126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V4, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 02:08 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

1.2k EF is good lo. LS somemore. My EF only 1k but it rolled LS + IAS 10%. Using it to farm mp5 keys (with the exception of RD elites I had to switch back to 700LoH+2.9LS rare spear)
waklu
post Dec 20 2012, 02:16 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 20 2012, 01:42 PM)
Other Tempest Run is getting 100M XP/hour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IexN0noGWcg&feature=plcp

My Poor-man version of Tempest Run is getting 56M XP/hour. Mainly because I don't have complete Inna set, so I need some pit stop to re-cast SW, actually I am getting a hang on it.  tongue.gif

Thank you all, especially the master of Tempest Rush; Master waklu  notworthy.gif

PS: no change in any gear, except to Skorn (got from drop long time ago). most spirit generator is from Skill.  nod.gif
PSS: Total gold needed to do Tempest Run? 0. Muahahah! You guys should try it. Drop OWE for awhile.
Great effort bro! Glad you enjoy it.

Just a quick observation, ignore the lashers and single big mob(shielders) because not worth it to kill them. I use the shielders only to get my foresight rebuff tongue.gif

And once you rush the mob and cyclone spawned, provided most of the mob have died, rush to the next mob. Cyclone will kill most of the leftover mobs.

OMG the gold on the floorrrr... grrrrr

hahaha
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 20 2012, 02:29 PM

241 posts

As far my monk is concerned, mp5 is ezpz.

This post has been edited by MOBAJOBG: Dec 20 2012, 02:30 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 02:30 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 20 2012, 02:29 PM)
As far as 200k dps monk is concerned, mp5 is ezpz.
fixed
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 02:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 20 2012, 02:29 PM)
As far my monk is concerned, mp5 is ezpz.
i guess my shitty 60k dps have it easier since you know, i take shit RD damage, right? laugh.gif

in all seriousness, it isn't all EZPZ for me but hey, managed to farm that 10 act 1 keys, moved on to act 2, and so far gotten 1 key out of the 5 or 6 kills i had on him laugh.gif

ill be seeing that... honest green man for a while lol.
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 02:36 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 20 2012, 02:33 PM)
i guess my shitty 60k dps have it easier since you know, i take shit RD damage, right? laugh.gif

in all seriousness, it isn't all EZPZ for me but hey, managed to farm that 10 act 1 keys, moved on to act 2, and so far gotten 1 key out of the 5 or 6 kills i had on him laugh.gif

ill be seeing that... honest green man for a while lol.
what route? I now do Vault of Assassin then Oasis. currently had 5/10 A2 key run. My last supplied used up in MP10 uber runs.
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 02:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 02:36 PM)
what route? I now do Vault of Assassin then Oasis. currently had 5/10 A2 key run. My last supplied used up in MP10 uber runs.
VOA 5 elite then find KW in oasis then belial. i dont even bother to finish the entire VOA's 7-8 ish elite full map run lol

i straight away select last quest kill belial too as i dont want to bother myself with kulle and do that stupid citizen saving event lol
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 02:40 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

I don't do belial. KW then finish. restart and I'll be inside the vault. rinse and repeat.
Vault I do 5NV + THAT huge group of mobs.
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 02:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 02:40 PM)
I don't do belial. KW then finish. restart and I'll be inside the vault. rinse and repeat.
Vault I do 5NV + THAT huge group of mobs.
i go through belial for the sake of completion. his guaranteed drop isnt too bad if i can ever roll something good sweat.gif

i think i gotten a legendary off him too... devil's tongue or something, 200k in AH no one wants sweat.gif

as for that group of mob, if i meet them ill go kill. i wont go out of my way to find them lol
gladfly
post Dec 20 2012, 02:58 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(qicquser @ Dec 20 2012, 12:11 PM)
@2890
Maybe try to time your skills correctly (Serenity, BoH, FitL, even MOC).
Yes MOC. If you cant tank them, dont use MOC + FitL to burst them down. You die faster.
Try to kite a little so you dont hit more than 3 or 4 at the same time. Having 2 mobs doing RD is better than a bunch. Beware on horde + RD mobs.

Hope that helps. Otherwise you need to start gearing up on armor, resists, life regen.

@Everyone
Does RD scales the same for all MP? Not sure about this but what I experience, the damage reflected is the same.
OK. I just address on the point of RD scales.

In short, yes it scales. It scales based on your DPS..i.e if you hit harder the RD is higher.

The reason you dont see the difference is that if you equip a LS weapon, you get the same mitigation factor no matter what is your DPS, less DPS means less LS but also less RD reflected. Higher DPS means more LS but more RD refelcted. The ratio stays the same hence, it makes no difference in respect of RD if you have 100k DPS with 3% LS or 200k DPS with 3% LS.

As for LoH, it totally the opposite. You Loh is based on per hit and not your DPS. Hence, when your DPS goes higher, the effective life sustain against RD is lower for the simple reason that LoH dosnt scale. Therefore, higer DPS means higer reflect but sustain is the same.

This is another reason why LS (as of now) is superior to LoH. However, in my humble opinion, is wont be wise to go all LS, in view of PVP. We still dont know the mechanics for PvP yet, but assuming based on PvE standards, LS might not be very effective in view that most toons have 90% mitigation therefore only 10% of effective damage will be dealt. LS steals from effective damage, hence probably you will get x% of the LS from the 10% only.
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 03:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 20 2012, 02:58 PM)
The reason you dont see the difference is that if you equip a LS weapon, you get the same mitigation factor no matter what is your DPS, less DPS means less LS but also less RD reflected. Higher DPS means more LS but more RD refelcted. The ratio stays the same hence, it makes no difference in respect of RD if you have 100k DPS with 3% LS or 200k DPS with 3% LS.

This is another reason why LS (as of now) is superior to LoH. However, in my humble opinion, is wont be wise to go all LS, in view of PVP. We still dont know the mechanics for PvP yet, but assuming based on PvE standards, LS might not be very effective in view that most toons have 90% mitigation therefore only 10% of effective damage will be dealt. LS steals from effective damage, hence probably you will get x% of the LS from the 10% only.
that one hits home pretty hard. so my shitty dps is stealing less life, hence technically RD hits me as hard as any 200 or even 300k dps'er would w

anyways, for pvp, id personally just leave it be until blizz has any official details given. i mean, pvp as it stands right now would be a pointless cockfight as anyone with a ample amount of time or master card can rule it indefinitely. what's the point for anyone who just plays casually to even bother about pvp?

if you've experienced WoW's arena system, that would be among the fairest implementation, but then it entirely invalidates all gears the players has collected thus far.

so either path blizzard take they will still be hated by the players. only matter of lesser of evils here (fair methods appease the hardcore/serious (i may not be hardcore these days, but i'm still pretty damn serious on my gaming and thus i've never clicked the RMAH button even till this day smile.gif ) players more, however that only takes up a small % of players as opposed to the general mass of players)
SUS2890
post Dec 20 2012, 03:30 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 20 2012, 02:58 PM)
OK. I just address on the point of RD scales.

In short, yes it scales. It scales based on your DPS..i.e if you hit harder the RD is higher.

As for LoH, it totally the opposite. You Loh is based on per hit and not your DPS. Hence, when your DPS goes higher, the effective life sustain against RD is lower for the simple reason that LoH dosnt scale. Therefore, higer DPS means higer reflect but sustain is the same.

Dude, it does not work like that. 100k DPS with 3% LS leeches you 3k life but RD gives you 10k damage back. 200k DPS with 3% LS leeches you 6k life but RD gives you 20k damage back. Is not as simple as you pointed out. I'm too lazy to elaborate.

Gladfly, ur understanding is slightly off man.

RD aside, do u think blackthrone pants + chest is good for monks???

This post has been edited by 2890: Dec 20 2012, 03:40 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 03:43 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:30 PM)
Dude, it does not work like that. 100k DPS with 3% LS leeches you 3k life but RD gives you 10k damage back. 200k DPS with 3% LS leeches you 6k life but RD gives you 20k damage back. Is not as simple as you pointed out. I'm too lazy to elaborate.

No it does not work like that either.

ME: 83k dps
Basing on D3up.com stats:

Fists of Thunder - Thunderclap
DPS 180920
Average Hit 73775
Damage Range 17919 - 37199
Critical Hit 94970 - 197153

Life Steal/Hit Avg 796.77
Life on Hit/Hit Avg 1211.25
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 4924.31
Spirit Generation 14.71 spirit/sec

Quazacolt: 66k dps
DPS 144143
Average Hit 55354
Damage Range 14716 - 29925
Critical Hit 61220 - 124489

Life Steal/Hit Avg 243.56
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 634.23
Spirit Generation 15.62 spirit/sec

Moba: 120k dps
DPS 263124
Average Hit 78311
Damage Range 14700 - 29845
Critical Hit 107164 - 217572

Life Steal/Hit Avg 422.88
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 1420.88
Spirit Generation 20.16 spirit/sec

2890: 112k dps
DPS 261753
Average Hit 78456
Damage Range 20828 - 42194
Critical Hit 100806 - 204217

Life Steal/Hit Avg 423.66
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 1413.46
Spirit Generation 20.02 spirit/sec
Gear Bonus +10% Damage

The per-hit is the actual damage we need to talk about. Look at the red numbers. I believe the RD is calculated from there. those with >2.0 att spd gets RD hit harder per seconds due to the fact that he hit harder per sec.

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:30 PM)
RD aside, do u think blackthrone pants + chest is good for monks???
inna pants are BiS for monk. tanker monk can go for BT chest (like what I am right now)

Added on December 20, 2012, 3:48 pmMore:
Waklu's Skorn: 123k dps
DPS 269378
Average Hit 157531
Damage Range 53404 - 72236
Critical Hit 286779 - 387909

Life Steal/Hit Avg 1858.87
Life on Hit/Hit Avg 197.5
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 3516.39
Spirit Generation 10.26 spirit/sec

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Dec 20 2012, 03:48 PM
SUS2890
post Dec 20 2012, 03:48 PM

146 posts

I think that's what i meant because the LS is base on the damage you are dealing. Right?

But the mechanics here is that RD first then LS so high DPS gonna suffer more because of that. RD is like a ticking bomb for high DPS char.

oh btw, that gear bonus +10% is SoJ bonus right? How do you calculate WKL lightning skill bonus?

p.s: Skorn that good meh???

p.s.s: But merging BT and Inna's pants is kinda bad i think. You get bonus from neither parts.

This post has been edited by 2890: Dec 20 2012, 03:50 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 03:49 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

So, waklu do you feel pain on RD elites?
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 03:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 03:43 PM)
No it does not work like that either.

ME: 83k dps
Basing on D3up.com stats:

DPS 180920
Average Hit 73775
Damage Range 17919 - 37199
Critical Hit 94970 - 197153

Life Steal/Hit Avg 796.77
Life on Hit/Hit Avg 1211.25
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 4924.31
Spirit Generation 14.71 spirit/sec

Quazacolt: 66k dps
DPS 144143
Average Hit 55354
Damage Range 14716 - 29925
Critical Hit 61220 - 124489

Life Steal/Hit Avg 243.56
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 634.23
Spirit Generation 15.62 spirit/sec

Moba: 120k dps
DPS 263124
Average Hit 78311
Damage Range 14700 - 29845
Critical Hit 107164 - 217572

Life Steal/Hit Avg 422.88
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 1420.88
Spirit Generation 20.16 spirit/sec

2890: 112k dps
DPS 261753
Average Hit 78456
Damage Range 20828 - 42194
Critical Hit 100806 - 204217

Life Steal/Hit Avg 423.66
LPS (APS*(LoH+LS)) 1413.46
Spirit Generation 20.02 spirit/sec
Gear Bonus +10% Damage

The per-hit is the actual damage we need to talk about. Look at the red numbers. I believe the RD is calculated from there. those with >2.0 att spd gets RD hit harder per seconds due to the fact that he hit harder per sec.
inna pants are BiS for monk. tanker monk can go for BT chest (like what I am right now)
not just that la. people are missing out how LS scales on inferno, and how RD damage is calculated AFTER dmg mitigation.

i mean, take RD being 10%, uber barb with some 200-300k dps dishing out 2mil HOTA or someshit. if its a straight 10%, wouldn't said uber barb 1 shot himself the moment his first HOTA lands? 10% of 2mil is 200k, i dont think any barb have 200k hp rofl. and since LS (despite inferno scaling) DOES NOT further scale with any mob dmg mitigation (most of the time there is none, notable ones are act 3 fat goat casters lol), you have the advantage on having higher dps when dealing with RD. and that's all your further mitigation (eg: serenity) and life sustenance (eg: potions/BoH) aside smile.gif
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 03:50 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:48 PM)

I think that's what i meant because the LS is base on the damage you are dealing. Right?

But the mechanics here is that RD first then LS so high DPS gonna suffer more because of that. RD is like a ticking bomb for high DPS char.

oh btw, that gear bonus +10% is SoJ bonus right? How do you calculate WKL lightning skill bonus?

p.s: Skorn that good meh???

p.s.s: But merging BT and Inna's pants is kinda bad i think. You get bonus from neither parts.
no idea. but you can read up:
http://d3up.com/b/204761#dps-math

I pening kepala seeing the figures
SUS2890
post Dec 20 2012, 03:51 PM

146 posts

^ again. Not looking at the HP but EHP. I'm pretty sure we all have more than 200k EHP here.
qicquser
post Dec 20 2012, 03:53 PM

Why all the numbers guys?
Get more AR and Armor. That'll do the job.

@2890
try inna pants with belt to get the dex bonus. and bt chest for the huge vit
gladfly
post Dec 20 2012, 03:54 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 20 2012, 03:11 PM)
that one hits home pretty hard. so my shitty dps is stealing less life, hence technically RD hits me as hard as any 200 or even 300k dps'er would w

anyways, for pvp, id personally just leave it be until blizz has any official details given. i mean, pvp as it stands right now would be a pointless cockfight as anyone with a ample amount of time or master card can rule it indefinitely. what's the point for anyone who just plays casually to even bother about pvp?

if you've experienced WoW's arena system, that would be among the fairest implementation, but then it entirely invalidates all gears the players has collected thus far.

so either path blizzard take they will still be hated by the players. only matter of lesser of evils here (fair methods appease the hardcore/serious (i may not be hardcore these days, but i'm still pretty damn serious on my gaming and thus i've never clicked the RMAH button even till this day smile.gif ) players more, however that only takes up a small % of players as opposed to the general mass of players)
Yup. I was also intruiged by the RD issue and done a fair bit of reading at battlenet. By the way, RD from what I read is is claimed at 20% and it appears there are some math to back this claim. To to hit home the message I just put an example

A toon with 3% LS at whatever DPS with 90% mitigation.

1. 100k hit

RD @20% = 20k reflected
Real damage = 20k x 0.1 =2k hit.
LS =100k x3% x0.2 = 600
Therefore net life loss is 1400 (2k -600)

2. 200k hit

RD@ 20% =40k refected
Real damage =40k x0.1 = 4k hit
LS=200k x3% x 0.2 =1200
Therefore net life loss is 2800 (4k -1200)

3. 300k hit

RD@ 20% =60k refected
Real damage =60k x0.1 = 6k hit
LS=300k x3% x 0.2 =1800
Therefore net life loss is 4200 (6k -1800)

Conclusion = same ratio no scaling. You noticed that the RD of 200k and 300k is exactly 2x of 100k and 3x.

2. A toon with 2000 LoH at whatever DPS with 90% mitigation. on the assumption of proc rate of 100%

1. 100k hit

RD @20% = 20k reflected
Real damage = 20k x 0.1 =2k hit.
LoH =2000
Therefore net life gain/loss =zero

2. 200k hit

RD@ 20% =40k refected
Real damage =40k x0.1 = 4k hit
LoH=2000
Therefore net life loss is 2000 (4k -2000)

3. 300k hit

RD @20% = 60k reflected
Real damage = 60k x 0.1 =6k hit.
LoH =2000
Therefore net life loss of 4k. (6k-2k)

Conclusion: No fixed ratio. a 300k hit = 2x of 200k hit whereas a 100k does not lose any life.

126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:26 AM