Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

athrun300
post Mar 21 2013, 12:32 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 21 2013, 12:07 PM)
In my opinion the boredom is not derived from your location (MY vs SG), but rather depends on how many friends you have in MY vs. SG, how familiar you are with the places, how much you are willing to spend etc.
I hope things will get better for you.
True. If you are willing to spend, it's basically a heaven. Btw Marina Bay is having Earth Hour this Saturday 8.30pm. Go there to support is better than die of boredom in room. smile.gif
ilineZ
post Mar 21 2013, 12:48 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 21 2013, 11:59 AM)
When I first came here and made my first withdrawal at the POSB ATM, I stood right behind the person using the ATM. Then some one pointed at the queue to me.. sweat.gif

Never thought the queue can be that far away from the ATM...
in sg, u never noe what they are Q for,
smtime they just make a line ,
no shop in front, no bus number sign infront,
smhow they just Q, and we wait long enough, then only we noe what Q is that,
i guess generaly they like to Q,
i always see ppl Q for sbs bus after passing Sg immigration
although they have choice to just ride on causeway bus
which has no Q and coming more frequently sweat.gif
ilineZ
post Mar 21 2013, 12:53 PM

99 posts

In my opinion the boredom is not derived from your location (MY vs SG), but rather depends on how many friends you have in MY vs. SG, how familiar you are with the places, how much you are willing to spend etc.
ya i second that. the problem i face is
i nd to spend more to go to natural places-
which is outside the country (i.e msia)

here everywhere is building,
natural places oso manmade whistling.gif
JohnJon82
post Mar 21 2013, 01:08 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Mar 21 2013, 12:48 PM)
in sg, u never noe what they are Q for,
smtime they just make a line ,
no shop in front, no bus number sign infront,
smhow they just Q, and we wait long enough, then only we noe what Q is that,
i guess generaly they like to Q,
i always see ppl Q for sbs bus after passing Sg immigration
although they have choice to just ride on causeway bus
which has no Q and coming more frequently  sweat.gif
Ya this one I also curious. Which bus faster after immigration? Some queue for SBS bus because they use SBS to immigration, continue with SBS cheaper?

Anyone take CW2 during the weekends? Wait and take CW2 to Bugis faster or take CW1 to Kranji then switch MRT faster?
pizza0502
post Mar 21 2013, 01:27 PM

213 posts

Hi wanna ask which telco prepaid data is the fastest?
Currently I'm using singtel and when i'm in the MRT the speed damn slow~

But i saw other ppl still can surf facebook, i only can whatsapp...

Please recommend, thanks!
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 02:56 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Mar 21 2013, 01:27 PM)
Hi wanna ask which telco prepaid data is the fastest?
Currently I'm using singtel and when i'm in the MRT the speed damn slow~

But i saw other ppl still can surf facebook, i only can whatsapp...

Please recommend, thanks!
Singtel is the best telco coverage in singapore, i think should be the same for postpaid and prepaid. in MRT is random one, maybe next time you use then you feel like fast.
hitsugaya2010
post Mar 21 2013, 03:27 PM

946 posts

anyone working in emerson sg? =)
abgkik
post Mar 21 2013, 04:16 PM

2,140 posts

IMO... is derived from your lifestyle and your interest..
momijigari
post Mar 21 2013, 05:09 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Mar 20 2013, 10:35 PM)
You have to let them taste their own medicine. Deliberately repeat what they have done and create a confrontation if you need to.

Surprisingly msian commuters behave much more civic when it comes to the railway. In Klcc, despite the snaking queue spilling to the entrance, people are still queuing to my amazement. And that's without any gracious campaign movement required.
Here, most of the people adopt the "cannot rugi" mentality.
Confrontation is almost fruitless.

Told someone not to smoke while queuing for the outdoor ATMs which is very inconsiderate for alot of us. He questioned back there's no non-smoking signage where we stand and he added this "why he has to think about other people, other people have to think about him".

The MRT situation is terrible, apparently you need to let people aboard the train before you can alight.
Zero common courtesy. There's no amount of "gracious campaign" can remedy this. You learn this from young, you learn this from home.

JohnJon82
post Mar 21 2013, 05:23 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 21 2013, 05:09 PM)
Here, most of the people adopt the "cannot rugi" mentality.
Confrontation is almost fruitless.

Told someone not to smoke while queuing for the outdoor ATMs which is very inconsiderate for alot of us. He questioned back there's no non-smoking signage where we stand and he added this "why he has to think about other people, other people have to think about him".

The MRT situation is terrible, apparently you need to let people aboard the train before you can alight.
Zero common courtesy. There's no amount of "gracious campaign" can remedy this. You learn this from young, you learn this from home.
Smoking in queue is prohibited everywhere.
momijigari
post Mar 21 2013, 05:38 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 21 2013, 05:23 PM)
Smoking in queue is prohibited everywhere.
Yes. They have to smoke in their designated yellow box. This is why I said almost useless to confront them.
JohnJon82
post Mar 21 2013, 05:59 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 21 2013, 05:38 PM)
Yes. They have to smoke in their designated yellow box. This is why I said almost useless to confront them.
Don't confront them directly la dangerous, unless you can 1 fight 10. Call NEA and hope they got officer few minute walking distance away.
keii-kun
post Mar 21 2013, 08:04 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 19 2013, 09:45 PM)
Thanks. I'm wondering how much of a premium one would pay for the proximity to MRT over a place like Pinnacle. Pinnacle is probably 8-10 minutes walk. What I have in mind is seriously 2-3 minutes from the train platform to the condo, across the road from a mall and a HDB commercial hub next to mall. The most equivalent place would be AMK Centro, next to AMK Hub/bus interchange, AMK Central and MRT.
Similar setup to your condo would be oleanders towers in toa payoh, 5min walk to hdb hub/mrt / interchange.
I saw some advert listed around 1.2k.but it is a '98 condo. Can check propertyguru.
seantang
post Mar 21 2013, 09:36 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Mar 21 2013, 08:04 PM)
Similar setup to your condo would be oleanders towers in toa payoh, 5min walk to hdb hub/mrt / interchange.
I saw some advert listed around 1.2k.but it is a '98 condo. Can check propertyguru.

Good info, thanks.

cierra_tansy
post Mar 21 2013, 10:26 PM

76 posts

I have bus ticket from Larkin,JB to TBS,KL for sale on next Friday (29 Mar'13) 9am.
Kindly PM me if you're interested. Thanks.
T3N5AI
post Mar 21 2013, 10:36 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 21 2013, 10:30 AM)
Oh, izit? now i know, i thought is same like train ticket, just purchase and print out is ok d. that what i do previously.
I checked yesterday, after checking for 2 hours, i finally gave up and applied for a half day leave. lol.
T3N5AI
post Mar 21 2013, 10:37 PM

172 posts

Calling all tailos and sifus, izzit advisable for a mechanical engineer in construction line to go for a finance masters degree? Coz i think theres no point to go for a engineering masters degree. Any advice?
sleepyjoy
post Mar 21 2013, 10:45 PM

Hi, seeking advice from the experts here.

Have been working in JB for 3 years now with current salary at RM3300. Might have a salary review end of this month. Last salary hike was RM300.

Went for an interview for the same job in Singapore at a reputable but not doing so well company. The interviewers seem to like my skills and experience. I got a call from their HR the next day offering me a SGD3000 pay. The benefits are about the same as my JB company (except no more OT pay, but transport allowance of $20 if OT more than 2 hours).

I plan to travel to and fro if I accept this job.

Should I leave the current comfortable job for more learning, but most likely stressful experience in Singapore?

Any advice would be much appreciated! =)
T3N5AI
post Mar 21 2013, 10:47 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(sleepyjoy @ Mar 21 2013, 10:45 PM)
Hi, seeking advice from the experts here.

Have been working in JB for 3 years now with current salary at RM3300. Might have a salary review end of this month. Last salary hike was RM300.

Went for an interview for the same job in Singapore at a reputable but not doing so well company. The interviewers seem to like my skills and experience. I got a call from their HR the next day offering me a SGD3000 pay. The benefits are about the same as my JB company (except no more OT pay, but transport allowance of $20 if OT more than 2 hours).

I plan to travel to and fro if I accept this job.

Should I leave the current comfortable job for more learning, but most likely stressful experience in Singapore?

Any advice would be much appreciated! =)
U sure u wanna travel back and fro? Unless u r living near 2nd link or working near tuas area, i think its kinda hassle to cross the border everyday.
sleepyjoy
post Mar 21 2013, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Mar 21 2013, 10:47 PM)
U sure u wanna travel back and fro? Unless u r living near 2nd link or working near tuas area, i think its kinda hassle to cross the border everyday.
Staying in Permas, and the company's 5 mins away from Jurong East mrt.

This post has been edited by sleepyjoy: Mar 21 2013, 10:50 PM

125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:43 PM