PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

djlah
post Jan 16 2009, 06:55 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jan 16 2009, 06:41 PM)
going for SIMPLICITY...

i'm not into GAMING, just need HDMI upscaling and 7.1 channel must play nice videos and without jerk !!!!

also Audio quality must be good as i am replacing my Hifi CD player system

need to upgrade
board ASUS M3N78PRO GF8300
CPU AMD DUAL CORE ATHLON-64 6000+S940
KINGSTON 2048MB DDR2 (PC667)

any comments
same to me bro... video or advanced gaming is not my concern.
But I need TrueHD bitstream in transport for HD playback.
if you only concern CD player playback and opt for 8300 is fine. or may look for build in video MB. save more.
RacingTech
post Jan 16 2009, 10:49 PM

404 posts

Good news for cheap HTPC casing seeker out there.... lately i got the eview casing that is small n slim and it is cheap most importantly.... please refer to the last model in the link below, LP-I (KISS).... beware the info on the page is false... it able to fit in matax n standard atx mobo... got a build-in temp reader (sensor)... one 80mm fan and front usb x 2, headphone jack, mic jack n eSATA connection also..... one thing that is a little sad is it only can hold one hdd... thats it! other than that it is a very nice casing... rclxms.gif

http://www.e-view.com.my/cms/main.php?m=Co...&op=page&id=324

This post has been edited by RacingTech: Jan 16 2009, 11:00 PM

Skylinestar
post Jan 16 2009, 10:57 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jan 16 2009, 06:41 PM)
going for SIMPLICITY...

i'm not into GAMING, just need HDMI upscaling and 7.1 channel must play nice videos and without jerk !!!!

also Audio quality must be good as i am replacing my Hifi CD player system

need to upgrade
board ASUS M3N78PRO GF8300
CPU AMD DUAL CORE ATHLON-64 6000+S940
KINGSTON 2048MB DDR2 (PC667)

any comments
AFAIK, 780G does not support 7.1 LPCM through HDMI
RacingTech
post Jan 16 2009, 11:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 16 2009, 10:57 PM)
AFAIK, 780G does not support 7.1 LPCM through HDMI
I am using a sapphire HD4550, it suppose to support 7.1 audio but not yet try the audio part....

here is the link http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/products/pr...?gpid=271&grp=3

i just install it in my old system in my new e-view casing, it come with a low profile metal plate so that i can install in this slim casing..... at the moment, i am able to use hardware decode dxva successfully on MPC-HC but havent got the dvi-HDMI dongle from the suppplier so i cant test the HDMI yet..... but this card is great in dxva decoding which enable my single core AMD 64 3200 to play 1080p content smoothly.... it is nice and i am happy with it.... smile.gif
RacingTech
post Jan 16 2009, 11:15 PM

404 posts

This is my mod on the LED from red to icy blue!!! drool.gif

moomoos
post Jan 17 2009, 02:18 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

heard from fren, that HDMI carries Picture and Sound (maybe HT-DTS )
FOR THIS CASE, altertanatively, is to get the HDMI to the LCD and enroute the 7.1 channel to the AV amp:)smile.gif

dont know whether its true or not,

HDMI = DVI (video only) + coaxial or optical or 6.1/7.1
mADmAN
post Jan 17 2009, 05:19 AM

10,530 posts

just though id share something....i was trying out the DXVA thingamajiggie as posted by blindbox (in the spoiler) earlier in the thread....

its supposed to drastically reduce CPU usage and get the GC to do the rendering for 1080p files right?

well i did everything in the screenshot and the link....and it didnt work.....mebbe i did something wrong or wat...

BUT i did discover something interesting...

first the specs...
E5200
Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H mobo (using onboard video to HD Ready Plasma via HDMI)
2GB RAM
Creative Audigy 4
K-Lite mega codec pack

file played...
Die Hard 4 mkv
12.1GB Single File
1920*800 reso (1080p file)

AFTER putting in those settings...i tested for CPU usage during playback....tested with a few different scenes.... cpu usage for playback using....

MPC HC (came with K-Lite) with DXVA settings applied as per screenshot
CPU Usage was around 70-80%

BS Player Pro 2.22 Build 952 with stock settings...nuttin touched
CPU Usage was around 40-50%

so...my conclusion is...

RacingTech
post Jan 17 2009, 08:58 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 17 2009, 05:19 AM)
just though id share something....i was trying out the DXVA thingamajiggie as posted by blindbox (in the spoiler) earlier in the thread....

its supposed to drastically reduce CPU usage and get the GC to do the rendering for 1080p files right?

well i did everything in the screenshot and the link....and it didnt work.....mebbe i did something wrong or wat...

BUT i did discover something interesting...

first the specs...
E5200
Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H mobo (using onboard video to HD Ready Plasma via HDMI)
2GB RAM
Creative Audigy 4
K-Lite mega codec pack

file played...
Die Hard 4 mkv
12.1GB Single File
1920*800 reso (1080p file)
AFTER putting in those settings...i tested for CPU usage during playback....tested with a few different scenes.... cpu usage for playback using....

MPC HC (came with K-Lite) with DXVA settings applied as per screenshot
CPU Usage was around 70-80%
BS Player Pro 2.22 Build 952 with stock settings...nuttin touched
CPU Usage was around 40-50%

so...my conclusion is...

i just installed HD pack 1.9 n k-lite mega codec pack and then just do the setting in MPC-HC.
At the external filter there, i just select cyberlink codec and make it default to do all the job for me.... and it works!
normally if without hardware decoding, when i play the 1080p content, my cpu usage may shoot up to 100% but now only max 40% for my old AMD 64...... maybe u can try to uninstall all the video player n extra codec just to make sure it didnt interrupt with the MPC-HC...... wink.gif
ue_smsc
post Jan 22 2009, 04:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(RacingTech @ Jan 16 2009, 10:49 PM)
Good news for cheap HTPC casing seeker out there.... lately i got the eview casing that is small n slim and it is cheap most importantly.... please refer to the last model in the link below, LP-I (KISS).... beware the info on the page is false... it able to fit in matax n standard atx mobo... got a build-in temp reader (sensor)... one 80mm fan and front usb x 2, headphone jack, mic jack n eSATA connection also.....  one thing that is a little sad is it only can hold one hdd... thats it! other than that it is a very nice casing... rclxms.gif

http://www.e-view.com.my/cms/main.php?m=Co...&op=page&id=324
nice casing + cheap drool.gif , anyway how much izzit? & where do u buy it? is there any chance/mod to install 2nd hdd?

mADmAN
post Jan 22 2009, 05:11 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(RacingTech @ Jan 17 2009, 08:58 AM)
maybe u can try to uninstall all the video player n extra codec just to make sure it didnt interrupt with the MPC-HC......  wink.gif
now why in the world would i wanna do THAT?

waste my time and effort to go through all that hassle just to get my proceesor usage @ around 40% for MPC-HC???

when i already have another software which ive been using for years n years thats already giving me around 40% without touching anything?

a software that ive always preferred over MPC, VLC, winamp, n watever other video player... MPC-HC just isnt worth the hassle....

so again i repeat...

moomoos
post Jan 27 2009, 09:58 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

Happy CNY to all forumers

anyone knows how to configure, 2 different screens for MPC-HT

ie. 1 screen for Normal Computer VGA another for LCD, right now i'm, using ( clone mode ) under the Display setting for Vista Home Premium and 790 chipset 3300 ATI Radeon.

when i configure screen 1 for VGA and 2 for LCD ( The screen 2 on the LCD just display the Blank Vista Wall Paper (no icons), i cant (maybe dont know) hoe to channel the Video to it for viewing.

mADmAN
post Jan 28 2009, 02:42 AM

10,530 posts

if under clone mode....

set the monitor/lcd u want to play the video on as the primary display.
lex
post Jan 28 2009, 06:49 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

Not sure how often I've said it... When playing (ripped) 1080p videos especially those in MKV container format, processor speed is much more important as it does not fully rely on GPU HD video decode acceleration... as the above results (mADmAN) have already shown. Heck, I can also play 1080p videos on normal GPUs without HD video acceleration.. just need the right processor. wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 28 2009, 06:49 AM
RacingTech
post Jan 28 2009, 08:50 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(ue_smsc @ Jan 22 2009, 04:56 PM)
nice casing + cheap  drool.gif , anyway how much izzit? & where do u buy it? is there any chance/mod to install 2nd hdd?
I got it for RM180.... smile.gif if u in kch, i can help u to get it....
If u plan to use mATX then it is possible to add a second hdd... smile.gif

Added on January 28, 2009, 8:55 am
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 22 2009, 05:11 PM)
now why in the world would i wanna do THAT?

waste my time and effort to go through all that hassle just to get my proceesor usage @ around 40% for MPC-HC???

when i already have another software which ive been using for years n years thats already giving me around 40% without touching anything?

a software that ive always preferred over MPC, VLC, winamp, n watever other video player... MPC-HC just isnt worth the hassle....
so again i repeat...

dont be mad friend haha... i will try out your recommended software n see wat is the different.. actually this is the first time i heard of this software....
the reason i talk about the MPC-HC is because i saw a lot of ppl using it n i just wan to help up by telling the configuration tat i used to play mine mkv....

This post has been edited by RacingTech: Jan 28 2009, 08:55 AM
mADmAN
post Jan 28 2009, 01:37 PM

10,530 posts

not mad....just stating the obvious biggrin.gif

BS Player been around for quite awhile... i first heard of it when streamyx first came out.

it used to be free then.... have to pay for it now...
RacingTech
post Jan 28 2009, 02:14 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 28 2009, 01:37 PM)
not mad....just stating the obvious biggrin.gif

BS Player been around for quite awhile... i first heard of it when streamyx first came out.

it used to be free then.... have to pay for it now...
so u using the free version or the pro version? wat is the different?
mADmAN
post Jan 28 2009, 02:17 PM

10,530 posts

free version no longer available..... (except for trials i think)

me using Pro (aka paid version)

not sure wat its like now...im using an old version... can go to BSplayer.org to check it out

Added on January 28, 2009, 2:19 pmoops...i just checked the site... looks like theres a free version too.. but somewhat limited....

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 28 2009, 02:19 PM
blindbox
post Jan 28 2009, 03:43 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Jan 28 2009, 06:49 AM)
Not sure how often I've said it... When playing (ripped) 1080p videos especially those in MKV container format, processor speed is much more important as it does not fully rely on GPU HD video decode acceleration...  as the above results (mADmAN) have already shown. Heck, I can also play 1080p videos on normal GPUs without HD video acceleration.. just need the right processor. wink.gif
I'm pretty sure you need to do more research. Most ripped 1080p videos work with DXVA in MKV format. However, you will need to use MPC-HC. An easy way to configure it would be to simply use the latest K-Lite Codec pack. Google "x264 DXVA"(without the "") and the first result will give you the link on how to make 1080p videos work on GPU acceleration. Btw, for really tight-budgeted HTPC rigs, it's where GPU decoding shines. Still, there's no point to use GPU acceleration if you have at least an Intel E5200 though.

I used to like BSPlayer, but they're not very useful when I watch anime every day(plus, they like to crash on me last time, after about a few months of usage, I can't use it anymore). If you ask me which player, I like DivX player best, shows what's on the screen the instant after I drag the slider, but I can't get it to work with codecs.. so no go for me.
lex
post Jan 28 2009, 09:49 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jan 28 2009, 03:43 PM)
I'm pretty sure you need to do more research. Most ripped 1080p videos work with DXVA in MKV format. However, you will need to use MPC-HC. An easy way to configure it would be to simply use the latest K-Lite Codec pack. Google "x264 DXVA"(without the "") and the first result will give you the link on how to make 1080p videos work on GPU acceleration. Btw, for really tight-budgeted HTPC rigs, it's where GPU decoding shines. Still, there's no point to use GPU acceleration if you have at least an Intel E5200 though.
MPC-HC will only work if the video stream complies with DVXA standards, otherwise it will revert back to (intensive) software decoding. And I have tried on many systems and I can tell you that with 1080p MKV you'll need a fast processor as many of the players I've tried does not use GPU acceleration at all (should be due to the way MKV demultiplexor handles the codec part). wink.gif

ar188
post Jan 28 2009, 10:34 PM

9,206 posts

I dunno about you guys, but all my BD "backed up" to M2TS (Mpeg2, H264) (no down conversion, bit to bit BD transfer which is the highest rate possible, more than any 1080p MKVs..) works very well with MPC-HC (of coz have to use with ATI card)... (it was crap with MPC) but the HC version was like..wow!

the proc is just a basic E2180 (2MHz Dual core) no OC.

126 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0363sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:51 PM