EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

dasecret
post Oct 3 2016, 01:02 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(kpfun @ Oct 1 2016, 10:35 AM)
EPF should retain at least 50% of the sum for gradually withdrawal during retirement.

I have seen many folks who are pittyful begging for monthly allowance from their children, after spending all their EPF saving, either for self use, or  family purpose.
QUOTE(kpfun @ Oct 2 2016, 09:57 AM)
Frequent visitors to this thread generally are like you. But, I strongly believe that we are not the majority.

By visiting the threads like "AKPK, Debt Issues", and "CCRIS, CTOS, Blacklisted by Ban", we can know that how poor these people in money management.

Basically, their minds has nothing other than thinking of where they can borrow money!
I agree with you; that's the singapore CPF model. But if you talk to people in Singapore, they are not happy with that model. Why? Same as Msians, the gov don't want to give me the money I rightfully own and kept me away from it

What they don't realise is, most of the time the gov is protecting themselves from doing stupid things with their own money and increase the social burden of the government in the form of free healthcare and other social support costs.

The only way to do this would be mandatory application to all contributors; when you leave it voluntary, everyone 'thinks' they have discipline over their own money, or money in my hands better than in the gov's hands and withdraw fully anyway

I expect it'll come some day, sooner or later they need to
Hansel
post Oct 3 2016, 04:15 PM

9,361 posts

The problem we have with this place is the trust that people have with the govt, and with letting the govt manage their money.

The environment is different in Sgp. The govt will take of its people.
nexona88
post Oct 4 2016, 05:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

The federal government is studying the possibility to allow first-time home buyers to withdraw more money from their Employees Provident Fund (EPF) account to finance their affordable house purchases.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/p...withdrawal-plan

wil-i-am
post Oct 4 2016, 05:42 PM

10,001 posts

I foresee EPF will accede to Putrajaya request to increase d % in A/C 2 which will trigger re-rating of selected property stocks listed in Bursa
plumberly
post Oct 5 2016, 08:58 AM

4,761 posts

Asking myself when I read the news this morning on EPF allowing members to withdraw more money for their houses, will that result in EPF having less money to invest?

Another question comes to mind, how much cash does EPF hold in their daily operation? Why? This money is not working for us at all! Ha.
romuluz777
post Oct 5 2016, 10:29 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(kpfun @ Oct 2 2016, 10:57 AM)
Frequent visitors to this thread generally are like you. But, I strongly believe that we are not the majority.

By visiting the threads like "AKPK, Debt Issues", and "CCRIS, CTOS, Blacklisted by Ban", we can know that how poor these people in money management.

Basically, their minds has nothing other than thinking of where they can borrow money!
Post-55, I would choose to keep most of the cash in the EPF as is, but I would insist to have the option and right to totally clean it out if necessary.

Wouldn't want the govt to tell me what I can or cannot do with my hard earned money.

wil-i-am
post Oct 5 2016, 11:39 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 5 2016, 08:58 AM)
Asking myself when I read the news this morning on EPF allowing members to withdraw more money for their houses, will that result in EPF having less money to invest?

Another question comes to mind, how much cash does EPF hold in their daily operation? Why? This money is not working for us at all! Ha.
'Buy 1st hse' contributed less than 5% of total withdrawal in 2015
Thus, I wud opined tat EPF have sufficient funds for investments n bau

nexona88
post Oct 5 2016, 11:43 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 5 2016, 08:58 AM)

actually EPF would be more happy. less headache to find investments to pay contributors.

property developers also happy. can somehow help the soft market now.

so it's win win situation cool2.gif
prophetjul
post Oct 6 2016, 09:49 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2016, 05:21 PM)
The federal government is studying the possibility to allow first-time home buyers to withdraw more money from their Employees Provident Fund (EPF) account to finance their affordable house purchases.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/p...withdrawal-plan
40% and these people won't be able to retire.

retirement age will go up to 70 years young
dasecret
post Oct 6 2016, 10:37 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2016, 09:49 AM)
40% and these people won't be able to retire.

retirement age will go up to 70 years young
Correct. On the assumption that people use up the 40% Acct 2 balance to pay house instalment; effectively the retirement savings is only 23%*60% and thats only 13.8%. Enough ka? This would effectively leave more people that has less than the minimum savings amount at retirement. What objective does it meet exactly? Make housing developers richer?
sony88
post Oct 6 2016, 10:49 AM

85 posts

IS the epf money can be take out whenever i want to buy house during my young age ??
nexona88
post Oct 6 2016, 11:26 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 6 2016, 10:37 AM)
Correct. On the assumption that people use up the 40% Acct 2 balance to pay house instalment; effectively the retirement savings is only 23%*60% and thats only 13.8%. Enough ka? This would effectively leave more people that has less than the minimum savings amount at retirement. What objective does it meet exactly? Make housing developers richer?
What else..
Housing market is kinda weak nowadays..
Then there's endless rumawip projects build by AK group.. How u sell all those units..
dasecret
post Oct 6 2016, 11:37 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 6 2016, 11:26 AM)
What else..
Housing market is kinda weak nowadays..
Then there's endless rumawip projects build by AK group.. How u sell all those units..
Yeah, that AK group is scary. I would stay away. At the rate that they are going, the risk of liquidity at the developer's end is very high. HDA type SPA generally means the developer has to have lots of own funds to cover the cashflow needs in the beginning of the project and the profit only materialises towards the end.
nexona88
post Oct 6 2016, 12:57 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 6 2016, 11:37 AM)
Yeah, that AK group is scary. I would stay away. At the rate that they are going, the risk of liquidity at the developer's end is very high. HDA type SPA generally means the developer has to have lots of own funds to cover the cashflow needs in the beginning of the project and the profit only materialises towards the end.
some are saying the person behind AK group is some timber tycoon. So money is no problem.

the connection is very strong. that's why DBKL strategic land all they can get.

until EPF also they can "influence". so people can withdraw more for housing devil.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(sony88 @ Oct 6 2016, 10:49 AM)
IS the epf money can be take out whenever i want to buy house during my young age ??
Yes subject to u meet certain criteria(s) imposed by EPF
nexona88
post Oct 6 2016, 02:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(sony88 @ Oct 6 2016, 10:49 AM)
yup. sure can.

u needed to refer to EPF for the criteria needed icon_rolleyes.gif
sony88
post Oct 6 2016, 02:09 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM)
Yes subject to u meet certain criteria(s) imposed by EPF
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 6 2016, 02:01 PM)
yup. sure can.

u needed to refer to EPF for the criteria needed  icon_rolleyes.gif
mind to share the detail to me ?