127 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.20, Nikon when you fix the D600 dust gate!?

Pmc
post Jul 10 2013, 11:05 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(SFerrari @ Jul 10 2013, 10:53 AM)
sorry noob here,

want ask some guide for travel photography

1) condition is night landscape with potrait using flash
-each time i take either people correct bright but background all dark
-or background nice people fail

2) sunny sun at behind of human, therefore faces look dark
need guide to use single flash on this
condition one can set flash to slow sync mode, so the background will be properly exposed before the flash kick in. case 2 also use flash lor, remember that aperture value correlate with the flash intensity.
celciuz
post Jul 10 2013, 11:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 10 2013, 10:33 AM)
Lightroom 4?
SFerrari
post Jul 10 2013, 11:46 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jul 10 2013, 11:05 AM)
condition one can set flash to slow sync mode, so the background will be properly exposed before the flash kick in. case 2 also use flash lor, remember that aperture value correlate with the flash intensity.
1) in manual mode , slow sync mode is disabled. Any setting guide for human with potrait, I wan to capture human clearly and also background potrait outdoor scene at night.
2) yes i'm using flash, but still can't get nice. As human with potrait sun shining in background my setting is iso100 Aperture 8, what will be the right shutter speed

Please do share me some skills and setting
KTCY
post Jul 10 2013, 12:13 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 10 2013, 12:04 AM)
laugh.gif , not that much faster compared to my previous E8400 and SSD... but well when generating the SDE damn fast!
16GB of RAM <-- but it doesn't help much sad.gif my LR gets sluggish when it hits about 3GB RAM usage... wonder why it doesn't use more of it... I'm already on 64-bit system.

I'm using 120GB SSD SATA 3, basically my files are saved on HDD, but the cache and catalog are on SSD.
What type of graphic card ? ANd memory of gc ?

Everdying
post Jul 10 2013, 12:17 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

laugh.gif , not that much faster compared to my previous E8400 and SSD... but well when generating the SDE damn fast!
16GB of RAM <-- but it doesn't help much sad.gif my LR gets sluggish when it hits about 3GB RAM usage... wonder why it doesn't use more of it... I'm already on 64-bit system.

I'm using 120GB SSD SATA 3, basically my files are saved on HDD, but the cache and catalog are on SSD.
its a windows bug.
one of my games i know also take up about 4.5gb of ram, but windows task manager only shows 3.3gb.
Andy214
post Jul 10 2013, 02:59 PM

3,308 posts

Try to save your files on SSD when editing, after finish edit can move them to HDD.

Another possible issue is virtual memory, but install your OS on SSD should b MUCH better than HDD performance.
Andy214
post Jul 10 2013, 03:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(SFerrari @ Jul 10 2013, 11:46 AM)
1) in manual mode , slow sync mode is disabled. Any setting guide for human with potrait, I wan to capture human clearly and also background potrait outdoor scene at night.
2) yes i'm using flash, but still can't get nice. As human with potrait sun shining in background my setting is iso100 Aperture 8, what will be the right shutter speed

Just basic guide, you can try and experiment yourself to get the best result you desire:
1) use higher ISO and large aperture number. If you're using flash, you can slow down your shutter speed down to maybe 1/30 for portrait. If using external flash, can consider using reflector.
2) Can't tell, we don't know how bright and what is the exposure; Try use the exposure meter. If you use spot metering, it will meter for the subject and you will get bright subject, so you need to turn down the exposure. If you use Matrix, it will underexpose, but your flash will compensate for that, the result will depend on the scene, so you need to adjust if it's too bright or too dark.
f5calvin
post Jul 10 2013, 04:27 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

1) usually if manual, just turn to like 1/20 to 1s depending on how bright background is..if vy dark, just bring to 1 or 2 seconds provided u have tripod .. if no tripod, bump iso n shoot at 1/20. Go widest aperture..
2) just use flash. If its like the people too dark, bump ur flash compensation..
psmalaysia.com
post Jul 10 2013, 04:40 PM

101 posts

Basically is about experience. Try to shoot in different environment and different time/moment of the day. So you know what settings to use. I use manual too. Sometime I don't use flash at all on outdoor night portrait. You can use the available light around such as street light, light from nearest stall/shop. Using flash might not give your the feel and mood of the atmosphere you trying to capture.

Here is one of the album I created for my client:

Yes, it is no flash at all. Just use the available light.

Another tips to share, for low light or night portrait. 24mm, 35mm, 50mm f/1.8 is the best lens you can get or you can use f/2.8 lens. If you can afford a f/1.2 or f/1.4 lens then go ahead.

If you want to use flash, I suggest you get a wireless trigger to help you create a more creative lighting. Not on hot-shoe as the effect is different. Since it is in Nikon thread, you can try the CLS features in your Nikon camera. Nikon has built-in wireless trigger for triggering Nikon flashes without using 3rd party wireless trigger. I not sure entry level Nikon DSLR have this feature or not. It was there on D70s, D80, D90, D7000, D3s, D300, D700, D800, D3x, D4 and many more. Those old models such as D40 and D60 hasn't got this feature. Correct me if I'm wrong. Most people call this technique as strobist.

For strobist, you can actually register Flickr then search about "strobist". Some photographers is very helpful that they share the settings of the photo they taken. How to set up the lighting and every single settings (aperture, shutter speed, ISO, flash power, distance and what lens they use). Is very helpful.

About your question on day light shutter speed, this is basically depend on the condition of the light/exposure on the location you trying to shoot. I hardly use until f/8 for daylight unless really no choice. Usually I be using f/4 to f/5.6 on most cases. Your camera actually got a metering, set it to A mode then you can check the shutter speed you should be using. Look inside the viewfinder then you notice it show your the shutter speed but it keep changing also there is a metering. Make sure the metering is on the center. Basically, I only know how to use M mode which is manual. Once you shoot more and learn more, then next time you know what settings you should be use on which kind of lighting environment.

I don't learn from anyone but I learn it by myself thru experience.

Although my dad is also into photography for over 25~30 years but I never ask him to teach me. Coz I don't like his style. tongue.gif

I use to host some workshop and gathering to share my knowledge. But for pass one year, I hardly host workshop, photoshoot or gathering due to my busy schedule. If you from Penang, you can contact me and let's have an outing together.
ongdennis
post Jul 10 2013, 04:43 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 10 2013, 12:17 PM)
its a windows bug.
one of my games i know also take up about 4.5gb of ram, but windows task manager only shows 3.3gb.
I thought this is 32bit winfow bug. But for 64bit os this is no longer the limitation. Like others say it might be the application itself that not support high memory per process.
5p3ak
post Jul 10 2013, 05:32 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 9 2013, 09:46 PM)
Yeap..d7100 is to compete with canon 70D.. d300s is with 7D..
Hmmm then D400 compete with 7D MK II ? hmm.gif

Actually I now planing if I upgrade what I am going to upgrade to...70D has really caught my eyes got everything I need but D7100 also not bad. rclxub.gif

Must wait 70D come out then I test first I guess.
Everdying
post Jul 10 2013, 05:37 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jul 10 2013, 04:43 PM)
I thought this is 32bit winfow bug. But for 64bit os this is no longer the limitation. Like others say it might be the application itself that not support high memory per process.
my win7 is 64bit...and it doesnt show anything more than 4gb usage...usually shows up as around 3.3gb even tho it was already more than 4gb since it was eating into my pagefiles.

Pro3363
post Jul 10 2013, 07:09 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

Petaling Street by Pro3363, on Flickr
f5calvin
post Jul 10 2013, 07:43 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jul 10 2013, 05:32 PM)
Hmmm then D400 compete with 7D MK II ?  hmm.gif

Actually I now planing if I upgrade what I am going to upgrade to...70D has really caught my eyes got everything I need but D7100 also not bad.  rclxub.gif

Must wait 70D come out then I test first I guess.
whats so special bout 70D? i think if u want to go for crop, i think getting d7000 n go get some prime lens is better.. or else go FF..
5p3ak
post Jul 10 2013, 08:15 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 10 2013, 07:43 PM)
whats so special bout 70D? i think if u want to go for crop, i think getting d7000 n go get some prime lens is better.. or else go FF..
Because

Vari-Angle Touch Screen LCD
Built-in WiFi
7FPS

compared to D7000 hmm.gif

FF? too big and heavy, susah for me laugh.gif
gerald7
post Jul 10 2013, 08:18 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

and dont for get the dual pixel autofocus for live view... that may come in real handy for videography
mingyuyu
post Jul 10 2013, 08:59 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 10 2013, 07:43 PM)
Quite a number of things that the Nikon can't offer actually, the screen, the wifi, the autofocus in video, the gps.
f5calvin
post Jul 10 2013, 09:08 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jul 10 2013, 08:15 PM)
Because

Vari-Angle Touch Screen LCD
Built-in WiFi
7FPS

compared to D7000  hmm.gif

FF? too big and heavy, susah for me laugh.gif
QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jul 10 2013, 08:59 PM)
Quite a number of things that the Nikon can't offer actually, the screen, the wifi, the autofocus in video, the gps.
vari angle touch screen has more risk of the screen not functioning well after years of using..bt maybe u'll upgrade before it happens..haha.
wifi mmg one thing lacking as well as gps lo..

bt wat bout noise performance? anyway if FF heavy, there's always the D600 and Canon 6D..

mingyuyu
post Jul 10 2013, 09:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 10 2013, 09:08 PM)
vari angle touch screen has more risk of the screen  not functioning well after years of using..bt maybe u'll upgrade before it happens..haha.
wifi mmg one thing lacking as well as gps lo..

bt wat bout noise performance? anyway if FF heavy, there's always the D600 and Canon 6D..
well... it depends actually, if you happens to shoot in awkward angle or video a lot, you will appreciate the vari angle screen, trust me, i've used it before.

but yeah... crop is still far behind FF in terms of IQ.
f5calvin
post Jul 10 2013, 09:55 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jul 10 2013, 09:11 PM)
well... it depends actually, if you happens to shoot in awkward angle or video a lot, you will appreciate the vari angle screen, trust me, i've used it before.

but yeah... crop is still far behind FF in terms of IQ.
Yeah in using d5100 I think the vari angle screen is vy vy useful..

127 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:09 AM