121 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 07:15 PM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:13 PM)
In Pg, have been getting RM0.15. I heard the counter girl talked to other customer, for saving acct to banker's check, it is RM 2.15. For FD acct, it is only RM0.15,
That's what I told her. She only gives me 0.15 after saying specially for me only this time (2nd time this year).
M3aty
post Sep 4 2013, 07:20 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:10 PM)
I placed FD for Junior acct and got 3.98%. KFH is under PIDM.  biggrin.gif
oh did u get the debit card?

I don't want the debit card but would like to have the online banking services. Wonder if i can cancel the debit card after one month. hmmm
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 07:23 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 11:28 AM)
Maximum RM 250K PIDM protection is available for each FD depositor from each bank.

For examples, if I have RM 20K FD in AmBank, then I have RM 20K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 10K FD in UOB, then I have another RM 30K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 15K FD joint name with my sister in OCBC, then my sister and I have RM 7.5 PIDM protection for each of us.
Correct..?
I do not know where is HJebat from..?
He.. he.. sad.gif  RM 6.00 for a fried noddle, quite expensive..

Can share what are the benefits to maintain CitiGold account..?  hmm.gif
Banks might close your old FD account if you did not place FD there for few years.
You are too modest, your numbers should be X10 brows.gif !
For examples, if I have RM 20K FD in AmBank, then I have RM 20K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 10K FD in UOB, then I have another RM 10K PIDM protection.
If I have another RM 15K FD joint name with my sister in OCBC, then my sister and I have RM 7.5 PIDM protection for each of us.

Have been using Citibank for years, my housing loan also started with them years ago .......... biggrin.gif
Benefits of Citigold, no annual fee Platinum Visa, free parking, used to have gifts for birthday, Citigold counter etc. Really not many, but as part of spreading out the eggs (not all eggs in one basket, ha ha tongue.gif )

Someone used to say east Malaysia etc etc, I believe he is HJebat. Disclaimer: old man may be wrong.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 07:31 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 07:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 12:54 AM)
I forgot to remind you..

Am Bank will need to clear your check (either Personal's check or Bnaker's check) first, then they will
give you the FD cert, and the FD effective date will calculate when your check is cleared.

So, you need to go to Am Bank 2 times...

You can call Am Bank help-line on the top right hand corner of their website.. all the best..
If I am not mistaken, my experience with AmBank Pg is the FD cert on the same day even for personal check. The only one that I know have to go back is BR for personal checks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 07:28 PM
albertoderio
post Sep 4 2013, 07:44 PM

Hello !!

I also Share about some point of Fixed Deposit and Rate Of Interest !!

We give below the Highest Rate of Interest or the maximum rate of interest on Fixed Deposits in certain buckets offered by banks in India in 2013 (in the last week of August 2013) :-

DCB Bank
More than 24 months to 36 months 9.50%

Lakshmi Vilas Bank
1 yrs 9.50%

Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd
12 months 5 Years 9.50%

Andhra Bank

1 year to 2 year 9.50%

Karur Vysya Bank
1 year to 2 year 9.50%

Catholic Syrian Bank
365 days to and including 24 months 9.30%

ING Vysya Bank
365 days & 366 days 9.25%

Dhanalakshmi Bank
240 days or
375 days 9.25%

Indus Ind Bank
1 year to below 1 years 2 months OR
2 years 6 months to below 2 years 9 months 9.25%

s_kates81
post Sep 4 2013, 08:21 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(albertoderio @ Sep 4 2013, 06:44 PM)
Hello !!

I also Share about some point of Fixed Deposit and Rate Of Interest !!

We give below the Highest Rate of Interest or the maximum rate of interest on Fixed Deposits in certain buckets offered by banks in India in 2013 (in the last week of August 2013) :-

DCB Bank
More than 24 months to 36 months  9.50%

Lakshmi Vilas Bank     
1 yrs  9.50%

Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd
12 months  5 Years 9.50%
Andhra Bank 

1 year to 2 year  9.50%

Karur Vysya Bank
1 year to 2 year 9.50%

Catholic Syrian Bank
365 days to and including 24 months  9.30%

ING Vysya Bank
365 days & 366 days 9.25%

Dhanalakshmi Bank
240 days or
375 days 9.25%

Indus Ind Bank
1 year to below 1 years 2 months OR
2 years 6 months to below 2 years 9 months 9.25%
Lol. Iran gives even better rates than you. What guarantee you give that your currency will not depreciate anymore? What if in 1 more year, it depreciates 20 % more? Or are you willing to open the FD in USD or RM? Not Indian Rupee please.

bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 08:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 11:33 PM)
Bro, when you at OCBC, go talk to your RM about their NID (Negotiable Instruments of Deposits) - Capital guaranteed interest  4.5% every quarterly. That is if you willing to lock your funds with them for up to 5 years. Then again, might as well go for BR 5 years, interest paid monthly  tongue.gif   

And the NID mentioned above also qualifies one for the Premier Banking 5.5% 3 months FD, but since you already got PB, I guess you got to open joint account with someone (currently non PB customer) you trust  tongue.gif
Bro the offer #2 not attractive if compare to BR  tongue.gif
I checked on my CIMB, I also have one they called FRNID, FR for Floating Rate. It pays 5.2% every 3 months. I am not too clear on it.

They have one that paid a better rate (need to check the previous rate) but they cancelled it before maturity and came out with the 5.2% rate (it varies a little bit based on the timing that one gets in).

Have been getting the pay out for about 2 to 3 years. But really still a bit blur on the instrument.
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 08:43 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 4 2013, 03:20 PM)
Lol, you're having my symptoms too...I can't decide on any of my FD placements. I'm also going back and forth deciding until now it's been more than one month!
Everybody is having the same symptom to look for better interest rates when their FDs are going to mature soon.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:23 PM)
You are too modest, your numbers should be X10  brows.gif !
Old man is like this la.. keg keg (coughing).. ha jiu (flu)... excuse me.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:23 PM)
Have been using Citibank for years, my housing loan also started with them years ago .......... biggrin.gif
Benefits of Citigold, no annual fee Platinum Visa, free parking, used to have gifts for birthday, Citigold counter etc. Really not many, but as part of spreading out the eggs (not all eggs in one basket, ha ha  tongue.gif )
I think perhaps the most useful benefit is their discounted housing loan interest rates for Citigold members.

These are the discounted housing loan interest rates for OCBC premier customer:

Loan RM 100K and below = BLR minus 1.8%
Loan RM 100K to RM 200K = BLR minus 2.2%
Loan RM 200K to RM 300K = BLR minus 2.3%
Loan RM 300K to RM 500K = BLR minus 2.35%
Loan RM 500K and above = BLR minus 2.4%

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:28 PM)
If I am not mistaken, my experience with AmBank Pg is the FD cert on the same day even for personal check. The only one that I know have to go back is BR for personal checks.  smile.gif
I guess AM Bank has changed their policy. When was the last time you place FD with them?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 08:59 PM

2,490 posts

OCBC FRNID - A potential to earn 4.5% p.a. for 5 years term --> This is not FD

1st Page --> Attached Image

2nd Page --> Attached Image

3rd Page --> Attached Image

4th Page --> Attached Image

5th Page --> Attached Image

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 5 2013, 02:33 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 08:43 PM)
Everybody is having the same symptom to look for better interest rates when their FDs are going to mature soon.
Old man is like this la.. keg keg (coughing).. ha jiu (flu)... excuse me..  biggrin.gif
I think perhaps the most useful benefit is their discounted housing loan interest rates for Citigold members.

These are the discounted housing loan interest rates for OCBC premier customer:

Loan RM 100K and below = BLR minus 1.8%
Loan RM 100K to RM 200K = BLR minus 2.2%
Loan RM 200K to RM 300K = BLR minus 2.3%
Loan RM 300K to RM 500K = BLR minus 2.35%
Loan RM 500K and above = BLR minus 2.4%
I guess AM Bank has changed their policy. When was the last time you place FD with them?
Young man, don't pretend to be like this old man, brows.gif , still pretend to be strong but need to be out on stretcher under certain situation. rclxm9.gif

You should go and buy a house, don't delay for too long lah ...........

Have been using AmBank since 2012 for FD when they have promotions. Was there this year also. Getting FD cert on the same day. biggrin.gif

So when was the last time young BoomChaCha was in AMBank ?? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 08:59 PM)
OCBC FRNID's Terms And Conditions (5 pages) - Potential to earn 4.5% interest rate p.a. for 5 years tenure

Effective from 2 September 2013 to 25 September 2013

Minimum principal amount: RM 70K
Maximum principal amount: No limit

Capital is guaranteed
No PIDM
Interest payment on every 3 months basis
Ha ha, so I should be happy with the CIMB 5.2% every 3 months. But it is for 10 years !!!
danmooncake
post Sep 4 2013, 09:16 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

OCBC FRNID's Terms And Conditions (5 pages) - Potential to earn 4.5% interest rate p.a. for 5 years tenure

Capital is guaranteed
No PIDM
Hmm... looks like a Structured Deposits product. No guarantee on performance or return but at least can guarantee initial capital. Must be at least 5 years locked in? hmm.gif

nakedtruth
post Sep 4 2013, 09:17 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(M3aty @ Sep 4 2013, 01:32 PM)
has anyone here placed FD in KFH ? the 3.8% p.a.

the bank should be ok right
your FD will be protected by PIDM.
no worries. i had one FD in the bank too.

bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:21 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(M3aty @ Sep 4 2013, 07:20 PM)
oh did u get the debit card?

I don't want the debit card but would like to have the online banking services. Wonder if i can cancel the debit card after one month. hmmm
You cannot refuse the debit card. But I intend to cancel the card as the fee for 2nd year is relatively high, something like RM20 or so unless you spend some amt on retail. I told the CS lady that I will cancel it next year, ha ha. tongue.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:10 PM)
Young man, don't pretend to be like this old man,  brows.gif , still pretend to be strong but need to be out on stretcher under certain situation.  rclxm9.gif

You should go and buy a house, don't delay for too long lah ...........

Have been using AmBank since 2012 for FD when they have promotions. Was there this year also. Getting FD cert on the same day.  biggrin.gif
Young goat.. I do not need to use stretcher based on my many years experience, I can PK anyone of them
easily.. biggrin.gif

Did Am Bank have any attractive FD promo during last year? hmm.gif I do not think so la..

House is so expensive now, how to buy..? sweat.gif

You made good money from CIMB's FRNID at 5.2% for 2 to 3 years..no wonder you are so young and rich.. biggrin.gif

What do you think of OCBC's FRNID?
What was the minimum Ringgit amount for your CIMB FRNID? Now you do not have it anymore?

I think I placed my last FD in Am Bank was about more than 2 years ago..
Am Bank's Top Rate FD Promos were so hot at that time..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 09:42 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 09:26 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 4 2013, 09:16 PM)
Hmm... looks like a Structured Deposits product.  No guarantee on performance or return but at least can guarantee initial capital. Must be at least 5 years locked in?  hmm.gif
Yes, must be 5 years term. Otherwise, you will lose money, something like compensation or penalty..
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM)
Young goat.. I do not need to use stretcher based on my many years experience, I can PK anyone of them
easily.. biggrin.gif

Did Am Bnak have any attractive FD promo during last year?  hmm.gif

House is so expensive now, how to buy..?  sweat.gif

You made good money from CIMB's FRNID at 5.2% for 2 to 3 years..no wonder you are so young and rich..  biggrin.gif

What do you think of OCBC's FRNID?
Ha you missed my last question on when was the last time the young BoomChaCha was in AmBank ( I edited the message while you replied).

AmBank has one last year around May/June which tie up with credit card application (add'l 0.1% interest). The FD was due this year and I pulled it out. But on Jan 2013 they also have another promotion which I also placed FD (have to check the cert for the rate, probably 3.7 to 3.8% range).

The CIMB FRNID that I bought is for 10 years duration. But they have been paying out the 5.2% every 3 months.

No comment on OCBC's FRNID. I was a bit blur when I bought the CIMB's FRNID. Being their PB customer, the BM persuaded me to buy it.
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 09:40 PM

25,802 posts

Capital is guaranteed
No PIDM

FRIND is not a FD, why post in FD thread. laugh.gif
Although also contain F & D. laugh.gif

It is more towards investment already.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 4 2013, 09:47 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:43 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM)
easily.. biggrin.gif

What was the minimum Ringgit amount for your CIMB FRNID? Now you do not have it anymore?
Say only, still need proof !! brows.gif

CIMB one I think the minimum is 50k or 60k, started Jan 2012 for the revised one. Before this one, the rate was better but they recalled it and issued new one. It is Callable !! biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 09:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:43 PM)
Say only, still need proof !!  brows.gif

CIMB one I think the minimum is 50k or 60k, started Jan 2012 for the revised one. Before this one, the rate was better but they recalled it and issued new one. It is Callable !!  biggrin.gif
I never want to invest in structured product that is callable.
Totally not in investors control at all.

I experienced before, situation is good and favourable time and can reap good yield time, the bank called back. mad.gif
Experienced with a Klibor structured investment previously.

121 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:09 PM