1306 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

TC-Titan
post May 25 2016, 09:51 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

Small matter if EPF makes less money this quarter compared to corresponding or preceding quarter. Key thing is they are still making money!
If they are making actual losses, then it's not cool!
prophetjul
post May 25 2016, 10:02 AM

12,268 posts

Does anyone know how the EPF accounting is done?

Are these realised profits?

And what about those shares which are underwater? Are provisions taken to reflect the losses?

Just wondering

prophetjul
post May 25 2016, 10:17 AM

12,268 posts

This MYR6.78 bil is the Lowest qtr in the last 17 qtrs except one, ie the 1Qtr13 whihc was 5.6bil.

Doesn't look good considering the last qtr being NMYR9.58bil.

Msia economy slowing down this year

So expect a big haircut on dividends this year
annas473
post May 25 2016, 10:22 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 25 2016, 10:17 AM)
This MYR6.78 bil is the Lowest qtr in the last 17 qtrs except one, ie the 1Qtr13 whihc was 5.6bil.

Doesn't look good considering the last qtr being NMYR9.58bil.

Msia economy slowing down this year

So expect a big haircut on dividends this year
Noted. Thanks for the highlight.
dasecret
post May 25 2016, 02:50 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 25 2016, 10:02 AM)

And what about those shares which are underwater? Are provisions taken to reflect the losses?

Just wondering
Read here http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/documents/10..._FINANCIALS.pdf

The technically correct answer would take too long to write. The short answer is, the unrealised profits are not entirely reflected in the profit after tax used to distribute dividends to contributors

The good news is, over the years there were unrealised profits built up; so although the last 2 years there were unrealised losses, it's not a situation like Tabung Haji yet

But to be fair... does anyone even care other than the beancounters?

This post has been edited by dasecret: May 25 2016, 04:21 PM
Hansel
post May 25 2016, 02:51 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 24 2016, 09:23 PM)
Let say malaysia down, are epf still will keep our money?
And due to politic issue, our PM use epf money go invest some useless share.
I am worry our epf money will suck dry n pay debt for other country.
True also,... it sill does not mean that if you put the money somewhere, it can't disappear,...
prophetjul
post May 25 2016, 04:38 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 25 2016, 02:50 PM)

As a shareholder, Yeah i am interested how well my fund is doing. No?
Hansel
post May 25 2016, 04:53 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 25 2016, 04:28 PM)
Silly
Value money become small
U go ahead keep your money in epf
You put into EPF, you're afraid someone may take it all.

But of you put into investments, the investments can fail too.

So,... I diversify, you invest and put some in EPF. It is silly and equally naive to think that the EPF is the only dangerous vehicle in this world, and totally ignorant and uninformed to think that when one speaks of EPF, he is only keen to hold his money is cash.
dasecret
post May 25 2016, 05:18 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 25 2016, 02:50 PM)

The technically correct answer would take too long to write. The short answer is, the unrealised profits are not entirely reflected in the profit after tax used to distribute dividends to contributors

The good news is, over the years there were unrealised profits built up; so although the last 2 years there were unrealised losses, it's not a situation like Tabung Haji yet

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 25 2016, 04:38 PM)
As a shareholder, Yeah i am interested how well my fund is doing. No?
In that case you should read the annual report. In fact, read and share your findings here
Ramjade
post May 25 2016, 05:37 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 25 2016, 05:07 PM)
Lol funny u talk
Use your knowledge dun always stick to epf
Thay why u guy cannot get rich
While i 28 can buy 5 acre land n 1 house double storey
Go ahead with ur epf
Hansel if only he know. laugh.gif tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 25 2016, 05:41 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 25 2016, 05:37 PM)
Hansel if only he know. laugh.gif tongue.gif
bwhahaah - yeah, if only our burger lover knows

momma told me not to argue with idiots,
they'll drag me down to their level & beat me with experience in idiocy

Also funny is when people with broken English is pointing out other's level of English proficiency.
Self-proclaimed "Master of the Universe" with land and property laugh.gif

sigh.. damn.. i hope i didn't sound like that when i was his age bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 25 2016, 05:45 PM
prophetjul
post May 25 2016, 05:50 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 25 2016, 05:18 PM)
In that case you should read the annual report. In fact, read and share your findings here
i will when i have the time, which is kinda of a luxury at the moment
LNYC
post May 25 2016, 06:41 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 25 2016, 05:07 PM)
Lol funny u talk
Use your knowledge dun always stick to epf
Thay why u guy cannot get rich
While i 28 can buy 5 acre land n 1 house double storey
Go ahead with ur epf
Hi Mr Burger, what a great fortune u made in a young age... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

But Mr Hansel has his point, where, different people has different risk appetite. we cant simply judge a person just because we have different investment/saving pattern.

and..since u are so good at investing your fortune, if you dont mind, could you please share the tips here.
LNYC
post May 25 2016, 07:00 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 25 2016, 06:50 PM)
Yeah mr hansel have his point n i agree
I sure mr hansel have more knowledge than me
What i worry is this monkey finance are trying to loot our epf money with lot reason
Sometimes i worried too~~ bye.gif bye.gif
but thinking of the tax exemption from the epf..so..effective saving could be more..

Secondly...withdrawing money from acct 2 to reduce money in epf...for housing loan or study.

comparing to savings acct, and the inflation rate, somehow, epf is quite safe...

above is my naive idea....

and dont forget the ponzi scheme of epf style... blush.gif blush.gif somehow there are always new comers..
Showtime747
post May 25 2016, 07:39 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 25 2016, 10:02 AM)

Just wondering
Boss, there are many types of investment held by EPF. Yes, they are realised profits (interest, dividend, trading capital gain, rental etc). For losses, I guess you are interested to know EPF's investment in stock market whether they recognise unrealised losses ? Ie. if share price drop below their purchase price, do they recognise paper losses ? Short answer is "yes"

To have a better perspective, let's look at all the investment assets EPF is holding, then we can have a better idea overall :

1. Available-for-sale financial assets RM340b 45%
2. Held-to-maturity investment assets RM220b 30%
3. Loans, Advance and Financing RM100b 13%
4. Others (properties, Bank FDs etc) RM90b 12%

Total = RM750b

1. This is what you are interested to know -- the equity investment in stock market both domestic and overseas, quoted and unquoted. They are stated at fair value (market value if quoted) with the gain/loss eventually be recognised through either P&L or reserve

2. Mostly MGS, which has no impairment. For Private Debt Securities, the usual impairment is recognised

3. Mostly loans given to entity not quoted in active market through both EPF and its subsidiaries (including guaranteed loans and islamic loan). Impairment are recognised too

4. Mostly property investment and FD/Bank deposits. If there is an impairment in property investment (determine by property valuation report), then the losses is reflected. No impairment for FD/Bank deposits.

For forex, the gain/loss for the assets are taken into account at spot rate at year end. So, yes, they take in the forex gains and losses too (recognised forex gain in 2015 as expected)

Overall, yes they recognise losses/impairment when necessary and probable. In fact, they have very long and detailed accounting policy on the basis of recognising the loss/impairment. But there are some assets which losses/impairment are not applicable like MGS and local currency FD

Above is my quick read on the report. Anybody please feel free to add/correct the above extract thumbup.gif
dasecret
post May 25 2016, 09:21 PM

1,498 posts

Actually the investment section disclosed the asset allocation

"As at 31 December 2015, a total of 51.1% of the EPF’s investment was invested in fixed income instruments, 43.8% in equity investments, and the remaining 1.9% and 3.2% in money market instruments and in a on asset class respectively."

And the foreign allocation is 25%

Another thing to add is, impairment charge goes through income statement while the changes in fair value of equity goes thru OCI. You may ask what is the difference. The profit after tax distributed to contributors is determined after considering the impairment charges but before considering the fair value losses in equity.

As mentioned in previous post, the non-distributable AFS reserve is still in the blacks from previous years unrealized profits although this year there is a 6billion unrealized loss. But to be fair, 6b loss is not that much considering the total equity portfolio and it is half of 2014 losses.
It's actually performing better than some of the MIS approved funds out there
Showtime747
post May 26 2016, 08:22 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 25 2016, 09:21 PM)
Actually the investment section disclosed the asset allocation

"As at 31 December 2015, a total of 51.1% of the EPF’s investment was invested in  fixed income instruments, 43.8% in equity investments, and the remaining 1.9% and 3.2% in money market instruments and in a on asset class respectively."

And the foreign allocation is 25%

Another thing to add is, impairment charge goes through income statement while the changes in fair value of equity goes thru OCI. You may ask what is the difference. The profit after tax distributed to contributors is determined after considering the impairment charges but before considering the fair value losses in equity.

As mentioned in previous post, the non-distributable AFS reserve is still in the blacks from previous years unrealized profits although this year there is a 6billion unrealized loss. But to be fair, 6b loss is not that much considering the total equity portfolio and it is half of 2014 losses.
It's actually performing better than some of the MIS approved funds out there
thumbup.gif

Just to clarify, what is OCI ? How is the accounting of changes in fair value of stock investment carried out ?

Does it work this way ?

1. Impairment (more permanent in nature) - charge to P&L
2. Loss in acquisition cost vs market price (temporary in nature) - charge to reserve, not affecting current year P&L

notworthy.gif
prophetjul
post May 26 2016, 08:36 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ May 25 2016, 07:39 PM)
Show!

Thanks for sharing! It's good to know that EPF uses good and transparent accounting for its shareholders.
The above is a big help to understanding how EPF delivers its figures. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
dasecret
post May 26 2016, 10:39 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ May 26 2016, 08:22 AM)
thumbup.gif

Just to clarify, what is OCI ? How is the accounting of changes in fair value of stock investment carried out ?

Does it work this way ?

1. Impairment (more permanent in nature) - charge to P&L
2. Loss in acquisition cost vs market price (temporary in nature) - charge to reserve, not affecting current year P&L

notworthy.gif
OCI - Other comprehensive income, or in this case, other comprehensive losses; page 110. It goes into the available for sale reserves in statement of changes in members fund on page 112

Yeah, 1 goes to P&L and 2 goes to a non-distributable reserves

wil-i-am
post May 26 2016, 01:42 PM

10,001 posts

With the reduction of income in Q1/2016, hope EPF can target at least 6% dividend income for tis yr

1306 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:45 PM