6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V4, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

gladfly
post Dec 14 2012, 04:02 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(jerrychoo2004 @ Dec 14 2012, 03:49 PM)
hi guys,
for monk weapon, basically is shenlong sets good? Or just get yellow weapon with good stats + socket?
i see a lot of monks not using shenlong sets
For the simple reason that 1k DPS shenloongs are hard to comeby not to mention socket and tghe $$$. However, they are very good if you can find a pair with 1k DPS + Socket.
gladfly
post Dec 14 2012, 05:42 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Dec 14 2012, 05:38 PM)
Thx for ur explanation, ya, now i equiped WKL + Shenlong, attack so so only sad.gif
Why la WKL and shenlongs..

If pick shenlongs go with the set as the bonus 130dex (0.33 Spirit regen is useless)

If you chose WKL..get a Echo Fury..or a black damage rare. The +5/6% applies to the min max damage.

Not efficent if you pair WKL with elemental weapons, like shenlongs.
gladfly
post Dec 14 2012, 07:52 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(samuraislash @ Dec 14 2012, 06:44 PM)
I see.. Never know that wkl is eficient with black wep. Btw need to reconfirm. If i use FoT then + 20% lightning skill dmg  (wkl) + skull + soj + madstone + amulet in total 60% booster on the skill dmg.. Means i improve on the minimum dmg rite? The way i see this skill dmg come first before wepon dmg. Means even use cheap wepon my minimum dmg already boosted by the additional skill dmg  that already high..  rclxub.gif
Yes, the +20% adds on top of your FoT base damage, hence in you eg, the FoT damage will be 130%.

In short yes. +% elemental damage will stack. However, FoT bonus (via helm/amulet/ring) i.e say..you get 30% I think how its computed its a 30% add on to 110% FoT base attack, thus giving you 140% weapon damage. The + % elemental damage works differently,.say the eg above FoT 140% damage x5% extra = you get 147.5% and not 145%.

Therefore, +% elemental damage gives better boost. Anyone care to correct me on this?

gladfly
post Dec 15 2012, 01:28 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 14 2012, 09:13 PM)
Aduh. Salah la..

Won Kim Lau:
- Adds x% to lightning dmg -> (1)
- Lightning skills deals xx% more dmg -> (2)

Statement (2) gives you a xx% bonus to your FoT or SW: Cyclone skill. So whatever native numbers FoT has you add xx% onto it. SW:Cyclone is tricky.

The "xx% more damage on lighning skills" improves all skills that cause x% weapon damage as lightning. This improves all damage instances of FoT, including the additional aoe component of Thunderclap. Also, it improves the tornados spawned by Sweeping Wind/Cyclone. However, it does NOT improve Sweeping Wind's base damage, also it does not work for Seven-Sided Strike.

Now, statement (1) that goes to your NON ELEMENTAL range on your weapons. The highlighted red statement is inaccurate.

The "Adds x% to lightning damage" takes all your physical damage (and physical damage only) and adds 5% of that as lightning to your overall dps. So if you use a weapon with only physical damage, this acts as a flat 5% DPS increase. If your weapon however has any elemental damage instead (even if it is lighning damage) the elemental portion WILL NOT be increased, so you end up with a bonus less than 5%

p.s: +x% elemental bonus applies to rings or amulets with average damage range as well because that average damage range is being added to your weapon damage range as well. Which is why, at the moment, elemental weapons kinda suck. I hope there's some sort of buff coming soon. Instead of working on the meaningless PVP, is stuff like this that should be altered.
you are right.. i totally forgotten that +% elemental damage applies to physical damage/black..so my compuation is utterly wrong. Dont know why I came up with that formula..lol..

But I suspect my brain was trying to figure out the multiplicative or additive ..hence I just cut short and did a multiplicative. As quaza said..there is a certain formula to it...its not just strait forward + or X...
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 12:56 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 17 2012, 12:37 PM)
naw can. however i believe the snapshotting rule applies so the laid out arcane can be a bit dodgy sometimes (eg: if the resolve debuff is applied and arcane laid out even if the resolve debuff fades, it will still be the -20% dmg. however if arcane is laid out without debuff, and then you apply resolve debuff, no difference)
That depends...I am not sure on this but I read soemwhere that says resolve only works v the mob u are
hitting and does not proc from AOE. Hence, its not very good in large packs. Need someone to confirm on this..

gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 01:12 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 17 2012, 01:08 PM)
yeap definitely. maybe ill go find some imps at mp0 or something to play with lol
Why imps? Lol..I really hate those damn imps..cause they have such small hit box and they are fast as hell....
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:02 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 02:54 PM)
i'm sorry but The Fist of Az has a similar damage range compared to EF and it has stun on it. Once my monk hits 60. I'm using Fist of Az + WKL. (no one copy please  tongue.gif  tongue.gif )
Kenot fight EF la..straight up DPS..EF is the KING!!!...the +0.2x attacks is tremendous. FoA i remember only got 1 random roll..so if you roll CD..means no socket...if socket no CD. EF can roll..socket + CD yo....

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(Riki1 @ Dec 17 2012, 02:36 PM)
meaning that cannot 2 hand EF ?  unsure.gif
Can...you can put a pre- 1.04 EF and post 1.04 EF at the same time..

But ..pre 1.04 leg are really pariah max though..

But you cant equip same leg if they are "unique equipped".

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 03:05 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:10 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 02:57 PM)
If this is the case, I think you need to change some of your gears/weapons and do without bloodthirst passive.

Added on December 17, 2012, 2:59 pm
Fist of Az and Echoing Fury combo then.  laugh.gif
Stun will overcome the fear issue. And you get damage and speed. Best of both worlds.

WKL... I think it is a bit over-rated and over-priced.
Lulz..until you use one WKL with 6%/25% bonus. For what is it..I think its under rated compared with a EF. Since you made the post on comparing times to down Ghom, maybe someone can do a test which one is faster..

My money is on WKL ( I am bias as I am using a WKL).
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:07 PM)
The +0.2x AS only brings the EF to 1.4X since it is a mace. The FoA has 1.54 - 1.55 AS. So, speed wise FoA wins.

Well, a EF with OS + native crit is 500m and that is for a native crit of say 40-50 percent. Since i think monk prioritize AS and CC, i think EF with native crit is overrated.

Now, a 1.2k DPS FoA with OS is less than 100m here. 60-80 to be exact. Are u going to fork out 400mil more for a 1.1k DPS EF with 50CHD? Since it is a 1.1k DPS EF, the 50CHD has been overshadowed by the greater damage range of the FoA.

The only roll i feel EF shines is the LS roll with OS but again, stun ain't that bad.
Bro..you forgot that EF gives +0.2x attacks to the offhand as well....that is where the money is smile.gif. So if you equip a mace/spear as off hand ...it will mirror EF's AS, which is 1.4x..now if you equip say a dagger..it will be 1.7x..which is pretty laju wei...and thats before 15% ASI bonus dor DW.

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
I'm using 5%/25% bonus WKL on my OH.

Faster? In what? You mean attack speed? Like 2.76 attack speed per sec?
Lolz..what the DPS? I got a 930 DPS 6/20 and it blows a 1.1k rare easily. (Cookie cutter FoT/SW build of course)

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
I'm using 5%/25% bonus WKL on my OH.

Faster? In what? You mean attack speed? Like 2.76 attack speed per sec?
NO I mean to kill Ghom..

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 03:16 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:34 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:20 PM)
Mine is 879DPS.

Yes, I agree it's comparable to 1.1K weapon.
FoA give you 1.2K to 1.3K weapon. Rares can give you the same range too.

I'm not saying WKL is not good. The point here is the price of WKL.
You can get better or alternative with the same or lower price.

(weapons that I mentioned are come with LS)

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:21 pm
Yeah, I think the thread is made to find out who can kill Ghom fast.
Of course..LS is a necessity and so is a socket. So what we are talking about is end game stuff. FoA is a buy and forget gear hence its cheap. TLDR it wont scale, but WKL will scale.

The argument for WKL is on the bonus, as your DPS goes up, the WKL becomes more deadly. Eg..if you get x-y damage afflix on jewelry, WKL add5/6% to that..and not to mention 2x% to skills on top of that. FoA gives you..what...stun which does not scale.

Price wise..yes a gg WKL is obscene..but same goes to a gg EF.

My point on the ghom thing is that perhaps you can try a Ghom kill with WKL and withou and check the difference in time. There was a thread on battlenet that checked the EDPS of a monk (standard cookie cuter build). Without WKL, its 7.5x of paper DPS and with WKL its about 9.2x..which is a huge difference

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 03:37 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:12 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:44 PM)
FoA gives you stun which does not scale. TRUE. EF scales? NO. And you try to say +% elemental bonus on ammy scales then relate it to FoA. What's ur point?

p.s: FoA + WKL combination = high AS. EF + WKL combination = slightly higher AS. So? 3.0 AS and 3.2 AS, u won't notice much difference anyway.

p.s.s: Stun >>> Fear
Bro..the post is in reply to Aleune where he mentioend WKL is overated. I just explained to him why WKL is in expensive as it scales. Fact..the more DPS you do, the bonus from WKL scales upwards.

The jewelry is an example how WKL scales if say compared with FoA. You get extra 5/6% ontop of whatever average damage you slot in. You just dont get that with an EF or FoA.

On your EF+WKL and FoA+WKL, do note that the +0.2x scales with ASI, thus the off hand will get extra speed from ASI scaling. eg ..a 1.4 APS WKL compared with a 1.6x WKL, if you boost ASI on both, the 1.6x will scale better since it has a higher base i.e every 1% ASI will give 0.014 APS for normal WKL while the other will gain 0.016x
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:35 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:23 PM)
ASI is additive so don't really matter bro. Like i said, monks with identical gears but one uses FoA and the other EF will have rather similar AS. Sure, the EF wins but the extra AS on it doesn't justify the fear and price tag. Just my two cents.
ASI i additive..I concede, but I am talking about scaling.

The example i gave , lets say you get 50% ASI added, a normal WKL will have its APS upped to 2.1 APS, whereas a WKL which is paired by EF will have its to 2.4x, which is 0.3xAPS more ( more than 10%), its the scaling!!!!
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:50 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:41 PM)
Yes, our understanding is the same actually. Additive and scaling works together.

But i'm looking at it from the gold side. 1.2k DPS FoA is at 1.55 AS and 1.2k DPS EF is at 1.44. Assuming both have sockets and the EF has either LS or native crit, the EF is going to be at least 1.5b where else the FoA, last i checked 100mil MAX.

Which brings us to ur scaling part, is that 0.2-0.3 extra AS worth 1.4b? No. But ofc, if u're rich by all means go ahead.
Lulz..thats why I quoted this:-

Price wise..yes a gg WKL is obscene..but same goes to a gg EF.

tongue.gif

Anyway..remember the 7k Euro EF? 1.5B gold is pretty small to that. If we are talking about gearing cost efficiency..FoA will win it by a mile. But is FoA a GG gear?...sorry bro I cant see it as such, EF FTW..just for its 2 random roll + 0.2x APS..smile.gif.

BTW, you should know how much it cost to chase end game gears..you TWH lesson remember..smile.gif (not trying to rub it in bro...lulz)

Added on December 17, 2012, 4:51 pm
QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:49 PM)
Any Sifus here equip WKL + Shenlong? Not good rite? or Shenlong + the socket weapon in offhand better?
Shenlong is used as a set. PERIOD. If not using as a set..dont use shenlongs.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 04:51 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 05:10 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 05:00 PM)
lol.. Well, a gg WKL is still okay but EF price is just insane. So far the most i've spend is on my weapon and i don't think i can get a EF with that gold.

Are you an EF user? good gears you have?

oh yeah, TWH.. mannnnnn...
heh..I dont use EF cause I cant stand the fear and yet I am advocating EF as best..lol...talk about being the devils advocate..tongue.gif

I use a black damage rare paired with WKL. Weird set up as WKL has LoH and had to get the rare with LS, so DPS compromised. Still I am at 110k, which I think is my limit..cant afford to chase more DPS as ..you know gearing cost for end game..for feeble few k of DPS, cost tens or hundred of millions.

Nope, not my style, I think I plough like 60M into my monk which is almost 500k for 1k DPS. (cause a few gears were drops)
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 05:58 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Dec 17 2012, 05:44 PM)
OIC, i got 2 pcs of Shenlong RA, no wonder cant put for both hand, thx for ur info, thx !!
rclxms.gif
Sell one and buy a FoL lor..smile.gif
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 07:20 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 17 2012, 07:16 PM)
back then when it was still vastly "underrated" and when everyone aren't picking up it's math yet, yeah sure (that's the time i bought my WKL for ~1mil anyways)

these days? naw... gg WKL is close, if not potentially even more expensive than a gg EF because it's so hard to get a perfect roll off it smile.gif
yeah..true..yet to see a WKL more than 1k DPS socket with LS/LoH...

Only way to breach 1k if it rolls IAS..but that takes away one random roll..sad.gif
gladfly
post Dec 18 2012, 01:43 PM

579 posts

[quote=2890,Dec 18 2012, 01:36 PM]
i doubt it. The mempo had dex + vit nia. The most it could go if i'm extremely lucky is 100mil ish..

[/quote

Weird wei...I always thought GAH transaction is instant..

Oh well...wow..Dex + Vit Mempo can sell for 100M...wah!!! I also got 1 198 Dex +77 Vit 80 Res...I willing to accept 50M lololol
gladfly
post Dec 19 2012, 05:17 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 19 2012, 04:20 PM)
...lightning skill 2% more damage scales in accordance with your total damage is king, 'nuff said.
Agreed. In long term it adds a hell more EDPS as you can have 7 tornados out each with 2% more damage. It scales...

@Moba..was wondering since you got a monk and a barb...which toon do you prefer? U dont have to answer if you dont want to...just curious cause I might be tempted to build a HoTA barb just for the lulz...

@2890..damn you got lots of golds to splash...me bet either WKL comes in from 300M onwards?

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 19 2012, 05:18 PM
gladfly
post Dec 19 2012, 05:39 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 19 2012, 05:24 PM)
Nah is 190-230m range la. Well, i hit jackpot few days ago. So now, can easily roll a new char no problem.
Ahah..your 250Dex mempo sold for 100m??? lol..

Thats decent priced WKL, but let it be known now least if you are not warned..WKL = cookie cutter build meaning it ties you to FoT + SW/cyclone build. If you depart fromt his cookie cutter build....the WKL become a mediocre weapon.

But still I love my WKL to death..hence still sticking to it even though I had brief moments thinking of selling it. A 928 DPS 6/20 893LoH OS WKL...
gladfly
post Dec 19 2012, 05:54 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 19 2012, 05:41 PM)
lol. 100m is jackpot to you? Nah, ammy went for 1.1 ish bil after tax. That's jackpot.

LS > LOH =D
Ghahaha..never had more than 100M so now you know I am a poor fag..tongue.gif

LS>LoH FACT, trying bid a similiar LS 928 DPS WKL? Sorry mine was a drop which I sold and was returned/resold to me smile.gif

Added on December 19, 2012, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 19 2012, 05:44 PM)
i'll only bother about dmg range if it's on my main hand

Added on December 19, 2012, 5:45 pm

lol
AFAIK, it doesnt make any difference mainhand or off hand for monks. Skills calculated from active weapon right?

But I only got to know recently that SW scales with IAS, hence....faster weapons generates more powerful vortexes...intriguing...

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 19 2012, 05:56 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0437sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:02 PM