126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V17, steady as she goes

Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(Manlet @ Feb 3 2013, 11:14 PM)
automatic engine braking when goin downhill if the car detect u didnt press the brake enough... slightly tap on the accelerator will cancel it
Will shifting up via paddle also reduce rpm and resultant noise as well?
metaled
post Feb 4 2013, 03:40 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Pace @ Feb 4 2013, 03:30 PM)
Will shifting up via paddle also reduce rpm and resultant noise as well?
It does but you will be going downhill even faster(dangerous) and engine breaking will kick in again at certain rpm, like a true manual. so great care must be taken.
Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Feb 4 2013, 05:20 AM)
can u gv a reason why u will avoid syntium fully 1000 15W50 at all cost?

i just used it at my 10k service...currently the performance is excellent...much more better than my last 10W40 semi sythetic oil which is tried on my preve with petronas synthium 800 10W40 (1k service) and  Shell Helix HX7 E (6k Service) . this is my first time using the petronas fully EO. some said 15W50 will make u car feel heavier...in my case i didnt even slighyly feel heavier than previous 10W40..but feel my cfe preve much lighter with 15W50 petronas fully 1000 oil ...and smoothier
i personally like Mobil 1 EO.even fill up fuel i never ever go to petronas station since my preve cfe been bought last year..always go to esso or petron station..and go to BHP sometimes if no esso station nearby...but just tried the petronas EO...and i thinks thier fully 1000 EO is ok for me, not like what other people said lo..maybe this is result from my comparation to semi petronas and shell EO...but overall it satisfied me.
im not a petronas Fan boy..just wondering the reason behind your statement.

my next target Mobil1 EO..if got more money..
30W and 50W will have a great difference if sprinting and high rpm. You will feel it most then. Newer generation engines with tighter clerances and longer service intervals are specified lighter oil.

Older engines or those with worn rings and valve guides will use heavier oil to reduce oil loss between oil changes. Do you.still want to use Milo kaw or Teh O Nipis for your new engine?
Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(metaled @ Feb 4 2013, 03:40 PM)
It does but you will be going downhill even faster(dangerous) and engine breaking will kick in again at certain rpm, like a true manual. so great care must be taken.
That's what I thought. I'd downshift from 4th to 3rd and then to 2nd just before the apex to power out of the turn. Thing is to know when to do it without hitting the rev limiter or redlining it.

Hope I get my car this week. Waiting is is really tiring already.
Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(shi_jewel @ Feb 4 2013, 08:13 AM)
hi...just wondering, this week is my traveling week...that's mean no one will gonna use my preve.

just wanna ask, is it possible for me to unplug the battery? is there any effect? Kindly advice.... smile.gif
Firmware upgrades will not run. If the ecu and tcu is a learning type like most cars everything will start from base of the firmware again.

Unless you are leaving it for a few months of have a leak, don't bother.
Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(allenultra @ Feb 4 2013, 09:40 AM)
syntium 1000 is the heaviest fully synthetic oil I can find from Petronas.

You actually have answered your own question. 15w50 is heavier, to me is a lot heavier.
Me using 5w30, another friend using 10w40 test drove a friend CFE with 15w50, we feel the 15w50 equipped CFE is sluggish in pick up.
Its heavy oil as compared to Syntium 3000, etc. And also why it is cheapest fully synthetic oil from Petronas, right?

I have no idea why you feel lighter with 15w50 over 10w40 but theoretically and scientifically, it isn't so. And my butt dyno told me it isn't so either.
Lighter oil flows easier and faster in tight spaces to do what it is supposed to do. Lubricate and clean.

For those in Winter conditions, the W rating is even more crucial on startup and the time after that.

Why engine builders work with oil when assembling the components instead of squeeky clean components. That little bit if oil could determine screwing up a whole new set of bearing and crankshaft.
Pace
post Feb 4 2013, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(brandon9188 @ Feb 3 2013, 03:37 PM)
did ur guys play vs??? my car hv installed vs, grounding cable as well as alternator wire together, k&s air filter, the effect wad impress, it can even faster during accelation which from original 0-100 at 9.6 sec reduce to 8.1 sec!!! i just done first service
VS will help with Campro A/C & alternator kick in which older campro seem to suffer as well. Due to a/c and alternator running super long belt instead of 2 separate belts on a small motor?

Grounding cable helps most for engine tranplants where the factory grounding may not be used back.

Would the two items above and a high flow filter translate to a hike of 50 to 80 whp assuming kerb weight and gear ratios remain, to drop 1s from your 0-100 standing start? Would an MK5 ss drop to 4s with the mods above?

Did you test your ss before and after ecu tc remap and after the remap with the shiny wires and flashing box?

The traction control does control ss wheelspin right?
dude14
post Feb 4 2013, 07:09 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Feb 4 2013, 12:22 AM)
manual cfe hatchback will come soon.
If u have the budget, cfe then. Not just the turbocharged engine but also other safety feature.
I prefer sedan,any rumours cfe manual will come out
allenultra
post Feb 4 2013, 07:30 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(dude14 @ Feb 4 2013, 07:09 PM)
I prefer sedan,any rumours cfe manual will come out
For the time being no, and I think very much unlikely it will come.
Preve is meant to be target young executives and executives who just started their families.

Its never aimed to be a sporty sedan.
Just like how Proton position Gen2 and Persona.
fai79ruz
post Feb 4 2013, 07:37 PM

92 posts

How the petrol vs money wise? Considering to get this car
allenultra
post Feb 4 2013, 07:41 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(fai79ruz @ Feb 4 2013, 07:37 PM)
How the petrol vs money wise? Considering to get this car
Fully town driving with average 22km/h would give you around 23cent/km
Fully highway, should give you 15cent/km?
Some even recorded an impressive 13.5cent/km for this C segment vehicle
pprkut_24
post Feb 4 2013, 09:02 PM

Hi all, does anyone know what is the size of the wiper blade? Plan to replace with Bosch Aerotwin. Thx
stargate8
post Feb 4 2013, 09:25 PM

Live Long and Prosper
1,224 posts

QUOTE(pprkut_24 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:02 PM)
Hi all, does anyone know what is the size of the wiper blade? Plan to replace with Bosch Aerotwin. Thx
i'm using bosch aerotwin, using size 22/16.
but i noticed, if use 24/16 should be no problem for some, you may try to adjust the position of the wiper arm.

i wonder if use 24/18, can or not.
pprkut_24
post Feb 4 2013, 09:48 PM

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:25 PM)
i'm using bosch aerotwin, using size 22/16.
but i noticed, if use 24/16 should be no problem for some, you may try to adjust the position of the wiper arm.

i wonder if use 24/18, can or not.
Many thx! Just to share with guys..I've done my 1st service last time on the 3rd day receiving my car. Clocking 1k plus on the 2nd day sweat.gif ..hahaha.

Darkcloudz
post Feb 4 2013, 10:24 PM

940 posts

guys, will got my babeh preve 2mrw. Cant wait.
swk_sam
post Feb 4 2013, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(pprkut_24 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:48 PM)
Many thx! Just to share with guys..I've done my 1st service last time on the 3rd day receiving my car. Clocking 1k plus on the 2nd day  sweat.gif ..hahaha.

oo WXV same like mine

Darkcloudz
post Feb 4 2013, 11:59 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(swk_sam @ Feb 4 2013, 11:05 PM)
oo WXV same like mine
mine WXY lo.

Guys, i know this might be repeated, im going to collect my car in the evening. what things should i check on? gan jiong!
my first car eh wink.gif

This post has been edited by Darkcloudz: Feb 5 2013, 10:03 AM
rognales
post Feb 5 2013, 10:12 AM

442 posts

just booked an appointment after CNY for 5k service & a few checking at Proton Edar S13.

my checklist
-rusty exhaust
-boot auto open
-driver power window gluk gluk
-glove box difficult to open
-flash HU firmware
-rattling sound from center air cond vent when blower is more than 40%

planned to do semi for this interval.
huiqing88
post Feb 5 2013, 10:25 AM

Wow many stars~ :p
781 posts

QUOTE(rognales @ Feb 5 2013, 10:12 AM)
just booked an appointment after CNY for 5k service & a few checking at Proton Edar S13.

my checklist
-rusty exhaust
-boot auto open
-driver power window gluk gluk
-glove box difficult to open
-flash HU firmware
-rattling sound from center air cond vent when blower is more than 40%

planned to do semi for this interval.
HU firmware got new version? hmm.gif
What's the differences?
zgerm
post Feb 5 2013, 10:33 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Feb 4 2013, 11:59 PM)
mine WXY lo.

Guys, i know this might be repeated, im going to collect my car in the evening. what things should i check on? gan jiong!
my first car eh wink.gif
Congrats, go to the first post of this thread and download doc preve checklist there, enjoy your ride smile.gif

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:59 PM