103 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

vivianchoo1990
post Nov 5 2014, 01:17 AM

26 posts

Hi all,

I'm looking for a fully modular PSU for my rig with specs on my sig. Current PSU is working fine but want to upgrade to a modular unit. There's a possibility I'm gonna get another GPU to SLI, so not sure how much watts I will need for that. hmm.gif Any recommendations < RM700? Preferably lower price if possible.

This post has been edited by vivianchoo1990: Nov 5 2014, 01:21 AM
TristanX
post Nov 5 2014, 02:11 AM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(vivianchoo1990 @ Nov 5 2014, 01:17 AM)
Hi all,

I'm looking for a fully modular PSU for my rig with specs on my sig. Current PSU is working fine but want to upgrade to a modular unit. There's a possibility I'm gonna get another GPU to SLI, so not sure how much watts I will need for that.  hmm.gif Any recommendations < RM700? Preferably lower price if possible.

Try Coolermaster V 1000W at RM649. This one is Tier 1 and Seasonic built.
Edifier
post Nov 5 2014, 07:05 AM

Store Representative
9,131 posts

QUOTE(vivianchoo1990 @ Nov 5 2014, 01:17 AM)
Hi all,

I'm looking for a fully modular PSU for my rig with specs on my sig. Current PSU is working fine but want to upgrade to a modular unit. There's a possibility I'm gonna get another GPU to SLI, so not sure how much watts I will need for that.  hmm.gif Any recommendations < RM700? Preferably lower price if possible.

Try Seasonic X1050(AM2), street selling price is RM775.
ascentic
post Nov 5 2014, 09:13 AM

38 posts

Hi all,

I'm new here, and had been started to build my dream rig parts by parts, but

Do anyone knows where to get this XFX 750W 80 Plus PSU silver anywhere?

Thank you in advance

This post has been edited by ascentic: Nov 5 2014, 09:17 AM
vivianchoo1990
post Nov 5 2014, 10:02 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 5 2014, 02:11 AM)
Try Coolermaster V 1000W at RM649. This one is Tier 1 and Seasonic built.
QUOTE(Edifier @ Nov 5 2014, 07:05 AM)
Try Seasonic X1050(AM2), street selling price is RM775.
Thanks for the reply. Will check out both of them smile.gif

What about the CoolerMaster V850? Or is it wise to spend more for the extra wattage?

This post has been edited by vivianchoo1990: Nov 5 2014, 10:03 AM
TristanX
post Nov 5 2014, 10:08 AM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(vivianchoo1990 @ Nov 5 2014, 10:02 AM)
Thanks for the reply. Will check out both of them smile.gif

What about the CoolerMaster V850? Or is it wise to spend more for the extra wattage?
V850 is made by Enhance. It is semi-modular and a Tier 2 power supply. Still good but lower grade.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-18047...-tier-list.html

Only V700 and V1000 is made by Seasonic.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...=print&reid=344

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 5 2014, 10:10 AM
vivianchoo1990
post Nov 5 2014, 10:18 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 5 2014, 10:08 AM)
V850 is made by Enhance. It is semi-modular and a Tier 2 power supply. Still good but lower grade.

Ah, cheers for the info. Looking to pick up the V1000 then, looks value for money biggrin.gif

Thanks again!

iyz96
post Nov 7 2014, 09:12 PM

131 posts

Guys need help here..
My friend is building a gaming pc and his specs are as below:

Intel Core i7 4790K
MSI z97 Gaming 7
MSI GTX 970
8GBs of Corsair Dominator Ram
Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
2 Western Digital Blue 1TB
Corsair H100i
Normal DVDRW
7 Fans
4 LED stripss
2 CCFL

His rig is almost the same as mine except that i have more fans and less lighting but im using the Seasonic 760W platinum. He is planning to get either the Corsair HX750i or Corsair HX850i (mainly for corsair link i guess) and he is planning on doing SLI maybe around mid next year.. So i cant give him any advice since i dont know anything about SLI and my Seasonic 760W platinum is serving me very well..

So do give your opinions guys.
Your help is always appreciated.
Thanks guys!

TristanX
post Nov 7 2014, 09:15 PM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(iyz96 @ Nov 7 2014, 09:12 PM)
Guys need help here..
My friend is building a gaming pc and his specs are as below:

Intel Core i7 4790K
MSI z97 Gaming 7
MSI GTX 970
8GBs of Corsair Dominator Ram
Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
2 Western Digital Blue 1TB
Corsair H100i
Normal DVDRW
7 Fans
4 LED stripss
2 CCFL

His rig is almost the same as mine except that i have more fans and less lighting but im using the Seasonic 760W platinum. He is planning to get either the Corsair HX750i or Corsair HX850i (mainly for corsair link i guess) and he is planning on doing SLI maybe around mid next year.. So i cant give him any advice since i dont know anything about SLI and my Seasonic 760W platinum is serving me very well..

So do give your opinions guys.
Your help is always appreciated.
Thanks guys!
Should be able to power them easily.
iyz96
post Nov 7 2014, 09:25 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 7 2014, 09:15 PM)
Should be able to power them easily.
So both HX750i and HX850i would do the job?
Haha ive told him that..

He is so fussy that he is confused about the efficiency of both power supply..
You know that a power supply is at its best at >50% load..
So he is afraid that if he buy the HX850i now, he will waste on his electrical bill before getting a second GTX 970..
And if its the HX750i, he is afraid of not enough power in the future..

Since you said that both also can, ill tell him that again
Haha but this time its the Sifu that taught me about power supply which is TristanX

Thanks tristan!

Thanks a lot!

TristanX
post Nov 7 2014, 09:27 PM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(iyz96 @ Nov 7 2014, 09:25 PM)
So both HX750i and HX850i would do the job?
Haha ive told him that..

So he is afraid that if he buy the HX850i now, he will waste on his electrical bill before getting a second GTX 970..

Since you said that both also can, ill tell him that again
Haha but this time its the Sifu that taught me about power supply which is TristanX

Thanks tristan!

Thanks a lot!
Bleh, he's paranoid. Just buy it and use.
jonnyGURU
post Nov 9 2014, 08:56 AM

QUOTE(iyz96 @ Nov 7 2014, 06:25 AM)

Like TristanX said.. the 750W would be enough.

And PSUs aren't only efficient at 50%+ load anymore. Now that 99% of the (quality) PSUs out there use a resonant LLC topology, the efficiency is fairly flat line across all loads.
TristanX
post Nov 9 2014, 09:22 PM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(jonnyGURU @ Nov 9 2014, 08:56 AM)

And PSUs aren't only efficient at 50%+ load anymore.  Now that 99% of the (quality) PSUs out there use a resonant LLC topology, the efficiency is fairly flat line across all loads.
The pro has spoken.

More reviews from

http://www.jonnyguru.com/
Angel of Deth
post Nov 10 2014, 02:43 AM

1,242 posts

Just made aware FSP Raiders are available in both Bronze and Silver 80-Plus rated. The pricing is not fixed for both items, some vendor sells the old Bronze model higher that the Silver.

Although I don't pay too much attention on the 80-Plus thing but I still want to get the best out of my bucks.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 10 2014, 06:52 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Nov 10 2014, 02:43 AM)
Just made aware FSP Raiders are available in both Bronze and Silver 80-Plus rated. The pricing is not fixed for both items, some vendor sells the old Bronze model higher that the Silver.

Although I don't pay too much attention on the 80-Plus thing but I still want to get the best out of my bucks.
I think the 650W silver rated at RM250+/- is the best bang for bucks.

p/s: Just checked Viewnet's pricelist... LOL, what? RM269? I still remember my friend bought it few months ago at Viewnet only sub RM250 what...

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 10 2014, 06:54 AM
vanses
post Nov 14 2014, 10:39 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 5 2014, 10:08 AM)

CoolerMaster V850 are Full Modular
http://www.techpowerup.com/mobile/reviews/...V850/1.html#top
TristanX
post Nov 14 2014, 11:03 AM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(vanses @ Nov 14 2014, 10:39 AM)
Nice. Another Seasonic built.
goldfries
post Nov 20 2014, 05:25 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jonnyGURU @ Nov 9 2014, 08:56 AM)

And PSUs aren't only efficient at 50%+ load anymore.  Now that 99% of the (quality) PSUs out there use a resonant LLC topology, the efficiency is fairly flat line across all loads.
biggrin.gif Welcome to the other side of the world!

Yup, efficiency is pretty much flat across all loads for quality PSU.

Example :
FSP Aurum PT 1200 http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story3&reid=398
Seasonic SS-1050XM2 1050W http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story3&reid=401
Corsair HX1000i 1000W http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story3&reid=394
n3w
post Nov 23 2014, 08:18 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2014, 10:46 PM)
wattage is just one part. a typical user won't even reach 400w, even with 250w card and 100w cpu.

the issue is more about constant load, in some cases even running a burn in test on graphic card alone would trip the PSU.

RM 150 PSU, regardless of what brand, I wouldn't dare to put them on 24/7 full load like say folding@home and such. nothing more than gaming.
Say I'm using a normal hd5750 and i3 (old generation) 24/7 switched on but no folding whatssoever, light gaming.

Mostly surfing web and youtube-ing, what psu you reckon I can use? smile.gif

Don't need high budget right unsure.gif
goldfries
post Nov 23 2014, 08:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Even a 300w would suffice for that, get a good 400w would work just fine.

can try the FSP Hexa 450w / 550.

103 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0230sec    1.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:50 AM