Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

JohnJon82
post Mar 21 2013, 11:23 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Mar 21 2013, 10:37 PM)
Calling all tailos and sifus, izzit advisable for a mechanical engineer in construction line to go for a finance masters degree? Coz i think theres no point to go for a engineering masters degree. Any advice?
Planning to switch industry, yes. If not, then 50-50. Master in engineering still got use, depend how you use it.
JohnJon82
post Mar 21 2013, 11:25 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(sleepyjoy @ Mar 21 2013, 10:45 PM)
Hi, seeking advice from the experts here.

Have been working in JB for 3 years now with current salary at RM3300. Might have a salary review end of this month. Last salary hike was RM300.

Went for an interview for the same job in Singapore at a reputable but not doing so well company. The interviewers seem to like my skills and experience. I got a call from their HR the next day offering me a SGD3000 pay. The benefits are about the same as my JB company (except no more OT pay, but transport allowance of $20 if OT more than 2 hours).

I plan to travel to and fro if I accept this job.

Should I leave the current comfortable job for more learning, but most likely stressful experience in Singapore?

Any advice would be much appreciated! =)
My colleague has been doing that for nearly 2 years. He looks very tired everyday, but still do-able. Just rent a room and go home in the weekends, health more important.
puppyee
post Mar 21 2013, 11:31 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Mar 13 2013, 08:51 PM)
It's a single room and it's quite small. I think sgd 600 can get a decent single room in telok blangah.
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 14 2013, 08:57 AM)
Maximum 700 you can get a small room, or so called ultility room/maid room at central area already, included PUB and possible wifi, aircond is depend.if you wan to get a house with clean toilet, better find room rent out by owner instead of other tenant, because staying in a house without owner, everyone will not clean the toilet because none of them think they messed the toilet.
Hi guys, thanks for the feedbacks. I've gotten a single room at Depot Road for 700 dollar, excluding PUB. The owner said that if electric bill is not high, then they will cover the bills and if its higher than average, then the tenants would need to divide some among ourselves. The previous few months, tenants did not need to pay for the bills cos the bill's cheap. Living with owner... seems quite mafan but place is very nicely designed and clean. So overall, I think shld b ok gua... hopefully not too much trouble and fingers crossed!

There's one more question though. The HR told me that my EP is approved. I kept hearing (from family members and friends) that I need to do a full body checkup before/after I apply/get my EP but I've asked several employers (including those that interviewed me before) but all of them said that I don't need to do so. Can anyone advise me on this please?
T3N5AI
post Mar 21 2013, 11:40 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 21 2013, 11:23 PM)
Planning to switch industry, yes. If not, then 50-50. Master in engineering still got use, depend how you use it.
I actually think it lies with what are ur prospects after obtaining these 2 masters degrees.

Engineering masters degree.
Does construction engineering needs masters degree in engineering?
How far will u go with a masters degree in engineering?

Finance masters.
I actually have no idea. It just came across my mind.
It just seems that the finance industry somehow seem to overshine engineering degrees although in fact engineering requires more effort and time.

Contemplating.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 21 2013, 11:54 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 21 2013, 11:31 PM)
There's one more question though. The HR told me that my EP is approved. I kept hearing (from family members and friends) that I need to do a full body checkup before/after I apply/get my EP but I've asked several employers (including those that interviewed me before) but all of them said that I don't need to do so. Can anyone advise me on this please?

Wait for your HR to give you the IPA. It will state on the letter whether MOM requires you to do health check or not. It's a very basic health check for TB, HIV, etc. Some people need to do the health check, others aren't.

Also, welcome to the club, PM your mobile number or FB to MacKiddo if you're interested in joining us for chat yumcha gatherings etc
IlikePanadol
post Mar 21 2013, 11:56 PM

57 posts

Hi guys, thanks for the feedbacks. I've gotten a single room at Depot Road for 700 dollar, excluding PUB. The owner said that if electric bill is not high, then they will cover the bills and if its higher than average, then the tenants would need to divide some among ourselves. The previous few months, tenants did not need to pay for the bills cos the bill's cheap. Living with owner... seems quite mafan but place is very nicely designed and clean. So overall, I think shld b ok gua... hopefully not too much trouble and fingers crossed!

Hi
The IPA letter will state if you need to do checkup or not. This is at the discretion of MOM.
JohnJon82
post Mar 22 2013, 12:05 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Mar 21 2013, 11:40 PM)
I actually think it lies with what are ur prospects after obtaining these 2 masters degrees.

Engineering masters degree.
Does construction engineering needs masters degree in engineering?
How far will u go with a masters degree in engineering?

Finance masters.
I actually have no idea. It just came across my mind.
It just seems that the finance industry somehow seem to overshine engineering degrees although in fact engineering requires more effort and time.

Contemplating.
How far you go depend on you lo... I don't know about mechanical engineering, but in civil there is one master that can help you in the future, when you want to get the professional license. For other case, I don't see it yet, maybe I haven't reach that level.

In terms of ROI, engineering can never compare to finance one, too far out. If want money, don't stay in engineering. Other satisfaction maybe still ok.
sleepyjoy
post Mar 22 2013, 12:07 AM

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 21 2013, 11:25 PM)
My colleague has been doing that for nearly 2 years. He looks very tired everyday, but still do-able. Just rent a room and go home in the weekends, health more important.
Hmmm.. Ya, I'll prob give it a shot before deciding if I should stay in Sg. Thanks for the advice tho!
puppyee
post Mar 22 2013, 12:09 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 21 2013, 11:54 PM)
Wait for your HR to give you the IPA. It will state on the letter whether MOM requires you to do health check or not. It's a very basic health check for TB, HIV, etc. Some people need to do the health check, others aren't.

Also, welcome to the club, PM your mobile number or FB to MacKiddo if you're interested in joining us for chat yumcha gatherings etc
Aaaah, I see~
Thank you laugh.gif Will do and would be delighted to join you guys

QUOTE(IlikePanadol @ Mar 21 2013, 11:56 PM)
Hi
The IPA letter will state if you need to do checkup or not. This is at the discretion of MOM.
Aite, understood. Thank you biggrin.gif
seantang
post Mar 22 2013, 12:14 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

A kerbau tilling the earth each day requires a lot of effort and time. But that doesn't mean what the kerbau does is worth a lot of money.

yhoong12
post Mar 22 2013, 08:39 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

excluding PUB?hmm....not really worth thou. plus you mentioned that previous few months the tenants no need to pay for the bill, how come now need? any idea what happen?

btw, if tenant need to pay the bill, how much per person(how many ppl?) for your new rent unit? hmm.gif

like other mentioned, IPA stated or you can ask HR what to do next, just tell them you don't know. is ok icon_rolleyes.gif
ivanswk
post Mar 22 2013, 09:39 AM

+J
2,110 posts

Contemplating.
tough if dun see yourself at early stage sweat.gif
Evanx2
post Mar 22 2013, 10:18 AM

Guys,

My friend attended an interview with KPMG SG on 18/03. She said it went well but they told her they will get back to her latest by 29/03. Does it usually take that long for them to decide or get the approval?
userguy
post Mar 22 2013, 10:26 AM

90 posts

Hey all, anyone interested for yumcha on weekends?
I have invites to a nice Bar with free drinks tonight.
Let me know if anyone is interested to catch up with drinks on the house!

yhoong12
post Mar 22 2013, 11:27 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Evanx2 @ Mar 22 2013, 10:18 AM)
Guys,

My friend attended an interview with KPMG SG on 18/03. She said it went well but they told her they will get back to her latest by 29/03. Does it usually take that long for them to decide or get the approval?
latest mean not more than 29/03 right? from today until 29 is about one week, i guess is normal process.
S'aimer
post Mar 22 2013, 12:26 PM

637 posts

CW2 to Queen Street is fast - no stops along the way like 170 and takes less than 30 minutes to reach Queen Street.

If take CW1 to kranji, then assuming you take train at kranji via North South Line (Red color line), this line travels really slow as there are 18 mrt stops. This will take more than 40-45 min. If taking the East West Line (Green color line), still need to switch train at Jurong East MRT to bugis. Also time consuming.

You probably save a little because CW2 is Rm2.50 (About S$1) direct from JB CIQ to Queen Street, compared to the amount you spend on your fare card.

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM)
Ya this one I also curious. Which bus faster after immigration? Some queue for SBS bus because they use SBS to immigration, continue with SBS cheaper?

Anyone take CW2 during the weekends? Wait and take CW2 to Bugis faster or take CW1 to Kranji then switch MRT faster?
This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 22 2013, 12:27 PM
jitshiong
post Mar 22 2013, 01:05 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(userguy @ Mar 22 2013, 10:26 AM)
where? tongue.gif
userguy
post Mar 22 2013, 01:57 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 22 2013, 01:05 PM)
where? tongue.gif
A cool Bar near Tanjong Pagar. Free flow of cocktails smile.gif
PM me if interested as I have limited invites.

jitshiong
post Mar 23 2013, 12:19 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(20fags @ Mar 22 2013, 09:58 PM)
Hi. I know this seems out of place. But do you guys know where can I get the best rate for MYR to SGD in KL/Klang Valley area?
Midvalley
PepsiCo
post Mar 23 2013, 09:44 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(userguy @ Mar 22 2013, 10:26 AM)
QUOTE(userguy @ Mar 22 2013, 01:57 PM)
A cool Bar near Tanjong Pagar. Free flow of cocktails smile.gif
PM me if interested as I have limited invites.
Is there a 'cool' bar in Tanjung Pagar ? Have been clubbing for quite a while but rarely heard of anything at Tanjung Pagar.

125 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:01 AM