126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V4, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 09:41 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

@2890 & @Quazacolt,

Chill up!

RD scales as your dps increase. The headache is when you got high attack speed (>2.0), you are basically punch more and RD more on you, hence life sustain is critical.

And, since the RD minions are bugged, try just focus your hit on main elite and let the SW deal with the minions while you punching. Of course, with just <3% LS with no LoH is really a no go for RD, let alone you are on MP5.

Summerfist occasionally have problem with RD in MP5 too even with 83k dps @ 1.7 att spd, 5.4%LS, 969 LoH, 565 regen. feel very uncomfortable to see my health bar going rollercoaster

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 20 2012, 09:54 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 17 2012, 11:45 AM)
My monk can facetank RD mobs in solo mp10 (as playable means 1 death in every 10 packs of elite) wielding a slow 2H 5.8 LS skorn with stats of 1.72 aspd, ~700 AR, ~5000 armor, ~53K hp, ~173k dps and ~500 LR ...no LoH or LpSS.

Furthermore, proper timing to use monk skills such as Serenity -Ascension, Blinding Flash -FiTL & Seven Sided-Strike -Pandemonium are crucial to stay alive ...need Beacon of Ytar passive, though.
Kindly refer to those stats for your reference of playing games to cope with the elites in mp10 solo.

By the way, my monk has attained ~200k sheet dps now without even compromising on its survivability.

This post has been edited by MOBAJOBG: Dec 20 2012, 10:21 AM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 09:59 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

I am in dire need of a replacement of belt to boost my dps. The witching hour(s) are too expensive cry.gif
waklu
post Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM

70 posts

become part time gold farmer like me hehe

yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 10:01 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(waklu @ Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM)
become part time gold farmer like me hehe
if I can be part time gamer is consider good lol, everyday only had like 2-3h game time.

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:02 amlet me summon the powah of master-----------------card.

nope, not happening shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Dec 20 2012, 10:02 AM
waklu
post Dec 20 2012, 10:03 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 10:01 AM)
if I can be part time gamer is consider good lol, everyday only had like 2-3h game time.

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:02 amlet me summon the powah of master-----------------card.

nope, not happening shakehead.gif
2-3H? more then me bro hahaha

aftter married now, i'll be lucky if i get more then 1H of gameplay now cry.gif
paranoid
post Dec 20 2012, 10:10 AM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

higher dps against rd is indeed painful.
players with dps often kill themselves accidentally, i'm refering to mp9-10 elites. especially for monks, those mini cyclones can turn on you.

with the same LS, and difference in dps, it doesnt necessary meant higher dps is better, everybody knows RD is a pain in the ass, look at blizzard forum, RD needs to be fixed. with huge amount of dps, it's always painful with the puny amount of lilfesteal you could get.

when a player go against RD in mp9-mp10, the amount of dps and LS they carry with them, they will know why RD is painful. with lower dps you hardly can feel it yet. you dont scale ur survivability point blank just like that.

on the monk build @2890,
hmm.. my monk's a noob compared to yours but i dont know why i dont have that terrible problem for rd.
okay one thing, i myself dont like to depend on serenity and kite everytime i deal with elites. what i do is run the map, lure as many mobs so i have a pack of 4 RD elites and fullscreen of other white mobs. those baby cyclones work wonders.

dont recall whether RD can be dodged, i've read different sources on that but im not sure so not gonna mention any, apart from RD elites. generally, ur amethyst macam too many, i'd prefer emeralds. high dex = high dodge = higher dps also. 40k hp seems enough for me already.
gladfly
post Dec 20 2012, 10:12 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 19 2012, 11:03 PM)
well i'm wearing most of my DH gears so didn't need OWE.

I don't think 2.7LS is enough. Man, don't tell me i'm gonna be forced into using a LS EF. How do u guys deal with RD mobs?
Come let me wade into this..

YOu got transendence which gives you 62 life per spirit. You got no Loh and 2.7% LS. So, to compement your life sustain, since you ahve picked transendence, get a helm(not weapons since yours are awesome) with Life per spirit spent (LPPS) with at least 50. Thus, you will get about 110 LPPS.

110 LPPS is great as long you keep spamming spirit, eg ..casting SW will give you about 8k life, mantras 5k life..and so on.

So the trick is to keep spamming spirit spenders as a way of topping back life which should be a cake for you since your spirit regen ought to be fast in view of your attack speed..smile.gif

BUt seriously, at MP5 you stats are more than sufficient, could be you are not used to monk tactics. A little repositioning and timing of serenity/Spirit penders/potion/ is needed for the Ohh Sheeet Elites.

But its pretty fun using a monk...I play mine more than my Dh these days

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:16 am
QUOTE(paranoid @ Dec 20 2012, 10:10 AM)
players with dps often kill themselves accidentally, i'm refering to mp9-10 elites. especially for monks, those mini cyclones can turn on you.

with the same LS, and difference in dps, it doesnt necessary meant higher dps is better, everybody knows RD is a pain in the ass, look at blizzard forum, RD needs to be fixed. with huge amount of dps, it's always painful with the puny amount of lilfesteal you could get.

when a player go against RD in mp9-mp10, the amount of dps and LS they carry with them, they will know why RD is painful. with lower dps you hardly can feel it yet. you dont scale ur survivability point blank just like that.
on the monk build @2890,
hmm.. my monk's a noob compared to yours but i dont know why i dont have that terrible problem for rd.
okay one thing, i myself dont like to depend on serenity and kite everytime i deal with elites. what i do is run the map, lure as many mobs so i have a pack of 4 RD elites and fullscreen of other white mobs. those baby cyclones work wonders.

dont recall whether RD can be dodged, i've read different sources on that but im not sure so not gonna mention any, apart from RD elites. generally, ur amethyst macam too many, i'd prefer emeralds. high dex = high dodge = higher dps also. 40k hp seems enough for me already.
high dex = high dodge = higher dps also this ..plus you get 1/2 Armor for every dex via STI.

RD cant be dodged anymore. Just remember RD damage taken first..and subsequently the life sustain kicks in.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 20 2012, 10:18 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 11:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 09:41 AM)
@2890 & @Quazacolt,
no worries i'm pretty chilled, not to mention for the most part a man of my word. when i said i'm done, i'm pretty much done smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:14 am
you used to be able to, and then they fixed it, which somehow introduced a bug where RD is doing more damage as intended (refer to previous linked blue post) smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:18 am
QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 20 2012, 10:12 AM)
BUt seriously, at MP5 you stats are more than sufficient, could be you are not used to monk tactics. A little repositioning and timing of serenity/Spirit penders/potion/ is needed for the Ohh Sheeet Elites.

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:16 am

high dex = high dodge = higher dps also this ..plus you get 1/2 Armor for every dex via STI.
that's what i was getting into but oh wells lol.

and yea, high dodge isn't so much for "dodging RD", its more so you're dodging incoming damage from elites especially in higher mp (eg: mp10 that everyone harps about) that typically deals significantly more damage than what your RD can damage you.

not to mention, as even jay wilson mentioned, there's never harm in having more damage. (yes, even against RD guys, serenity, or potions/BoH/LS/LPSS/LoH etc etc are more than enough to sustain you) wink.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 20 2012, 11:18 AM
qicquser
post Dec 20 2012, 12:11 PM

@2890
Maybe try to time your skills correctly (Serenity, BoH, FitL, even MOC).
Yes MOC. If you cant tank them, dont use MOC + FitL to burst them down. You die faster.
Try to kite a little so you dont hit more than 3 or 4 at the same time. Having 2 mobs doing RD is better than a bunch. Beware on horde + RD mobs.

Hope that helps. Otherwise you need to start gearing up on armor, resists, life regen.

@Everyone
Does RD scales the same for all MP? Not sure about this but what I experience, the damage reflected is the same.

This post has been edited by qicquser: Dec 20 2012, 12:14 PM
paranoid
post Dec 20 2012, 12:49 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

nevermind lol

This post has been edited by paranoid: Dec 20 2012, 12:54 PM
samuraislash
post Dec 20 2012, 12:52 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(waklu @ Dec 20 2012, 11:03 AM)
2-3H? more then me bro hahaha

aftter married now, i'll be lucky if i get more then 1H of gameplay now  cry.gif
W8 for another 2-3 years.. Then you will get back ur game time.. XD
d3dragonslayer
post Dec 20 2012, 12:58 PM

QUOTE(qicquser @ Dec 20 2012, 12:11 PM)
@Everyone
Does RD scales the same for all MP? Not sure about this but what I experience, the damage reflected is the same.
yeah it scales the same across all MP.. only difference is that higher MP has more health thus have to endure more RD taken before killing it
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 01:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(qicquser @ Dec 20 2012, 12:11 PM)
Try to kite a little so you dont hit more than 3 or 4 at the same time. Having 2 mobs doing RD is better than a bunch. Beware on horde + RD mobs.

@Everyone
hoh boy.

anyways yes RD scales the same for all MP as it scales based on your damage towards them and 25% (iinm? forgot liao lolz) being reflected back. mp0-10 makes no difference aside from the fact that you require better gear for higher mp and thus getting more reflected back naturally (and on that point, by right you should have equivalent EHP to scale as well) smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(d3dragonslayer @ Dec 20 2012, 12:58 PM)
only difference is that higher MP has more health thus have to endure more RD taken before killing it
oh yes that too smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 20 2012, 01:08 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 01:20 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

higher MP mobs hit you harder, RD should be identical.

MP1 might be 1 (mob hit you)+1(RD)
MP2 might be 1.2(Mob hit you)+1(RD)
MP10 might be 2+1

hence MP10 is pain, but not because of the instance of RD, but the instance of you getting hit & RD at the same time.
cowithgun
post Dec 20 2012, 01:42 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

Other Tempest Run is getting 100M XP/hour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IexN0noGWcg&feature=plcp

My Poor-man version of Tempest Run is getting 56M XP/hour. Mainly because I don't have complete Inna set, so I need some pit stop to re-cast SW, actually I am getting a hang on it. tongue.gif

Thank you all, especially the master of Tempest Rush; Master waklu notworthy.gif

PS: no change in any gear, except to Skorn (got from drop long time ago). most spirit generator is from Skill. nod.gif
PSS: Total gold needed to do Tempest Run? 0. Muahahah! You guys should try it. Drop OWE for awhile.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Dec 20 2012, 01:54 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 20 2012, 01:53 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 20 2012, 01:42 PM)
tempted to try it out myself, however im poor on 2handers so i guess thats a scrapped idea

used tempest rush back in my tanking days quite a bit btw. good in getting out of sticky situations heh
SUS2890
post Dec 20 2012, 01:53 PM

146 posts

Hey fellow monks, thanks for the CONSTRUCTIVE comments. You know who you are!

p.s: Let's all try kiting at high MP. Sounds fun!

Added on December 20, 2012, 1:57 pm

on the monk build @2890,

Me too!

I bought a cheap EF for 10mil. Hopefully LS on both weapons gonna work.

p.s: Sold my tyrael. Changing chest

Added on December 20, 2012, 1:59 pmAnd btw, to the person who said RD deals 25% damage back, LOL. Is 10 percent actually.

This post has been edited by 2890: Dec 20 2012, 01:59 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 20 2012, 02:02 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 20 2012, 01:53 PM)
Hey fellow monks, thanks for the CONSTRUCTIVE comments. You know who you are!

p.s: Let's all try kiting at high MP. Sounds fun!

Added on December 20, 2012, 1:57 pm

Me too!

I bought a cheap EF for 10mil. Hopefully LS on both weapons gonna work.

p.s: Sold my tyrael. Changing chest

Added on December 20, 2012, 1:59 pmAnd btw, to the person who said RD deals 25% damage back, LOL. Is 10 percent actually.
EF is good, EF is good, LS+ what stats you bought the EF?

prepare to FOT-tele-chase mobs biggrin.gif
SUS2890
post Dec 20 2012, 02:04 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 20 2012, 02:02 PM)
EF is good, EF is good, LS+ what stats you bought the EF?

prepare to FOT-tele-chase mobs biggrin.gif
Meh, crappy EF la. 1.2K DPS, some DEX, no OS, and 2.7 LS i think.

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:46 AM