8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

magika
post Mar 21 2013, 04:08 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 21 2013, 12:43 AM)
Any of you guys here checked out OCBC's builder plan ? any comments on it ?
I would advised you to stay away from such schemes. As it is, the promoters will not let you know the actual payout. Did the discussion before n lazy to repeat. shakehead.gif

magika
post Mar 26 2013, 09:16 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Mar 26 2013, 07:38 PM)
I'm new to saving into FD. May I know which is the best rate to put into protected by PIDM? Preferably able to do over the internet like m2u. Thanks for your help...
So put in M2U !,, tongue.gif
magika
post Mar 27 2013, 08:19 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Mar 26 2013, 11:29 PM)
LOL...yeah but rate is 3. something only. Any idea what are the differences btw the 4 fd offered by maybank?
The online fd rate is so low i dont bother to figure it out. Dont be mistaken, I do have a number of online fd with M2u. Last week or so I did a online fd, then when come to choosing between the schemes available, I simply click mudharabah. A week later also its not registered. Just forget about it as thinking maybe some intenet connections problem. Then Maybank contacted me saying that that one is not available, asking whether they should proceed with Islamic FD. biggrin.gif

The only reason I deposit online is that it is very damn convenient. Just click upliftment and it is instantly credited back to nominated account. rclxm9.gif

M2U online FD just choose either Conventional or Islamic nothing else. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 27 2013, 08:28 AM
magika
post Mar 27 2013, 08:22 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Mar 27 2013, 08:19 AM)

*deleted*

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 27 2013, 08:24 AM
magika
post Apr 3 2013, 10:57 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(vince660 @ Apr 2 2013, 04:40 PM)
Hi all, I hope u guys can help me on an issue I face. I'm actually developing a system to manage fixed deposits for long term tracking. I'm still quite blur on the actual formula used by banks.
As you can see, I used formula like this:
Interest = (rate/100) * (days) * (principal amount) / 365. (I read somewhere that banks use 365 method and not considering leap years).

With reference to the chart attached, the actual value for that red box in an actual statement is 5229.60. My system generated to 5229.63, additional 3 cents. I have tried to used long term precision, ie. more than 2 decimal places in computation, hoping to get it right but still resulted in deviation.

Can anyone be able to provide some info?

Additional Info: the case above is an auto-renewed FD placement starting all the way back from the first date in 2011. It is a one month placement, so the interest added up month to month. I believe the 3% interest is correct throughout the whole period, if wrong, pls correct me.

For information, there is also another old thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/689034/all
which cover some lengthy discussions about that formula, which I gathered some info from.
The actual statement came from Maybank ??? I lost a few ringgit sometime back.

The formula used is correct which is 5229.63 in which most banks used. However Maybank seems to throw away beyond a few decimal points or so before doing actual calculation(x principal).

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 3 2013, 11:03 AM
magika
post Apr 3 2013, 11:31 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(vince660 @ Apr 3 2013, 11:24 AM)
The statement that I reference is from RHB. So is it fair to say in addition to Maybank, RHB also throws away some decimals? But how do they do the rounding which is what I am curious to find out. I tried alternatively to round half down (eg 0.655 becomes 0.66) each interest to 2 decimals, and add up to principal. Then set the next cycle's start amount, compute all the way until the current highlighted box. What is gotten is RM 5229.64, which is again further from statement amount. I tried to round floor method (eg. 0.655 becomes 0.65) but the result is the other direction, lesser than statement amount, I think it's around 5229.2 something. Actual statement amount=5229.60.
Ya, beats me too. I have also tried all permutations so forget about it. sweat.gif
magika
post Apr 3 2013, 12:05 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(vince660 @ Apr 3 2013, 11:24 AM)
The statement that I reference is from RHB. So is it fair to say in addition to Maybank, RHB also throws away some decimals? But how do they do the rounding which is what I am curious to find out. I tried alternatively to round half down (eg 0.655 becomes 0.66) each interest to 2 decimals, and add up to principal. Then set the next cycle's start amount, compute all the way until the current highlighted box. What is gotten is RM 5229.64, which is again further from statement amount. I tried to round floor method (eg. 0.655 becomes 0.65) but the result is the other direction, lesser than statement amount, I think it's around 5229.2 something. Actual statement amount=5229.60.
Just purely for info purposes.

Maybank does take the number of days in a leap year for calculation purposes. Any placement date in or including calender year 2012 is rated at 366 days as per nos of deposit days in 2012..
Now let me give an example.

Tenure 1 month
Rate 3.00%
Placement Date = 15 Dec 2011
Maturity Date= 15 January 2012

Normal calculation will be something like this
(Total Days/365)*3.00%*Principal

Maybank Calculation
1st Part - (Total Dep. Days in 2011/365)*3.00%*Principal
2nd Part - (total Dep. Days in 2012/366)*3.00%*Principal
Add Part 1 & 2 = Total interest. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 3 2013, 12:08 PM
magika
post Apr 4 2013, 08:46 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 4 2013, 01:12 AM)
As I know, if withdraw FD before maturity, usually 50% of interest will be paid if the FD placement
period is enough 3 months.
As far as I recollect, most Islamic FD has the early upliftment clause in black & white. Why not compile data on which banks has early upliftment clause benefits?

1. Gsc has said foreign currency FD, 15 days above is eligible.
2. MBB islamic fd above 3 mths is also eligible.
3. BR fd above 3 mths is also eligible.

Others ? rolleyes.gif

magika
post Apr 6 2013, 01:14 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Apr 6 2013, 10:13 AM)
Thks for advise. Actually. Housing loan interest is different from fd rate. As the principal will reduce gradually and the intwrest portion is much hogher during the initial stage of loan. While I am only consider the flexi housing loan.. So collateral issue is not there as we are not settling the loan. We are nerely put in the lump sum to avoid the interest part and his monthly installment remain the sane which will enable him to settke the loan sooner. When I need the money I can also withdraw from this flexi loan acct.
There has already been very good advise given. Whatever it is, think on whether you are generous enough or can afford to forego the lump sum. In other words, when giving personal loan, please be ready for the possibilty of total writeoff.
It tskes a great man to forgive and forget. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 6 2013, 01:15 PM
magika
post Apr 28 2013, 02:02 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Apr 28 2013, 12:56 PM)
may i know if i want to do FD, where can give me the highest interest? 
Any sukuk bond offer for next week since my fd expire next week?
which bank offer the highest interest?
any bank offer the higher interest FD for senior citizen? thanz.
Why not you refer back to first page? All info is there.

magika
post Apr 30 2013, 08:49 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Apr 30 2013, 08:19 AM)
i want to ask a silly question. my fd expire at 6th of May, if i take out the money onthat day, do i get interest? o i need to take out at 7th of May?
take out on 6 may

magika
post May 2 2013, 08:36 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ May 2 2013, 08:25 AM)
don put the fd in BR lo. No PIDM. only protected by government. if after general election, the government changes, will your money in the bank be guranteed? better put at other bank first and see the siuation after GE.
many ppl say that don worry la. i put at bank rakyat more than ten years oso no issue. however, BN oso win GE for more than 50 years. don know what will happen if BN lost in GE.

IT IS MY OWN OPINION ONLY. if not correct, pls give comment. thanks.
Do some thinking before writing. Whichever government is in power is also called Kerajaan Malaysia. BR is not a Barisan Nasional owned bank. biggrin.gif What next, KWSP ?

This post has been edited by magika: May 2 2013, 08:37 AM
magika
post May 2 2013, 08:57 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ May 2 2013, 08:44 AM)
i hope so. thanks.

because the BR give the highest FD without any reason and we never face this GE which may change government, that why i say so.
BR should give a reason for higher than normal FD rates ? blink.gif
PIDM insured deposit came with a baggage , which is insurance premium that is paid by us depositors indirectly. Their operational cost is quite low comparitively to comercial banks.
If you look at their yearly declared P&L, for a number of years they are making record profits.
If you are worried about change of goverment, then should look at investing in physical gold.

This post has been edited by magika: May 2 2013, 09:11 AM
magika
post May 2 2013, 01:09 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 2 2013, 11:45 AM)
Ocbc combo must remember to top up RM1000 every month in SS. I have forgotten to top up last month  sad.gif
I used to use future transfer from Maybank, cost RM2 per transaction. biggrin.gif

magika
post May 6 2013, 10:07 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ May 6 2013, 08:43 PM)
Just went to the branch today to check whether the previous FD is auto-renewed. They confirmed it's auto-renewed with the same 4.01% rate even though it's not stated in the slip/receipt. I hope it's ok.
Did you get new FD cert ? Make sure what is printed there tally with your calculation. I did have problem with a few of my cert after maturity. Must make sure the printed amount tally no matter what has been said.

magika
post May 8 2013, 07:58 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ May 8 2013, 01:02 AM)
Nop, verbally only sad.gif

I will check if they will provide new cert for the auto-renewal. Thanks for highlighting.
Request for new cert. Mine also auto renewal and believe me amount must tally. Accept no excuses.

magika
post May 8 2013, 03:29 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 8 2013, 02:10 PM)
magika, when you get 4.20% p.a. from BR; did you simply put forth that figure at will and insisted on that amount for their consideration or was it a specific figure that BR has imposed on customers based on accumulated amount of $$$?
he..he.. at will.initially asked for 4.06%, later deposit asked for 4.11%, after that asked for 4.16%, lastly asked for 4.20%. biggrin.gif
eventhough i got what i asked for, i dont think i will asked for any more later, he..he
magika
post May 8 2013, 10:18 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 8 2013, 08:39 PM)
Waaaaah, respect you la!  biggrin.gif

When you nego your way from 4.11% to 4.20%, the branch manager just gave in to your demand or do you have to wait for higher ranked officer for approval?
i think extra 0.05% manager direct approval. The rest have to wait for their HQ approval.

magika
post May 13 2013, 02:11 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 13 2013, 11:51 AM)
In that case, my interest starts on 13/05/13 & ends on 12/06/13?

So, I don't receive any interest on 13/06/13?
Use Excel spreadsheet to count and you get the number of days.

magika
post May 17 2013, 03:54 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 17 2013, 07:39 AM)
Yes, IF a BANK fails.. surely, other banks may take over BUT.. only if. this is a BANK.

There are some org or financial institution that pretends to be bank and sell investment products that looks like a FD
but isn't.. that is something to be wary.

So, must make sure first.
There are many banks selling investment products that looks like and sound like FD too just in case you are not aware off biggrin.gif
PIDM got track record of payout ? One foreign bank which is in trouble overseas also do not dare to
claim from deposit insurance as this will cause it to be closed down by liquidators. Its all in the mind. Many also think that Foreign banks are better, or is it foreign sounding banks?
Just for the record, i think all banks in Malaysia are incorporated locally. Nowadays BNM regulators are doing a very good job, having benefit from bank run overseas. Thats why they complied with Basel accord. What matters is at the end of the year, what is our returns?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:50 PM