125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

ykh
post Apr 5 2013, 03:13 PM

83 posts

Hi I am from KL, 27 this year and I just started working here 1 week ago.Still trying to figure out what to do during my free time. Any futsal, badminton or pool kaki here? Would definitely like to join...I am up for outdoor activities too...or do let me know if there are any gatherings

pltan
post Apr 5 2013, 03:15 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 5 2013, 03:06 PM)
ya ya ...i agree ...
thumbup.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 5 2013, 03:22 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ykh @ Apr 5 2013, 03:13 PM)
Hi I am from KL, 27 this year and I just started working here 1 week ago.Still trying to figure out what to do during my free time. Any futsal, badminton or pool kaki here? Would definitely like to join...I am up for outdoor activities too...or do let me know if there are any gatherings

PM MacKiddo and/or Lester1987 to add you to our whatsapp/FB groups, we do meet up for yumcha, meals, movie, etc.
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2013, 03:24 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

futsal or football i got kaki if u r interested
Mackiddo
post Apr 5 2013, 03:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

pm me name/mobile number if you wanna join our yumcha session. sometimes it's hard to arrange for games. If arranged after work, most can't make it (tired, ot, bla bla bla). if arranged weekend, most balik kampung.
samual8833
post Apr 5 2013, 04:13 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 5 2013, 01:52 AM)
ok i got the info wrong, i just asked her. its 5k sgd coz she just got her cert from england i dunno what but same standard with acca.

now she is in pharmaceutical unlike last time.
That's why I'm wondering why she is on high paid with normal degree. Of coz, ACCA standard is consider as professional level and it is higher than degree in accounting standard!...
Of coz she is high paid. See, what indsutry she is working.
darude87
post Apr 5 2013, 04:28 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys , anyone in programming line working in SG? mind to share your experience of working in SG?
samual8833
post Apr 5 2013, 04:28 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 5 2013, 09:42 AM)
Want to ask if the interviewer ask u the reason for leaving your last company and you say kena retrench, izzit a negative thing? Will the employer tell u "izzit becuase u cannot perform therefore retrench you?"
Kena retrench is always not a good reason for leaving. If you tell the interviewer this! Of coz, they will hv very bad impression toward you!... 1st on their mind would be this candidate cannot perform well in previous company that's why d company retrench you. Ur mark will from 100% become 40%!... Specially, HR personnels don't like to hear like reason. Surely, the interviewer will ask you "There are so many staffs in d company, why they choose to retrench you and not others?" How do you answer this question? They will add-on : Usually, company or superior will choose to retrench those who cannot perform well in their jobs or those don't hv close relationship with colleagues, superiors, internal and external parties! There are so many reasons can use. Don't try to mention "retrench" during interview session!... Coz it is quite "sensitive word" for the interviewers!... If u really want to use it. U might need to prepare more tough answers to reply the interviewers!... Coz they will hv more interest to dig out more about ur previous company management information from you!... Good luck to you....
LiangZhuge
post Apr 5 2013, 04:34 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Apr 5 2013, 04:28 PM)
Kena retrench is always not a good reason for leaving. If you tell the interviewer this! Of coz, they will hv very bad impression toward you!... 1st on their mind would be this candidate cannot perform well in previous company that's why d company retrench you. Ur mark will from 100% become 40%!... Specially, HR personnels don't like to hear like reason. Surely, the interviewer will ask you "There are so many staffs in d company, why they choose to retrench you and not others?" How do you answer this question? They will add-on : Usually, company or superior will choose to retrench those who cannot perform well in their jobs or those don't hv close relationship with colleagues, superiors, internal and external parties! There are so many reasons can use. Don't try to mention "retrench" during interview session!... Coz it is quite "sensitive word" for the interviewers!... If u really want to use it. U might need to prepare more tough answers to reply the interviewers!... Coz they will hv more interest to dig out more about ur previous company management information from you!... Good luck to you....
They close down the whole department and relocate to China,India,Vietnam.... (insert country here). tongue.gif

If you kena retrenched, sometimes the company will write a letter of recommendation for you, or you ask them to give you one. Some even better companies will help you look/ intro for a new job.
Mackiddo
post Apr 5 2013, 04:39 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Kena retrench is always not a good reason for leaving. If you tell the interviewer this! Of coz, they will hv very bad impression toward you!...
so, lying and not telling the truth would leave a better impression ?
seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 04:40 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Apr 5 2013, 04:13 PM)
Of coz, ACCA standard is consider as professional level and it is higher than degree in accounting standard!...
In Singapore, you need a degree + ACCA, if you want to extract value from the ACCA.

If you have ACCA alone, many companies will only hire you at diploma or technical level pay scale. You get less than someone holding a degree alone. As far as I can tell, only the accounting firms will confirm hire you into their graduate pay scale if you have ACCA but no degree. My US MNC employer for instance, will not.
jungyu
post Apr 5 2013, 04:40 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 5 2013, 03:03 PM)
when is your pay date and is it out of the stipulated date given by MOM ? if it is, then you can report to MOM
probation staff is paid by 7th. this month will be late again
jungyu
post Apr 5 2013, 04:43 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(pltan @ Apr 5 2013, 03:04 PM)
I would start looking for a new job if I were you. Payroll issues are usually a sign of some larger problem looming ahead.
but it is only me and another staff......but i will keep that as a reason later when i resign XD
seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 04:54 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Kena retrench is always not a good reason for leaving. If you tell the interviewer this! Of coz, they will hv very bad impression toward you!... 1st on their mind would be this candidate cannot perform well in previous company that's why d company retrench you. Surely, the interviewer will ask you "There are so many staffs in d company, why they choose to retrench you and not others?" How do you answer this question?
Not really lah.

In a country like Singapore, retrenchments are quite common. In many cases, it's more due to your role, your location or your business unit. Most MNCs announce retrenchment (restructuring) exercises and they are very careful to only cut people in certain announced specific roles, from certain locations or in certain business units... with the reasoning that the role has been outsourced, a location has been downsized/exited or a business unit is being exited or divested.

In any case, retrenchments are so commonplace that it's not really a bad word anymore. If you can show that you were part of a large scale announced exercise, I think it actually makes a better impression on a prospective employer, compared to resigning on your own accord.
megadisc
post Apr 5 2013, 05:05 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 04:54 PM)
Not really lah.

In a country like Singapore, retrenchments are quite common. In many cases, it's more due to your role, your location or your business unit. Most MNCs announce retrenchment (restructuring) exercises and they are very careful to only cut people in certain announced specific roles, from certain locations or in certain business units... with the reasoning that the role has been outsourced, a location has been downsized/exited or a business unit is being exited or divested.

In any case, retrenchments are so commonplace that it's not really a bad word anymore. If you can show that you were part of a large scale announced exercise, I think it actually makes a better impression on a prospective employer, compared to resigning on your own accord.
phew ....good to know for monday wan.
pltan
post Apr 5 2013, 05:14 PM

499 posts

You sound very inexperienced I am afraid to say, a retrenched employee has no where near the stigma you are making out to be.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 5 2013, 05:41 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 04:40 PM)
In Singapore, you need a degree + ACCA, if you want to extract value from the ACCA.

If you have ACCA alone, many companies will only hire you at diploma or technical level pay scale. You get less than someone holding a degree alone. As far as I can tell, only the accounting firms will confirm hire you into their graduate pay scale if you have ACCA but no degree. My US MNC employer for instance, will not.
Not fair loh, ACCA professional papers is sooooo much harder than a degree 4 years of study combined. Almost want to faint when I got my first results. ACCA and degree should be together right? Some modules overlap each other. Never see ACCA without a degree. Most of the time degree holder trying to get ACCA.
samual8833
post Apr 5 2013, 05:42 PM

98 posts

I've check the foreigner quota to work in Singapore! They only mentioned reduced quota for service (Include restaurant), marine and construction lines. It is 1 S'poren : 5 Foreigners!... What about office jobs?

This post has been edited by samual8833: Apr 5 2013, 05:49 PM
megadisc
post Apr 5 2013, 05:55 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 5 2013, 05:41 PM)
Not fair loh, ACCA professional papers is sooooo much harder than a degree 4 years of study combined. Almost want to faint when I got my first results. ACCA and degree should be together right? Some modules overlap each other. Never see ACCA without a degree. Most of the time degree holder trying to get ACCA.
not sure if can exemtpion for some subjects or not ..
samual8833
post Apr 5 2013, 05:56 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 04:40 PM)

It's unfair... Some of my friends study ACCA and keep saying ACCA papers are much more harder compared to Degree in Accounting!... That's why so many ACCA graduated wanted to join accounting firm!... No... It should be they must completed their internship/ training in accounting firm before become accountant!... No comment.... Luckily, I'm not study Accounting...

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:01 PM