Feedback Trade zone bump feature change

brotan
post Jan 7 2013, 01:03 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 7 2013, 05:08 AM)
moniqee brotan nicety onlinetradermy guyfriendx

I have added a bump button and last bump time to the search and subscription pages. Can you give your feedback on this?
Hi bro

I tried. I think ok for seller knowing when they didn't bump for today

But this doesn't solve 2 issues

1) we normally try to time our bump so it is not too close to each other. This method doesn't solve this

2) as feedback by another member,if the time stamp is very old but it is top of the list they might think the seller stop selling or not active

Pls do take note for buyers, they wouldn't know all the system how things work
onlinetradermy
post Jan 7 2013, 01:38 PM

63 posts

Properties section cannot BUMP ??
moniqee
post Jan 7 2013, 03:22 PM

7,864 posts

the current changes are better than the earlier stages... glad for the improvements...
TSjackpro41
post Jan 7 2013, 04:36 PM

<5 star yellow WORM>
846 posts

good good.
finally my suggestion and complaint has been noticed.

great.
but those post previouslg written by me was removed. lol...
n my thread was edited by some1. might be moderator. or something lol
b0rhui
post Jan 7 2013, 04:43 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(onlinetradermy @ Jan 7 2013, 01:38 PM)
this isn't good .... i can't bump my threads in services noticeboard !! cry.gif
zaman_chem
post Jan 7 2013, 05:43 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jan 7 2013, 04:43 PM)
i oso cannot bump my thread service noticeboard cry.gif
wKkaY
post Jan 7 2013, 05:46 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(onlinetradermy @ Jan 7 2013, 01:38 PM)
QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jan 7 2013, 04:43 PM)
QUOTE(zaman_chem @ Jan 7 2013, 05:43 PM)
i oso cannot bump my thread service noticeboard cry.gif
Sorry, I typo'ed one letter in the code. Bumping should work in services noticeboard and properties sections now.
b0rhui
post Jan 7 2013, 05:49 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 7 2013, 05:46 PM)
Sorry, I typo'ed one letter in the code. Bumping should work in services noticeboard and properties sections now.
thank you ! brows.gif
wKkaY
post Jan 7 2013, 06:14 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 7 2013, 01:03 PM)
Hi bro. I tried. I think ok for seller knowing when they didn't bump for today

But this doesn't solve 2 issues
1) we normally try to time our bump so it is not too close to each other. This method doesn't solve this
2) as feedback by another member,if the time stamp is very old but it is top of the list they might think the seller stop selling or not active
Pls do take note for buyers, they wouldn't know all the system how things work
1) Sorry I don't understand. Can you elaborate on #1. With the old system, how did you time your bumps?

2) I think that will be a temporary problem. However now that we have relaxed the posting rules, you can be more creative in how you want to draw attention to your sales smile.gif
wKkaY
post Jan 7 2013, 06:15 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(zhengyang89 @ Jan 7 2013, 11:32 AM)
As a seller, i feel very hard to manage all my selling thread. after i bump, all the thing remain unchange with the date, i don even know which thread i had bump.  sad.gif
The topics in "find member topics" are now sorted by rank. I'll change the search function to default sort by rank later.
wKkaY
post Jan 7 2013, 06:33 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jan 7 2013, 12:07 PM)
Back to the purpose of the new bumping features' implementation, which is to prevent indirect bump by own post/replies, why don't:
Remain all the old bumping features but only have a code change on "No bump when own posting/replies". What I have seen here all things were remained unchanged (though the way of execution has changed) except own replies will not bump the thread, by changing this sole one is enough to achieve the entire purpose of this new features.
If "thread starter's post won't bump own thread" is coded without changing anything else, a new time inconsistency is introduced.

Let's look at this timeline if we do that:
1:00PM - wKkaY posts a reply to dhui's thread. Last post = 1:00PM, Last poster = wKkaY
5:00PM - dhui posts a reply to wKkaY on dhui's thread. Last post = 1:00PM, Last poster = dhui

It will look weird in the topic index that someone replied at 1:00PM, but when you enter the topic, the actual last reply you see was made at 5:00PM.

The current system does this:
1:00PM - wKkaY posts a reply to dhui's thread. Last post = 1:00PM, Last poster = wKkaY
5:00PM - dhui posts a reply to wKkaY on dhui's thread. Last post = 5:00PM, Last poster = dhui.

I wrote the old bump system in 2006 and introduced the first inconsistency where "Last post time" doesn't really mean last post time. This time, I intend to code it the proper way instead of introducing a second time inconsistency. This means that instead of overloading the "last post time" with different meanings, the time of bump and time of last post must be kept and shown separately.

The benefit of doing it this way is that if it's a really terrible idea, I can always change the templates to show last bump time instead of last post time smile.gif But we will see.
chaukeng
post Jan 7 2013, 08:08 PM

2,345 posts

So i can no longer reply to my customers in selling thread? Since its said to be considered as spamming. A discussion thread or subforum like kopitiam are eating up so much more server space. When i browse through other seller selling thread, those sellers who doesn't reply to their customers in the thread give me a bad impression. Maybe just me.
b0rhui
post Jan 7 2013, 08:36 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Jan 7 2013, 08:08 PM)
So i can no longer reply to my customers in selling thread? Since its said to be considered as spamming. A discussion thread or subforum like kopitiam are eating up so much more server space. When i browse through other seller selling thread, those sellers who doesn't reply to their customers in the thread give me a bad impression. Maybe just me.
I feel the same too. I might think that either TS isn't polite enough, or TS has not come online yet nod.gif
ddr3
post Jan 7 2013, 09:02 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

my problem now is i cannot edit (add or delete) lyn forumer name (note - i didnt use the tag code) in my thread. Hope can some one help me out, the error got was

"You may only tag up to 5 members in a post." sad.gif
sakurazz
post Jan 7 2013, 09:25 PM

Safe Trader
3,555 posts

glad to have new bumping systems ! smile.gif

-really useful to genuine sellers which do not tends to reply each of the post directly in bumping own thread up.

but is there a way that we could determine if there's a dupe?

we know 'mod' can check on it, but don't think every thread will be discovered.

-noticed that per post only for 5 members, was trying to update customer feedbacks today but system shows that i could only tag 5 members, what should I do?
nicety
post Jan 7 2013, 10:19 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 7 2013, 05:08 AM)
moniqee brotan nicety onlinetradermy guyfriendx

I have added a bump button and last bump time to the search and subscription pages. Can you give your feedback on this?
The new bump date and the sorting by bump date is very much better now :-)

This post has been edited by nicety: Jan 7 2013, 10:26 PM
RedDevil32
post Jan 7 2013, 10:32 PM

25 posts

I buy alot of item from garage sale daily..

And this new bump feature giving me problem to determine if the seller is still looking for buyer for his item .

Some buyer already sold their item, and they didnt close the thread. I cant differentiate them with genuine seller who Bump their thread.

With the old system, when we saw a Bump by the seller, we know the seller is genuine and he is looking for buyer .

Now, its totally screw up.

To the developer of Lowyat.net : Please dont fix what is not broken. vmad.gif

For example : Look at the screen shot below. All the last post is today, but when i go in to check, those thread was dated 3 months+ old and sold.

This post has been edited by RedDevil32: Jan 7 2013, 10:33 PM
wKkaY
post Jan 8 2013, 02:04 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(RedDevil32 @ Jan 7 2013, 10:32 PM)
I buy alot of item from garage sale daily..

And this new bump feature giving me problem to determine if the seller is still looking for buyer for his item .

Some buyer already sold their item, and they didnt close the thread. I cant differentiate them with genuine seller who Bump their thread.

With the old system, when we saw a Bump by the seller, we know the seller is genuine and he is looking for buyer .

Now, its totally screw up.

To the developer of Lowyat.net : Please dont fix what is not broken.  vmad.gif

For example : Look at the screen shot below. All the last post is today, but when i go in to check, those thread was dated 3 months+ old and sold.
Can you explain the difference between the old bump feature and what we have now? For example, what would you have seen in that screenshot, instead of what are seeing now?
RBR
post Jan 8 2013, 03:55 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Jan 7 2013, 08:08 PM)
The first post is clear that you now can reply your customers:
It also acknowledges that there may be circumstances whereby members may wish to post a 'PM replied' or 'thanks' in response to a query or complement on a thread.

Spamming is when you make a post for no reason, such as posting 'come quickk', 'saleesss', 'cheap cheap' multiple times.
dhui
post Jan 8 2013, 08:22 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 7 2013, 06:33 PM)
If "thread starter's post won't bump own thread" is coded without changing anything else, a new time inconsistency is introduced.

Let's look at this timeline if we do that:
5:00PM - dhui posts a reply to wKkaY on dhui's thread. Last post = 1:00PM, Last poster = dhui

It will look weird in the topic index that someone replied at 1:00PM, but when you enter the topic, the actual last reply you see was made at 5:00PM.

The current system does this:
5:00PM - dhui posts a reply to wKkaY on dhui's thread. Last post = 5:00PM, Last poster = dhui.

I wrote the old bump system in 2006 and introduced the first inconsistency where "Last post time" doesn't really mean last post time. This time, I intend to code it the proper way instead of introducing a second time inconsistency. This means that instead of overloading the "last post time" with different meanings, the time of bump and time of last post must be kept and shown separately.

The benefit of doing it this way is that if it's a really terrible idea, I can always change the templates to show last bump time instead of last post time smile.gif But we will see.
It's a lot better now after adjustment. I understand now that's why the last post and bumping times need to be separated. Another suggestion. Personally think that perhaps the template of showing the "last post" and "last bump" can be changed.

The template of showing the "date of reply" is making some confuse sometimes (or maybe I still can't coupe with the new system yet) and it looks like messy on the page with all different date on the thread. Personally prefer the old system which showed the "time of bump" which I feel is better and it looks more tidy and not confusing.

The system is nice now after the adjustment but a feedback and suggestion to change the showing template so that the first line can show the latest date of post/bump like the old system which I can see most users (Etc RedDevil32 as a surfer] here would prefer for easier access, less confusing and most importantly look more tidy and systematic/ professional:

For the forum list:
New Post
Today: 8.00am
Last post by: dhui

New bump
Today: 8.00am (Bumped)
4 January 2013

For the search result list
New Post
Today, 8.00 am
Last bumped: 8 hours ago

New bump
Today, 8.00 am (Bumped)
4 January 2013 - 4.00pm
Last bumped: 1 second ago

The first line showing the latest post and bump would make it looks and feel more systematic, professional while easier access/ user friendly. I am not sure with coding in this way would be problematic or not since I am not a programmer so just can give some opinion and feedbacks on the template as a forumer/trader perspective. smile.gif

Addon: The template showing "date of last post" gives me feeling that the thread has been abandoned for long times ago especially if there is no new post for long time. It makes the forum looks like being abandoned or not updated at all seconds like previous system. Worry especially for new user who first surf Lowyat forum would feel the forum is not updated to the latest.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jan 8 2013, 08:37 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:32 AM