4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

TSGen-X
post Mar 3 2013, 06:18 PM, updated 13y ago

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Click here to Original FD Rate Thread.
Click here to Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2 Thread
Click here to Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3 Thread

Malaysia Major Commercial Banks and Foreign Banks Fixed Deposit / Time Deposit Rates as of 1st March 2013.
Bank - FD rates for 1 month, 3 months, 6 months and 12 months.

Affin Bank - 3.05%, 3.1%, 3.25% and 3.6%
Alliance Bank - 3%, 3%, 3.1% and 3.25%. FD Gold 12 months 3.3% (Interest paid monthly).
AmBank - 2.95%, 3%, 3.1% and 3.15. Am50Plus 12 mths 3.25% (Interest paid monthly, FREE PA).
Citibank - 2.8%, 2.9%, 2.9% and 3.05%
CIMB Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%
Hong Leong Bank - 2.9%, 2.95%, 2.95% and 3.1%
HSBC Bank - 2.75%, 3%, 3% and 3.15%
Maybank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%
OCBC Bank - 2.75%, 2.85%, 2.85% and 3.05%
RHB Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.2%.
Public Bank - 3%, 3.05%, 3.1% and 3.15%. PB Golden 50 Plus 12 months 3.25%.
Standard Chartered Bank - 2.75%, 2.9%, 2.9% and 3.05%
UOB Bank - 2.9%, 2.95%, 2.95% and 3.10%

Fixed / Time Deposit and Savings Account Promotions 2013.

Please call the nearest bank to reconfirm the rates (go to the bank website for bank contact number where you can also get the contact number of the branch nearest to you) before going to the bank to check if promotions are still valid.

OCBC Bank FD Promo - Note: Promo Ends 10 September instead of 30th Septmeber
(Note: Special thanks to gsc for highlighting promotion date brought forward to 10/9/2013)

OCBC 3.7% 13 months Joint Account Promo

UOB Bank Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates - Minimum RM10K.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2013, 11:25 AM)
UOB FD 3 Months Promo - Effective from 2 September to 30 September 2013

3.3% for 3 months tenure
95% of fund put in FD, 5% of fund put in CASA
Minimum deposit: RM 10K

Hong Leong Bank
Note: This promo suppose to end 31 October 2013 but can't seem to find it in HLB website.

3.3% for 3 Months but 5% equivalent to FD Amount to be earmarked 3 months in CASA.

MACH by Hong Leong Bank (Online Banking) - up to 3.4% for 12 months FD. Contributed by BoomChaCha

Special Promo for Gurney MACH contributed by gsc
QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 3 2013, 06:55 PM)
MACH Gurney Paragon Penang, 1st Mach in Penang 3.55% for 3 months , minimum rm10k, end Oct
Hong Leong Islamic Bank Promotion until 31 October 2013

6 Months - 3.3%
9 Months - 3.4%
12 Months - 3.5%

Kuwait Finance House -

And if you got children below age 18, you are eligible for their 3.98% "FD" Promo called Junior International Murabahah Deposit i. You will need to open a CASA account to deposit the "profit" (interest). Call them on what documents (e.g. birth cert) to bring before going to the branch. (Note: Special thanks to bbgoat for re-highlighting this promo during discussions)

Public Bank Super FD - Go read post#790 onwards or else you'll might regret once you deposit with this so call Super FD.

AMBANK 9 Months FD Promo - 3.55% - Ends 30 September 2013. Contributed by many regulars here.

Other Similar FD Accounts - Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i. For those who want "interest rates" that are higher than FD Promo interest rates offered by commercial banks.

To read my comments and see more FD promos click >>> Malaysia Latest Fixed Deposit Board and Promotion Interest Rates by Major Commercial and Foreign Banks.

To learn more on The Best and Highest Paying Savings Account in Malaysia for Adult, Kid, Parent and Grandpa click >> The Best Savings Accounts in Malaysia

Click here to read my article titled Australia Education, Term Deposit, Savings Account and Credit Card Interest Rates In this article I have tables of interest rates from several banks in Australia and also a Table for UOB, OCBC and RHB Foreign Currecny Time Deposit Interest Rates.

Click here to read my article Premier Priority Privilege Banking Accounts. This updated revised article now include comments for OCBC Premier and StanChart Priority Banking Account.

Banker's Cheque Fee purely for FD Upliftment/Withdrawal (Do not combine with other accounts, i.e. Savings Account)
Affin - FREE
Alliance - FREE
AmBank - RM2.15
Bank Rakyat - FREE
CIMB - FREE
Citibank - RM0.15
HLB - RM5.15 (PB Customers RM0.15)
HSBC - RM5 same day or RM2 next day (no RM0.15 Stamp Duty??)
Maybank - RM5 or RM5.15?
MBSB - FREE
OCBC - FREE
PBB - RM2.15
RHB - RM5.15
SCB - RM2.15
UOB - RM0.15 (in Penang) or RM2.15 (in Klang Valley!!!???) Conflicting reports.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2013, 12:38 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 3 2013, 06:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

FDMCGC - Fixed Deposit Musical Chair Gamers Club

FRMONBWFDP - Freaking Rich Members Or Not Bothered With FD Promotions but contributors to FD Thread notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 30 2013, 06:08 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 3 2013, 06:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 1 2013, 07:46 PM)
I placed a 3 months FD promo 4.5% - Bonus Saver Deal, (1/3 of the total amount put to Smart Saver or CASA) with OCBC this afternoon.

Below was the phone conversation with OCBC RM, before I went there to place my FD:
Me: I want to place my FD for 3 months

OCBC RM: Yes, the rate is 3.5% for 3 months

Me: Isn't the promo rate 4.5% for 3 months?

OCBC RM: oh..yeah.  blush.gif  . yes, 4.5% promo rate for 3 months now

Me: ( mad.gif ) Can you help me to place my FD?

OCBC RM: I am not in the office now, the outside counter can help you

Me: Okay

I know this RM for few months, this OCBC RM is only interested in opening new account which he can make
incentive; he will not help customer in anything that he cannot make money. Very pissed off with this
unprofessional RM.
OCBC FD Promo:

(1) Bonus Saver Deal - 3 months tenure
4.5% p.a. for 3 months, 1/3 of the money needs to put to Smart Saver or CASA for 3 months.
Effective rate is 3.96 % p.a.

(2) Fixed Deposit Deal - 6 months tenure
First 3 months will get 3.8% p.a., 4th, 5th and 6th month will get 2.85% board rate.
Effective rate is 3.325% p.a.

(3) Commodity Murabahah General Investment Account-i Deal - 1 year tenure
3.5% ---> I do not quite understand this, but the Customer Service said this is for 1 year tenure.
I did not ask for further since other bank like UOB beats this at 3.65% for 9 months tenure.
Mach offers 4% for 1 year, Kuwait Finance House offers 3.88% for 6 months - up to 2 years.

[attachmentid=3327169]
Thank for the update bro. For OCBC Combo plan, best to deposit early or end of the month in order to ensure that we earn the best possible effective interest rate. I have use the image you posted above in my blog(s) and should you disagree with it, please let me know and I shall remove it immediately.

As for RMs, well, they do have target to meet with other investment products and there are not there to serve us but employed to make more money for the banks, haha.

UOB new promo effective until 15 May 2013

3 Months - 3.45%
12 Months - 3.65%

As usual, minimum deposit for UOB is RM10K fresh funds.

And for those of you who are new to OCBC Combo Promo Plan where you need to deposit into a CASA like Smart Saver Account, click here to read my comments.

TSGen-X
post Mar 3 2013, 10:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 3 2013, 08:33 PM)
Welcome back Captain.
Please feel free to use any of my images in the future, it is my pleasure.
Thank you Sir for your permission smile.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 3 2013, 09:48 PM)
Kuwait Finance House in Pavillion does not give free parking for people who place FD there. This is different from KFH in Penang which offers free parking.

When I go to Pavillion, I have to pay at least RM 5.00 parking fee inside the Pavillion parking lot. This is quite costly unless the interest earned from FD is worth to cover few time of parking fees there.

Kuwait Finance House requires FD depositors to open a saving account, but it will take within 2 weeks for the advance interest to bank in into the saving account.

When I was in KFH Pavillion few weeks ago, their system was down.
Finally I did not place my FD there.
Wah, it takes two weeks before they bank in ar. Must go revise 1st post. Thanks for the info.

RM5 parking at Pavilion, that's kind of "cheap". Usually I have to pay more than that. Spend RMX amount there can get 1st hour free parking if not mistaken.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 3 2013, 10:21 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 4 2013, 06:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Mar 4 2013, 05:07 PM)
When my mother uplifts her FD from RHB Malacca, she was only charge RM0.15 for a cheque.
Noted. Lets see what others report here.

To ALL:

Someone told me that the HLB Term Deposit-i ending on 6th March 2013. So, you guys better go check it out tomorrow at the branch if you are interested in this promo.
TSGen-X
post Mar 8 2013, 12:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 7 2013, 11:35 PM)
Thanks for the update.

If HSBC board rate is 2.75 % :Ā 
(2.75 % + 2.75 % + 7.88 %) / 3 months = 4.46 % effective rate

This time HSBC requires depositors to open aĀ  Premier World Master Card Credit CardĀ  sweat.gif
The minimum FD placement is RM 200K (Premier account).
Bro, I can't seem to find the HSBC Premier Promo BUT from previous offers, usually only half the AUM will be eligible for the promo rate.

And HSBC FD rates are among the worst in town, and if only half the AUM is eligible, then the effective rate will also be much less than what you mentioned.

And the thing with HSBC, you are only entitled to their Term Deposit once (that's it stuck with low interest rate for life after the promo, hahaha), unlike OCBC where Premier Banking account holders are eligible for OCBC FD Promos.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 8 2013, 12:11 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 8 2013, 07:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

NOTICE - please read if you have nothing better to do tongue.gif

QUOTE(RO Player @ Mar 8 2013, 06:48 PM)
ok...HL 3.9% for 15 months...just over..b4 6 march.Ā  now drops to 3.56% with travellers bag or thumbdrive.. sweat.gif
when to BRakyat...got 4.13%...deposit 250k into 5 certs...each cert 50k with RM2066.26/year...u do the maths

goodies...1 umbrella, towel...and porcelain big mug with rubber cover.. sweat.gifĀ  

hope can get some prizes in march contest and bonanza.. rclxm9.gif
Bro, you have been officially made a life time member of the FDMCGC tongue.gif (See post#2)

To ALL:

HLB Junior FD Promo is Back. Offer expires end June 2013 or when fund reaches RM1B (be quick if you want 2 years FD tenure).

Click here to my FD Page for my comments on FD Promos.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 8 2013, 07:08 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 9 2013, 12:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Mar 8 2013, 11:15 PM)
Thanks for sharing the junior saving account.

If the child going to reach 18 yrs old ths Dec and the FD account is open in Mar this year, will HL bank still honour the fd rate for first year and subsequently second year?
Yes, you will still continue to enjoy the Junior FD promo rate ( promo interest credited monthly for the next 2 years into the child's savings account) as long as you deposit before the child's birthday. However, the Junior Savings Account will automatically be converted to Normal Savings Account on the child's birthday and thereafter it will earn nominal interest rate.

QUOTE(jasmine2001 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:58 PM)
There is also another Sweet FD deals of 3.75% for 12 months for HLFD, HL Flexi FD & Senior Savers Flexi FD.
Promotion until 30 jun 2013.New fund only.
Yes you are right with RM50K deposit.

I still think the Junior FD is better as you get close to 4% for the next two years. Plus the interest from the FD credited monthly and get to earn close to 1 month interest rate.

By the way, those of you who like to know more about HLB Junior Savings Account and Junior FD, click here to my previous article - The Best Savings Account in Malaysia for Children, Parents, Adults and Grandpas too.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 9 2013, 01:24 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 9 2013, 06:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Mar 9 2013, 10:57 AM)
I think it is another promo mention by @jasmine2001, the another 3.75% promo is for other FD but not the "Priority Banking", minimum deposit is rm10k
Yah, you are right too.

Wah RM1B for Junior FD, RM2B for Sweet Deal 3.75%, RM2B for PB 3.98% with 8% into CASA and another RM0.5B for the 3.75% PB promo 12 months 3.75%. Total RM5.5B CASH to be raised!!!

To see all four HLB promos, check out Post#1 or click here to my Fixed Deposit Page.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 9 2013, 06:30 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 10 2013, 02:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 10 2013, 01:37 AM)
Very clear and precise! Thanks for sharing  smile.gif    I will open this account too then.
Bro. don't forget it was mentioned many times there is a RM8 fee for the Debit Card (to add to your collection of cards).

TSGen-X
post Mar 10 2013, 10:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 10 2013, 10:44 AM)
Yeah, did not forget that and basically there is no other fee to pay except the debit card annual fee which is fine  biggrin.gif

I was reluctant to give it a go initially as it was stated there is a RM1 fee for each successful ATM cash withdrawal even through HLB/HLIB ATM using this Mach VISA debit card, RM1 OTC transaction which edwardcgg noticed too in the fee disclosure table (all these RM1 fees are errors and have since been amended on Friday). And the account disclosure fee is not clear too, a current account with no cheque facility. Anyhow, I'm gong for the Sky High Savings feature  biggrin.gif

Oh yeah, I need to ask about the inter branch withdrawal limit too when I go to open the account...
Well, if it is purely Hong Leong Bank, there is NO LIMIT for inter branch withdrawal. Now, is it possible to go to another HLB (non MACH) branch to withdraw cash?
TSGen-X
post Mar 14 2013, 03:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Mar 13 2013, 02:09 PM)
Is the interest taxable?
For personal no but company yes.
TSGen-X
post Apr 7 2013, 09:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Apr 6 2013, 10:49 PM)
Just a quick check. Any online FD placement with auto renewal between 1-3 months?
I would think most online FD will have a box for you to check if you want auto renewal.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 6 2013, 11:01 AM)
the bigger reason why you don't want to do that is when yr bro and you differ in opinion in the future, e.g. you want to take money from flexi but he as the legal borrower, does not agree. or he starts to feel 5% is too much, wants to pay only 4%. awkward situation.

think of it this way: today, yr bro wants to buy a 200k prop. will you lend him 200k cash to buy so that he will save the interest and pay you interest? you become the ahlong!

other than cash comfortable and tight families, saving 0.5% or so but opening up a string of unpleasant disputes later is usually not a good idea.
+1. Agree to above.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM
TSGen-X
post May 22 2013, 01:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

hahaha, bursa more interesting than FD currently laugh.gif

Those who invested in AUD must be freaking out at present rate BUT I am overjoyed. did several transactions with CT Global Transfer to my Oz account smile.gif The savings I get from AUD weakening in the last 2 weeks is like getting 2 years interest in MY FD.
TSGen-X
post May 22 2013, 02:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 22 2013, 02:06 PM)
It drops below RM3, good for Aus$ FD
Huh? Why is that so? You expect AUD to strengthen? Rating houses have issued statements that AUD rating may be revised if the government do not go back to surplus budget in coming years.
TSGen-X
post May 22 2013, 08:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 22 2013, 07:09 PM)
I dont have any solid evidence but I am  Newton's Law believer, what goes up must come down..... biggrin.gif
Bro, there is no such Newton's Law tongue.gif And maybe now AUD is experiencing gsc's law - on the way down since it has been up for sometime.

Anyway, for your further info, the last round the RBA cut the interest rate was mainly because they wanted to weaken the AUD!!! Go google their May meeting minutes.

I guess if you play AUD, what you should pray for is that our Ringgit weaken in the future but that would also make our imports more expensive. So I be praying the opposite thing - that's Newton's Law - for every reaction there is an opposite reaction, hahahaha
TSGen-X
post May 23 2013, 02:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 23 2013, 12:13 PM)
You are right on Newton's law, gsc law is based on Newton findingsĀ  of gravity force...ringgit going up will eventually coming down (by gravity force) tongue.gif
Thanks for your info. on weakening AUD.....
Newton's head being hit by an apple has nothing to do with going up lah, so your law has a fault tongue.gif

Actually MYR is not strengthening versus other currencies... its more like AUD weakening against other major currencies. If you check USD vs MYR you will note that actually MYR has been weakening since last week and same time AUD weakening against USD.

And I remember you mentioning about investing in AUD FD when it was above 3.0 conversion and at that time I did mention it will weaken and gave you examples in 2008 and 2010.

Anyway, the point I m replying to your posts on Forex is so that one is aware of the risks of playing/gambling Foreign Currency Account FD and not to assume anything as they are infinite variables to consider unlike investing in MYR FD smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 23 2013, 03:07 PM
TSGen-X
post May 23 2013, 03:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 23 2013, 03:12 PM)
Read that when China slows down most commodities exporting countries'
currency will come down. AUD is considered the most overvalued. RM is surprising considered undervalued.
Here we go again on FOREX, hahaha

Whenever there is bad news/data coming out from China, USA or Australia itself, their currency will drop BUT then again you tell me which currecncy is safer than AUD tongue.gif

MYR undervalued? Sure boh? Oil Palm down and more importantly petroleum prices down... and with our political scene yet to stabilize fully, who is going to speculate MYR?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 23 2013, 04:42 PM
TSGen-X
post May 23 2013, 03:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

My point earlier that MYR is not strengthening as against gsc claim that it is

See the effective % of MYR "strengthening" against AUD is the difference between USD/AUD and USD/MYR. In other words, it's about USD versus AUD and nothing to do with AUD versus MYR.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 23 2013, 03:32 PM

TSGen-X
post May 23 2013, 07:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 23 2013, 05:48 PM)
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/promo/StepUpFD/

CIMB Malaysia
Get returns of up to 4% p.a. for the next eight months!
Place a minimum of RM1,000 into your Current or Savings Account to enjoy this promotional interest rate.
Dont waste your time as the amount that enjoys 4% rate is twice the amount you deposit into CASA doh.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 23 2013, 06:57 PM)
So is this a good time to buy into AUD FD in local banks ?
That's an excellent question that only you can answer.

If you need AUD in the near future, why not? If you converting back to MYR... god only knows what the conversion rate will be when it matures (or when you decide to convert back after several renewals). You also need to play god and predict if the interest rate will be going up or down in coming months or years and since last year it has been falling.

Edited***

Here is an example:

Last year this time the lowest conversion spot rate was around 3.10 (I know because I was in Melbourne last year this time). Right now at this moment as I am typing the rate is 2.9444, that's 5% difference. So if you had deposited into AUD last year into 1 year AUD FD and get 4.5% interest, you would have thought you got a good deal. But today, if you need the said fund for something and therefore withdraw the FD and covert back to RM, you would actually get less even with the interest earned. And please note, I have yet to even take into consideration the bank's commission of about 1% every time you convert. So effectively you would have lost money even though your principal earned 4.5% interest in AUD FD.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 23 2013, 08:38 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:17 AM