Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.20, Nikon when you fix the D600 dust gate!?

Andy214
post May 2 2013, 10:12 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ May 2 2013, 01:04 AM)
D7000 70-300 vr2
What this mean? Better use dynamic track with minimum focus point?

For shooting the running horse to my direction
What is the best autofocus setting to use?
1)  AF-S or
2) AF-C
I think af-c better since I can track the horse and burst, but I always get blur image when burst shot

And for AF-Area Mode, what is better?
1) Single-Point 
2) dynamic
3) 3D

Autofocus speed will change depend on the autofocus setting right? 
And I suppose single point will be fastest, and then the dynamic 9 point?

I tried to use the af-c single point af area mode, but seems I hardly get sharp image even use shutter 2000.

Thinking to try use Af-c dynamic 9 point next time.
Single Point (Middle) and AF-C
If you use large aperture like f/2.8 then your DOF will be more shallow, so use smaller aperture to get more DOF

If the image Out Of Focus, the fast shutter speed won't make any difference.

Also when you use AF-C mode, there are additional settings in the menu like Release when LOCK-ON (or something like that), which means, it only allow you to capture the image when it's actually LOCKED ON (but this doesn't mean it's 100% accurate, just it won't let you capture if the camera didn't lock on focus).
Another setting is how long delay before it re-focus, by default there is some delay, so it won't refocus when the subject moves. For your scenario, the subject is moving towards you, so you might not want the delay? Try and experiment it yourself, but firstly, using smaller aperture will help. Shooting in broad daylight, you don't need to use the largest aperture available on your lens.

Andy214
post May 12 2013, 09:42 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ May 12 2013, 07:57 PM)
Thinking of getting a 90mm F/2.8 VC to do double duty as portrait lens and also to replace my current 60mm F/2 Macro lens

Or maybe just buy the 85mm 1.8G as a pure tele/portait solution.

user posted image VS user posted image

Any thoughts on this??
Both are different purpose lens.

For the Tamron 90mm f/2.8 VC Macro, how much are you paying for? You can almost buy the Nikkor's 105mm f/2.8 VR, which is better in many ways.

Andy214
post May 16 2013, 10:01 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ May 16 2013, 12:33 AM)
Woah u from future??? I tot 6s would be longer.. Lol  laugh.gif nice phone leh, too bad i bought nexus 4 few days before they announce htc one.. Haiz..
ohmy.gif The ROBOT has consume the Fruit!!! notworthy.gif

Use a powerful & flexible launcher like Nova or Apex, then you can customize to look like iOS or WP.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 16 2013, 10:06 AM
Andy214
post May 21 2013, 10:54 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 21 2013, 10:47 AM)

From the site, still got difference between PRO and FREE.

1. The old Flickr Pro accounts included unlimited storage space, and that means it can exceed 1TB.

2. Flickr Pro users also get to view view counts and referrer statistics for their images. Lots of professionals often like this feature because it shows where a photo has been used or linked across the web.

3. Flickr Pro users can replace photos (without having to reupload), archive high-resolution original images and enjoy an ad-free experience.

Pro Limitation:
Although storage and bandwidth are unlimited, they do come with a caveat. Flickr Pro users are limited to image sizes of 50MB and video sizes of 500MB. If you want to upgrade to the larger file sizes, you'll need to convert from a Flickr Pro to a free account.

More More:
Can I Buy a New Flickr Pro Account Now?
No. Flickr Pro accounts stopped being sold as of May 20, 2013. Existing Flickr Pro users can continue to use the service or migrate to a free account.

Andy214
post May 21 2013, 10:59 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 21 2013, 10:49 AM)
lol convert pro to free! HOW AWSHUM! they always said Yahoo has no direction... I guess its true. few months ago it was still pushing  pro accounts.. now?
Covert to FREE then cannot go back to PRO cause it's been discontinued.

For FREE account, just to remove ads only will cost you TWICE the price of the Pro account, and no extra features.

What are the New Upgrade Options
Flickr Pro is going away, but Flickr will still offer upgrades for users.

For $49.99 a year, users can remove ads from the Flickr experience. This doesn't add any other features; it just removes ads.

It's worth noting that $49.99 a year is twice what a Flickr Pro membership used to cost.

And.... to get additional 1TB storage...

For $499.99 a year, users can double their Flickr capacity and bring it all the way up to 2TB. Yeah — $500 for another terabyte of storage.

Crazy? Just subscribe 2nd account... LOL?

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 21 2013, 11:00 AM
Andy214
post May 21 2013, 11:00 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 21 2013, 10:58 AM)
what if someone with auto renew subscription?

and why they use term, OR migrate? as if still can use the pro?still expired? but stated stopped being sold... rclxub.gif
For existing PRO users, you can choose to stay and renew.
But once you convert to FREE, you can't GoPro again

Can I Still Keep my Flickr Pro Account?
Yes. Last year, Flickr migrated all Flickr Pro accounts into recurring accounts. As long as your account is by way of a recurring subscription (currently quarterly, yearly or for two years), you can continue to renew your account once it expires.

If your Flickr Pro account was the result of a gift certificate, it's possible that because it is not recurring, it and its benefits will end once it expires.

How Long Can I Keep My Pro Account Active?
We asked Flickr how long Flickr Pro users would be able to continue to renew their accounts and were told, "There are no plans for Pro renewals to go away."

Renewal rates will also remain the same as they are now.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 21 2013, 11:02 AM
Andy214
post May 22 2013, 11:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 22 2013, 10:15 PM)
Have you change to Free status for Flickr?
I'm still contemplating whether to change or not.

Also, Flickr says there'll be advertising but so far I've seen none.  hmm.gif
It may take some time for the advertisers to sign up.

For those Pro account which would like to convert to Free account will get some sort of refund; but once you go Free, you can't GoPro.
Key point here is: You can go FREE anytime, but once you're Free no more going Pro; or maybe future they will come up with something else. After all, they need to compete with others.
Another point is, for Free account, just to remove the Ad, it cost double the Pro fees.

Andy214
post May 23 2013, 04:16 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 23 2013, 03:52 PM)
Hahaha, collector's item!
Yeap, I saw it from NR too.
drool.gif
I'm especially against the branch at Mahkota Parade. Boss is so stuck up and gives crap price, and the way he speak macam I can't afford a DSLR. From that time onward, I never step into that shop ever again. Just because I'm a newbie that time... looking for D90, quoted me RM4.6k man... I got it somewhere else for about RM4.2k I think.
Same goes to One Utama branch, especially the boss. I guess they believe in 1 time business and they treat their customers as dummy, as the chinese saying, trying to cheat 3 year old kid. The trick used is old school style, show you the screen say it's their cost price, they're not earning (LOL?), etc (when another branch can offer, and the offer is not by the boss).

But some Fotokem branch/people are ok, just there're still better place which offer much better price and service.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 23 2013, 04:17 PM
Andy214
post Jul 10 2013, 02:59 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 10 2013, 12:04 AM)
laugh.gif , not that much faster compared to my previous E8400 and SSD... but well when generating the SDE damn fast!
16GB of RAM <-- but it doesn't help much sad.gif my LR gets sluggish when it hits about 3GB RAM usage... wonder why it doesn't use more of it... I'm already on 64-bit system.

I'm using 120GB SSD SATA 3, basically my files are saved on HDD, but the cache and catalog are on SSD.
Try to save your files on SSD when editing, after finish edit can move them to HDD.

Another possible issue is virtual memory, but install your OS on SSD should b MUCH better than HDD performance.
Andy214
post Jul 10 2013, 03:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(SFerrari @ Jul 10 2013, 11:46 AM)
1) in manual mode , slow sync mode is disabled. Any setting guide for human with potrait, I wan to capture human clearly and also background potrait outdoor scene at night.
2) yes i'm using flash, but still can't get nice. As human with potrait sun shining in background my setting is iso100 Aperture 8, what will be the right shutter speed

Please do share me some skills and setting
Just basic guide, you can try and experiment yourself to get the best result you desire:
1) use higher ISO and large aperture number. If you're using flash, you can slow down your shutter speed down to maybe 1/30 for portrait. If using external flash, can consider using reflector.
2) Can't tell, we don't know how bright and what is the exposure; Try use the exposure meter. If you use spot metering, it will meter for the subject and you will get bright subject, so you need to turn down the exposure. If you use Matrix, it will underexpose, but your flash will compensate for that, the result will depend on the scene, so you need to adjust if it's too bright or too dark.
Andy214
post Jul 11 2013, 06:49 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 11 2013, 11:00 AM)
To be honest I don't remember... I didn't buy new GC for this PC, using my old 4870 GS, should be 1GB vRAM.
Tried, but no significant differences. My OS installed on SSD, and my virtual memory is on SSD as well, but rarely got usage since I have 16GB RAM.
Yea when editing, the difference is minimal since it's already loaded in memory. But when you load next picture, I think there should be difference. Or even startup lightroom or when you activate lightroom from background, etc.

Didn't really monitor VM, but from my previous experience, seems Windows will use VM even if you have more than enough RAM.

Are you on Windows 7 or 8?

1.2169sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:22 PM