125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

samual8833
post Apr 5 2013, 06:07 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 5 2013, 04:34 PM)
They close down the whole department and relocate to China,India,Vietnam.... (insert country here).  tongue.gif

If you kena retrenched, sometimes the company will write a letter of recommendation for you, or you ask them to give you one. Some even better companies will help you look/ intro for a new job.
Every where also the same practices not only sg!... Closed down the company and transfer all the business to another sister company!... Usually, the company will make huge compensation to the staff who accepted retrenchment... Seldom company so free to help you looking for a job... Unless, the management is going to introduce you to their sister company, maybe!...
seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 06:11 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 5 2013, 05:41 PM)
Not fair loh, ACCA professional papers is sooooo much harder than a degree 4 years of study combined. Almost want to faint when I got my first results. ACCA and degree should be together right? Some modules overlap each other. Never see ACCA without a degree. Most of the time degree holder trying to get ACCA.
That's where the issue is actually.

Many companies, and to my knowledge esp. the US ones - differentiate between an education (ie. degree etc) and a professional membership like ACCA, CA, CPA etc. You lose that membership if you don't pay your fees. They don't consider these memberships equivalent to education.

Most accounting professional memberships require you to have an accounting degree before you can commence the program. Not so with ACCA and perhaps some old school apprenticeships with CA, MICPA. I heard ACCA has partnered Oxford Brookes to print degrees for ACCA candidates.

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 5 2013, 06:27 PM
seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 06:12 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Apr 5 2013, 05:56 PM)
It's unfair... Some of my friends study ACCA and keep saying ACCA papers are much more harder compared to Degree in Accounting!... That's why so many ACCA graduated wanted to join accounting firm!... No... It should be they must completed their internship/ training in accounting firm before become accountant!... No comment.... Luckily, I'm not study Accounting...
Tried to combine with my post above, but phail blush.gif

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 5 2013, 06:13 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 06:16 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hi guys, what's a good weekend activity for a bunch of young dudes and dudettes? My 4th month here and I'm struggling to figure out what to do during weekends (other than shopping)
Fiona Chin
post Apr 5 2013, 06:23 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 5 2013, 05:55 PM)
not sure if can exemtpion for some subjects or not ..
Got exempted for 4 papers tongue.gif BBA in account can exempt more.
wlcling
post Apr 5 2013, 06:34 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 5 2013, 06:16 PM)
Hi guys, what's a good weekend activity for a bunch of young dudes and dudettes? My 4th month here and I'm struggling to figure out what to do during weekends (other than shopping)
dota... dude vs dudettes....lol
momijigari
post Apr 5 2013, 06:37 PM

189 posts

Visit the zoo, etc. picnic at botanical garden. Go high tea, dimsum brunch. Pick up a hobby!
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2013, 06:37 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

beach volleyball?
interested?
seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 06:38 PM

6,624 posts

What did you do in KL?

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 06:46 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 06:38 PM)
What did you do in KL?
KL was home. So I generally lazed at home.
My place here in SG needs more things, but i'm too stingy to buy things to decorate/gadgetify my house.

Otherwise will just be go shopping and lim teh around some kopitiam.

So looking for alternatives.

Any good foods worth going on a trip for around Singapore?
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 06:57 PM

593 posts

Hi my S Pass just got approved!

NOw she ask me go to any clinic to do hiv and xray test.

But I dunno which clinic to go. Any advice?
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2013, 06:59 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 5 2013, 06:57 PM)
Hi my S Pass just got approved!

NOw she ask me go to any clinic to do hiv and xray test.

But I dunno which clinic to go. Any advice?
n y didn't u ask her that? shakehead.gif

usually company has a panel clinic
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 07:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 06:59 PM)
n y didn't u ask her that? shakehead.gif

usually company has a panel clinic
In the email she stated any clinic wor..
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2013, 07:26 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 5 2013, 07:10 PM)
In the email she stated any clinic wor..
then just go to any clinic that do the check up lo...

seantang
post Apr 5 2013, 07:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 5 2013, 06:46 PM)
KL was home. So I generally lazed at home.
My place here in SG needs more things, but i'm too stingy to buy things to decorate/gadgetify my house.

Otherwise will just be go shopping and lim teh around some kopitiam.
Ya lor. You can do exactly the same things in Singapore that you can do in KL. To me, the only difference is that if you don't drive in Singapore,.. things become just that little bit more complicated.

Anyway, I've taken to visiting condo show rooms during weekends. Chit chat with the chickadee agents and bankers, see what's out there and get some internal decor inspiration.
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire)
Hungrygowhere.com.sg I guess. Personally, if you live around the north, bus route 86 from AMK takes you past some pretty interesting restaurants on Yio Chu Kang Rd.

138, 851, 852, 853 from AMK does the same around Upper Thomson Rd as they go south into town.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 07:47 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 07:37 PM)
Ya lor. You can do exactly the same things in Singapore that you can do in KL. To me, the only difference is that if you don't drive in Singapore,.. things become just that little bit more complicated.

Anyway, I've taken to visiting condo show rooms during weekends. Chit chat with the chickadee agents and bankers, see what's out there and get some internal decor inspiration.
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire)
Hungrygowhere.com.sg I guess. Personally, if you live around the north, bus route 86 from AMK takes you past some pretty interesting restaurants on Yio Chu Kang Rd.

138, 851, 852, 853 from AMK does the same around Upper Thomson Rd as they go south into town.
Haha those chickadee agents and bankers won't layan me la. see me oso know no money HAHAHA.
I was bored in KL. But I'm also bored here. Gawd.

Will try out those food recommendations, since AMK and YCK is nearby to me.
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 08:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 07:26 PM)
then just go to any clinic that do the check up lo...
means i bare the fees not the company lo right?

or maybe i ask later can claim or not lo..
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2013, 08:44 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 5 2013, 08:38 PM)
means i bare the fees not the company lo right?

or maybe i ask later can claim or not lo..
in my case, the company pays for it...
not sure bout yours...

but my check-up is not for work pass application.
just my company policy
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 09:19 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 08:44 PM)
in my case, the company pays for it...
not sure bout yours...

but my check-up is not for work pass application.
just my company policy
i'll email her again..
i just sked expensive only..
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 09:31 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 07:37 PM)

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire)

ooo YCK got nice food?

i just went to upper thomson rd yesterday and tried udder's ice cream~

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:04 AM