121 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

cherroy
post Sep 3 2013, 10:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 3 2013, 10:07 PM)
Actually a few days ago, I said that BNM will not dare to raise rates. But since today increased in petrol prices, it seems that they have broken the psychological barrier,  so just maybe there is the possibility of increasing  a bit.  sweat.gif
Raise rate when the economy report shrinking export, lower trade surplus, and slowing GDP number?

I cannot brain it.
magika
post Sep 3 2013, 10:12 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 3 2013, 10:10 PM)
Raise rate when the economy report shrinking export, lower trade surplus, and slowing GDP number?

I cannot brain it.
Well ringgit value already went down so that enough, i think...
Petrol prices up later GST so enough to stimulate stock market as prices will increase all around..

Well, at least got some hope for us playing musical chairs, can mah...

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 3 2013, 10:14 PM
cherroy
post Sep 3 2013, 10:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 3 2013, 10:12 PM)
Well ringgit value already went down so that enough, i think...
RM only went down against USD, SGD.
Against the like AUD, NZD, it is not.

RM is not alone on this, regional currency also facing this, due to expectation of QE tapering.
At 3.27~3.35, I think BNM still can tolerate, as a slight lower rate may boost already shrinking export.

It is too soon to react by raising rate at the moment, as RM depreciation issue is not as severe as Rupiah or Rupee, at least until now.

In fact, look at bank FD and FD promotion around, it doesn't suggest bank see rate is rising either.
FD promotion rate is getting lower across. In fact, very few offer long term promotion rate to lock down customer.
(when rate is set to rise or bank see rate going higher, bank generally want to lock down the rate to make more profit in the future when rate rising).
aeiou228
post Sep 3 2013, 10:42 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 3 2013, 10:18 PM)
RM only went down against USD, SGD.
Against the like AUD, NZD, it is not.

RM is not alone on this, regional currency also facing this, due to expectation of QE tapering.
At 3.27~3.35, I think BNM still can tolerate, as a slight lower rate may boost already shrinking export.

It is too soon to react by raising rate at the moment, as RM depreciation issue is not as severe as Rupiah or Rupee, at least until now.

In fact, look at bank FD and FD promotion around, it doesn't suggest bank see rate is rising either.
FD promotion rate is getting lower across. In fact, very few offer long term promotion rate to lock down customer.
(when rate is set to rise or bank see rate going higher, bank generally want to lock down the rate to make more profit in the future when rate rising).
Ringgit down 10% against Reminbi too.
All made in China FOB import up 10%, be it in USD or RMB term. sad.gif
gsc
post Sep 3 2013, 10:52 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 08:42 PM)
Noted, updated 1st post to benefit those in Penang Island
I told Ocbc staff about this Mach and Mach FD rate will be better than that of Ocbc after 10 Sept..Ocbc staff not even know about the existence of Mach...not surprise too when Mach first started up in KL, I asked Hong Leong bank staff about Mach, they also dont know about it.. doh.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Sep 3 2013, 11:56 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 3 2013, 11:10 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 2 2013, 09:59 PM)
two weeks ago RM sms 3.3% for 9 months , i think this new promo still on.
You'd better double check with OCBC again, OCBC help line said this promo is
already ended during June this year.

I am thinking to go for OCBC 1 year FD at 3.7% which will end next week, 10th of September hmm.gif

I heard Taiwanese money exchange merchants do not want to accept Ringgit.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 3 2013, 10:18 PM)
Thanks for the tips, I changed my mind after I read your comment thumbup.gif

This is a psychological battle for interest rate in between the banks and depositors.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 3 2013, 11:18 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 3 2013, 11:26 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 3 2013, 05:13 PM)
I just saw the promo by AmBank:

3.55% pa for 9 months, 10k min, fresh fund.

This is a direct old fashioned FD right, no CASA, no step up?
For Am Bank's Offer #1, 3.55% rate for 9 months FD, it does not need to sign-up CASA,
but AM bank calculates the FD effective date after either your personal check or banker's check
is cleared.

I was thinking to place one of their longer term FD promos in Offer #2. But now I do not want
it anymore.

The weather is very difficult to predict now.. sweat.gif

TSGen-X
post Sep 3 2013, 11:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2013, 11:10 PM)
I am thinking to go for OCBC 1 year FD at 3.7% which will end next week, 10th of September  hmm.gif
Bro, when you at OCBC, go talk to your RM about their NID (Negotiable Instruments of Deposits) - Capital guaranteed interest 4.5% every quarterly. That is if you willing to lock your funds with them for up to 5 years. Then again, might as well go for BR 5 years, interest paid monthly tongue.gif

And the NID mentioned above also qualifies one for the Premier Banking 5.5% 3 months FD, but since you already got PB, I guess you got to open joint account with someone (currently non PB customer) you trust tongue.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2013, 11:26 PM)
For Am Bank's Offer #1, 3.55% rate for 9 months FD, it does not need to sign-up CASA,
but AM bank calculates the FD effective date after either your personal check or banker's check
is cleared.

I was thinking to place one of their longer term FD promos in Offer #2. But now I do not want
it anymore.

The weather is very difficult to predict now.. sweat.gif
Bro the offer #2 not attractive if compare to BR tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 3 2013, 11:36 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 3 2013, 11:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 3 2013, 05:01 PM)
Ha..ha. at last some one who is also tired of playing musical chairs. It depends on the total fund involved. For me I concentrate on two major banks for my main funds, a few lesser fund in eFD, enough funds for a year use in CASA.
Just focus to place FDs in 2 banks..? Unbelievable..?
Unless you place your FD only in Bank Rakyat, and 5 years FD in MBSB.

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 3 2013, 05:01 PM)
I would think gains above RM100 pa is worth the shift provided it is convenient.  laugh.gif
Agree..

Musical chair has to be played.. If you do not play with it, you make less profit rate but this provided
the Ringgit deposit amount is big enough to justify the opportunity cost..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 12:07 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 3 2013, 11:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 11:33 PM)
Bro, when you at OCBC, go talk to your RM about their NID (Negotiable Instruments of Deposits) - Capital guaranteed interest  4.5% every quarterly. That is if you willing to lock your funds with them for up to 5 years. Then again, might as well go for BR 5 years, interest paid monthly  tongue.gif   

And the NID mentioned above also qualifies one for the Premier Banking 5.5% 3 months FD, but since you already got PB, I guess you got to open joint account with someone (currently non PB customer) you trust  tongue.gif
Bro the offer #2 not attractive if compare to BR  tongue.gif
Oh.. really? Tomorrow maybe I go to OCBC again to ask for NID.

I do not have a dedicated RM, even my PB status is still in active.
All OCBC staffs there are only talking about their investments products..

I have placed a lot in BR for 5 years FD, you think I am not scared meh... sweat.gif
Especially after learning about the Titanic and eating issue recently... biggrin.gif ha ha..

And I need to diversify my funds also, never put all eggs in one basket..

Thanks Captain notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 12:34 AM
Human Nature
post Sep 3 2013, 11:59 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

Having 1 FD with UOB maturing tomorrow and still have not decide what to do with it. Quite tied up with work in few days so maybe will get my dad to place at AmBanks 3.25% for 12 months.

Bah! I already have quite a large chunk of fund in AmBank under the same 3.25% rate, multiple certs rclxub.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 12:02 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 3 2013, 11:59 PM)
Having 1 FD with UOB maturing tomorrow and still have not decide what to do with it. Quite tied up with work in few days so maybe will get my dad to place at AmBanks 3.25% for 12 months.

Bah! I already have quite a large chunk of fund in AmBank under the same 3.25% rate, multiple certs  rclxub.gif
Why not go for 3.55% rate for 9 months..?

http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...ateDeposit.aspx
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2013, 12:08 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 3 2013, 11:59 PM)

Bah! I already have quite a large chunk of fund in AmBank under the same 3.25% rate, multiple certs  rclxub.gif
Why go for 3.25% 12 Months when you can get:

1. 3.6% Affin Bank
2. 3.7% OCBC (13 Months)
3. 3.25% for Alliance Gold too (interest credited monthly too like AM Senior FD) BUT go for Privilege Banking by opening joint account with your dad and both of you can qualify for the Alliance Premier Debit Card and get both yourselves FREE entries to LCCT PPL tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2013, 12:09 AM
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 12:10 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:02 AM)
Why not go for 3.55% rate for 9 months..?

http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...ateDeposit.aspx
Just saw your reply up there. Yeah, looks okay since no CASA, no step up. Simple.
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 12:23 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 12:08 AM)

1. 3.6% Affin Bank
2. 3.7% OCBC (13 Months)
3. 3.25% for Alliance Gold too (interest credited monthly too like AM Senior FD) BUT go for Privilege Banking by opening joint account with your dad and both of you can qualify for the Alliance Premier Debit Card and get both yourselves FREE entries to LCCT PPL  tongue.gif
Captain, if I remember this correctly, Human Nature is from East Malaysia,
there are no many banks available in his area...

Correct me if I am wrong, Human Nature
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 12:35 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 12:08 AM)

1. 3.6% Affin Bank
2. 3.7% OCBC (13 Months)
3. 3.25% for Alliance Gold too (interest credited monthly too like AM Senior FD) BUT go for Privilege Banking by opening joint account with your dad and both of you can qualify for the Alliance Premier Debit Card and get both yourselves FREE entries to LCCT PPL  tongue.gif
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:23 AM)

I am from Melaka laugh.gif

-Affin Bank is situated at the other side of the town yawn.gif
-OCBC promo is joint account right, so I am not able to be there. I will check again what is their closing hours and whether it is still available (ending 10th Sept)
-Very hard to consolidate all fund to get the PB, so many multiple certs rclxub.gif already supp my RHB VS to my dad, will utilize the 4x access fully this year tongue.gif

The funny thing with my parents. Dad almost exclusively place FD with Ambank, Mum exclusively with BR. Only when I join the scene, I started to move some to UOB, CIMB and recently OCBC.
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2013, 12:36 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:23 AM)

No lah, his location is Melaka.

hah he beat me to it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2013, 12:37 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 12:38 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 12:36 AM)
No lah, his location is Melaka.
Aiyo... doh.gif then there must be somebody else..

Old man is like this lah... memory is getting worst... biggrin.gif

Hungry now.. need to go out to get something to eat...see you soon.. bye.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 12:41 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 12:54 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 4 2013, 12:35 AM)
I am from Melaka  laugh.gif

-Affin Bank is situated at the other side of the town  yawn.gif
-OCBC promo is joint account right, so I am not able to be there. I will check again what is their closing hours and whether it is still available (ending 10th Sept)
-Very hard to consolidate all fund to get the PB, so many multiple certs  rclxub.gif already supp my RHB VS to my dad, will utilize the 4x access fully this year  tongue.gif

The funny thing with my parents. Dad almost exclusively place FD with Ambank, Mum exclusively with BR. Only when I join the scene, I started to move some to UOB, CIMB and recently OCBC.
I forgot to remind you..

Am Bank will need to clear your check (either Personal's check or Bnaker's check) first, then they will
give you the FD cert, and the FD effective date will calculate when your check is cleared.

So, you need to go to Am Bank 2 times...

You can call Am Bank help-line on the top right hand corner of their website.. all the best..

Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 01:01 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:54 AM)
I forgot to remind you..

Am Bank will need to clear your check (either Personal's check or Bnaker's check) first, then they will
give you the FD cert, and the FD effective date will calculate when your check is cleared.

So, you need to go to Am Bank 2 times...

You can call Am Bank help-line on the top right hand corner of their website.. all the best..
Yeah, got it. Thanks for the reminder.

OCBC closes at 7pm, can probably sneak in after work. Just to re-confirm something. My dad and I already have a joint account with OCBC. Do I need to bring my dad along for a new placement? I recall he would need to tag along, but don't understand why. UOB is good in this sense.

121 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:01 PM