Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V17
Xefron
Apr 25 2013, 04:46 PM
or maybe try this ....
Port 1 and 2 as VLAN 500 Port 3 and 4 as VLAN 600 for TPLINK.....
then connect Port 3 (Asus) to Port 1 (Tplink),Port 2 (Tplink) to PC 1 then connect Port 4 (Asus) to Port 3 (Tplink),Port 4 (Tplink) to UniFI STB
lcly
Apr 25 2013, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(Xefron @ Apr 25 2013, 04:46 PM) or maybe try this .... Port 1 and 2 as VLAN 500 Port 3 and 4 as VLAN 600 for TPLINK..... then connect Port 3 (Asus) to Port 1 (Tplink),Port 2 (Tplink) to PC 1 then connect Port 4 (Asus) to Port 3 (Tplink),Port 4 (Tplink) to UniFI STB Is that really can work?  So below diagram should work prefect right? This post has been edited by lcly: Apr 25 2013, 05:41 PM
DecaPix
Apr 25 2013, 06:43 PM
from the diagram, you have 2 LAN cable going up to switch (TL-SL2210WEB) Why dont you just use the cable to connect directly to the IPTV?
why complicate things by tagging and untagging?
lcly
Apr 25 2013, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Apr 25 2013, 06:43 PM) from the diagram, you have 2 LAN cable going up to switch (TL-SL2210WEB) Why dont you just use the cable to connect directly to the IPTV? why complicate things by tagging and untagging? Because it is at different location, i got ready cable from RG to switch and switch to the room. No ready cable from RG to room directly.
jovial
Apr 25 2013, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(lcly @ Apr 25 2013, 06:54 PM) Because it is at different location, i got ready cable from RG to switch and switch to the room. No ready cable from RG to room directly.  Just buy a rj45 to rj45 connector and connect the cable that comes from the RG Port4 to your cable that goes to our hypptv. It's a 5 ringgit connector
DecaPix
Apr 26 2013, 08:54 AM
You need to draw the boundary line also. Now i can only assume the gateway is in the store down stairs and the switch is upstairs From your diagram, there's 2 LAN cable going up Port3<->Port1 and Port 4 <->Port 7.
Xefron
Apr 26 2013, 09:13 AM
izzit working ?
kimyee73
Apr 26 2013, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(lcly @ Apr 25 2013, 10:14 AM)  Is the tm iptv still working for the above setup? Can you configure the Asus router to output both VLAN 500 and 600 on same port? This way you can perform VLAN trunking and get another switch or router to split them up at your other room. I did that using Mikrotik routers but not sure if can do that on Asus.
kimyee73
Apr 26 2013, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(lcly @ Apr 25 2013, 05:05 PM) I though you just want 1 LAN cable to your switch? Now you have 2. I already have 1 LAN cable concealed and no choice to use VLAN trunking method other than hacking the wall.
milky
Apr 26 2013, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Apr 18 2013, 05:53 PM) i tried using my old DIR-615 and flash my TL-WR1043ND, now it's dead. can't even do failsafe. the sys light is not blinking. shyt man. lol. still any hope? coz i'm also in your situation.. i flash the wrong openwrt.. my 1043nd is 1.10
lcly
Apr 26 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 25 2013, 08:27 PM) Just buy a rj45 to rj45 connector and connect the cable that comes from the RG Port4 to your cable that goes to our hypptv. It's a 5 ringgit connector thank. Your idea is great. But just think if the switch able to configure it. Then i don't need to buy the connector.
lcly
Apr 26 2013, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Apr 26 2013, 08:54 AM) You need to draw the boundary line also. Now i can only assume the gateway is in the store down stairs and the switch is upstairs From your diagram, there's 2 LAN cable going up Port3<->Port1 and Port 4 <->Port 7. Sorry for not draw the diagram with boundary to make it clear. My switch is at ceiling, so easy for cat6 to round whole house. Then gateway is on living room beside tv cabinet, so cable will not look so messy there.
lcly
Apr 26 2013, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Xefron @ Apr 26 2013, 09:13 AM) Not tested yet. I ask before purchase the equipment. Will let all know once success.
lcly
Apr 26 2013, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 26 2013, 11:43 AM) Can you configure the Asus router to output both VLAN 500 and 600 on same port? This way you can perform VLAN trunking and get another switch or router to split them up at your other room. I did that using Mikrotik routers but not sure if can do that on Asus. Currently i don't have asus router to test. Hopefully able to trunk vlan500 and 600 on same port.
xHj09
Apr 26 2013, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Apr 26 2013, 03:38 PM) still any hope? coz i'm also in your situation.. i flash the wrong openwrt.. my 1043nd is 1.10 nope, totally no hope. flashing voids warranty. i took back to the shop i bought it from and replaced with Asus RT-N12U and topped up RM30 for 2 TP-Link 8 dBi antennas. working good now.
dewa_poyo
Apr 26 2013, 05:53 PM

add me in VIP 5:D
jovial
Apr 26 2013, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(lcly @ Apr 26 2013, 05:43 PM) thank. Your idea is great. But just think if the switch able to configure it. Then i don't need to buy the connector. Don't complicate matters... QUOTE(lcly @ Apr 26 2013, 05:49 PM) Currently i don't have asus router to test. Hopefully able to trunk vlan500 and 600 on same port. You can't trunk vlan with the asus RT-N56U or 66U using default firmware.
DecaPix
Apr 27 2013, 12:20 AM
lcly why dont you just do this? any switch can do. no need fancy stuff Attached thumbnail(s)
lcly
Apr 27 2013, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Apr 27 2013, 12:20 AM) lcly why dont you just do this? any switch can do. no need fancy stuff If like this i need to pull a new cat6 cable for this setup. The problem is i need to hack wall to put the new cable, otherwise look no good. >_< When i get another STB, same i need to pull a new cable for that room too, if a switch can do all, i can just simply configure to make STB work on other room.
lcly
Apr 27 2013, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(jovial @ Apr 26 2013, 11:06 PM) Don't complicate matters... You can't trunk vlan with the asus RT-N56U or 66U using default firmware. If no all in one solution. I prefer your advise. Haha. Just i need to give up a cable for pc and buy a wifi adapter for it. Asus rt-56u and 66u is unifi ready right? Their lastest firmware already supported?