126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V4, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

ALeUNe
post Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 03:10 PM)
Lulz..until you use one WKL with 6%/25% bonus. For what is it..I think its under rated compared with a EF. Since you made the post on comparing times to down Ghom, maybe someone can do a test which one is faster..

My money is on WKL ( I am bias as I am using a WKL).
I'm using 5%/25% bonus WKL on my OH.

Faster? In what? You mean attack speed? Like 2.76 attack speed per sec?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM
Amedion
post Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Ppl buy EF because of the 0.25 att speed which share on both hand.
Imagine you have an axe on the other hand with 1.2k dps.. you add 0.25 att speed it will become like 1.45k dps.. You're holding 2H weapon Dps with EF's AS bonus..
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:07 PM)
The +0.2x AS only brings the EF to 1.4X since it is a mace. The FoA has 1.54 - 1.55 AS. So, speed wise FoA wins.

Well, a EF with OS + native crit is 500m and that is for a native crit of say 40-50 percent. Since i think monk prioritize AS and CC, i think EF with native crit is overrated.

Now, a 1.2k DPS FoA with OS is less than 100m here. 60-80 to be exact. Are u going to fork out 400mil more for a 1.1k DPS EF with 50CHD? Since it is a 1.1k DPS EF, the 50CHD has been overshadowed by the greater damage range of the FoA.

The only roll i feel EF shines is the LS roll with OS but again, stun ain't that bad.
Bro..you forgot that EF gives +0.2x attacks to the offhand as well....that is where the money is smile.gif. So if you equip a mace/spear as off hand ...it will mirror EF's AS, which is 1.4x..now if you equip say a dagger..it will be 1.7x..which is pretty laju wei...and thats before 15% ASI bonus dor DW.

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)

Lolz..what the DPS? I got a 930 DPS 6/20 and it blows a 1.1k rare easily. (Cookie cutter FoT/SW build of course)

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)

NO I mean to kill Ghom..

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 03:16 PM
ALeUNe
post Dec 17 2012, 03:20 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM)
Lolz..what the DPS? I got a 930 DPS 6/20 and it blows a 1.1k rare easily. (Cookie cutter FoT/SW build of course)
Mine is 879DPS.

Yes, I agree it's comparable to 1.1K weapon.
FoA give you 1.2K to 1.3K weapon. Rares can give you the same range too.

I'm not saying WKL is not good. The point here is the price of WKL.
You can get better or alternative with the same or lower price.

(weapons that I mentioned are come with LS)

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 03:13 PM)
NO I mean to kill Ghom..
Yeah, I think the thread is made to find out who can kill Ghom fast.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Dec 17 2012, 03:21 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 03:34 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 17 2012, 03:20 PM)
Mine is 879DPS.

Yes, I agree it's comparable to 1.1K weapon.
FoA give you 1.2K to 1.3K weapon. Rares can give you the same range too.

I'm not saying WKL is not good. The point here is the price of WKL.
You can get better or alternative with the same or lower price.

(weapons that I mentioned are come with LS)

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:21 pm
Yeah, I think the thread is made to find out who can kill Ghom fast.
Of course..LS is a necessity and so is a socket. So what we are talking about is end game stuff. FoA is a buy and forget gear hence its cheap. TLDR it wont scale, but WKL will scale.

The argument for WKL is on the bonus, as your DPS goes up, the WKL becomes more deadly. Eg..if you get x-y damage afflix on jewelry, WKL add5/6% to that..and not to mention 2x% to skills on top of that. FoA gives you..what...stun which does not scale.

Price wise..yes a gg WKL is obscene..but same goes to a gg EF.

My point on the ghom thing is that perhaps you can try a Ghom kill with WKL and withou and check the difference in time. There was a thread on battlenet that checked the EDPS of a monk (standard cookie cuter build). Without WKL, its 7.5x of paper DPS and with WKL its about 9.2x..which is a huge difference

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 03:37 PM
SUS2890
post Dec 17 2012, 03:44 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 03:34 PM)
Of course..LS is a necessity and so is a socket. So what we are talking about is end game stuff. FoA is a buy and forget gear hence its cheap. TLDR it wont scale, but WKL will scale.

The argument for WKL is on the bonus, as your DPS goes up, the WKL becomes more deadly. Eg..if you get x-y damage afflix on jewelry, WKL add5/6% to that..and not to mention 2x% to skills on top of that. FoA gives you..what...stun which does not scale.

My point on the ghom thing is that perhaps you can try a Ghom kill with WKL and withou and check the difference in time. There was a thread on battlenet that checked the EDPS of a monk (standard cookie cuter build). Without WKL, its 7.5x of paper DPS and with WKL its about 9.2x..which is a huge difference
FoA gives you stun which does not scale. TRUE. EF scales? NO. And you try to say +% elemental bonus on ammy scales then relate it to FoA. What's ur point?

p.s: FoA + WKL combination = high AS. EF + WKL combination = slightly higher AS. So? 3.0 AS and 3.2 AS, u won't notice much difference anyway.

p.s.s: Stun >>> Fear
ALeUNe
post Dec 17 2012, 03:45 PM

9,692 posts

Based on my build, WKL gives about 18.5% damage bonus (over the published/paper DPS on the weapon).
Many said it's 20%. So, I think the bonus range is there.

Yes, it scales. Other gears can be a good alternative at cheaper rate.
i.e. SoJ that gives you 30% damage bonus + a better yellow rare can be a better combo & cheaper alternative

Added on December 17, 2012, 3:57 pm
Already did the test.
Same DPS weapon (paper dps).
About +/- 18.5% shorter time for my case.

With WKL, 2min 2sec - 2min 22sec (done many testings, the result falls in this range).
With yellow rare, 2min 40sec - 2min-48sec.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Dec 17 2012, 03:58 PM
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 17 2012, 04:10 PM

241 posts

...seems my 2H ls skorn is underpowered after reading all the talk about EF, WKL & FoA.

This post has been edited by MOBAJOBG: Dec 17 2012, 04:11 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:12 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:44 PM)
FoA gives you stun which does not scale. TRUE. EF scales? NO. And you try to say +% elemental bonus on ammy scales then relate it to FoA. What's ur point?

p.s: FoA + WKL combination = high AS. EF + WKL combination = slightly higher AS. So? 3.0 AS and 3.2 AS, u won't notice much difference anyway.

p.s.s: Stun >>> Fear
Bro..the post is in reply to Aleune where he mentioend WKL is overated. I just explained to him why WKL is in expensive as it scales. Fact..the more DPS you do, the bonus from WKL scales upwards.

The jewelry is an example how WKL scales if say compared with FoA. You get extra 5/6% ontop of whatever average damage you slot in. You just dont get that with an EF or FoA.

On your EF+WKL and FoA+WKL, do note that the +0.2x scales with ASI, thus the off hand will get extra speed from ASI scaling. eg ..a 1.4 APS WKL compared with a 1.6x WKL, if you boost ASI on both, the 1.6x will scale better since it has a higher base i.e every 1% ASI will give 0.014 APS for normal WKL while the other will gain 0.016x
SUS2890
post Dec 17 2012, 04:23 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 04:12 PM)
Bro..the post is in reply to Aleune where he mentioend WKL is overated. I just explained to him why WKL is in expensive as it scales. Fact..the more DPS you do, the bonus from WKL scales upwards.

The jewelry is an example how WKL scales if say compared with FoA. You get extra 5/6% ontop of whatever average damage you slot in. You just dont get that with an EF or FoA.

On your EF+WKL and FoA+WKL, do note that the +0.2x scales with ASI, thus the off hand will get extra speed from ASI scaling. eg ..a 1.4 APS WKL compared with a 1.6x WKL, if you boost ASI on both, the 1.6x will scale better since it has a higher base i.e every 1% ASI will give 0.014 APS for normal WKL while the other will gain 0.016x
ASI is additive so don't really matter bro. Like i said, monks with identical gears but one uses FoA and the other EF will have rather similar AS. Sure, the EF wins but the extra AS on it doesn't justify the fear and price tag. Just my two cents.
HaRuaN.X
post Dec 17 2012, 04:27 PM

36 posts

Too Much Math...
ALeUNe
post Dec 17 2012, 04:29 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 17 2012, 04:10 PM)
...seems my 2H ls skorn is underpowered after reading all the talk about EF, WKL & FoA.
Skorn is one of the best weapons.
Your monk works perfectly well with Skorn.
SUS2890
post Dec 17 2012, 04:30 PM

146 posts

^ Skorn imo is terrible for AS builds. But then if is good enough for u to do mp10 and not die. By all means use it since is cheap anyway.

gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:35 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:23 PM)
ASI is additive so don't really matter bro. Like i said, monks with identical gears but one uses FoA and the other EF will have rather similar AS. Sure, the EF wins but the extra AS on it doesn't justify the fear and price tag. Just my two cents.
ASI i additive..I concede, but I am talking about scaling.

The example i gave , lets say you get 50% ASI added, a normal WKL will have its APS upped to 2.1 APS, whereas a WKL which is paired by EF will have its to 2.4x, which is 0.3xAPS more ( more than 10%), its the scaling!!!!
SUS2890
post Dec 17 2012, 04:41 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 04:35 PM)
ASI i additive..I concede, but I am talking about scaling.

The example i gave , lets say you get 50% ASI added, a normal WKL will have its APS upped to 2.1 APS, whereas a WKL which is paired by EF will have its to 2.4x, which is 0.3xAPS more ( more than 10%), its the scaling!!!!
Yes, our understanding is the same actually. Additive and scaling works together.

But i'm looking at it from the gold side. 1.2k DPS FoA is at 1.55 AS and 1.2k DPS EF is at 1.44. Assuming both have sockets and the EF has either LS or native crit, the EF is going to be at least 1.5b where else the FoA, last i checked 100mil MAX.

Which brings us to ur scaling part, is that 0.2-0.3 extra AS worth 1.4b? No. But ofc, if u're rich by all means go ahead.
chuan30378
post Dec 17 2012, 04:49 PM

100 posts

Any Sifus here equip WKL + Shenlong? Not good rite? or Shenlong + the socket weapon in offhand better?
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 04:50 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:41 PM)
Yes, our understanding is the same actually. Additive and scaling works together.

But i'm looking at it from the gold side. 1.2k DPS FoA is at 1.55 AS and 1.2k DPS EF is at 1.44. Assuming both have sockets and the EF has either LS or native crit, the EF is going to be at least 1.5b where else the FoA, last i checked 100mil MAX.

Which brings us to ur scaling part, is that 0.2-0.3 extra AS worth 1.4b? No. But ofc, if u're rich by all means go ahead.
Lulz..thats why I quoted this:-

tongue.gif

Anyway..remember the 7k Euro EF? 1.5B gold is pretty small to that. If we are talking about gearing cost efficiency..FoA will win it by a mile. But is FoA a GG gear?...sorry bro I cant see it as such, EF FTW..just for its 2 random roll + 0.2x APS..smile.gif.

BTW, you should know how much it cost to chase end game gears..you TWH lesson remember..smile.gif (not trying to rub it in bro...lulz)

Added on December 17, 2012, 4:51 pm
QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:49 PM)
Any Sifus here equip WKL + Shenlong? Not good rite? or Shenlong + the socket weapon in offhand better?
Shenlong is used as a set. PERIOD. If not using as a set..dont use shenlongs.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 17 2012, 04:51 PM
duabijitelur
post Dec 17 2012, 04:54 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 04:50 PM)
so imma selling my shenlong XD

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/duabiji...85/hero/4396871
but need to find a weapon to replaec it ==
SUS2890
post Dec 17 2012, 05:00 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 17 2012, 04:50 PM)
Lulz..thats why I quoted this:-

tongue.gif

Anyway..remember the 7k Euro EF? 1.5B gold is pretty small to that. If we are talking about gearing cost efficiency..FoA will win it by a mile. But is FoA a GG gear?...sorry bro I cant see it as such, EF FTW..just for its 2 random roll + 0.2x APS..smile.gif.

BTW, you should know how much it cost to chase end game gears..you TWH lesson remember..smile.gif (not trying to rub it in bro...lulz)

Added on December 17, 2012, 4:51 pm

lol.. Well, a gg WKL is still okay but EF price is just insane. So far the most i've spend is on my weapon and i don't think i can get a EF with that gold.

Are you an EF user? good gears you have?

oh yeah, TWH.. mannnnnn...

This post has been edited by 2890: Dec 17 2012, 05:00 PM
gladfly
post Dec 17 2012, 05:10 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 17 2012, 05:00 PM)
lol.. Well, a gg WKL is still okay but EF price is just insane. So far the most i've spend is on my weapon and i don't think i can get a EF with that gold.

Are you an EF user? good gears you have?

oh yeah, TWH.. mannnnnn...
heh..I dont use EF cause I cant stand the fear and yet I am advocating EF as best..lol...talk about being the devils advocate..tongue.gif

I use a black damage rare paired with WKL. Weird set up as WKL has LoH and had to get the rare with LS, so DPS compromised. Still I am at 110k, which I think is my limit..cant afford to chase more DPS as ..you know gearing cost for end game..for feeble few k of DPS, cost tens or hundred of millions.

Nope, not my style, I think I plough like 60M into my monk which is almost 500k for 1k DPS. (cause a few gears were drops)

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1496sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:10 PM