133 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

awyongcarl
post May 17 2013, 11:42 PM

1,870 posts

Now that you mentioned paint, I'm thinking of sanding it down and spray a matte clear coat over it..lol
MyWifeCar
post May 18 2013, 04:58 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

How much is ACE selling this?

http://static.pepboys.com/images/productIm...sorberMulti.jpg

I think Osren is having it too, right?

Is it recommended to dry the car?

This post has been edited by MyWifeCar: May 18 2013, 04:58 PM
Quazacolt
post May 18 2013, 05:09 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 18 2013, 04:58 PM)
How much is ACE selling this?

I think Osren is having it too, right?

Is it recommended to dry the car?
i think those are synthetic chamois? imho they may tend to leave streaking and you do have to wring out a lot.
and yes osren does have synthetic chamois

AFAIK even autoglym have natural expensive as hell drying chamois, fancy packing too tongue.gif

if you already have waffle weaves, or something like duragloss/dodo juice drying towels, i think you're better off sticking with those.
awyongcarl
post May 18 2013, 05:34 PM

1,870 posts

The AutoGlym chamois is awesome as hell though, been using it for 5 years already, still working good lol, regular wear and tear but it's still absorbing water effectively. Eneos is selling it for RM100 something, but definitely worth the investment.
TSKrisMas
post May 18 2013, 07:37 PM

hrrm....I think I need to re-visit my AG chamois. Only used it once and back into it's container it went. Also have a 'natural' version....stinky stuff....

But those 'Absorber' in the pic doesn't look like it's synthetic chamois....looks more like cloth ones...

Edit: ok. Did a little googlling...they're PVA/Synthetic....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: May 18 2013, 07:44 PM
Quazacolt
post May 18 2013, 10:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ May 18 2013, 05:34 PM)
The AutoGlym chamois is awesome as hell though, been using it for 5 years already, still working good lol, regular wear and tear but it's still absorbing water effectively. Eneos is selling it for RM100 something, but definitely worth the investment.
there are cheaper waffle weaves for similar or even better performance laugh.gif
popice2u
post May 19 2013, 12:32 PM

1,337 posts

i own a white car. 1 month din wash d......can see body mcm berminyak.....wash also not white clean......ada cara yg lebih effective aaah?
patienceGNR
post May 19 2013, 01:03 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

The roof of my car has some dirt stain (dark colour, looks greasy and won't go away). I don't know how to remove them.

Edit : I used make up remover (water based) and it came out A VERY LITTLE TINY WEENIE bit. If I don't use anything and use my bare fingers, it can come out easily. What dirt is this? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: May 19 2013, 01:16 PM
MyWifeCar
post May 19 2013, 03:29 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 18 2013, 07:37 PM)
hrrm....I think I need to re-visit my AG chamois. Only used it once and back into it's container it went. Also have a 'natural' version....stinky stuff....

But those 'Absorber' in the pic doesn't look like it's synthetic chamois....looks more like cloth ones...

Edit: ok. Did a little googlling...they're PVA/Synthetic....
Meaning it is the same as the one from Osren? I think Osren is only selling for RM40, right?

I like how this chamois dry as well, even thought you have to do it twice. But I find it very effective, compare to WW.

So what I did was, 1 round chamois, 1 round WW. Dry like under a hot sun.
Quazacolt
post May 19 2013, 03:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 19 2013, 03:29 PM)
So what I did was, 1 round chamois, 1 round WW. Dry like under a hot sun.
While it's double work, you'll definitely have a more thorough drying and would be getting the best of both worlds or rather, eliminating the streaks that chamois would cause
MyWifeCar
post May 19 2013, 04:48 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2013, 10:02 PM)
there are cheaper waffle weaves for similar or even better performance laugh.gif
Where got cheaper WW?
Quazacolt
post May 19 2013, 04:51 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 19 2013, 04:48 PM)
Where got cheaper WW?
Osren/duragloss pricing not bad
KyeLunC
post May 19 2013, 05:52 PM

19 posts

Guys, is there any good wet looking tyre polish with a reasonable price recommended?
KC's
post May 19 2013, 07:36 PM

who is your favourite car Detailer? who inspire and spurs you up into action!!!

who's who and where's where to be found!!!!

A) Todd Helme - The fampous Buffest 2011- The Buffeast- Lamborghini/DeTomaso/SL300 Gullwing/Ghia and more
click here

B) Mike Phillips - The Famous Guru in car detailing & Director of Training in Autogeek & author of The Art Of Detailing - Proper Techniques, Tips and Tricks to Achieve a Show Car Shine
Click here

c) Paul Dalton - Miracle detail (uk) the most expensive detailer in the world Click here

D) Scott Wax - one of the most famous mobile Detailer
Click here

E) Michael Stoops - Director of Training in Meguiars click here

F) David Fermani
Click here

G) Thomas Tdekny his work can be found here

have a fun fill evening
TSKrisMas
post May 19 2013, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(popice2u @ May 19 2013, 12:32 PM)
i own a white car. 1 month din wash d......can see body mcm berminyak.....wash also not white clean......ada cara yg lebih effective aaah?
It is, in a sense, oil - traffic/oil film, smoke emission from vehicle, etc. Something like how your skin would feel and look when wiping with a tissue paper after a few hours walking around in the middle of KL. You should be able to easily remove it with a light polish or an All-In-One (AIO) like Duragloss 501, 3M One Step Cleaner Wax, Meguairs Ultimate Polish or the like. You can also strip it with a 'chemical wash' using a mild all purpose cleaner, but just remember to wax your car again afterwards.

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ May 19 2013, 01:03 PM)
The roof of my car has some dirt stain (dark colour, looks greasy and won't go away). I don't know how to remove them.

Edit : I used make up remover (water based) and it came out A VERY LITTLE TINY WEENIE bit. If I don't use anything and use my bare fingers, it can come out easily. What dirt is this? hmm.gif
I guess a white car also. See above.

QUOTE(KyeLunC @ May 19 2013, 05:52 PM)
Guys, is there any good wet looking tyre polish with a reasonable price recommended?
hhrrmmm.....define reasonable please... tongue.gif ?
popice2u
post May 19 2013, 08:58 PM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 19 2013, 08:17 PM)
It is, in a sense, oil - traffic/oil film, smoke emission from vehicle, etc. Something like how your skin would feel and look when wiping with a tissue paper after a few hours walking around in the middle of KL. You should be able to easily remove it with a light polish or an All-In-One (AIO) like Duragloss 501, 3M One Step Cleaner Wax, Meguairs Ultimate Polish or the like. You can also strip it with a 'chemical wash' using a mild all purpose cleaner, but just remember to wax your car again afterwards.
which one is more effortless?

TSKrisMas
post May 19 2013, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(popice2u @ May 19 2013, 08:58 PM)
which one is more effortless?
Aisay...easy way out (but also with higher risks) is using an all purpose cleaner....spray and wipe with damp cloth, then wash normally afterwards to remove/rinse off the apc. Cloth would get dirty very quickly...clean/rinse the cloth regularly (dirty cloths creates swirls...especially when you're removing these kinda dirt, but I don't think you would mind much about it). Avoid working under the sun...and don't expect the paint to be shiny afterwards....but it would look very clean.
Quazacolt
post May 20 2013, 03:53 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 2 2013, 09:23 PM)

thanks to sifu KrisMas i totally found the holy grail of wheel cleaner:

basically sonax wheel cleaner and/or megs WB combo (atm i'm using TW until i can get my hands on megs)

1) just the sonax alone, spray product (i spray a lot, basically almost finished KrisMas febreeze in just 2 front wheels, rear drums anyways)
2) leave on 30sec - 1min +/-
3) water down (slightly high pressure)

VOILA CLEAN NO NEED SCRUBBING LOL

i then proceed to spray some TW wheel cleaner (http://www.turtlewax.com/detail-F21%20Wheel%20Cleaner-44-117.aspx) just to further wash off sonax and whatever else that sonax loosened up (but isn't meant to clean, kinda complicated and it took a while for krismas to explain it to me haha) and yeah, i finally get what everyone meant by sonax wheel cleaner's smell LOL

anyways after i did a second water down for the TW wheel cleaner (obviously did this for the rear wheels as well haha), i did a minor test by poking in my finger to the rotors, did a few rubs on the surface and guess what...

i totally and absolutely no longer need to use the wheel brush anymore! effectively cut down AT LEAST 20-30 minutes on scrubbing all 4 wheels!

now... where can i get more of that product? need a gallon or something keeping stock unsure.gif
oh and what should i do with the wheel brush sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post May 20 2013, 04:40 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

Update:

as the wheels dried up and i was applying tire/rubber dressing, i took a few rubs with my fingers between the rim spokes and crevices. sadly there are still some dirt, however its really light and just mere water is capable of washing them off my fingers easily.

bear in mind though, it's around 3 weeks no car wash (i think since TT? LOL), a lot of spirited driving (which means a lot of hard braking) including a touge trip at genting sempah/genting highlands/karak just 2 days ago (friday night saturday morning) and again, no scrubbing or whatsoever at all smile.gif
patienceGNR
post May 20 2013, 06:18 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 19 2013, 08:17 PM)
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 19 2013, 10:29 PM)
Aisay...easy way out (but also with higher risks) is using an all purpose cleaner....spray and wipe with damp cloth, then wash normally afterwards to remove/rinse off the apc. Cloth would get dirty very quickly...clean/rinse the cloth regularly (dirty cloths creates swirls...especially when you're removing these kinda dirt, but I don't think you would mind much about it). Avoid working under the sun...and don't expect the paint to be shiny afterwards....but it would look very clean.
Thank you very much. Will try out later. I hope the AIO one works later and not too expensive.

133 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:29 PM