powerwoot
post Aug 11 2013, 12:19 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(al_madd @ Aug 10 2013, 05:19 PM)
No lah..that the reading using the speedtest app from my phone

IF downloading file download rate only just 50-150kbps.. sad.gif
This is my current snr and attenuation
Jumper setting TM open for me? I dont know what is that..huhu..But the TM officer told me that my ADSL line can go as fast as 12mbps...Seriously Im very dissapointed with my Streamyx 8mbps...
mad, you are having a good snr downstream at 24 but at the same time attenuation downstream at 27 and it is alil bit high imo. Jumper setting is your hardcaped value set by TM at your port, mine is 10237 downstream and 637 upstream and can be seen at router config.

The speed however varies, if you are talking about torrent, the outcome much much subjective. Some ppl said lack of peer, same said TM throttled based on username or ip. Any of it is possible and correct. I am downloading my stuffs from my fav torrentbutler mostly in HD, different title comes with different speed even with good peers and seeders.

As what I said conclusion either slow due to throttled by the ISP or lack of gooding peers and seeders are subjective. However just unchained my django yesterday at gooding thumbup.gif

MrSpeedy
post Aug 11 2013, 12:37 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Aug 11 2013, 01:14 AM)
cyclic redundancy check

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyclic_redundancy_check
if talk about ADSL,

CRC is when a special checksum code is attached to each packet of data that is transmitted.

if you got packet errors, the part of that data you transmitted has errors
CRC error counts means number of error packets you get

if ur line quality is bad or got problem, you often get data transmitted errors, CRC error count will be very high
in example, my 4mbps line is stable, and I got 0 CRC packet received error, but has only 2 CRC packet sent error, which still mean very good, almost no problem
I just realise my CRC UP reached 181
But CRC DOWN just 0.

Is that gonna effect the connection quality?

This post has been edited by MrSpeedy: Aug 11 2013, 12:38 PM
powerwoot
post Aug 11 2013, 12:56 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Aug 11 2013, 12:37 PM)
I just realise my CRC UP reached 181
But CRC DOWN just 0.

Is that gonna effect the connection quality?
do we check this in adsl statistic such as at hec, ocd and lcd errors? mine is 0 at down and up hmm.gif
MrSpeedy
post Aug 11 2013, 03:13 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 11 2013, 12:56 PM)
do we check this in adsl statistic such as at hec, ocd and lcd errors? mine is 0 at down and up  hmm.gif
Here's the full statistics;

Modulation : ADSL2+
Annex Mode : Annex A/L
Line State : up
Lan Tx : 8340663
Lan Rx : 5061390
ADSL Tx : 4870803
ADSL Rx : 7762440
CRC Down : 0
CRC Up : 184
FEC Down : 0
FEC Up : 485
HEC Down : 287
HEC Up : 0
SNR Up : 22.2
SNR Down : 29.4
Line Attenuation Up : 13.2
Line Attenuation Down : 24.0
Data Rate Up : 507
Data Rate Down : 5118
powerwoot
post Aug 11 2013, 04:21 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Aug 11 2013, 03:13 PM)
Here's the full statistics;

Modulation : ADSL2+
Annex Mode : Annex A/L
Line State : up
Lan Tx : 8340663
Lan Rx : 5061390
ADSL Tx : 4870803
ADSL Rx : 7762440
CRC Down : 0
CRC Up : 184
FEC Down : 0
FEC Up : 485
HEC Down : 287
HEC Up : 0
SNR Up : 22.2
SNR Down : 29.4
Line Attenuation Up : 13.2
Line Attenuation Down : 24.0
Data Rate Up : 507
Data Rate Down : 5118
too bad my current router Dlink 2640B doesn't shows any CRC output, except these

HEC Errors: 0 0
OCD Errors: 0 0
LCD Errors: 0 0

Total ES: 0 0
vez
post Aug 17 2013, 08:53 PM

4,622 posts

Is my ADSL stat good to upgrade for 8Mbps

I check with TM, I can apply for 8Mbps

powerwoot
post Aug 17 2013, 09:00 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Aug 17 2013, 08:53 PM)
Is my ADSL stat good to upgrade for 8Mbps

I check with TM, I can apply for 8Mbps
The criteria to get the good connection is there brows.gif , but to know if your line supports 8mbps, you can call 100 and ask them to check as what I did last time, they will tell you straight away and can fill the registration for you provided the line is registered under your name.
vez
post Aug 17 2013, 09:34 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 17 2013, 09:00 PM)
The criteria to get the good connection is there  brows.gif  , but to know if your line supports 8mbps, you can call 100 and ask them to check as what I did last time, they will tell you straight away and can fill the registration for you provided the line is registered under your name.
ya, i check with TM, can upgrade to 8Mbps smile.gif

which criteria to see whether can get good connection?
powerwoot
post Aug 18 2013, 12:46 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Aug 17 2013, 09:34 PM)
ya, i check with TM, can upgrade to 8Mbps smile.gif

which criteria to see whether can get good connection?
higher SNR and lower attenuation.
vez
post Aug 18 2013, 11:41 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 18 2013, 12:46 AM)
oh, thanks smile.gif
kelvin
post Aug 19 2013, 03:04 PM

467 posts

Just check the TM Net Streamyx upgrade page. The 8M package must select the HyppTV Channels Platinum Pack which cost RM30/Month ??
This is crazy sad.gif

pokchik
post Aug 19 2013, 03:39 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Aug 19 2013, 03:04 PM)
Just check the TM Net Streamyx upgrade page. The 8M package must select the HyppTV Channels Platinum Pack which cost RM30/Month ??
This is crazy sad.gif
was just about to ask the same thing..
I thought that it's only RM160 (+RM20 compared to previous 4Mbps Combo),
but with Hypptv it means RM160 + RM30 = RM190/mth..? any users here can confirm/comment?

This post has been edited by pokchik: Aug 19 2013, 03:42 PM
nymerine
post Aug 19 2013, 04:07 PM

920 posts

This is crazy sad.gif
If you already have streamyx, or at least BB Deal/Combo, you can upgrade to 8Mbps without HyppTV.
powerwoot
post Aug 19 2013, 04:10 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

This is crazy sad.gif
8mbps package will be included with hypptv + 17 free channels @ RM160, there is no compulsory we have to take premium packs as this will be just an option. Which in case we want to take Platinum Pack, the charges will be RM160 + RM30.
squall0833
post Aug 19 2013, 04:38 PM

1,473 posts

So sad, I got snr 17 and 43 attenuation at 5120 rate

No way for 8Mbps I think
kelvin
post Aug 19 2013, 04:50 PM

467 posts

When I try to upgrade to 8M package, I can't click "Next" if I not select the Platinum Pack (the red text show that I need to select min 1 channel package - Platinum Package". Once I select the Platinum Pack, the total amount updated to RM190, then only I can click "Next".
Any suggestions ??
TIA.

Screen as below:

powerwoot
post Aug 19 2013, 07:47 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Aug 19 2013, 04:50 PM)
When I try to upgrade to 8M package, I can't click "Next" if I not select the Platinum Pack (the red text show that I need to select min 1 channel package - Platinum Package". Once I select the Platinum Pack, the total amount updated to RM190, then only I can click "Next".
Any suggestions ??
TIA.

Screen as below:
try to avoid the upgrade via online then, give over a counter visit or call 100, to my understanding into these even 8mbps bundled with hypptv, I am not been told must take any premium packs. Maybe you can tell them you want to try the 30 days trial for all the packs first before decide to subscribe any further. But still when we and signed to take the STB home, the contract extends to another 24 months.
vez
post Aug 21 2013, 12:19 AM

4,622 posts

apply on last Friday to upgrade, get the 8M today biggrin.gif
cannot compare with unifi haha, my area actually have unifi, just landed property required rewiring which i dont like

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2912587053.png
pokchik
post Aug 21 2013, 12:24 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Aug 21 2013, 12:19 AM)
apply on last Friday to upgrade, get the 8M today biggrin.gif
cannot compare with unifi haha, my area actually have unifi, just landed property required rewiring which i dont like

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2912587053.png
just to confirm bro, RM160, no hypptv platinum pack needed right?
pokchik
post Aug 21 2013, 12:32 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Aug 18 2013, 12:46 AM)
My stats with 4Mbps package :
Us Rate (Kbps)    511
Ds Rate (Kbps)    5114

US Margin    25
DS Margin    31

DS Line Attenuation    9
US Line Attenuation    2

CRC Rx Fast    0
CRC Tx Fast    0
CRC Rx Interleaved    0
CRC Tx Interleaved    3

does it look good? I assume 'Margin' as SNR margin..

122 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:55 PM