Hardware Official Microsoft Surface Thread V1

richard912
post Aug 19 2013, 12:26 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Aug 19 2013, 09:49 AM)
got a surface rt too, is screen protector needed?

anyone can recommend where to get any sleeve or casing?
I have been using mine from day 1 without SP. So far, so good. Only grouse I have is the RT's screen is quite reflective. So, a non-reflective SP may be in order if one is intended.

Still awaiting my e-bay procured folio case to arrive via snail mail.
underworld
post Aug 19 2013, 12:34 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

is the surface RT gorilla glass ? I read somewhere they say it is

beebee
post Aug 19 2013, 01:14 PM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 19 2013, 12:26 PM)
I have been using mine from day 1 without SP. So far, so good. Only grouse I have is the RT's screen is quite reflective. So, a non-reflective SP may be in order if one is intended.

Still awaiting my e-bay procured folio case to arrive via snail mail.
give some review when receive the case ya, hmm hard to look for SP

Will those 12" sleeve fit nicely? need to go and get a look
pristine
post Aug 19 2013, 01:18 PM

junkie
2,808 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Aug 19 2013, 01:14 PM)

I think 11" sleeves would fit better, like the ones for mac book air. I know a Crumpler Fug can fit the surface and touch cover no problem.
Mr.Docter
post Aug 19 2013, 01:23 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Any suggestion on what are the basic apps that newly owned RT should have?
darrenboy
post Aug 19 2013, 01:32 PM

733 posts

I am thinking of buying one. Can I ask a few questions about Surface RT?

- does it have free adobe app so that I can open pdf files and do the other things that I normally can in my pc with adobe reader?

- is it printable to a HP deskjet advantage 2060 printer? Please check for me if this model is in the apps.

- does it come with free Angry Bird seasons 1,2 & 3?

- does it come with free candy crush saga and temple run?

underworld
post Aug 19 2013, 02:00 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 19 2013, 01:23 PM)

metrotube - youtube app
fotor - photo edit software
tunein - radio channel
Mr.Docter
post Aug 19 2013, 02:24 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Not directly related, but Nokia is currently working on a tablet for Windows RT as well @ http://www.theverge.com/2013/8/16/4627220/...ures-leak-rumor

Means that the support for RT apps will be relatively brighter than before.
richard912
post Aug 19 2013, 02:56 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Aug 19 2013, 01:32 PM)

- does it have free adobe app so that I can open pdf files and do the other things that I normally can in my pc with adobe reader?

- is it printable to a HP deskjet advantage 2060 printer? Please check for me if this model is in the apps.

- I can read pdf files without issues
- not sure as I have not tried printing anything off my RT
- I can run Candy Crush via FB on the RT. Haven't tried any of the others.
- Youtube runs well

underworld
post Aug 19 2013, 03:01 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

its supported HP printer
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/com...mpatCenter/Home

I think have angry birds star wars only

no app for candy crush and temple run
collin92
post Aug 19 2013, 06:12 PM

198 posts

noorimanyosh

You buy Surface RT that offer for student ea?
victorian
post Aug 19 2013, 06:30 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,621 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Aug 19 2013, 01:14 PM)

I'm using the Mac City sleeve for 11" MacBook Air. So far so good. Saw a 10.2" sleeve at ALL IT for Rm 7 only. Worth a shot

This is what I have now, twitter, Radiant Defense, Jetpack joyride ... The apps in Surface RT is really scarce sweat.gif

It is preloaded with adobe reader, there's no such app for printer. Most of the apps are paid and candy crush and temple run is not available is Windows RT. I think you are looking for an iPad
volrath
post Aug 19 2013, 09:16 PM

440 posts

I will get my RT next month, it's collecting dust in Australia right now...

I have a question about .exe

I see comments about launching .exe which is not ARM based means needed to compile before you launch..

What does this means? compile how/what and this will allow RT to launch .exe?

TIA.
Silverfire
post Aug 19 2013, 09:48 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

Google Search.
darrenboy
post Aug 19 2013, 10:22 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Aug 19 2013, 03:01 PM)
its supported HP printer
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/com...mpatCenter/Home

I think have angry birds star wars only

no app for candy crush and temple run
1. Underworld, thank you very much. Yes, I have checked the link you provided. HP Deskjet 2060 is listed. rclxms.gif

2. Angry bird star wars only? Alamak. I want free one ler... !

3. Candy crush never mind - I got stuck in level 23 and getting bored to play. Temple run? Hate being chased by gorillas. The only game I play well is angry bird.. especially angry bird seasons. I ahve finished season 1, 2 and 3. Now I am trying to get 3 stars for every level. I have got 3 stars for 2 of the 3 games in Season 3. cool2.gif

4. Victorian, it is preloaded with adobe reader? Oic... thanks. As for printer, I think we need to download the driver apps from microsoft store into the surface rt before we can print, is that not so?

richard912, thanks for sharing.

Btw, 2 more weeks to go to buy. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Aug 19 2013, 11:57 PM
hirota
post Aug 19 2013, 11:10 PM

2,387 posts

i just *jailbreak* my RT, tried some ported apps like filezilla, noted++ and added the ClassicStartMenu button.
collin92
post Aug 19 2013, 11:53 PM

198 posts

I planning to buy Surface RT with Student Price through my Uni,
but I don't know who's in charge..
The email I received in Student mail is about Surface seminar,
thus the person is in charge for seminar,
not to arrange the deal..

Anyone have clue?
beederbest
post Aug 20 2013, 12:20 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Aug 19 2013, 11:53 PM)
I planning to buy Surface RT with Student Price through my Uni,
but I don't know who's in charge..
The email I received in Student mail is about Surface seminar,
thus the person is in charge for seminar,
not to arrange the deal..

Anyone have clue?
i want to buy through my university too. anyone knows how?
collin92
post Aug 20 2013, 12:24 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Aug 20 2013, 12:20 AM)
i want to buy through my university too. anyone knows how?
I try to ask MPP, since they're not in campus,
of course they know nothing..

Last resort,
I will go to HEP to ask unsure.gif
but I will be back to campus on September, though..
beederbest
post Aug 20 2013, 12:35 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:24 AM)
I try to ask MPP, since they're not in campus,
of course they know nothing..

Last resort,
I will go to HEP to ask  unsure.gif
but I will be back to campus on September, though..
i think some people that offers bulk service in garage sales also order through IPT in malaysia. just dont know how. have seen someone offer Rm618 for 32GB surface RT but already closed now

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:27 AM