.? I usually do both...
AiSheep
May 24 2013, 07:24 PM

If you don't unlock your BIOS, only limited till +135 Mhz clocks and unable to overclock the ultrabay GPU :3 Unless you have .bat files for nvidia inspector to bypass this limit (troublesome)
This post has been edited by AiSheep: May 24 2013, 07:32 PM
KVReninem
May 24 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ May 24 2013, 07:34 PM) Any difference between 8GB and 16GB meh..?  I checked my RAM usage and it rarely exceeds 4GB.  8gb you are limited later when you run alot apps. so will lag too. im on x64 bits. so 8gb with 64x = just okok. so need another 16 to smooth juice. added a ssd too.
Lil Kiasu
May 24 2013, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 24 2013, 08:31 PM) 8gb you are limited later when you run alot apps. so will lag too. im on x64 bits. so 8gb with 64x = just okok. so need another 16 to smooth juice. added a ssd too.  So....  Not a must if I'm not a heavy multitasker lah~?
KVReninem
May 24 2013, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ May 24 2013, 11:47 PM) So....  Not a must if I'm not a heavy multitasker lah~?  yeah. But ssd is good. ram just extra extreme Tot of adding for 32 gb RAM but dont have  btw i`m using this for rendering. This post has been edited by KVReninem: May 24 2013, 09:02 PM
Lil Kiasu
May 24 2013, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 24 2013, 09:02 PM) yeah. But ssd is good. ram just extra extreme Tot of adding for 32 gb RAM but dont have  btw i`m using this for rendering.  Prolly gonna get myself the mSATA for the boot partition in the future... High capacity SSDs still cost a bomb atm.
icecreamcake
May 24 2013, 10:35 PM
Hi, anyone know what happen to my Y400? I just bought less than a month but already see this BSOD 2 times. I added a stick of 8GB RAM inside at day one. The first BSOD time is day one I using this laptop, then second time is today. I didn't do any BIOS change or something else, just normal use. i found this error at microsoft website : - http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...fc-68b599b31bf5Anyone have any idea ? This post has been edited by icecreamcake: May 24 2013, 10:40 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
devour
May 24 2013, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(icecreamcake @ May 24 2013, 10:35 PM) Hi, anyone know what happen to my Y400? I just bought less than a month but already see this BSOD 2 times. I added a stick of 8GB RAM inside at day one. The first BSOD time is day one I using this laptop, then second time is today. I didn't do any BIOS change or something else, just normal use. i found this error at microsoft website : - http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...fc-68b599b31bf5Anyone have any idea ?  http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.htmltry this
TSkuroneko0509
May 24 2013, 10:44 PM
~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
ok... next paper is in one week, so i guess i can spend some time to update the 1st page
efariz
May 24 2013, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(Beatmasta @ May 24 2013, 06:22 PM) i give u help on that one, we use google for help  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Overclock-Your-Laptops-Graphics-Card/ haha..thanks
efariz
May 24 2013, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ May 24 2013, 07:06 PM) I usually do both...  ok, i try soon..tq
slimfox
May 24 2013, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(icecreamcake @ May 24 2013, 10:35 PM) Hi, anyone know what happen to my Y400? I just bought less than a month but already see this BSOD 2 times. I added a stick of 8GB RAM inside at day one. The first BSOD time is day one I using this laptop, then second time is today. I didn't do any BIOS change or something else, just normal use. i found this error at microsoft website : - http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...fc-68b599b31bf5Anyone have any idea ?  Could it be your ram? Just suggesting
sss2sssss
May 25 2013, 02:54 AM
QUOTE(icecreamcake @ May 24 2013, 10:35 PM) Hi, anyone know what happen to my Y400? I just bought less than a month but already see this BSOD 2 times. I added a stick of 8GB RAM inside at day one. The first BSOD time is day one I using this laptop, then second time is today. I didn't do any BIOS change or something else, just normal use. i found this error at microsoft website : - http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...fc-68b599b31bf5Anyone have any idea ?  Ur RAM model? I think mostly the problem is on ur RAM....
mfitri77
May 25 2013, 09:01 AM
Guys and girls, the Y500 version that I have didn't come with msata. Has anybody here got the same thing and successfully upgraded the Lenovo with the msata SSD, either as a separate drive or accelerating the slower hard drive?
hardi_7
May 25 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2013, 09:01 AM) Guys and girls, the Y500 version that I have didn't come with msata. Has anybody here got the same thing and successfully upgraded the Lenovo with the msata SSD, either as a separate drive or accelerating the slower hard drive? I just upgrade mine Y500 with msata and SSD. Y500 got 2 port msata. 1 inside and another one beside the port of ultrabay. Malaysia set doesn't come with msata.
mfitri77
May 25 2013, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(hardi_7 @ May 25 2013, 11:28 AM) I just upgrade mine Y500 with msata and SSD. Y500 got 2 port msata. 1 inside and another one beside the port of ultrabay. Malaysia set doesn't come with msata.  Hmm. Well, I am looking to upgrade the MSATA inside the laptop anyway. Just need to check whether the msata is wired properly or if this is just some for show only.
slimfox
May 25 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(hardi_7 @ May 25 2013, 11:28 AM) I just upgrade mine Y500 with msata and SSD. Y500 got 2 port msata. 1 inside and another one beside the port of ultrabay. Malaysia set doesn't come with msata.  are you sure? Did not see that when I took the back cover off. Guess I'm gonna open the back cover again.