121 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

pinksapphire
post Sep 4 2013, 01:45 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2013, 11:10 PM)
I am thinking to go for OCBC 1 year FD at 3.7% which will end next week, 10th of September  hmm.gif
I'm also thinking of the same. But I think maybe I'll go for the 4.5% promo cuz shorter term in case anything changes in the near future, can still move here and there. The PIDM protection is separate for each account, right? So if I have one on my own and joint account with my parent, then it should be 250k for each, yea?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 02:32 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 4 2013, 01:01 AM)
Yeah, got it. Thanks for the reminder.

OCBC closes at 7pm, can probably sneak in after work. Just to re-confirm something. My dad and I already have a joint account with OCBC. Do I need to bring my dad along for a new placement? I recall he would need to tag along, but don't understand why. UOB is good in this sense.
Since you have a joint account with your dad, your dad does not need to go with you to the
bank to make new FD placements, banks will keep your joint account FD record. This applies to all banks.

Unless if your joint account is instructed by you that all parties have to sign when to make FD withdrawals, then
your dad has to go with you to withdraw the FD. If the FD is instructed either one to sign, then your dad does
not need to go. I suggest it is better to put the FD either one to sign.. since father and son ma.. biggrin.gif

You can call OCBC hotlines if you have any questions.
http://www.ocbc.com.my/group/group-home.html

You can consolidate your all your FD funds in a saving account that pay high interest rate,
like Maybank, Affin Bank, if your father reach 50, you can consider to have your father to open an Affin Gold
joint saving account with you.

Check out Affin Gold saving account interest rate:
http://www.affinbank.com.my/banking/condeposit/affingold.htm

Alternatively, you can open an Affin Bank conventional saving account, to see the interest rates,
read post #2305 on Page #116, posted by henleong
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2722457/+2300
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 02:53 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 4 2013, 01:45 AM)
I'm also thinking of the same. But I think maybe I'll go for the 4.5% promo cuz shorter term in case anything changes in the near future, can still move here and there. The PIDM protection is separate for each account, right? So if I have one on my own and joint account with my parent, then it should be 250k for each, yea?
I think I changed my mind again, I will go for 4.5% FD for 3 months, because I might need to use the money.

About PIDM.. very sorry.. doh.gif I do not want to say something wrong again this time... sweat.gif

I am pretty sure any member here can answer this question...

You can check out PIDM website for more info:
http://www.pidm.gov.my/
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 02:56 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 11:33 PM)
Bro, when you at OCBC, go talk to your RM about their NID (Negotiable Instruments of Deposits) - Capital guaranteed interest  4.5% every quarterly. That is if you willing to lock your funds with them for up to 5 years. Then again, might as well go for BR 5 years, interest paid monthly  tongue.gif   

And the NID mentioned above also qualifies one for the Premier Banking 5.5% 3 months FD, but since you already got PB, I guess you got to open joint account with someone (currently non PB customer) you trust  tongue.gif
Bro the offer #2 not attractive if compare to BR  tongue.gif
Captain, please let me know if you know other 5 years FD plans, besides MBSB.
Less than 5 years FD plans also welcome...

Thanks and very much appreciate it... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 03:04 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:29 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 02:53 AM)
I think I changed my mind again, I will go for 4.5% FD for 3 months, because I might need to use the money.

About PIDM.. very sorry..  doh.gif    I do not want to say something wrong again this time...  sweat.gif

What Pinksapphire said is correct. Separate or joint accounts have separate protection. Below from PIDM website:

Joint accounts - Joint accounts enjoy separate deposit insurance protection provided the records of the member bank disclose the names of the joint account holders
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:38 AM)
Aiyo... doh.gif  then there must be somebody else..

Old man is like this lah... memory is getting worst...  biggrin.gif

Hungry now.. need to go out to get something to eat...see you soon.. bye..  smile.gif
My guess is HJebat is the one from east Malaysia. Disclaimer: old man may be wrong. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 09:40 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:38 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:38 AM)
Aiyo... doh.gif  then there must be somebody else..

Old man is like this lah... memory is getting worst...  biggrin.gif

Hungry now.. need to go out to get something to eat...see you soon.. bye..  smile.gif
"Old" man and dolls go out for late nite supper. brows.gif Come back and start counting money until beyond 3am ......................... rclxm9.gif

Also reply FD threads ........... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 09:43 AM
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 09:46 AM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 02:32 AM)
Since you have a joint account with your dad, your dad does not need to go with you to the
bank to make new FD placements, banks will keep your joint account FD record. This applies to all banks.

Unless if your joint account is instructed by you that all parties have to sign when to make FD withdrawals, then
your dad has to go with you to withdraw the FD. If the FD is instructed either one to sign, then your dad does
not need to go. I suggest it is better to put the FD either one to sign.. since father and son ma..  biggrin.gif
thanks for all the info, yeah either one of us can sign..so settle then, from UOB go to OCBC today. Just called, still available biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 4 2013, 10:03 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 10:42 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 4 2013, 09:58 AM)
UT drop..due to bursa..volatility.. mad.gif   now need to get more passive income. life tough..just depend on FD..
Ya ya, my UT portfolio decreasing ! vmad.gif cry.gif Hopefully FD rate will go up instead of down !! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 10:43 AM
Zoe26
post Sep 4 2013, 10:44 AM

19 posts

Monday i just went to Hong Leong bank and ask , now they give 3.6% for 12 month , min 10K fresh fund. rclxms.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 11:28 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:29 AM)
What Pinksapphire said is correct. Separate or joint accounts have separate protection. Below from PIDM website:

Joint accounts - Joint accounts enjoy separate deposit insurance protection provided the records of the member bank disclose the names of the joint account holders
Maximum RM 250K PIDM protection is available for each FD depositor from each bank.

For examples, if I have RM 20K FD in AmBank, then I have RM 20K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 10K FD in UOB, then I have another RM 30K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 15K FD joint name with my sister in OCBC, then my sister and I have RM 7.5 PIDM protection for each of us.
Correct..?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:33 AM)
My guess is HJebat is the one from east Malaysia. Disclaimer: old man may be wrong.  biggrin.gif
I do not know where is HJebat from..?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:38 AM)
"Old" man and dolls go out for late nite supper.  brows.gif  Come back and start counting money until beyond 3am .........................  rclxm9.gif
Also reply FD threads ...........  biggrin.gif
He.. he.. sad.gif RM 6.00 for a fried noddle, quite expensive..

Can share what are the benefits to maintain CitiGold account..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 4 2013, 09:46 AM)
thanks for all the info, yeah either one of us can sign..so settle then, from UOB go to OCBC today. Just called, still available biggrin.gif
Banks might close your old FD account if you did not place FD there for few years.

Do you know the Melaka UOB manager (26 years old) who issued a fake FD cert to a woman few
months ago?
I am curious what was his bank position? I would be frightened if he was the branch manager there..?

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 12:04 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 11:49 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Zoe26 @ Sep 4 2013, 10:44 AM)
Monday i just went to Hong Leong bank and ask , now they give 3.6% for 12 month , min 10K fresh fund. rclxms.gif
Just called Hong Leong at 1800-38-8888, they said currently they have only 3.3% FD promo for 3 months only wor..

1 year FD is 3.10% board rate, no such 3.6%% for 12 months that you mentioned wor.. hmm.gif
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2013, 12:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 02:56 AM)
Captain, please let me know if you know other 5 years FD plans, besides MBSB.
Less than 5 years FD plans also welcome...

Thanks and very much appreciate it...  notworthy.gif
Ok if I come across more, You can also check with UOB and Alliance, most banks have similar product. Important question is Capital and/or dividend Guaranteed.

The reason why I mentioned the OCBC NID is because this product entitles new PB customer to qualify for the PB 5.5% 3 Months FD Promo.

To All, updated post#1 for HLB Inlamic Promo

Hong Leong Islamic Bank Promotion until 31 October 2013, Straight forward no need CASA thingy.

6 Months - 3.3%
9 Months - 3.4%
12 Months - 3.5%

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2013, 12:55 PM
M3aty
post Sep 4 2013, 01:32 PM

54 posts

has anyone here placed FD in KFH ? the 3.8% p.a.

the bank should be ok right
guy3288
post Sep 4 2013, 02:05 PM

5,879 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 12:38 PM)
Ok if I come across more, You can also check with UOB and Alliance, most banks have similar product. Important question is Capital and/or dividend Guaranteed.

The reason why I mentioned the OCBC NID is because this product entitles new PB customer to qualify for the PB 5.5% 3 Months FD Promo.

Hong Leong Islamic Bank Promotion until 31  October 2013, Straight forward no need CASA thingy.

6 Months - 3.3%
9 Months - 3.4%
12 Months - 3.5%
THis OCBC NID sounds quite good. Wonder where can i read about the T&C.....
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 02:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 12:38 PM)

Hong Leong Islamic Bank Promotion until 31  October 2013, Straight forward no need CASA thingy.

6 Months - 3.3%
9 Months - 3.4%
12 Months - 3.5%
Thank you so much... Captain... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 4 2013, 02:05 PM)
THis OCBC NID sounds quite good. Wonder where can i read about the T&C.....
I just called OCBC help line about it...
They did not know much about this product, but I was told the minimum deposit amount was RM 70K,
But I forgot to ask if this NID requires a premier account to be eligible or not?
I will check with RM for more info as soon as possible..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 02:47 PM
pinksapphire
post Sep 4 2013, 03:20 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 02:53 AM)

About PIDM.. very sorry..  doh.gif    I do not want to say something wrong again this time...  sweat.gif

Lol, you're having my symptoms too...I can't decide on any of my FD placements. I'm also going back and forth deciding until now it's been more than one month!

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:29 AM)

Thanks for the confirmation, bbgoat.
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 07:10 PM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

The banker's cheque fee for FD Upliftment/Withdrawal at my UOB branch is RM2.15 despite I mentioned that certain branch only RM0.15. They only give me RM0.15 after I spoke to the manager, 2nd time this year.
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 07:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(M3aty @ Sep 4 2013, 01:32 PM)
has anyone here placed FD in KFH ? the 3.8% p.a.

the bank should be ok right
I placed FD for Junior acct and got 3.98%. KFH is under PIDM. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 07:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 4 2013, 07:10 PM)
The banker's cheque fee for FD Upliftment/Withdrawal at my UOB branch is RM2.15 despite I mentioned that certain branch only RM0.15. They only give me RM0.15 after I spoke to the manager, 2nd time this year.
In Pg, have been getting RM0.15. I heard the counter girl talked to other customer, for saving acct to banker's check, it is RM 2.15. For FD acct, it is only RM0.15,

121 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:18 AM