EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Showtime747
post Jan 22 2014, 10:08 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(felixwang @ Jan 17 2014, 06:12 PM)
EPF has hinted dividend may be lower for 2013 in June, 2013.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/744767
......as such, everybody should withdraw from EPF and invest in mutual funds......

tongue.gif tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 23 2014, 05:14 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 23 2014, 04:34 PM)
R u a UT consultant?
Looks like my English is really bad. Look at the avatar and signature of the person I am replying to. I am being sarcastic there but it ended up I was promoting UT tongue.gif

High risk high return. Low risk low return. How can we compare EPF with UT. But there are UT agents trying to sell their products by comparing them. Utterly unprofessional doh.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 23 2014, 05:15 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:05 PM)
better think twice when investing your money...

EPF Holders Lost Money in Unit Trusts

just because many people think that kwsp is not their money, they ended up making more lost when they invested at the wrong or non-performing unit trusts..
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Feb 9 2014, 05:16 PM

4,258 posts

Share market is good in 2013. How can it be worse off than 2012 ? Furthermore, Kajang by election is coming. Unless they know they have no hope in the by election and dont care how the EPF members think
Showtime747
post Feb 11 2014, 09:45 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 11 2014, 08:48 PM)
So the media must be talking kok lately?
"No way" is too definitive a word. Especially in politics. All laws are in Selangor constitution. If the Selangor government really want to, they can amend the constitution. Have they got 2/3 majority ?
Showtime747
post Jan 27 2016, 03:32 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 27 2016, 11:30 AM)
My statement for the last few weeks : When times are good, everybody parties. When bad times come, all this pain sets upon us.

Another statement : When the tide goes out, we can see who is swimming naked. The second statement was from Marc Faber many years ago, the Doctor of Doom. He is now staying in Chiangmai, enjoying himself in the cold with three pretty housekeepers.  nod.gif
When times are good, everybody parties. When bad times come, the bold seize the opportunities

When the tide goes out, we can see who has the biggest balls

thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Feb 11 2016, 10:01 AM

4,258 posts

2015 was a good year in RM terms. Portfolio with foreign currency assets should give overall returns of 10% or more. If EPF can give 6% for 2014, then last year should be better

But they will keep some under their sleeve because 2016 had a bad start. In RM terms it could be -10% sweat.gif
Showtime747
post May 25 2016, 07:39 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 25 2016, 10:02 AM)
Does anyone know how the EPF accounting is done?

Are these realised profits?

And what about those shares which are underwater? Are provisions taken to reflect the losses?

Just wondering
Boss, there are many types of investment held by EPF. Yes, they are realised profits (interest, dividend, trading capital gain, rental etc). For losses, I guess you are interested to know EPF's investment in stock market whether they recognise unrealised losses ? Ie. if share price drop below their purchase price, do they recognise paper losses ? Short answer is "yes"

To have a better perspective, let's look at all the investment assets EPF is holding, then we can have a better idea overall :

1. Available-for-sale financial assets RM340b 45%
2. Held-to-maturity investment assets RM220b 30%
3. Loans, Advance and Financing RM100b 13%
4. Others (properties, Bank FDs etc) RM90b 12%

Total = RM750b

1. This is what you are interested to know -- the equity investment in stock market both domestic and overseas, quoted and unquoted. They are stated at fair value (market value if quoted) with the gain/loss eventually be recognised through either P&L or reserve

2. Mostly MGS, which has no impairment. For Private Debt Securities, the usual impairment is recognised

3. Mostly loans given to entity not quoted in active market through both EPF and its subsidiaries (including guaranteed loans and islamic loan). Impairment are recognised too

4. Mostly property investment and FD/Bank deposits. If there is an impairment in property investment (determine by property valuation report), then the losses is reflected. No impairment for FD/Bank deposits.

For forex, the gain/loss for the assets are taken into account at spot rate at year end. So, yes, they take in the forex gains and losses too (recognised forex gain in 2015 as expected)

Overall, yes they recognise losses/impairment when necessary and probable. In fact, they have very long and detailed accounting policy on the basis of recognising the loss/impairment. But there are some assets which losses/impairment are not applicable like MGS and local currency FD

Above is my quick read on the report. Anybody please feel free to add/correct the above extract thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post May 26 2016, 08:22 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 25 2016, 09:21 PM)
Actually the investment section disclosed the asset allocation

"As at 31 December 2015, a total of 51.1% of the EPF’s investment was invested in  fixed income instruments, 43.8% in equity investments, and the remaining 1.9% and 3.2% in money market instruments and in a on asset class respectively."

And the foreign allocation is 25%

Another thing to add is, impairment charge goes through income statement while the changes in fair value of equity goes thru OCI. You may ask what is the difference. The profit after tax distributed to contributors is determined after considering the impairment charges but before considering the fair value losses in equity.

As mentioned in previous post, the non-distributable AFS reserve is still in the blacks from previous years unrealized profits although this year there is a 6billion unrealized loss. But to be fair, 6b loss is not that much considering the total equity portfolio and it is half of 2014 losses.
It's actually performing better than some of the MIS approved funds out there
thumbup.gif

Just to clarify, what is OCI ? How is the accounting of changes in fair value of stock investment carried out ?

Does it work this way ?

1. Impairment (more permanent in nature) - charge to P&L
2. Loss in acquisition cost vs market price (temporary in nature) - charge to reserve, not affecting current year P&L

notworthy.gif
Showtime747
post May 26 2016, 02:11 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 26 2016, 10:39 AM)
OCI - Other comprehensive income, or in this case, other comprehensive losses; page 110. It goes into the available for sale reserves in statement of changes in members fund on page 112

Yeah, 1 goes to P&L and 2 goes to a non-distributable reserves
Thanks for the clarification thumbup.gif

Boss prophet, as clarified by dasecret, the market movements of share prices which is temporarily showing capital gain/loss is not reflected in the P&L (hence, Not distributable to the members). But to present a fair picture of EPF's performance for the year, the gain/loss is adjusted in the reserve account.

I would think this is a very fair practice, as short term market movement is very common. EPF wouldn't want to face with a situation during year end when a sudden price surge/plunge happens and cause it's P&L affected by the short term movement. This will show a distorted picture on its performance of the whole year. Instead only impairment more permanent in nature is charged to P&L
Showtime747
post May 26 2016, 02:32 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2016, 02:21 PM)
If 4.xx% better put promo rate FD liao. Can feel the thrill of putting FD again after so long. But me no EPF account. tongue.gif

Btw, if one is not working yet, can we apply for a EPF account? Need to go to EPF branch or can apply from bank like maybank, cimb? Thanks guys.
Spell out the "E" in EPF and you will get the answer
Showtime747
post Jun 4 2016, 04:45 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 4 2016, 04:18 PM)
oh - for UT funded via EPF?
but er.. what's that  gotta do with PRS?
Wong seafood teasing someone without experience in epf and prs.... biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 4 2016, 10:11 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 4 2016, 05:09 PM)
seriously leh - not teasing
if donkey EPF thinggy affects "across the fence" PRS thinggy.. i want to know leh sweat.gif
Aiyoh...sifu want to be 100% sure thumbup.gif

Not the first time our LYN FBI resident investment student make blunders..... biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 14 2016, 06:27 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 14 2016, 12:16 AM)
As if you never make blunder.
Son, can't remember when did I make a blunder. Must have been a long time.

If I make a blunder, I would have thank the person pointing out my blunder. He tought me something and I am grateful

Not like some impolite person asking back a question passing as an answer biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2016, 02:09 PM

4,258 posts

I wonder those who doubt the country's administration have made arrangement to move out of the country ?

There are many brilliant people migrated. Because they don't trust the administration any more. They felt that the taxes they pay are being abused. They don't get equal treatment, and of course they don't trust EPF too where their retirement funds are kept...

We have been talking about "the ship is going to sink" for many years (remind me of unker dreamer biggrin.gif ). But yet outsiders (world bank, credit rating agencies etc) think otherwise.

At least unker dreamer walk the talk. He said bye bye to malaysia...
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2016, 02:21 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 8 2016, 02:17 PM)
thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif

I moved my children out,... I've walked the talk too,.... thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2016, 02:56 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 8 2016, 02:36 PM)

My children are still young,.. not of university age yet,.. moving them out is more expensive,.. but no choice-lar, bro,...
I think you made the best move. I have been through that too.

Malaysia is bad, but not that bad lah. But for long term, it is better to diversify outside. No harm. If one day touch wood the ship really sink like unker said, at least got some thing to fall on to

But right now, the ship is still moving. So your strategy of keeping more outside and a portion inside is still the best and forward looking
Showtime747
post Jan 1 2017, 12:22 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Dec 30 2016, 03:26 PM)
Is it correct to say that for a lazy investor, EPF is the best investment vehicle? Because:

- the dividend is quite good (so far), with a guaranteed rate of 2.5%
- you're getting 6k tax relief
- the returns are tax exempted
- you're getting free money from your employer (12%-16%, depending on where you work)

Basically, all you have to do is nothing (including not touching the money for 30 years), and you can easily get RM1mil+ when you retire (which is quite good for not doing anything), assuming that you have a modest income, and get around 3% increment annually.

Is that correct, or is there something I'm missing?
I am playing devil's advocate biggrin.gif

1. the dividend is quite good (so far), with a guaranteed rate of 2.5%

Good in the sense that it is guaranteed by the government (low risk). Bad if you compared to other government guaranteed funds like ASB. And if you willing to take higher risk, then there are better investment returns elsewhere (some 10+% depending on your investment acumen)

2.you're getting 6k tax relief

You can get the same 6k relief with insurance.

3. the returns are tax exempted

Returns from capital gain is also tax exempt. Dividends from stock is also 1 tier dividend which has no more tax in the hands of stock holder

4. you're getting free money from your employer (12%-16%, depending on where you work)

Look at it another way, it is the money which your employer can't pay you because they have to contribute their share to your EPF account. It is imputed in your net salary

Other negatives of EPF :

1. It is in RM, which in 2015 and 2016 has depreciated from 3.0 to 4.5 in USD terms. That is 50% depreciation which takes 8+ years of 6% dividend. In another words, 8 years of dividend gone to the drain in USD terms

2. It is money you can't use until 55 y/o. No flexibility

3. Money is lent to government and GLC. You heard the news of how they spend money ?

4. How safe is the guarantee from the government ?

5. If really EPF payout is only 2.5%, it is a bad investment. I think even 4% like FD, everybody will jump and complain. And it might happen very soon

Showtime747
post Jan 27 2018, 08:07 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Jan 27 2018, 12:25 AM)
Gold is traded in USD.  It should be use as reference to calculate the compound gain from gold investment over time.  You should not confuse forex gain as part of the gain in the gold value when traded in local currency (other than USD).
So, don’t complain about imported food price since they are quoted in forex ?

Your logic is very laughable biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 27 2018, 10:08 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Jan 27 2018, 09:11 AM)
If gold performance is based on local currency and forex gain/loss is consider as part of the gold value, different countries will have different CAGR figure which can varies widely depending on the local currency performance againts USD.  Zimbabwe may hv CAGR +100%, while Japan may be -3% (just example).  Which sound even not logic considering that its a same item.
Yes, different country will have different CAGR, based on the home currency. Why must it be all quoted in USD ?

All companies take into account of forex gain/loss in accordance to accounting standard. That's why those companies earn in forex their share price shoot up like mad during RM depreciation. Do you deduct the share price because of currency gain ?

EPF takes into account the forex gain/loss for their overseas investment

Funds sold in RM take into account of forex gain/loss when they report their CAGR

Our imported food experience inflation because we buy in RM

Those Zimbabwe people if they have foresight, they would have gain in forex because they can convert their USD back to buy a lot of stuff.

You may personally view it differently, but all others do take into account forex gain/loss in terms of base currency

0.0779sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:35 AM