130 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

v8.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

Rhadykall
post Dec 17 2013, 10:23 PM

After 9 years only can modify
590 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:02 PM)
hi guys,

got a question here, what the engine model or is there any model for the honda city? i got mine earlier last week.

tried searching online but they didnt state any engine model or car model and wikipedia made me confuse. -.-

What I meant by car model is like Honda Civic theres EK, EG, FD2R and so on. But what about year 2013 honda city?
GM2
vincky
post Dec 18 2013, 01:16 AM

168 posts

anyone experience gear d blinking and abs + brake light on? did all major service + flush engine / flush atf / change new brake pad all still same . not going back honda due to no longer warranty. any workshop outside can check with obd to recommend ?
ahfad
post Dec 18 2013, 01:40 AM

QUOTE(vincky @ Dec 18 2013, 01:16 AM)
anyone experience gear d blinking and abs + brake light on? did all major service + flush engine / flush atf / change new brake pad all still same . not going back honda due to no longer warranty. any workshop outside can check with obd to recommend ?
D indicator blinking means yr gear might having a problem. Refer to the owner's manual. Advice u go to any sc to check yr transmission
vincky
post Dec 18 2013, 01:50 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(ahfad @ Dec 18 2013, 01:40 AM)
D indicator blinking means yr gear might having a problem. Refer to the owner's manual. Advice u go to any sc to check yr transmission
previously checked, they said no problem and reset thru OBD for me. now it come back again....
saru04
post Dec 18 2013, 02:30 AM

1,358 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 17 2013, 10:23 PM)
GM2
Thank you!

And regarding the paddle shift in the car:

1) Can I switch to D to S while the car is moving / driving?

2) Can I switch back from S to D while the car is moving?

Will it damage / harm the gearbox?

Thank you.
Rhadykall
post Dec 18 2013, 09:07 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Dec 18 2013, 02:30 AM)
Thank you!

Thank you.
1) Yes

2) Yes

Damage/harm: Not sure but I've been doing 1 & 2 lol laugh.gif
shaniandras2787
post Dec 18 2013, 11:08 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Dec 18 2013, 02:30 AM)
Thank you!

Thank you.
I think the answer is YES to both. If it's harmful to the gearbox then i think Honda would have placed the "blockage" for the switch while the car is on the move (ie. requires the brake pedal to be fully depressed before the gear can be switched)

Whatever it is, it's on a very rare occasion suddenly one will feel like driving manual. Most of the time, i would downshift only just to get that extra rev for the acceleration to overtake a car in front of me in a one lane road.
cognac
post Dec 18 2013, 12:38 PM

492 posts

while on D, you can downshift using paddleshift also. but you need to press a lot of pedal to maintain that gear.

if u want full manual, then you shift to S.
Rhadykall
post Dec 18 2013, 12:58 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(cognac @ Dec 18 2013, 12:38 PM)
while on D, you can downshift using paddleshift also. but you need to press a lot of pedal to maintain that gear.

if u want full manual, then you shift to S.
In S it still auto shifts. The only thing is it shifts at a higher rev than D.
nike89
post Dec 18 2013, 01:02 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 18 2013, 12:58 PM)
in S it still auto shifts???

you mean will start from 0 then go to 1 and 2 and 3 without press the paddle shifter?

Rhadykall
post Dec 18 2013, 01:08 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Dec 18 2013, 01:02 PM)
in S it still auto shifts???

you mean will start from 0 then go to 1 and 2 and 3 without press the paddle shifter?
Yup. I always use S when I'm in a hurry and I hardly use the shifter. It still auto shifts.
saru04
post Dec 18 2013, 02:01 PM

1,358 posts

I see. Thank you for all the infos. Much appreciated.
nike89
post Dec 18 2013, 03:01 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 18 2013, 01:08 PM)
Yup. I always use S when I'm in a hurry and I hardly use the shifter. It still auto shifts.
seriously?

ok, gonna test it !

thanks for your info bro biggrin.gif
steve88
post Dec 18 2013, 03:14 PM

307 posts

Hi bros, anyone here using K&N filter? Does it need any maintenance like cleaning or stuff to maintain it?
cognac
post Dec 18 2013, 03:44 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 18 2013, 01:08 PM)
yup....is S oso auto shift, until you press the paddle shifters.

agree with you. smile.gif

babygrand123
post Dec 18 2013, 07:51 PM

672 posts

Hi Sifu our city usb can support max how many GB ? Thanks in advanced
winterwish
post Dec 19 2013, 12:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(nike89 @ Dec 18 2013, 03:01 PM)
seriously?

ok, gonna test it !

thanks for your info bro  biggrin.gif
It just upshift at a higher rev compared to D, so move oomph and vtec pew pew power. Haha.

But once you use the peddle it won't autoshift anymore unless you move back to D.

QUOTE(steve88 @ Dec 18 2013, 03:14 PM)
Hi bros, anyone here using K&N filter? Does it need any maintenance like cleaning or stuff to maintain it?
I think need to clean every 60k if I'm not mistaken. There's a guide on youtube that teach you how to clean the filter. Need to buy the cleaning kit too.

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Dec 18 2013, 07:51 PM)
Hi Sifu our city usb can support max how many GB ? Thanks in advanced
I'm using 32GB currently, so far no problem or delay when choosing song. Not sure if can support 64GB.
steve88
post Dec 19 2013, 01:18 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(winterwish @ Dec 19 2013, 12:39 PM)
It just upshift at a higher rev compared to D, so move oomph and vtec pew pew power. Haha.

But once you use the peddle it won't autoshift anymore unless you move back to D.
I think need to clean every 60k if I'm not mistaken. There's a guide on youtube that teach you how to clean the filter. Need to buy the cleaning kit too.
I'm using 32GB currently, so far no problem or delay when choosing song. Not sure if can support 64GB.
Thanks. Installed it yesterday. Really improves acceleration. FC not sure yet. Need to wait next petrol refill.
shaniandras2787
post Dec 19 2013, 05:46 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(steve88 @ Dec 19 2013, 01:18 PM)
Thanks. Installed it yesterday. Really improves acceleration. FC not sure yet. Need to wait next petrol refill.
To be honest, up until now i am very skeptical towards the idea of replacing air filters and gain accelerations. Improve in a very slight margin, yes but i think the effect will be minimum and most probably negligible.

Unless we are talking about changing more than just the filters.

Theoretically speaking, you have to lose some to gain some. Basic laws of physics. If indeed there is a an increase in acceleration then there's an increase in fuel consumption. I remembered some garage junkie who part owns a workshop around Sunway area told me this.

The items in which the car manufacturer gives you are actually the best there is and everything is tweaked to its optimum performance including the prescribed air filter in which will provide you with the best fuel consumption against acceleration. Any changes in either one of them would affect the balance. Thus:-

"increase air flow = more fuel burn = more power = increase fuel consumption"

The engine cannot be generating more power from air.

Another misconception some car modifiers have is that they thought by installing bodykits, it will increase the aerodynamics of the car hence reducing drag therefore better performance but little that they know, the weight these bodykits actually contributes actually cause more detriment to anything especially to those who installed super huge wings at the boot which is generally used to generate more down force to keep the car at the ground rather than making the car fly -.-

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Dec 19 2013, 05:51 PM
mobeus
post Dec 19 2013, 06:07 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Rhadykall @ Dec 18 2013, 12:58 PM)
i think sumone has post it here. it will autoshift due to rev limiter so it won't damage the engine. sumting like that. huhu

130 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:03 PM