57 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

tunafish
post Apr 26 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Apr 26 2013, 03:05 PM)
Hi guys, i'm new here. I bought a pair of tortoises at the market a month ago. Today when i was cleaning them i realize that their shells are soft. Is it normal? I'm worried.
Mind to share what species of tortoise are they?
Soft shell syndrome may be due to lack of Calcium and sunlight exposure?
Calcium is needed for bones development and sunlight is needed for the vitamin D synthesis, which is needed for Calcium absorption.

Below is what I found in the first page of this thread..

And this is what I read from the tortoiseforum, credit to madkins007, a moderator of that forum.

This post has been edited by tunafish: Apr 26 2013, 09:57 PM
marcuslpm
post Apr 27 2013, 12:24 AM

96 posts

No idea what species they are. very cheap turtle bought @ market. thanks for the reply. i will see what i can do.
fastreader
post Apr 27 2013, 09:22 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Apr 27 2013, 12:24 AM)
No idea what species they are. very cheap turtle bought @ market. thanks for the reply. i will see what i can do.
just post a picture of it here and we can try to tell u.
SAMPERTH
post Apr 28 2013, 07:35 AM

517 posts

[attachmentid=3414262]
Just out , Enjoy

tunafish
post Apr 28 2013, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 28 2013, 07:35 AM)
[attachmentid=3414262]
Just out , Enjoy
Hory shet, is that yniphora?
I have a lot more to learn until I can actually breed these rare species like radiated, yniphora etc
marcuslpm
post Apr 28 2013, 03:06 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 27 2013, 09:22 PM)
just post a picture of it here and we can try to tell u.
here you go. smile.gif

fastreader
post Apr 28 2013, 03:44 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Apr 28 2013, 03:06 PM)
here you go.  smile.gif

those are Red Ear Slider.One of the popular and widely available species around. U can find more information using google. smile.gif rclxm9.gif
fastreader
post Apr 28 2013, 03:45 PM

4,554 posts

anyway, about ur softshell problem, maybe u can try to feed them with pellets. see if that helps.
marcuslpm
post Apr 28 2013, 04:40 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 28 2013, 03:45 PM)
anyway, about ur softshell problem, maybe u can try to feed them with pellets. see if that helps.
yeap. been feeding them pellets and sometimes vege. thank you for the reply. rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif rolleyes.gif
SAMPERTH
post Apr 29 2013, 02:05 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Apr 28 2013, 04:06 PM)
here you go.  smile.gif

Those are just hatchlings , hatchlings are supposed to have softer shell !! But do watch out for the " white spots / patch ) on them - will spread !!

Cheers
fastreader
post Apr 29 2013, 09:08 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 29 2013, 02:05 AM)
Those are just hatchlings , hatchlings are supposed to have softer shell !! But do watch out for the " white spots / patch ) on them - will spread !!

Cheers
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

sifu Samperth had spoken... rclxms.gif its assuring to hear that hatchlings have soft shells so the owner will no longer need to worry about malnutrition for now. smile.gif
marcuslpm
post Apr 29 2013, 02:04 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 29 2013, 02:05 AM)

Cheers
okie. thank you. phew. no more worries. smile.gif
SAMPERTH
post Apr 29 2013, 03:25 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Apr 29 2013, 03:04 PM)
okie. thank you. phew. no more worries.  smile.gif
Dont phew too soon !! Even thou not diet caused on the softness BUT
- lack of calcium will cause it to remain soft even after hatchling stage
- the " white " will also cause the shell not to harden too !! Some sort of " rot " that will spread ( i use aquarium yellow powder or white spot special or just S1 to control and reduce )

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Apr 29 2013, 03:27 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tunafish @ Apr 28 2013, 11:04 AM)
Hory shet, is that yniphora?
I have a lot more to learn until I can actually breed these rare species like radiated, yniphora etc
Ya and it has siblings and cousins much older !!
May even be an uncle or aunt soon ( fingers crossed )

Cheers
marcuslpm
post Apr 29 2013, 08:45 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 29 2013, 03:25 PM)
Dont phew too soon !! Even thou not diet caused on the softness BUT
- lack of calcium will cause it to remain soft even after hatchling stage
- the " white " will also cause the shell not to harden too !! Some sort of " rot " that will spread ( i use aquarium yellow powder or white spot special or just S1 to control and reduce )

Cheers
will pay more attention to them. smile.gif
tunafish
post Apr 30 2013, 02:12 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 29 2013, 03:27 PM)
Ya and it has siblings and cousins much older !!
May even be an uncle or aunt soon ( fingers crossed )

Cheers
Wooh, I think sifu can simply form a few tortoise football team and let different tortoise species from different region to have a football match between each other.

And about the white spot that you mentioned, is that fungal infection? It will only happen on turtles shell or it will also happen tortoise species? A few hobbyists in older threads posted turtles with those white spot problem but I rarely seen any hobbyists posted that their tortoise having the same issue? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tunafish: Apr 30 2013, 03:33 AM
Mr.Docter
post May 1 2013, 04:29 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 28 2013, 07:35 AM)
[attachmentid=3414262]
Just out , Enjoy
I am so envy seeing newly hatch tortoise sad.gif

How long is the whole process from laying down eggs till it hatch takes, boss?
SAMPERTH
post May 1 2013, 10:35 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 1 2013, 05:29 AM)
I am so envy seeing newly hatch tortoise sad.gif

How long is the whole process from laying down eggs till it hatch takes, boss?
This one slightly more than 7 mths !!

Cheers
marcuslpm
post May 1 2013, 06:04 PM

96 posts

read from info on the first page stating that I could use sea cucumber oil to try to cure the white spot, true? or should i use something else? mellow.gif
tunafish
post May 2 2013, 03:11 PM

This thread is quiet than what I expected, everyone is busy preparing for the coming GE? bruce.gif
Let me share few pictures of my RT, and hopefully more people will be willing to share pictures of their beloved tortoise biggrin.gif

PS: All pictures were captured last year.

For the last one, I got him last year from a LFS near my house. He was mistreated by his previous owner since very young age.
The previous owner kept him in a plastic container filled with water all the time (thought it was a turtle, luckily that the previous owner never drown him).
The main foods that the previous owner used to feed him with are dog food and kangkung.
I could have bought another healthy RT with an extra RM200 but I just can't let him suffer anymore..
Until today, the condition of its shell had never been improving but at least he won't need to suffer from poor living condition and poor husbandry anymore, and I've never regret that I decided to bought him instead of a healthy RT smile.gif

This post has been edited by tunafish: May 2 2013, 03:15 PM

57 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1101sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:52 PM