125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

megadisc
post May 21 2013, 12:15 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ May 21 2013, 12:02 PM)
* no more free casino entry  biggrin.gif
yeah so sad ....though of going there while i am jobless XD
Metatron90
post May 21 2013, 12:24 PM

80 posts

haha...ic..never mind i'll get consider whether to apply pr or not sooner or later... i'm just going to take my chances there..lol...still in the process of applying job..
vincentwmh
post May 21 2013, 12:29 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(~PussyDevil~ @ May 20 2013, 07:01 PM)
Those of u working in Singapore. Are you guys rich yet? Do you feel rich?
sure not rich yet & don't feet rich too BUT...

it makes hell of a difference if you r able to save portion of your sgd for any oversea travel/holidays. one will sure appreciate sgd when you walk-in a money changer for usd, aud, euro, krw.... many many more not too mention thai, rupiah lo. COMPARE to exchanging them with RM vmad.gif .

the effect towards your spirit of buying/spending power when you are on holidays with sgd in your pocket oso makes a difference.

clicking the confirm pay for your internet booking oso makes a difference when you know you are paying in sgd AS you r EARNING sgd to fund your holidays. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: May 21 2013, 12:32 PM
paranoid
post May 21 2013, 01:09 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

oh holidays yea..
last time work in msia, have to save for years because i wanted to go to japan.
after i moved to sg, following year go japan makan angin already.
Metatron90
post May 21 2013, 01:51 PM

80 posts

i just get to know that my friend at sg works 7 days a week...

scary.. lol...but with OT la of course..
jitshiong
post May 21 2013, 01:52 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ May 21 2013, 01:51 PM)
i just get to know that my friend at sg works 7 days a week...

scary.. lol...but with OT la of course..
must be construction...
same case with my colleagues
js20
post May 21 2013, 02:25 PM

My friend also work in construction company, but she got no OT claim... blink.gif
mules
post May 21 2013, 02:25 PM

104 posts

OT here pays well. People are actually fighting for OT slots here unlike in Malaysia tongue.gif

Bout feeling rich, this is so subjective. For me it kinda boils down to how much you have left after deducting your monthly necessity. People earning 10k here i can assure you is living the high life compared to Malaysia. Holiday is no longer domestic, is all about europe etc. LV bag? SGD1500 sap sap sui that is like 15% salary. Day day go shopping for new cloths and trying out fine dining restaurant and still have enough to sent home for parents and savings. Story of my friend, dreams for 10k earner in Malaysia.

If you are earning 3k or below, yea you will feel tight cause rents is not cheap. Still way better then scrapping for uncertainty future in bolehland.

ps: i am jobless now. so yea i felt like a beggar
Fiona Chin
post May 21 2013, 02:36 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 21 2013, 10:05 AM)
The right question is whether you feel richer working in Singapore or Malaysia?

Or even whether you feel richer in Malaysia when working in Singapore?

All I know is that I needed to take a 30 year loan to pay for a semi-d house in PJ when I was working in KL, assuming I don't get retrenched or sick during those 30 years. Factoring in salary increases, bonuses etc, I could probably pay off the loan in 20 years. And for the first 10+ years, it was going to be tight!

After working in Singapore for 8 years, buying that same house in PJ is now no longer an issue. Heck, can even buy the house next door and make it a bungalow.
But if want buy semi-d in SG, like they say, sell back side also cannot afford cry.gif .

QUOTE(~PussyDevil~ @ May 21 2013, 11:20 AM)
The reason I asked is because there's much talk around me about "working in Singapore is better". Everyone blinded by the exchange rate and think they could land an above average pay in SG bcoz we are considered foreigners. Or with hopes of getting out of msia.

However, I have relatives and friends there. And I visit SG once a year. I see the problems an average sg-rians suffers and its obviously not a fairy land like most people think.

So I was wondering, do you guys really feel a major impact/ life changing experience compared to before? I said feel, bcoz there's no accurate measurement or comparison between 2 different living conditions.
From the other point of view which cannot be measured by monetary value, SG has the higher security and safety factor compared to Malaysia. No ragut, no kidnapping at car park, no rape, no smashing of window when driving, no house break-in even without grills. All these worth more than any value of money can buy. Life changing yes, safety wise. On life style, similar for me here and MY.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: May 21 2013, 02:37 PM
jitshiong
post May 21 2013, 02:37 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(mules @ May 21 2013, 02:25 PM)
OT here pays well.  People are actually fighting for OT slots here unlike in Malaysia tongue.gif

Bout feeling rich, this is so subjective.  For me it kinda boils down to how much you have left after deducting your monthly necessity.  People earning 10k here i can assure you is living the high life compared to Malaysia.  Holiday is no longer domestic, is all about europe etc.  LV bag? SGD1500 sap sap sui that is like 15% salary.  Day day go shopping for new cloths and trying out fine dining restaurant and still have enough to sent home for parents and savings.  Story of my friend, dreams for 10k earner in Malaysia.

If you are earning 3k or below, yea you will feel tight cause rents is not cheap. Still way better then scrapping for uncertainty future in bolehland.

ps: i am jobless now. so yea i felt like a beggar
i dun get OT.....
plus, i dun like OT. Rather spend my time with quality stuff.
money isn't everything
JohnJon82
post May 21 2013, 02:40 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 21 2013, 02:37 PM)
i dun get OT.....
plus, i dun like OT. Rather spend my time with quality stuff.
money isn't everything
7 days a week of OT in construction can hit 10k+. But health go down exponentially, then spend 20k later for doctor visit.
crazy25kid
post May 21 2013, 02:47 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 21 2013, 02:36 PM)
From the other point of view which cannot be measured by monetary value, SG has the higher security and safety factor compared to Malaysia. No ragut, no kidnapping at car park, no rape, no smashing of window when driving, no house break-in even without grills. All these worth more than any value of money can buy. Life changing yes, safety wise. On life style, similar for me here and MY.
LESS...not NONE
jitshiong
post May 21 2013, 03:18 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 21 2013, 02:40 PM)
7 days a week of OT in construction can hit 10k+. But health go down exponentially, then spend 20k later for doctor visit.
is it worth it?
u life will be work, eat, sleep
and the cycle repeats everyday...

worth living like this? u get 10k also no time to spend it....
Metatron90
post May 21 2013, 03:54 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 21 2013, 03:18 PM)
is it worth it?
u life will be work, eat, sleep
and the cycle repeats everyday...

worth living like this? u get 10k also no time to spend it....
Haha, ya... it'll be no life.. LOL
ky_khor
post May 21 2013, 04:17 PM

No.22
894 posts

It amazes me that the fact Manila has the highest population density out of all cities in the region. I went there before and don't think I've seen much high rise residence building, although the traffic condition and planning is really bad.

Singapore: 7315/km2
Manila: 18562/km2
KL: 6891/km2

Yet we often hear complaints about Singapore being overcrowded.

piscesslyw
post May 21 2013, 04:54 PM

May I know is sgd5k ok for senior auditor position in a bank?
I have 4 years banking experience in Big4 before this.

rexona
post May 21 2013, 05:00 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ May 21 2013, 04:17 PM)
It amazes me that the fact Manila has the highest population density out of all cities in the region. I went there before and don't think I've seen much high rise residence building, although the traffic condition and planning is really bad.

Singapore: 7315/km2
Manila: 18562/km2
KL:  6891/km2

Yet we often hear complaints about Singapore being overcrowded.

No comment on Manila cos I've never been there. But I suppose that's one of the reasons the Pinoys are so desperate to go overseas to work. As for KL, city centre might be almost as dense as SG but the Metro area, where the vast majority of us live, is only 252/km2.
junky_89
post May 21 2013, 08:17 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 20 2013, 10:47 PM)
Sg Kaduk
hey.. may i know the exact location of this?

almeizer
post May 21 2013, 11:10 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 21 2013, 12:25 AM)
This is a great link. Are there any other online furniture retailers?
The same website did sell furniture but the choices might not be much. If term of prices not so sure, maybe you can try compare with outside.

http://www.fortytwo.sg/furniture
almeizer
post May 21 2013, 11:17 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 21 2013, 02:36 PM)
But if want buy semi-d in SG, like they say, sell back side also cannot afford  cry.gif .
Can afford also cannot buy because Singapore restricted foreigner from buying landed property. But still got exception to buy by getting approval from Minister for Law.

http://www.sla.gov.sg/htm/ser/ser0306.htm

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.1521sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:44 PM