PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

blindbox
post Oct 28 2008, 11:53 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2008, 07:00 PM)
You must understand that MKV file uses CPU rather then GPU. My PC fails to playback any 1080p *Pirate MKV Files* clearly as it needs much more powerful PC. I just use 720p as my TV isn't Full HD and I don't need 1080p (after all 720p is good enough).

Your HD TV is pure HD , meaning that your CPU has to output pixel by prefect which takes up more CPU usage. Graphics card isn't doing anything here. Trust me , just press alt+control+delete and notice your CPU usage when you're playing MKV Files
Wrong, mkv is a container so no rendering involved at all. Like Skylinestar said, if properly encoded, it can do DXVA.

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2008, 08:16 PM)
My graphics card supports DXVA (PureVideo HD). Anyhow , I am asking what decoders do I need to make sure that it passes to my graphics card. It seems that now the software does it instead of  hardware.
Try Media Player classic Home cinema. Using k-lite codec pack is easier as it explains what each does. Anyway, if you don't, here's a guide I just made. Made for the lol.

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/DXVASupport.html more information there.

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by blindbox: Oct 28 2008, 11:56 PM
blindbox
post Oct 31 2008, 06:25 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Oct 31 2008, 08:07 AM)
well  today i finally figured out how to do hardware accelaration on my 8600mgt laptop and it uses only 5 to 15% of cpu sometimes below 5% smooooooooooooooth playback
i am using vista ultimate 64 bit thats right 64 bit
i posted in a lot of forums but no help in this forum got help using pure codec but sound in laptop speakers is awfully low. vlc was best with sound sound was really loud but lags if vlc uses harware acceleration it would be perfect.

i tried nvidia pure decoder it doesnt work, tried coveavc doesnt work, but then i installed klite mega codec pack and when i was installing it there was some DXVA options and dts audio options i enabled those and i ran iron man 1080p mkv shockingly the cpu usage dropped but there was no video and only audio then i found the way because it was using DXVA.

i saw which filters were enabled and transformed and applied in my cccp codec and then it worked process is similar to what demeter posted but u have to transform a lot of filters and enable some filters.
The only problem is volume of sound in vlc sound is awesome you dont need speakers or headphones for laptop.
In MPC-HC in cccp sound is better than pure codec.
in pure codec sound is awfully low

is there a better way to increase the sound in MPC HC??

now as i done DXVA with my 2gb ram is it necessary to upgrade to 4gb ram?
firefox and vlc and vista uses a lot of ram and cpu usage a lot if i upgrade to 4 gig will the cpu usage be low any experience?
I don't even know why you bother with CCCP, they rarely updates themselves (While k-lite codec pack updates themselves with the latest tryouts almost weekly(and the latest mpc-hc svn, yes they compile it themselves)). Whatever, I'll answer your question.

Is there a need to fix something which isn't broken? If you can play well with 2 GB that means you don't need to up grade to 4gb. Try running mpc-hc in your pc and check the ram usage.

http://codecguide.com/faq_playback_issues.htm#item16 There you go, there are two solutions there.
blindbox
post Oct 31 2008, 09:59 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 31 2008, 08:59 PM)
Anyway MPC : Home Media thingy does the trick , but I want Windows Media player to use the GPU rather then the CPU for this case. I am looking for a DirectShow filter that would do the trick , any recommendation !
Sorry, that's impossible. Nobody has yet created a codec that does it. EDITED: I have come to the realisation that rendering the subtitle and the video need to be done by the same renderer, so, you can't use cyberlink powerdvd's filters, ATi AVIVO or whatsoever to do hardware decoding for mkv.

The only thing you can do is use MPC-HC or wait until someone (or you laugh.gif ) releases a codec that supports dxva or hack windows media player to support dxva(and ass/ssa/whatever subtitles).

@floppy: C2D x6800 for file server lol? Nice heatsink too. sweat.gif sweat.gif

EDIT:VLC doesn't support hardware decoding.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Oct 31 2008, 10:14 PM
blindbox
post Oct 31 2008, 10:11 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 31 2008, 10:02 PM)
Guys, which player or codec can support GPU decoding on MKV files?
Scroll up, it's on page 20, I posted it... You should at least read the page you're going to be posting at before posting.

Only Media Player classic-Home Cinema supports it I think. Cyberlink PowerDVD... meh I don't think they support mkv.

Anyway, it's funny how the best stuff for video decoding and encoding are usually free (x264, ffdshow, MPC-HC and so much else).

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2008, 07:00 PM)
You must understand that MKV file uses CPU rather then GPU. My PC fails to playback any 1080p *Pirate MKV Files* clearly as it needs much more powerful PC. I just use 720p as my TV isn't Full HD and I don't need 1080p (after all 720p is good enough).

Your HD TV is pure HD , meaning that your CPU has to output pixel by prefect which takes up more CPU usage. Graphics card isn't doing anything here. Trust me , just press alt+control+delete and notice your CPU usage when you're playing MKV Files
It has come to my attention to answer the 2nd part of your post. Monitors has absolutely nothing at all to do with your cpu usage. It is all about the file. Trust me, I tried to decode a 1080p file on a 1024x768 monitor + amd sempron 2000mhz. What came out was a slideshow.

Just because you don't run something at full screen doesn't mean it consumes less processing power.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Oct 31 2008, 10:25 PM
blindbox
post Nov 28 2008, 11:53 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(noobianz @ Nov 4 2008, 06:18 AM)
im having bad flickering when using gpu acceleration on mpc(cccp home cinema)

anybody else experiencing the same problem?
I've heard of such problems but I do not have a gpu acceleration capable card to try it out. Try messing around with ATI control panel or Nvidia Control panel and obviously the one you need to mess with are the video playback settings, whichever one your card belongs to.
blindbox
post Nov 28 2008, 02:54 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Nov 28 2008, 02:08 PM)
Bro, do you mean if i am able to play a 1080p file smooth on my LCD monitor, it should be able to show smoothly on my 40" Full HD TV?
Ever played games at 1024x768 on a 30" monitor? It's fast, right? It's the same thing, yes it should be able to show smoothly. If you don't believe me, try this. Downscale a 1080p video by making your video screen smaller. Task manager should display the same processing power used compared to running it full screen.
blindbox
post Jan 1 2009, 10:49 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 31 2008, 10:12 AM)
Recently i have been very sick of all the huge PCs and have been trying to downsize everything that i can get my hands on. I used to like huge casings, oversized coolers etc, but now no more...SMALL is the WORD!!

So i decided to start a thread with the following agenda, to discuss the following:

(1) Mini-itx mobo (or smaller!!!)
(2) Mini-itx casings/chasssis
(3) Mini-itx PSU (SFX size)
(3) SFF casing ( can join, but really, SFF casing is too big for me..)
(4) How u design ur mini-ITX system and the purpose.
(5) Review your own mini-itx system to share!
(6) Where to buy all these hard to find stuff and the price!!!
(7) Any latest news related to these gadgets!

It'll also touch a bit on HTPC, but there's already a thread for that, but i guess crosstopic mini-itx with HTPC is natural progression.

I'll start the ball rolling later with a review of my ATOM 330 system later (maybe tmrw, need to take some photos).

In the meantime, this is what i have done recently->

1) Dismantled my old ATHLON XP HTPC with a Small ATX casing (smaller than normal ATX, bigger than micro ATX)
    Assembled an ATOM 330 for the following purpose:
    BT 24/7, Web surfing.

Specs: ATOM 330 (Intel 945 GLCF2) + IFICIAN mini-ITX casing + 2GB RAM + old 120GB IDE lying around + Logitech wireless kb/mouse lying  around. Spent about RM565 on it.

Next Project:

Want to build a new HTPC with the following:
1) AM2+ mini-itx mobo with 780G chipset
2) Low power (22W) AMD X2 3250e, not released yet.
3) Find even smaller casing, maybe have to use external power brick.
4) Find where to buy all these stuff....

Purpose:
1) Watch HD movies, RMVB movies
2) Use VISTA MCE as main player ( already got an MCE remote)
3) HDMI output to LCD TV
4) Optical output to HTIB for the surround sound.
5) Freaking small so that it can be put anywhere without looking like a box in front of the TV.

Here's a sample of such mobo which i intend to buy:

http://www.jwele.com/motherboard_detail.php?419

Does anyone have this? Please share where and the price u bought them.

I was also looking at small form PSU. Try this: MINI BOX

Some nice photos. Enjoy..smile.gif

[attachmentid=740587][attachmentid=740589][attachmentid=740590][attachmentid=740591]
Hmmm.... laptop adaptors as psus. Great idea!

blindbox
post Jan 5 2009, 11:07 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Check a few pages back for the guides I posted on how to turn on DXVA for MPC-HC. I don't think PowerDVD can do MKVs.
blindbox
post Jan 6 2009, 06:33 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 6 2009, 09:31 AM)
PowerDVD 8 i am not sure, but i use Windows Media Player/Media Centre. What i do is use a software to set the WMP/WMC codec to PDVD8 Cyberlink codec.

Tested and proven can work. smile.gif (i'll double check later if my Wall-E is mkv extension or not). But i can't remember the name of that software. Just a very small app. Maybe i'll post the app links or megaupload later.

Added on January 6, 2009, 9:41 am

All IT Hypermarket got a lot. RM119.
Hmmm that's interesting. However, the sub renderer and teh video decoder needs to be done by the same codec. Only MPC-HC does that. The best things in life are usually free brows.gif .
blindbox
post Jan 8 2009, 11:58 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 6 2009, 07:49 PM)
Don't quite get what u mean, but you can select the Cyberlink codec for both audio and video. I don't like MPC anyway...prefer WMC anyday...coz i got MCE remote...everything under my control...mua-haha...also VISTA MCE is so pretty.. wub.gif
Here's what I mean. Do you know why mkvs are created? So that you can put the softsubs(subs=subtitles) and the video in the same file. Now, the softsub is rendered by DirectVobSub usually, and the video is rendered by ffdshow(or CoreAVC). However, if you want to enable DXVA, you can't have the softsub being rendered by software and the video rendered by GPU. It won't work. Subtitles have to be combined with the video on the go. Having the CPU and GPU doing the same job doesn't sound logical to me (the CPUs job is either giving other things jobs to do, or they do the job themselves)
Audio is a different story, they're decoded by something else and is completely unrelated to the video, except when it comes to synchronisation.

Here comes MPC-HC, it ALLOWS the softsub to be rendered by the GPU as well, hence allowing full DXVA support for mkv (you should mind that subtitles still look better with DirectVobSub, though they are minor).

Sure PowerDVD might be able to play mkv, but can it display the subtitles with DXVA on?
blindbox
post Jan 10 2009, 07:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Not really, check a few pages back, I put a guide there. You can also check the MPC-HC's website(google it...). I do care about subtitles, I don't understand Japanese. tongue.gif
blindbox
post Jan 28 2009, 03:43 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Jan 28 2009, 06:49 AM)
Not sure how often I've said it... When playing (ripped) 1080p videos especially those in MKV container format, processor speed is much more important as it does not fully rely on GPU HD video decode acceleration...  as the above results (mADmAN) have already shown. Heck, I can also play 1080p videos on normal GPUs without HD video acceleration.. just need the right processor. wink.gif
I'm pretty sure you need to do more research. Most ripped 1080p videos work with DXVA in MKV format. However, you will need to use MPC-HC. An easy way to configure it would be to simply use the latest K-Lite Codec pack. Google "x264 DXVA"(without the "") and the first result will give you the link on how to make 1080p videos work on GPU acceleration. Btw, for really tight-budgeted HTPC rigs, it's where GPU decoding shines. Still, there's no point to use GPU acceleration if you have at least an Intel E5200 though.

I used to like BSPlayer, but they're not very useful when I watch anime every day(plus, they like to crash on me last time, after about a few months of usage, I can't use it anymore). If you ask me which player, I like DivX player best, shows what's on the screen the instant after I drag the slider, but I can't get it to work with codecs.. so no go for me.
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 12:16 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Jan 28 2009, 09:49 PM)
MPC-HC will only work if the video stream complies with DVXA standards, otherwise it will revert back to (intensive) software decoding. And I have tried on many systems and I can tell you that with 1080p MKV you'll need a fast processor as many of the players I've tried does not use GPU acceleration at all (should be due to the way MKV demultiplexor handles the codec part). wink.gif
What you said is true, though the actual reason why you can't do DXVA with mkv is due to encoding in video stream itself, which needs to be compliant to DXVA standards and requires the same codec using DXVA to handle the subtitle stream as well. Reason? I think you'll have to ask the MPC-HC author.

I don't have an actual system yet to try this out(gimme a week or two), but if I can't use DXVA, the video won't play at all, not revert to a software decoder, but that's probably due to my settings. It's more towards troubleshooting.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry20978762

Have you tried those settings? Easier yet, just install k-lite codec pack(of course, please uninstall all your other codecs first unless you know what you are doing) and choose graphic card acceleration.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 29 2009, 12:20 AM
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 01:03 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 29 2009, 12:44 PM)
hey blindbox....

does ur settings NEED a graphics card to work or it can work with any GC including IGP?
Any Radeon HD 3xxx, Radeon HD 4xxx IGP or discrete, Geforce 8xxx, Geforce 9xxx, Geforce GTX2xx series will do. It doesn't matter if they are IGP or discrete. I'm not sure about intel's latest chipset and Radoen HD 2xxx series though. One thing I'm sure of is Radeon HD2900 doesn't support DXVA. Try the DXVA checker found here. http://bluesky23.hp.infoseek.co.jp/

If you manage to get H.264 from the software then it works for h.264.. and the same goes to the other formats it will show.
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 07:13 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jan 29 2009, 06:00 PM)
im not sure if its just me..but whenever i use the settings suggested by blindbox, i can see that my HD movies arent sharp enough..it becomes like less colored compared to when i just let it to be default hmm.gif
Check with your display drivers. I see that you use an ATi card there. http://www.guru3d.com/article/his-radeon-4...-turbo-review/4

Dynamic Contrast Enhancement. That should be responsible.
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 09:55 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

You've been repeating the same thing like a broken record. We know that already. A bogged down windows also helps in killing your video performance(a change from vista to xp completely removes the stutter problem away). Anyway, does DXVA work on your end with the guide I gave you?

Honestly, only about 10% of the problems at that forum got fixed, and that's because they're fixable software-wise, which is mostly due to the user not being smart enough.

Another thing to add, anyone tried the multithreaded ffdshow yet?

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 29 2009, 10:04 PM
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 10:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Too bad for you then, it works for others, though I hope your settings were the same with mine.
blindbox
post Jan 29 2009, 11:33 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

lex: Tried this before? http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.p...lease_id=523000 It's a multithreaded ffdshow. Not needed if you use CoreAVC Professional edition(which supports SMP)

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jan 30 2009, 12:09 AM
blindbox
post Feb 19 2009, 11:22 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 19 2009, 12:43 PM)
hey guys....how do i put back the settings for MPC-HC back to default?

is there a "restore defaults" settings in the options or something?
There isn't any "restore default settings" but there is a way to reset it to default. Just go to the .exe's folder and delete mplayerc.ini

If that doesn't work, refer here.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,16954948

QUOTE(djdyks @ Feb 19 2009, 11:17 PM)
I've just setup a HTPC with the following spec
AMD Athlon 7750 Blk Edition
Asus M3A78-EM
4Gb RAM DDR2

However i just found out the the mobo's Realtek cheapset doesn't support DTS / Dolby decoding, can somebody pls advice what shud i do ?
Add soundcard ? Which one compatible and comes with DTS / Dolby decoder ? Cheap one pls ... There's only one PCI-E slot, i tot wanna save it for GC for future gaming ...
Or change mobo ? Which mobo got chipset which support DTS / Dolby decoding ? Or get a mobo with dual PCI-E slots ?
Pls help !
Pretty sure K-Lite Codec Pack can do the decoding by software.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Feb 19 2009, 11:26 PM
blindbox
post Mar 14 2009, 01:29 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 13 2009, 10:53 PM)
hie guys i dont anyone of u encounter this prob...or discuss in previous thread....

im using nVidia 9800 GC connected via HDMI cable --> 32" lcd but the text is distorted...google many source but it lead to nVidia problem...downloaded the latest patch also no luck.

Maybe u guys can share with me how u solve this distorted text problem.

Thanks alot..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/851869

Will this help? I currently don't have a Geforce card on my hands right now,but if you adjust whatever that is under that settings(no pics either.. my bad, should've put pics when writing that guide ages ago. Will do if I got my hands on a geforce card), you're bound to fix your problem. Or maybe you can set it in nvidia's control panel to set it to LCD TV, that might help as well.

0.0453sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:36 AM