57 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2013, 05:59 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 2 2013, 03:20 PM)
I would like to ask a question: Why is aldabra much expensive since it is not as rare as yniphora?  thumbup.gif
If you go wholesale or Thai - they are much much cheaper about RM 3000 @ USD 800-1000 you can get one already !!

Getting them in legally , paper work ....... middle man need to mark up .......

SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2013, 06:32 PM

517 posts

Yni ( cant be legally owned in most case ) cant be compared with Aldabra ( can be legally owned and legally bred elsewhere - takes years many years to mature to reproduce thus the higher price ? )

Most sp that are sold in Malaysian market can reproduced in under 10 years - Aldabra takes about 15-20 years to do that .
mozambique
post Jul 2 2013, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 2 2013, 06:32 PM)
Yni ( cant be legally owned in most case ) cant be compared with Aldabra ( can be legally owned and legally bred elsewhere - takes years many years to mature to reproduce thus the higher price ? )
Most sp that are sold in Malaysian market can reproduced in under 10 years - Aldabra takes about 15-20 years to do that .
Thank you, Sifu SAMPERTH.. thumbup.gif

I learned another new thing today.. biggrin.gif
SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2013, 10:07 PM

517 posts

I have a few european friends telling me that there are some rich collectors who are willing to dish out Euro 100k for legal baby Yni with paper trail - compare that with RM 10 k egyptian ( i doubt this pricing thou ) or RM 9xxx for aldabran

About same price from US collectors but in USD !! Thats how rare Yni are in non asian country !! If can afford buy before its too late ( maybe already too late as harder to sight one in market nowadays as compared to few years back )
Mr.Docter
post Jul 3 2013, 12:33 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 2 2013, 10:07 PM)
I have a few european friends telling me that there are some rich collectors who are willing to dish out Euro 100k for legal baby Yni with paper trail - compare that with RM 10 k egyptian ( i doubt this pricing thou ) or RM 9xxx for aldabran

About same price from US collectors but in USD !! Thats how rare Yni are in non asian country !! If can afford buy before its too late ( maybe already too late as harder to sight one in market nowadays as compared to few years back )
10k is not for BABY.

Its for 7-10 years old healthy tortoise.

Mr.Docter
post Jul 3 2013, 12:37 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 2 2013, 06:32 PM)
Yniphora is really one majestic looking creatures.

For Aldabra, do you happened to have in your vast collection Samperth? How hard to get the legal paper for this tortoise?
Mr.Docter
post Jul 3 2013, 01:16 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jun 27 2013, 07:44 PM)
Just go to any nusery, get those black soil premixed with coconut coil. Tell them you want those without any pesticide added.
Is this what you mean bro?

Black soil + something + something? Without pesticide smile.gif

mozambique
post Jul 3 2013, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 3 2013, 01:16 PM)
Is this what you mean bro?

Black soil + something + something? Without pesticide smile.gif
Huh? What is "+ something + something"?

To make it simple: Usually I just go to any nursery, tell them I need black soil mixed with coconut coil without any pesticide added. To save your concern, it's better to go to a nursery that you can trust.

The above is just my way. It might be wrong. Better to get the opinion of other forumers who are more experience. I'm only under-a-year tortoise keeper.. tongue.gif
SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2013, 04:36 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 3 2013, 01:37 PM)
Yniphora is really one majestic looking creatures.

For Aldabra, do you happened to have in your vast collection Samperth? How hard to get the legal paper for this tortoise?
http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/76172/

http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/74220/

All say come with license - should ask them instead !!

And Ya on the Aldabra !!
Mr.Docter
post Jul 7 2013, 08:55 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 3 2013, 02:31 PM)
Huh? What is "+ something + something"?

To make it simple: Usually I just go to any nursery, tell them I need black soil mixed with coconut coil without any pesticide added. To save your concern, it's better to go to a nursery that you can trust.

The above is just my way. It might be wrong. Better to get the opinion of other forumers who are more experience. I'm only under-a-year tortoise keeper..  tongue.gif
Double checked regarding the existance of pesticide in this soil - its none.

I am concern if they use animal poop as fertilizer, like a bat poop or something. I am afraid that will bring harm to my tortoise health. So as precaution, I only cover 1/5 of the total area with this soil and see his development.

So far everything is good smile.gif

mozambique
post Jul 8 2013, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 7 2013, 08:55 AM)
Double checked regarding the existance of pesticide in this soil - its none.

I am concern if they use animal poop as fertilizer, like a bat poop or something. I am afraid that will bring harm to my tortoise health. So as precaution, I only cover 1/5 of the total area with this soil and see his development.

So far everything is good smile.gif
Hey, that's a nice enclosure! rclxms.gif

Is it indoor? Mind to take a better pic to see the whole thing?

Tq.. biggrin.gif
antzz
post Jul 8 2013, 03:58 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 8 2013, 12:57 PM)
Hey, that's a nice enclosure!  rclxms.gif

Tq..  biggrin.gif
Agreed. More pics please! drool.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jul 8 2013, 09:54 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 8 2013, 12:57 PM)
Hey, that's a nice enclosure!  rclxms.gif

Tq..  biggrin.gif
Yes, indoor as my tortoise is unsuitable for outdoor enclosure.

QUOTE(antzz @ Jul 8 2013, 03:58 PM)
Agreed. More pics please! drool.gif
Here to overall view;

This is before I attached my UVB smile.gif

Will post the latest setting soon.
mozambique
post Jul 9 2013, 04:20 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 8 2013, 09:54 PM)
Yes, indoor as my tortoise is unsuitable for outdoor enclosure.
Here to overall view;

This is before I attached my UVB smile.gif

Will post the latest setting soon.
Hi Mr. Doctor,

Mind to share the size of this enclosure?

Tq again.. tongue.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jul 9 2013, 02:56 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 9 2013, 04:20 AM)
Hi Mr. Doctor,

Mind to share the size of this enclosure?

Tq again..  tongue.gif
7.5ft. x 5 ft. x 0.5 ft. Its the minimum size for mature tortoise. Will build bigger soon as I found appropriate plastic enclosure (really having a hard time searching for this).

The side is short so I have to put indoor fence but this little fella is too lazy to climb over biggrin.gif
mozambique
post Jul 9 2013, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
7.5ft. x 5 ft. x 0.5 ft. Its the minimum size for mature tortoise. Will build bigger soon as I found appropriate plastic enclosure (really having a hard time searching for this).

The side is short so I have to put indoor fence but this little fella is too lazy to climb over biggrin.gif
Wow, that is big for an indoor enclosure.

Mind to share where to get such a big plastic tank? Mind is only 3ft x 2ft and I put it at my balcony..
Mr.Docter
post Jul 9 2013, 10:17 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 9 2013, 09:25 PM)
Wow, that is big for an indoor enclosure.

Mind to share where to get such a big plastic tank? Mind is only 3ft x 2ft and I put it at my balcony..
Mind you that my enclosure is the minimal for ONE, MATURE tortoise. The bigger the happier they will be.

I just purchase from hardware shop. But let me teach you the tips and trick for indoor enclosure when you face the difficulties in finding the appropriate container size;

1 - Find a brick. A construction brick, commonly reddish-orange in color or simply the white, crappy and brittle one. Either type will do.
2 - Arrange in square or rectangular, but use my size as minimal measurement (unless you are keeping sulcata, which is very much better to set an outdoor enclosure).
3 - Go to any hardware store or stationary store or botanical store, buy a plastic cover. Like curtain shower or the one that people use to cover car or raincoat.
4 - Cover the base and sides of the arranged brick.
5 - Put your substrate and arrange the setting as you like!

Hope my tips somehow helps your tortoise to be happier! biggrin.gif
mozambique
post Jul 10 2013, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 9 2013, 10:17 PM)
Mind you that my enclosure is the minimal for ONE, MATURE tortoise. The bigger the happier they will be.

I just purchase from hardware shop. But let me teach you the tips and trick for indoor enclosure when you face the difficulties in finding the appropriate container size;

1 - Find a brick. A construction brick, commonly reddish-orange in color or simply the white, crappy and brittle one. Either type will do.
2 - Arrange in square or rectangular, but use my size as minimal measurement (unless you are keeping sulcata, which is very much better to set an outdoor enclosure).
3 - Go to any hardware store or stationary store or botanical store, buy a plastic cover. Like curtain shower or the one that people use to cover car or raincoat.
4 - Cover the base and sides of the arranged brick.
5 - Put your substrate and arrange the setting as you like!

Hope my tips somehow helps your tortoise to be happier! biggrin.gif
Many thanks to you, Mr. Doctor.

I wish I can do that but currently I'm staying in a condo. I have already sueeze two 3ft x 2ft fiber tanks & a cage of about the same size. Can you imagine how cramp it is? Plus I have to deal with a gf who keeps nagging on my tortoises.. tongue.gif

I have to do it slowing 1 step at a time in order to have perfect hearing in my old years.. tongue.gif cool.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jul 10 2013, 10:09 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 10 2013, 09:00 PM)
Many thanks to you, Mr. Doctor.

I wish I can do that but currently I'm staying in a condo. I have already sueeze two 3ft x 2ft fiber tanks & a cage of about the same size. Can you imagine how cramp it is? Plus I have to deal with a gf who keeps nagging on my tortoises..  tongue.gif

I have to do it slowing 1 step at a time in order to have perfect hearing in my old years..  tongue.gif  cool.gif
Hahaha tell me about it. My gf also keep on sulking about me and my tortoise rclxub.gif

About the spacing, I afraid it far too small for your tortoise. If you happened to have an extra room (reading room/washing room), maybe you can let them wandering around the room? Just make sure you vaccum and remove the dust ESPECIALLY hair because it may cause impaction if they eaten such thing.
Mr.Docter
post Jul 10 2013, 10:12 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

You can somehow potty-train them. Not too precise, but at least they know when a specific time for them to poop.

You have to soak them on the same time, everyday, for approximately the similar duration (15-30 minutes, replace the water twice). My tortoise will poop during the soaking and then very uncommon for him to poop after that. Hence the room should be quite clean from their excrement.

57 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:48 AM